5 star rated Hungary Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 208

 

 Country: Hungary • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bike barge trip along the Danube in October 2017 was a great experience. Biking was fabulous, the paths we're all very good for the most part. The scenery was beautiful. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and all the accommodations made for us. The food was all nicely presented and abundant. Our group of eight friends definitely would like to do another trip! Great scenery, great exercise, and an overall wonderful experience!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laurence M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The daily rides were the perfect combination of distance and scenery. The ship and staff were excellent as was the food served in the dining room. We would definitely recommend this ride and cruise to our friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Visiting the Wachau valley was my favorite part of the trip. Entertainment on the ship was the only down side and that was just a small part of the trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Terence W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Favorite Part: A short cycling day through quiet, autumnal countryside, took us to Bratislava leaving us with oodles of time to spend exploring colorful backstreets and the rise to the impressive castle.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Prague to Budapest
    by Dean Mitzel 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our third bike tour with Tripsite and we were glad we came back. We we were able to see 3 new countries for the first time (Czech Rep, Slovakia and Hungary) with the same excellent logistics, accommodations and food we experienced on our other two trips. Tripsite staff was there whenever we needed support in any country. We'll be back!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christopher 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The experience on the barge far exceeded the expectations for my wife and the other 6 members of the group. The quality of the food, the excellence (and friendliness) of service , and the outstanding visuals of the meal presentations were an absolute delight.
    If I were asked for recommendations (I left these comments on the end of cruise comment card), would be to improve internet service and to make sure there is at least one English speaking television channel available.
    Other than that, everything was wonderful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Waking up each morning at a new port in the middle of no where with castles and beauty all around. Tip: Take all the bottled water you are able to as not freely available (although I drank the ship's water and it was fine). Don't rely on internet.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a fantastic trip. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sidney P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole experience was more than I expected. Just join in and enjoy life.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elaine D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first bike and barge trip. The 4 countries trip was awesome. Albert was an amazing tour guide and was available all the time to ask questions of and chat with. His info sessions were informative, we would have missed a great deal without his tips and suggestions. Amazing food. Friendly staff willing to do anything to make the trip memorable. No hassles ever! Wish coffee during the day was included but no big deal. We were on the top level with big picture windows. Immaculate boat, the Carissma. We booked the spa and enjoyed the expansive area, chilled fruit juices, robes and towels. Nice hot tub for two, romantic. We are already looking for another Tripsite bike and barge next year. This is an amazing way to see cities, get some exercise and fresh air, enjoy the countryside and visit little villages for coffee or drinks. We did city bike tours in Budapest &Vienna (booked on board) and they were well worth the money. Before the trip we had a number of questions and Mikky at Tripsite was great with answers. I was so happy she answered right away! Thanks for a memorable week.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Linda S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the second trip on the MS Carissma from Sept 24 - Oct 1- along the Danube. Great scenery- the best of the two trips. The river views of vineyards, historical sites were really beautiful. The staff on the boat were exceptionally customer focused and responsive to needs. The food was very good and well presented with the exception of the fruit plate which needed a little more imagination to meet the standard set by the other menu items. The hired tour guide for our group was not able to answer questions about the history or other information on some of the sites we spent time in or passed along the way. He knew the route well but other information was not forthcoming as he said "it did not interest him" when he did not know. Tips - do some research on some of the stops along the way to determine if the site is worth a stop along the way. Make good use of the extra time in Vienna and Budapest.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was great from beginning to end. The only thing I might suggest would be perhaps a better map on a couple of the days for our biking excursion. We found our way, but got a little confused in a couple of spots. Staff was excellent, tour guide bent over backwards for us, food was delicious, etc. Working with Susanna prior to our trip was so easy and she answered all my questions. I would do it again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Susan W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The cruise was wonderful supported by a fantastic crew on the ship who went out of their way to provide a very positive experience.
    I had left my phone at a restaurant on the bike route and it was returned to me within 3 hours...I was so grateful.
    Having a tour guide would have been very helpful on certain days of the trip...ie Vienna.
    I was very disappointed with the fact that the biking portion of the Wachau valley that was in the itinerary had been eliminated without our knowing until the night before.
    it was to have been a highlight for our group and the cruise company said that it was Never a part of the biking route.!
    We rented e bikes at an extra cost for the 4 of us because of the distance to be covered that day and otherwise would not have.

