Amsterdam to Bruges Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 207

4.9 out of 5

 


Denis E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part? Scenery and food and small group size

Catherine S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip on the Sailing Home Amsterdam to Brugge was far more than we expected. The cabins are spacious enough for 2 people and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty enough space. The outside deck area was very social and the best way to finish the day with sundowners and your fellow cyclists. Loved this trip and would highly recommend.

Katherine T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Everyone should take this trip! A truly wonderful experience.

Barbara G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike and barge trip from Amsterdam aboard the Magnifique II greatly exceeded our expectations. The camaraderie among the passengers developed quickly. The staff was friendly and professional. This was our first such trip and We are anxious to book the next.

Diane F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike riding in Europe has been on my 'Bucket List' for many years and experiencing the Bike and Barge Tour on the Magnifique from Amsterdam to Bruges was perfect. The itinerary was varied and picturesque; things you never see when you go on typical tours of European countries. The bikes were comfortable and the rides offered the right amount of challenge for my first experience riding in Europe. The Barge was like a 5 star accommodation in your cabins and the common areas were perfect for relaxing and mingling with fellow travelers. The crew and guides Fred and Corrie were friendly, sincerely interested in you as a person, knowledgeable and very hard working. The food was delicious. I still marvel at how the chef prepared such high class meals in a small space and it was served to 30 passengers hot so we could all eat at the same time. I would recommend a Bike and Barge tour to anyone who wants to see Europe in a personal way. If I was to give a tip to people looking Read More

Janet J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Number of people was just right. Excellent choice for routes each day and enjoyed the end of day walks into the beautiful cities.

Roger S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We truly enjoyed our barge, tour guides, barge staff and biking tour through the Netherlands and Belgium. The best way to see a country is through the back roads and trails. We will be back for another bike and barge trip!

Steve S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery - Bruges was like a storybook. The food - The chef on our barge went out of her way to accommodate my family’s vegan requirements, and she did it with style.

Sue J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The cycling, the food, and the crew were all amazing!!

Dylan Y.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wow, such an amazing experience! Our tour was aboard the Zwaantje, traveling from Amsterdam to Bruges. I can not say enough about how fabulous the crew (Sam, Heather) and captain (Martijn) were. We also had an incredible chef (Frank), who spoiled us each day with amazing meals. We travelled with a barge full of friends and shared so many laughs a long the way. Our guide (Wieger) was very knowledgeable about every town we travelled through and was a pleasure to bike with each day. Such a wonderful way to see the countryside and experience the local charms of each city we visited. Loved our trip and we hope to experience another bike trip in the future. Zwaantje Bike and Barge Tour exceeded our expectations in every way.

Martin T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Since we returned from our trip, a few of us have been discussing another bike and barge trip but sadly we are not sure we would go again simply because it could never be as good as the one we just took. The captain and crew of the Zwaantje were amazing, the food was a ten out of ten and our bike guide was fantastic. There is no way this trip could be improved upon.

Mark E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We were lucky to be on board the beautiful boat Zwaantje. The Captain, Martin, our bike guide Weiger, 1st mate Sam, hostess Heather and cook extraordinaire Frank were absolutely the best you will ever get on a bike and barge trip. This small review does not do justice to the exceptional staff and food that was on this trip. All I can say is if you want a fantastic 5 star excursion of this kind, this is the boat to have it on. Again THANK-YOU to Captain Martin, bike guide Wieger, Heather, Sam, and the best cook in Europe, Frank for a once in a life time trip that my wife and I, along with the other 11 couples that we were with, will never forget. Trip of a life time!!

Neil V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Martin and the crew of the Zwaantje made our trip unforgettable, the food and service far exceeded our expectations. Weigier, our guide was informative and made the rides a lot of fun. Highly recommend the Amsterdam to Bruges tour, especially on the Zwaantje. Look forward to trying one of your other tours.

Herbert C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The quality of life in both Holland and Belgium, what a difference from Spain!!!

Joyce H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Recommendation...do the riding prior to your trip that they suggest. I did not and had an uncomfortable bum for a few days, lol.

Pam B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Enjoyed the accommodations, crew was great, and cycling was easy . Looking at another Bike & Barge adventure!

