National Parks of Dalmatia Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 35

Trogir, where the boat is moored in Croatia. Flickr:Kate

National Parks of Dalmatia

8 days from €1505

4.6 out of 5

National Parks of Dalmatia

Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in Croatia

The perfect setting for a bike and boat tour, Croatia is a country with beautiful, well-kept coasts, thousands of islands, reefs, and bays. Numerous Roman ruins, charming hills and breathtaking…

4.6 out of 5

 


Joan C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

The absolute highlight of the trip were the amazing bike rides. The tour guides, Marko, Marin and Mirta, were knowledgeable and fun! Our first time on eBikes! It made the bicycling effortless and we could completely take in all the sites. The entire trip was very well organized with hiking, biking and swimming most days (a triathlon!) Also, the scheduled tours on various islands were fantastic. The boat and crew were first class, very kind and accommodating. Croatia and it’s beautiful islands should be a must for everyone to see and experience via bikes and boats. Highly recommend this tour!

Elizabeth P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The beautiful water of the Adriatic Sea and the beautiful coastal views. Food on board was exceptional and bikes were excellent. I would suggest e-bikes for those shy of hills as there are a few tough climbs. Also bring water shoes as the beaches are more rock/pebbles. Kuna is most easily acceptable currency so have lots on hand

Darcy and Debbie D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew were great and meals above average. Unfortunately there were not enough ebikes and the ride is very tough. The e bike riders were always way ahead and it was almost a race instead of enjoying the country side. Only stopped to swim twice, the captain seemed more concerned with rushing to the next port to get a spot on the dock. We were below deck and the ship stayed running when parked which made it very noisy to sleep. Wifi was very limited on the boat and most cabins did not have wifi. We had a great trip with friends but would suggest looking at all cruise line options for your trip needs. The Dalmatian Coast is beautiful.

Florence et Richard
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Notre croisière sur le Mélody a été incroyable : le bateau est très beau et très bien équipé. Le service à table, les repas, l’entretien des cabines impeccables et surtout l’accueil du personnel avec une mention spéciale pour Dora et Tara, nos deux animatrices guides. Et nous avons fait connaissance avec des passagers de toutes nationalités, des gens formidables avec qui nous avons passé des moments mémorables. L’un de nos meilleurs voyages. Et en plus on a amélioré notre anglais !

Michael R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best part: How attentive and accommodating the entire staff (both the crew & guides) were to our needs and desires.

Debra B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Absolutely the most fabulous trip we have ever been on. We enjoyed biking the trails, seeing the National Parks, making our way through the small towns and seaside villages and our guided tours. The views are stunning. The Croatian people are kind, friendly and very hospitable. Our guides were amazing, delightful, knowledgeable, thoughtful and entertaining!

Jane R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Outstanding route, fantastic guides and bike trip. Beautiful cities visited. A terrific crew and felt delicious food served. A very
fun enjoyable trip.

Mike H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour along the coast of Croatia was beautiful and made even better by the guides and crew aboard the Kapetan Jure. Cycling the roadways was always a fun adventure. Everyone was so accommodating and very friendly. Being on a smaller boat is the way to go as you get to know everyone. We had people from all over the world. Never a dull moment at mealtime with stories and laughs. Croatia is a beautiful country and hope to see more of it some day. Thanks for a fantastic trip.

Laura G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a tour of coastal Croatia including a number of islands. The scenery is positively breathtaking,the people are great and the cycling was a blast. We lived on a boat which was so much fun, meeting lots of new and interesting people who became our cycling companions. Overall a first class trip that could not have been better.including the gorgeous Medi weather. I cant say enough good about this country,Croatia has it all.

,

Krystyna s.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was well organized once we got there. The guides and staff on the boat were great. The booking agent for Tripsite was extremely poor. I had a gluten allergy (I'm a celiac) and I informed her of this allergy 8 months prior to the trip. The month before the trip it became a huge concern that the boat could not accommodate my allergy when your website claims differently. The agent told me that Croatia is not aware of gluten free food and it would be near impossible to help me. As a result I purchased a huge amount of food to bring with me and had to check extra baggage to accommodate this $75 each way. When I got there, I noticed that virtually every food store had a huge selection of GF food, even the smallest ports had GF items. The agent clearly did not know what she was talking about, I am very dissatisfied at the huge grievance she caused me, the extra baggage I had to bring and the hassle and cloud she put on me. I did not appreciate this at all. It is curious to me that on your rating form you do not provide me with any place to rate the booking experience. That's what needs the most attention.

Richard L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The food on the Boat Romantica was wonderful.

MARIA JOSE R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip with some room for improvement.
As positive:
1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.
2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us
3. Meals on board were tasteful
As 'not so positive':
1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads
2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week
3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...
4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board

As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip was far from expectations.

Phil M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Guides were extremely knowledgeable and personable.

Robin C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Awesome trip. Biking was way harder than "moderate", but otherwise was great!

Terri D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many memorable parts to the trip - from the hardworking, entertaining crew to the scenery to the great care given by the guides. Overall an amazing trip that offered great value, challenging rides, history and fun!