    All of the cycling group received the same information from Tripsite about the Wachau valley and we were all disappointed.

    Otherwise I would highly recommend this trip but do feel that you should update your itinerary so that people aren't disappointed.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by York C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip. Boat and river cruise portion of the trip was more than expected. Service and the crew on the boat were excellent, including the food.
    Quality of bicycles was excellent. They were mechanically perfect. The only down side of the entire trip were the nightly route planning meetings and the quality of the maps and route guides. It was obvious that the tour leader giving the route agenda had never ridden the bike paths. Her English was not very good which made it even more difficult to understand the route(s). We had to fend for ourselves (asking people on the street for directions) numerous times because the routes were just not made clear. Also, the route was not what was not the same as what was spelled out on the website.
    Overall, we were very satisfied with the trip.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Lyn H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the itinerary and biking routes!
    Barge suggestions:
    Dinner seat assignments-- still place with others of the same language, but not necessarily from the same country.
    The upper outdoor covered lounge allowed smoking which meant the entire area could be filled with smoke! This type of trip is for active, healthy lifestyle people...smoking should be confined to a small area in front of the pilot house (or not at all).

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Colin M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dale B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best Part: The ride from Vac to Esztergom! Beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my first time to cycle by the Danube and it far exceeded my expectations. The whole experience was awesome. I loved to be able to exercise while enjoying the pretty scenery and exploring villages and meeting people from other countries. Such a wealth of history and culture!! Truly amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Byron E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I will definitely do another bike and barge, it was terrific. My only complaint would be that the food provided for the vegetarians was not well thought out. It wouldn't take much to make this a fabulous plant-based experience. The staff tried as best they could...but it was lacking. But, overall, the trip was fabulous.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Linda T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
    We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Jim S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Heather F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We really enjoyed the rides through the countryside in this trip. Our cruise director was fun and very helpful. He gave us many tips for the route and how to experience the culture of the places we went.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ted & Sylvia G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole trip was great. We thoroughly enjoyed it and didn't want it to come to an end.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip were the people I had the opportunity to meet including the staff who were extremely courteous.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was great! Even when the ship had a mechanical problem, the staff made sure everyone was happy.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best Part: The small towns and villages we biked along the way.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff and food were excellent, as well as the ambiance of the river boat, not too crowded, a good mix of nationalities, great info dissemination and communication with passengers. Very relaxed and customer service was wonderful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roberto Marcelo B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    El recorrido fue modificado a los 3 dias por desperfectos en el barco, razon por la que no conocimos Bratislava ni Budapest!! A pesar de ello.. la ruta Lintz Passau con arribo de laas bikes en Viena fue satisfactorio.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Morris T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Tripsite Bike and Barge Danube River Tour! The cruise was so relaxing, it was a real vacation! How do I start? The MS Carrisma , what a boat! The Danube River! The food, every meal a delicious event to enjoy! The staff was always cheerful, friendly, helpful and so cosmopolitan! Every one from the Captains, bar crew, boat crew, cruise crew, housekeeping crew, kitchen crew and the waiters. They made our trip experience a very memorable event in our lives, which we will never forget! Too many things to do and see in eight short days. We plan to do this trip again!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Loree K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bikes were in excellent condition The maps were hard to read and did not even show what country we were in on the route, however the route was clearly marked. That saved us many times. The carry out lunch was great. Maybe some variation in granola bars throughout the week. Meals were good. Staff seemed rushed and understaffed at dinner. It was overall a great trip. Suggestions for others: pack light!

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC