5 Star Hungary Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 253

4.6 out of 5

 


Phyllis L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip was biking along the Danube River and visiting the small towns. We met many nice people from all over the world.

Patty S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What I appreciated was the response from staff when things went wrong. Which happens! It is how it is handled that matters. You will have my participation in any future trips! 100% satisfied with your service!

Dean P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was our first bike/barge trip and it opened a whole world of adventure for us. We have introduced this form of travel to many friends.

Doug N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The accommodation and the bikes were great and the trip was very affordable. Our server for the week was terrific.

Michael D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The route was well planned. The views were spectacular. Couldn’t have imagined a better place to have done this (Austria). We biked approximately 50 miles a day. It was exceptional.

Wilma C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part? The bike route and tour help from the staff

Anna A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part? Cycling the afternoon around Vienna

Brian K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wonderful trip with a nicely balanced pace to the days varied activities: tasty breakfast followed by several hours of scenic easy cycling; back to the Carissima for a little deck time, beverage or two; good food, good company at dinner; perhaps up to the lounge for some entertainment or nicely tired back to the cabin to sleep. What’s not to like?

Walter Z.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Moment? Late afternoons on the sundeck after the bike ride. Watching the castles and quaint villages on the shore as the boat glided by. Perfect end to a great day.

Eliz P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most memorable was the experience of the bike and barge itself, as well as the scenery, the evening dining, and the fellow bike travelers. One tip would be to do your research ahead of the trip for cities where the boat docks (as in Budapest & Vienna) to be able to make the most of your time there. Overall, great experience; would definitely recommend this bike & boat trip along the Danube...

Edie D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I loved riding through the little villages and getting a sense of how people actually live from day to day. All the senses are stimulated- smelling the fruit trees, feeling the wind, hearing the laughter and different languages, touching the handcrafted cloths, and of course experiencing all the sites and lights as you float along at night.

Jacques B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Tripsite made our first bike tour so memorable we have booked another one for next year. It was perfect!!!

Vern O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip was "The Entire Trip"!!! We met so many wonderful people. Our guide Jürgen Gehrke was "The Best"!! So much fun and really went above and beyond taking our group on special tours and always knowing the best Pubs for "The First of The Day"!!!

Margaret B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery along the Danube was beautiful and we had lots of fun. Two things I would mention to people planning to do the trip 1) Realize that there is only time to see 1 or maybe 2 of the many sites listed for any given day. There is a small window of time that the barge will be in dock. We had envisioned having a leisurely ride seeing all these great sites and getting back to the barge by the end of the afternoon but thats not how it works. 2) Pay attention to whether you bought bike insurance through Tripsite b/c the barge staff will also sell it and they don't seem to know whether you have it already. We couldn't remember and the wifi was so bad that we couldn't verify so we ended up double paying for it.

Jane F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every minute of this trip was amazing. Would do it all over again!

Nita W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My sister and two friends are not hard core cyclists and found our jaunt down the Danube, from Passau to Budapest just the right degree of difficulty, enjoying the Hospitality aboard the My Story when not exploring by bike. Sufficient time was allotted to get to the next boarding spot and it was wonderful to compare the days adventures with our English speaking table over a tasty dinner. I loved not having to pack and unpack as one does on many tours. Our berth was tiny, but not much time is spent there besides sleeping.
My low point for the trip was the onboard entertainment. Then again, I’m just not a big ABBA fan or fan of one man band keyboards. Others seemed fine with it. The staff created a fun international atmosphere and pirate night was a blast. We Canadians were largely responsible for that. One of us in particular.
The additional excursions were worth it. I’ll not forget the schnapps and goulash and wild dulcimer music in Budapest!
I did Read More

Deborah A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

Suzanne B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

Sheri S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

Jeanne D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

Laney B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

Jeanne D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

Marisa C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip was awesome. The bike trails were excellent and we were so much in contact with nature that we couldn't believe it. Everything was very well organized and the villages and cities we visited were great. No complaints except for the Flamenco Hotel in Budapest, which was not as expected. We had to have our breakfast in the lobby sitting on a sofa because there weren't enough tables for all the guests. They didn't refill the breakfast buffet and no one took care of the spills on the tables. Besides the rooms were old and smelly.
But it was just a hotel and we will definitely do more of these trips in the near future because it was a great adventure and a memorable experience! I really recommend Tripsite.

Stephen G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food on board the ship was amazing, and at a higher quality more expensive competitors. I would definitely consider Rad und Reisen again.

William G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot Read More

Kathryn G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was the 4th of the boat bike trips we had done with Tripsite and I would say the best. Our guide Axel was amazing and being able to visit the many little villages along the Danube was wonderful. We had two rainy days right at the start but we all came prepared so was still great rides. Biking around Vienna was really incredible as there are many good bike paths however one had to watch carefully as there were also many tourists. Our visit to Budapest was also a major highlight. Our guide Axel walked with us up to Buda Hill to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion for the most amazing views of Pest at night. The Bastion was also a beautiful sight at night.

William G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

This was a great trip. The bike trail, signage and printed guide was very good on the section from Passau to Vienna. If we were lost it was due to our own failure to read carefully. The section from Vienna to Budapest was not as clear. There was more road riding, confusing or absent signage, and detours due to construction projects. There were also several stretches where the ‘path’ was gravel/sand or old Roman road. We do not regret doing both legs, but learned that most people do only the first segment and we can understand why they make this choice. Luggage transfer was seamless and all of our hotels provided secure, inside bike parking. We also had great weather, which made the ride much easier.

Deirdre S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

Maria Tereza and Arturo
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

Valerie P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a terrific trip. The scenery was outstanding and the bike trails were great fun. More biking would’ve been even better. The MS Arkona was a very nice ship, all recently remodeled and the staff all did a great job. I enjoyed all the breakfast choices. We would make our lunch at breakfast time to take with us for the day. Dinners were good but more salads would be a nice addition.
Our boat was unable to reach Budapest due to low water levels. We were however taken by bus to Budapest and enjoyed a city bus tour. It made for a long day but at least we were able to see some of the city. This gave us more time in Vienna and an opportunity for a really fun afternoon bike ride there. Our tour director gave us excellent instructions for this ride since it was not part of the original tour itinerary. It offered shorter and longer distances that seemed to meet everyone’s needs.
The directions in the map and narrative book were often lacking. I would Read More