5 Star Italy Tour Reviews — 121 to 150 of 200

4.7 out of 5

 


Doreen C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most memorable part was the guides and crew of the ship - the customer service was OUTSTANDING!!!!!

Martha B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Outstanding guide, great staff on boat, wonderful food. The beautiful scenery from Bolzano to Mantova was probably the most memorable. Really happy we took the additional 3 days before boarding the barge.

Anne H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

I would absolutely recommend this trip. We felt we were very lucky to have Hein as our guide. His insight was wonderful.

Marianne L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The scenery on this trip,while biking, was not memorable or especially unusual which was to be expected given the flatland of our itinerary. I was hoping it would be more dramatic but not surprised that it wasn't. Still I loved being there and next time will consider a more challenging terrain which ought to improve the views. ( ps lunch stop venues need more thought- in general unattractive.)
Memorable: the towns of Mantova and Ferrara were lovely and I enjoyed having time to spend in them , instead of merely riding through. The food was glorious and I felt the staff went the extra mile for us with a few perks and personal attention if needed. Clearly they like their jobs and it showed.

Patricia E.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The entire staff was impeccable. They aimed to please and all had wonderful personalities. My only regret was wifi being shut down at 11pm. This was the best time for me to talk to loved ones. Other than that, it was great. Feedback from my group was positive.

Christine W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

The scenery on the self guided from Bolzano to Mantua.
The expert guide (Hein ), the food and the staff on the boat.
They all went out of their way to make it a very pleasant experience.
We could not have asked for a better crew.

Jake M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

The most memorable part was the wine tasting along the way!

Nancy M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Everything was memorable from the wonderful cabin to the great gourmet food to the wonderful leader Hein and fabulous staff. The route is scenic and we made stops at interesting places like the Rides Museum, Grano Padana, and the non-bird sanctuary! Loved it and have highly recommended it to friends.

Rosemary B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

We took the 11 day cycle in Italy and loved it all.
A few things I think need mentioning.
We got lost. Just as one of your reviewers mentioned on the way to Lake Garda. We were doing great and very early to get the boat but at one of the deviations,we turned towards Verona and didn't realize it until half way to Verona. We had to keep looking at the map and book description and when we thought we knew and didn't look at what we were doing, we got lost. So took a train to Verona, lugged the very heavy bikes up the train station stairs, no elevator or escalators there!! Then had to hang the bikes up on hooks on the train. Then the train back up to where we would have been finishing our trip in the boat down Lake Garda. PUCCINCI hotel in Peschiera.I was very disappointed to have missed the ride on lake Garda. So the day that was supposed to be our short day, and we had done 45k before noon, and should have been there, we did over 80K.
I felt that in order Read More

Marvin R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Venice
Italy

The breathtaking scenery, cities wine and food of Veneto were the most memorable parts.

Kristy M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The staff on the Ave Maria was fantastic. They made sure we got everything we needed. I liked the way even the captain of the boat helped serve and clean up. They really worked as a team and worked very hard! The food was awesome and I really enjoyed the stops we made and the tours we had.
Great trip!

Karen K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Bike guides (Michaela & Ronnie) and boat staff ( Erica, Juliano, Enrico and Luciano) were all exceptional. Their care, expertise and concern throughout the trip was what made it exceptional.

Nancy H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The Tour Leader Hein was amazing and showed us a wonderful experience. The cycling was spectacular and the food so exciting and very innovative. The bikes were heavier than I am used to but they were appropriate for the terrain. Everyone was helpful -- fabulous staff. I've already recommended it to my friends. I would do it again, but only if Hein were the Leader.

Igor Y.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Florence to Rome - Guided
Italy

The trip was superbly put together logistically. Excellent guide. Great accommodations.

Mary C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence - old version
Italy

This tour was a lovely way to experience the quiet county roads and villages of Italy.

Kathleen W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most awesome trip and staff! The barge was clean and well equipped. The staff was stellar, the meals great, the guided bike rides the best. No room for improvement and I hope to do another Bike and Barge on the Merlin. I especially enjoyed the bike routes, touring small villages along the way, and the guide Lia who was well informed about the area and Germany in general.

Blaine N.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The boat, staff and food were all exceptional. A quality operation for sure. Having the owner Pierpaulo stop in for a visit and having dinner together was a nice touch.
We booked this trip for a group of riders with a wide range of abilities and it worked very well for all.