Howard H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique II was fine and the food was good. One thing I found odd was the staff joined us at the bar at night. The bar had limited seating and they took up the stools while passengers stood. Not cool. I found the biking boring. There were no interesting stops other than the cities. Amsterdam, Ghent and Bruges were very nice. The Netherlands were rather dull. On other tours we stopped at wineries, Chateaus or interesting landmarks. Here the guides just stopped and said there is coffee or a church you can visit. Not very organized. Their goal seemed to be to keep us out long enough to reach the boat. I would not recommend this tour.

Kathy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was my first bike and barge trip and it won't be my last. The barge, staff and food were all excellent. The trail system in the Netherlands and Belgium was easy to follow and the countryside was beautiful. I'm ready to book my next trip.

Carol D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Absolutely stress free opportunity to experience real heart of Netherlands and Belgium. Really enjoyed meeting new like-minded tripping companions.

Ron H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff on our Amsterdam to Bruges trip were all fantastic. Our cabin was a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. The cycling was easy even for someone who does not cycle. The one area where I could see some improvement was in the breakfast and lunch offerings. There was very little variety from day to day. Would have been nice to have some other options.

Suzanne D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges July 2018. We loved the whole aspect of cycling to meet our barge (our floating hotel) at the end of each day. The accommodations on the Sailing Home were great and the barge is a handsome one. Staff were friendly and relaxed but attentive and personable. Our cycling guide Karline was very competent and kindly took us into almost every town each night for a walking tour. Her historical knowledge of the areas in the Netherlends and Belgium we visited were an unexpected bonus. The food was great on board and most enjoyable. I will definitely recommend this trip to others.

Donna E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Really enjoyed the dedicated bike paths, the small villages/towns we stopped in for breaks. My only concern was the sometimes intermittent contact with the ship (cell service) and contingency plan should a participant become ill or injured or if the bike broke down.

Gail W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Although this was a bike-barge trip, I did not bike; rather, I stayed on the barge each day as it progressed along the rivers and canals. It was very pleasant and relaxing watching the scenery. Each day I was able to disembark at least once prior to arrival at the destination for the night to walk around nearby towns or along paths. The crew was extremely gracious and accommodating to my presence on the barge.

Peter M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It would be difficult to pick one specific memory as the most significant. I loved the companionship of my fellow riders. I recall one beautiful afternoon as we rode through countryside reminiscent of a Van Gogh painting. I was impressed by the open friendly manner of the local people in the small towns through which we rode.

Ray C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? The travel through the countryside and villages. The trip exceeded our expectations. The two guides, Tom and Hillo knew their stuff and created a culture of camaraderie for the bikers. This trip provided an opportunity to witness life in the countries of Holland and Belgium.

Linda P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike and barge from Amsterdam to Bruges on the Magnifique was extraordinary! Whether you were aboard the boat or the bike there was never "a bad view". The route was a great mix of small villages, farmland and cities - our guides were fun and knowledgeable about the history of each region. Thanks to the fantastic staff of the Magnifique, the entire trip was memorable. Our fellow guests were a wonderful mix of folks from many countries and it was fun getting to know them. Thank you Tripsite for making the booking of this trip so easy - I would highly recommend your company to anyone considering this type of trip.

Michael W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: Biking thru the countryside of Netherlands and Belgium

Joe V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part: We stopped at a small bar and had a fabulous time dancing and singing!

Susan L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A fantastic tour, with knowledgeable guides that led us through Holland and Belgium. Everything aboard the Magnifique III was top notch and any concerns we had (our room was a little musty) were dealt with immediately and to our satisfaction. The biking was very enjoyable, primarily on bike paths and even when on roads the cars are very respectful of bicyclists. The routes at 50km lengths sound daunting but were the perfect length to fill the day along with frequent breaks for pictures and beer! I do recommend saddle time prior to the trip and bike shorts! The bikes were in excellent condition too. Overall one of the best vacations we’ve ever had. Highly recommend. If you are more adventurous you can download the maps on your phone and go self-guided. Many in our group did that and had no issues.

Jeanie R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

CycleTours gave us a unique and thoroughly enjoyable way to see a country that was new to us. We cycled through farms and villages where there were no tourists -- met local folks and saw how they lived. Our delightful and knowledgeable guide made sure that the pace of each day's cycling was do-able by people of different abilities -- often we'd cycle for an hour or two, stop for coffee; cycle for an hour or so, eat lunch. Cycle for an hour and stop for refreshment; cycle an hour and we're "home", where bowls of nuts, cookies, and tea/coffee/juice welcomed us.