Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Vita Pugna 31 to 44 of 44

 

 Boat/Barge: Vita Pugna • REMOVE  About Vita Pugna

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Carmel M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of the trip made for a memorable experience. Having done both the hotel to hotel and the guided section gave us a truly great opportunity to see a part of Italy that is so varied in both history, culture, food and landscape.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by William H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Irene was a great guide. She adopted my suggestion that she wait for the stragglers to catch up to the stopped leaders so the stragglers could have a short rest also. Her suggested side tours were great. Our chefs, Samuel and Enrico were great as well. Superb food. First class trip.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by A. Harris 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A fabulous experience. We will seriously consider further barge/bike holidays with you.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by JoAnn Grand 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was not as scenic as other trips I have been on. However the food, staff and guide were excellent.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Alfred Lilly 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Understanding the trip was planned for little difficulty, expected that the terrain would be flat, but was hoping for more scenery and countryside to take in while biking. Perhaps if there was an option of having a sag vehicle for those who couldn't/didn't want more difficult terrain so the option was available for those who could do more ... and see more. Overall great experience, friendly crew and excellent food!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Brian J Craig 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Guide, Rosita was excellent, friendly, pleasant and very knowledgeable. Would recommend her anytime.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Mike Tansey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Recommended for novice cyclists only. Not challenging enough for experienced cyclists.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Christopher Manning 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Route guides(arrows)could in some areas(particularly in the Bolzano to barge section when riders on their own) be more clearly marked and better positioned.
    Steph,our guide,and the boat crew combined to make this a special experience.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gail Whitty 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love our leader Michaela and we want to do another trip with her. I have recommended the Pugna boat Mantova-Venice trip to many people.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by James Varah 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our tour guide Marco was ok, but not outstanding. His commentary was adequate, but we got more from the notes provided.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Sandra Ware 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tedious farm land, 30 mile an hour winds. Our guide and staff were fabulous! Put them on a little more picturesque route and I would say yes. Marco was absolutely wonderful!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Claudia Abdinoor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group had the misfortune of 25mph+ headwinds for 4 consecutive days through barren landscape. My hesitation to recommend this trip is not however based on the weather but rather the lack of interesting terrain. I liken this biking to a trip thru Nebraska. Our stops in the villages were poorly timed, shops were closed and our short stop precluded investigating any historical attraction. The charming aspects of European villages, exploring the local cuisine were non existent. Every day we were advised to bring a sandwich. In complete contrast, the bike/barge trip in France visited medieval villages and provided enough time to enjoy a meal in a bistro. Understandably this trip along the Po might be selected by those not willing to bike the hills but biking for hours on an elevated levee and looking at clods of freshly tilled earth is hardly a huge endorsement for this option.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Alexandra Lapko 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike and barge experience made unforgettable by creative, delicious and healthy meals, an outstanding guide with a great sense of humour, extensive knowledge of the areas we cycled through, and much patience and warmth. We arrived as nervous neophytes and left feeling we were part of the family....and cycling athletes to boot!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Bill Goss 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first experience with an inclusive tour and we were a bit apprensive about the lack of freedom. No worries! It was a great trip and we would do it again. The small boat/group was key. Great food, excellent tour leader and first rate crew. We would not want to be in a larger group. Three cheers for the older and smaller boat!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

PWPC