Philip S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

Loved the route through small towns & vineyards in Sud Tyrol.
Guide book could be improved with maps incorporated.

Glenn P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The whole experience was very memorable. The changing scenery, the background info provided etc. was great. The quality of the barge added to the overall enjoyment. One of the highlights was watching how well the crew worked together and genuinely seemed to be having fun. It was a very unique experience that surpassed my expectations. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone.

Judi H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This is my first bike and barge experience and will definitely not be my last. Although others in reviews said the Vita Pugna was "tired". I saw it as wonderfull vintage barge, with a crew that loved it and showed their care for it in their care for us. The food was outstanding and any hopes I had of losing weight on the trip were quickly dashed with each evenings meal.
We joined a large group of Kiwis onboard, with 2 Brits and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
One thing that would have made the trip even better would be a different pillow; the one I had was too high and too hard for my taste and left me with a stiff neck in the morning.

Philip S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

The most memorable part of this trip was riding through kilometers of apple orchards on a beautifully paved bike trail.

Phil & Kim
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

What an awesome bike trip!!
Well organized, incredible scenery, great hotels, mild/moderate difficulty.
Recommend to anyone in reasonable fitness level.

Daniel G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

We did the 3-day self-guided tour from Bolzano to Lake Garda to Mantua first and that was a great adventure for us. The food and people we met on the boat was also a wonderful experience.

D. Green
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was a fabulous trip all around! The group was friendly, and guides were helpful and knowledgeable! Dinners were delicious and varied, stronger than expected for this type of trip. We really enjoyed being able to purchase wine on board the ship, also. The riding was varied, and we really appreciated that our guides made sure to schedule a mid-morning break for coffee/water/toilet. What a great way to get a sense of this part of Italy - from small villages and farm fields to Venice - just spectacular!
One suggestion for improvement: for riding in really hot weather, it would be great if there could be a little more flexibility. We rode during a heat spell (40 degrees Centigrade one day). It was difficult to shift schedules or shorten our rides due to logistics, and this created some health issues.

L. Klinker
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria Road Bike Tour
Italy

We loved the entire cycling experience! Our stay in Umbertide was especially memorable- the hotel was amazing and the restaurant was some of the best food we ate in Italy!

A. Harris
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

A fabulous experience. We will seriously consider further barge/bike holidays with you.

E. Lowell
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It was a wonderful trip! I liked that we got to be on the barge when it moved (one time at the end of the day and another in the morning). The food was outstanding and I liked that the chefs described dinner and suggested wine pairings. The barge was very comfortable - even with 3 in a cabin.

Our son (22 years old) was outnumbered by the over 50 crowd but Hein made him feel welcome. Only suggestion - mirrors on the bikes (although I realize that makes them difficult to store and move) and a brief intro on riding in groups.

V. Miller
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This trip gets a +10!! The staff (Tamy, Ilena, Luciano, Enrico, Guilio & Alberto) were amazing - fun, personable, knowledgable, friendly and engaging. They were truly a team and clearly enjoyed each other which ripples out to the experience of the guests. I loved that they gave a 'brief' the night before to let us know what to expect the next day. The food was creative, fresh and lovingly prepared. The accommodations on the AveMarie were great -- the cabins were well thought out with lots of storage so that the room felt spacious. The dining room was lovely with plenty of space to relax. The price of wine/beer was very reasonable and loved that we could keep a tab and pay it at the end, so easy.

Oh yea the bikes --- a good ride and comfy enough for the distances ridden. The routes were well planned, even the few times we had to ride in traffic. The trip leaders were excellent at managing the group and making it fun, no matter what we were doing.

For Read More

J. Scott
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The crew were AMAZing! Every single one of them. Tami is an amazing guide - super friendly and helpful. All of the crew helpful and a delight. I would definitely go on this type of trip again because of my experience on this trip.

MARCOS FERRAZ
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Estamos super-satisfeitos com voces e a Giro Libero. Tudo transcorreu muito bem de forma profissional e organizada, superando ate nossas expectativas.
O material distribuido (mapas e guias) foi otimo; as bikes todas aguentaram bem sem darem qq problema, em otimo estado de manutencao e apropriadas ao trajeto; o percurso muito bem marcado; o funcionario da reuniao inicial foi pontual e nos atendeu muito bem e orientou sobre tudo; os hoteis super de acordo com o contratado, bem localizados e confortaveis; enfim, um passeio que nos alegrou em muito com paisagens lindas e repleto de experiencias culturais.