Audrey F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The quality of hybrid bike was a piece of junk compared with the bike I used in Amsterdam with a group was much better quality two years ago. I would have enjoyed cycling if the bike was in a better quality. The food was too heavy. Other than that, the scenery was beautiful.

Denise T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved meeting new biking friends from other countries. Everything was wonderful!

Carla A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A bike and barge trip is the perfect way for active people to tour Croatia. The biking was challenging, but doable, and the scenery made up for it all. Our guides were experts, and had our safety and enjoyment foremost in their minds. We thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the various cities, towns and parks provided when not biking. The meals on the boat were gourmet, and the accommodations quite comfortable. The crew treated us with the utmost respect and caring, plus, we got to meet lovely people from all over the world. This was one of our most memorable and fun vacations!

Phil M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I've done three "Bikes and Barges" trips that I booked through Tripsite, This was far and away the best one. The advance preparations made by the staff of the Romantica were excellent. The two directors were competent, knowledgeable, and friendly. The meals were balanced and well prepared and served in ample portions (truth be told more than ample!). The bike rides were well planned and beautiful. This was truly a delightfully awesome experience. Highly recommended.

Gord H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Croatia was beautiful. Every time you thought you saw the most beautiful place we would go to another more spectacular place. Bikes were good esp the e bike for my wife who had asma. The guides did everything they could to make the trip special. The boat stopped lots for swim breaks. Food on board was very good. Our server Klatko made the meals special. The only negative is that all the staff smoked as most people in Croatia. I would recommend a double room on upper deck for more privacy and to get away from staff smoking. All in all I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone.

Denise T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

With only 16 cabins on the boat, it was easy to interact with everyone, creating a fun and intimate multicultural biking experience.

Sue P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery and the weather made this a wonderful trip-- however, the participants were unusually amiable and everyone got along famously. One of the waiters was a real clown and kept us all entertained at mealtimes. The chef and his assistant put out some amazing food, and so much of it! The bikes were probably as good a fit as possible on this kind of trip. Our guides were great-- one wouldn't have known this was the end of their season. I can't think of anything that might have been improved upon. Good work!

Terri Z.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides Dora and Marcus were great. The ship Romantica, and its crew were wonderful and the food was more than I expected. There was only one day where the riding seemed a bit short and not a great route but it was still a great view when we got to the top of the too steep hill. The whole trip was definitely a great experience and the scenery and other passengers on the trip couldn't have been better.

Kathy H
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our first "bike and sail" and we found it quite different than the "bike and barge" tours we have done in the past. There was less cycling (cycling distances were less than advertised and usually only in the morning or afternoon) and more cruising. However, cruising among the islands in a beautifully clear sea was an unexpected highlight... and often a welcome break after a morning or afternoon of moderate cycling! One hour walking tours before dinner at destination sites were interesting and appropriate.
The Croatian Coast and countryside is absolutely beautiful with it's small towns and marinas in every cove. Swimming off the boat was such a fabulous experience!
The Romantica was a lovely clean sailing yacht with good amenities. The rating scale for the "bike and sailing yachts" however is different than the "bike and barge" boats; Romantica was rated as "Comfort Plus" but we would consider it on the lower Read More

Sandra M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was a great trip. The Romantica is a newer ship and therefore the rooms were a little bigger and the bathrooms comfortable. The two guides, Marko and Ivana, were excellent. The bike riding was good, although not many miles, maybe 90 over 6 days. One thing that was also different is all 32 guests rode together with the two guides. This had it's benefits, but for avid bikers like us, we spend a lot of time waiting. The food on the boat was outstanding, including many local dishes made with fresh ingredients.

D. Hansen
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The short 13 km bike trip to Vodice was not scenic and seemed not a good choice for biking at all. Otherwise, the biking was great, scenic, nice villages, good stopping places. Thanks for a great week, great crew, great food and great company of others!

S. Makin
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I've just returned from a wonderful trip, the National parks of Dalmatia. We had a fabulous time. Our two guides, Ivana and Ivan, were marvellous. Captain Tomo and his crew were top notch. The food was amazing. My only small criticism was the distance biked every day. Our longest day was 25Kms and I would have loved longer and perhaps slower days. I felt the distance was too short and we biked too fast. Otherwise, I loved every second of our Croatian adventure!!

C. Radcliffe
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Overall I was very pleased. Croatia is a beautiful country. The Romantica was perfect! Thank you to all the staff.

Neal & Lisa
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

What a fantastic trip. The boat, and crew were great. We had lots of fun with them (Dino) and the tour guides (Marko & Lucy). Riding in and out of the beautiful Croatian Harbors was the best. There is NOTHING I can find to say that wasn't above and beyond our expectations. The bikes were good, the food delicious, the crew & tour guides exceptional. Meeting people from all over the world, priceless! Do not hesitate to take this trip!!!

J Anderson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Guides were excellent and the food was excellent. Captain was somewhat aloof, but the rest of the staff were very friendly. The bikes were excellent and the daily routes and trips were just what we wanted.