Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 64

 

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved this trip! The best way to experience Europe’s beautiful rivers and countryside is over the handlebars!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mari H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our Danube Bike and Boat trip. It was a perfect balance of freedom and guided travel. The pace was perfect and the crew and staff on the ship were great. We can’t wait to book another bike trip through you.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Pauline L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really loved going through the locks on the Danube and the rides everyday were fabulous with the detailed instructions. There was a castle, ruin, vineyard or cafe around every bend!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Doug N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip. We traveled with another couple and they also very much enjoyed the trip. Room on the boat was comfortable, food was good, bikes were good. A nice combination of fresh air, exercise and comfort. Have already recommended to others.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The people I met on board - staff and guests - and the scenery.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Rachel J 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    An Amazing Adventure! I enjoyed every minute of this trip. The staff was courteous and accommodating, the food was delicious and the biking and sites were extraordinary. I'll recommend this to all my friends and family.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Barbara H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous bike/barge adventure in Germany/Austria! We'll be back! The cycling was on beautiful paths along the Danube. The food and service onboard were extraordinary.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mari H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The new friends we made! We absolutely enjoyed the other travelers we ate with every meal! They became great friends despite language differences. It was a fantastic trip. We blogged our trip!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Danube was outstanding and riding thru the vineyards on our last day was beautiful. Would do it all over again!!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Normandie took us on a fabulous adventure down the Danube from Passau to Vienna. The last day of biking was the most memorable as we rode thru some gently rolling hillsides and were enveloped by vineyards and orchards. The quiet and the beauty of the scenery was breathtaking!
    Because it was all so beautiful we would on a daily basis become distracted and veer off the designated route (or maybe we were lacking in the map-reading skills). Therefore, after the second day we decided to each rent an e-bike so that it wouldn't be a huge deal if we got off the beaten path and put on extra miles. Best decision we made all week! Our new equipment helped us to keep up with some new found(older) friends who were rocking the routes every day.
    The evenings were mostly composed of a nice slow 4-course meal (stellar offerings) and catching up with friends and family via the sketchy internet service. I would suggest you bring along a game or two and some books.
    Read more… >Couldn't have imagined a more complete and perfect vacation. We just had to get ourselves to and from the launch and dock sites and the staff of the MS Normandie took care of the rest!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Patricia L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The majority of the Danube cycling routes are truly beautiful. We were worried about the bikes only having 7 speeds, however it was only an issue when we made the climb to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. Otherwise, they were fine. The staff on the Normandie were fabulous, as was the food. I esp. want to thank Ani and Mikki who were a huge help to us prior to the trip. We had lots of questions and they always answered them quickly and thoroughly. I plan on continuing to book my trips with Tripsite. What a great company!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

    • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
      by Cheryl 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Pat, how was the "doing your own navigation? " my friend is afraid to go w/o a guide. Are you literally following the Danube? We're looking at may.

      Countries: Austria, Germany

      • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
        by Patricia Leonard 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Hi Cheryl, the tour guide will review routes every evening, so you can bring your tour book to the meetings and take notes. We only got confused once when a route was poorly marked, but even then we ended up on the correct path. Also, most young people in Austria speak perfect English, plus there are always other cyclists around for clarification. This was our first "self-guided" tour too, and it was fabulous!

        Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable for me. I took lots of video and still shots. My plan is to create some YouTube videos to share the experience. I have wanted to do the ride along the Danube for several years and I finally got my chance. It was everything I expected and more. I am now looking at the choices for my next cycling adventure in Europe.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Walking and biking around Vienna. It is a beautifully restored city with so many historic buildings and places to take your breath away. Our bike guide Bernd added to the experience by translating for us all the history and important information as we were the only English speakers on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jim and Margaret Molineux 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from our boat/bike adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Being the only English speaking passengers on the trip, we were in the care of the multilingual SE bike tour guides; Bernd, Andreas and Wolfgang. And look after us they did. With all the tours and information in German, we would have missed so much if it hadn't been for Bernd showing up everywhere to translate for us. The staff on board were helpful, courteous and efficient. Food was gourmet and even with cool and often wet weather, tours were interesting and biking was exhilarating. Bikes were brand new, maps were clear and information given beforehand made navigating easy. Ebikes are the way to go if climbing hills is difficult; although it is mostly flat.
    We would absolutely do this again with Trip Site or SE Tours.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by H. Hausch 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really liked our trip director Andreas. The Theodor Koerner excellent boat with superb staff.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Heide 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Correll 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bicycling Passau to Vienna with the MS Normandie was a great experience. The bicycle route was mostly flat and in top condition. The views along the way were scenic and enjoyable. The small villages were charming and the larger cities were very beautiful. Our accommodations and meals on the boat were wonderful. One of my favorite experiences of the week was the optional trip to the opera house in Vienna. I am especially glad I didn't miss it. This was my third Tripsite tour and overall this adventure was everything and more that I had hoped for. I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves cycling. I think it is suitable for all skill levels. I will say that on this tour the guides daily instructions were minimal. His input was very basic and quite a disappointment compared to past guides. No photo slide show with instructions such as, "when you see this landmark or sign be sure to turn here." The guide books with maps that were provided were of great assistance, Read more… however, and we were able to compensate for the most part by carefully following these written instructions. There was also a small tourist guide book in each room from which you could read about points of interest in each city and village along the way. As I said, overall this was a fantastic week and my friend and I loved every minute!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by J Lillis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip. Our room smelled really bad when we arrived. Mentioned it to the cleaning staff and they said it was the air conditioner. They were on the problem immediately and made sure we had no further problem. Bit of confusion with bike insurance, but on contacting Tripsite on our return this was dealt with immediately (thank you!). Might want to consider having a basic first aid kit onboard I fell in Vienna and badly sprained my ankle - no breaks fortunately. Had to get ice from he bar as there was nothing else available they couldn't give me much as it was needed for the drinks.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Dawood 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Never brought it up to the bike staff, but gears on my bike were difficult to manage. I attributed it to my having small hands, but I also thought the gears should be replaced soon, for the next "small handed" guest.

    It was a wonderful experience and we were fortunate to have beautiful weather the entire week.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by David Pomfret 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time it was a highlight of the trip; can't say about the bikes as we had our own.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent McLean 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Hong Gao 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip, thank you.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Corinne Bauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous guides, wonderful scenery, food, very helpful Tripsite staff. Will be taking another trip as soon as I can!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John Bowyer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Knight 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our Read more… replacement guide tried hard, but couldn't seem to match the route to the one we'd booked, so we missed seeing things we'd looked forward to. So our last trip, Koblenz to Amsterdam, was not one we would recommend unless they sorted the route out. Apart from the above, we'd recommend this mode of travel.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret Knode 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff was incredible. Only change I would make is in the dining room. To be allocated to a table with the same people for every meal was restrictive. We go on trips to meet people from different countries and to make new friends. On speaking with other travellers they mentioned that open seating would have made the whole experience that much more enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining companions, but what if you didn't you were stuck all week.

    Can't say enough about how accommodating the staff were, especially in the dining room. Many thanks! Want to do the trip again next year add bring my siblings.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brett McGillivray 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Besides information on the bike routes, I enjoyed the information on side trips.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

PWPC