Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 221

 

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Margaret W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part of trip traveling with friends old and new. Beautiful scenery. Great food. A great challenge. Looking forward to my next trip

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gina F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amsterdam to Bruges . The most memorable part of the cruise was our singalong. After a full day of cycling and a fabulous dinner by our cook Ayelt, we returned to the Anna Antal to find a surprise: our Captain Arnaud was also a guitarist and singer! So we gathered round, local wine in hand and took turns choosing from his songbooks our favorite tunes and singing along. It was a bonding experience that you could only find on a small tour where we all cycled together and learned about the customs of the countries we explored away from the touristy crowds.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Denis E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Scenery and food and small group size

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Catherine S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip on the Sailing Home Amsterdam to Brugge was far more than we expected. The cabins are spacious enough for 2 people and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty enough space. The outside deck area was very social and the best way to finish the day with sundowners and your fellow cyclists. Loved this trip and would highly recommend.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Katherine T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone should take this trip! A truly wonderful experience.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Barbara G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip from Amsterdam aboard the Magnifique II greatly exceeded our expectations. The camaraderie among the passengers developed quickly. The staff was friendly and professional. This was our first such trip and We are anxious to book the next.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike riding in Europe has been on my 'Bucket List' for many years and experiencing the Bike and Barge Tour on the Magnifique from Amsterdam to Bruges was perfect. The itinerary was varied and picturesque; things you never see when you go on typical tours of European countries. The bikes were comfortable and the rides offered the right amount of challenge for my first experience riding in Europe. The Barge was like a 5 star accommodation in your cabins and the common areas were perfect for relaxing and mingling with fellow travelers. The crew and guides Fred and Corrie were friendly, sincerely interested in you as a person, knowledgeable and very hard working. The food was delicious. I still marvel at how the chef prepared such high class meals in a small space and it was served to 30 passengers hot so we could all eat at the same time. I would recommend a Bike and Barge tour to anyone who wants to see Europe in a personal way. If I was to give a tip to people looking Read more… to ride a bike in Europe it would be not to be apprehensive about whether you can manage the rides as they are paced with the right amount of breaks. Practice riding at home so you are comfortable on a bike and ride safely. I am already looking to book another tour through Tripsite on a Bike and Barge. Thanks for a spectacular time.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Janet J. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Number of people was just right. Excellent choice for routes each day and enjoyed the end of day walks into the beautiful cities.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Roger S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We truly enjoyed our barge, tour guides, barge staff and biking tour through the Netherlands and Belgium. The best way to see a country is through the back roads and trails. We will be back for another bike and barge trip!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Steve S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery - Bruges was like a storybook. The food - The chef on our barge went out of her way to accommodate my family’s vegan requirements, and she did it with style.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Sue J. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cycling, the food, and the crew were all amazing!!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Dylan Y. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, such an amazing experience! Our tour was aboard the Zwaantje, traveling from Amsterdam to Bruges. I can not say enough about how fabulous the crew (Sam, Heather) and captain (Martijn) were. We also had an incredible chef (Frank), who spoiled us each day with amazing meals. We travelled with a barge full of friends and shared so many laughs a long the way. Our guide (Wieger) was very knowledgeable about every town we travelled through and was a pleasure to bike with each day. Such a wonderful way to see the countryside and experience the local charms of each city we visited. Loved our trip and we hope to experience another bike trip in the future. Zwaantje Bike and Barge Tour exceeded our expectations in every way.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Martin T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Since we returned from our trip, a few of us have been discussing another bike and barge trip but sadly we are not sure we would go again simply because it could never be as good as the one we just took. The captain and crew of the Zwaantje were amazing, the food was a ten out of ten and our bike guide was fantastic. There is no way this trip could be improved upon.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Mark E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were lucky to be on board the beautiful boat Zwaantje. The Captain, Martin, our bike guide Weiger, 1st mate Sam, hostess Heather and cook extraordinaire Frank were absolutely the best you will ever get on a bike and barge trip. This small review does not do justice to the exceptional staff and food that was on this trip. All I can say is if you want a fantastic 5 star excursion of this kind, this is the boat to have it on. Again THANK-YOU to Captain Martin, bike guide Wieger, Heather, Sam, and the best cook in Europe, Frank for a once in a life time trip that my wife and I, along with the other 11 couples that we were with, will never forget. Trip of a life time!!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Neil V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Martin and the crew of the Zwaantje made our trip unforgettable, the food and service far exceeded our expectations. Weigier, our guide was informative and made the rides a lot of fun. Highly recommend the Amsterdam to Bruges tour, especially on the Zwaantje. Look forward to trying one of your other tours.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Herbert C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The quality of life in both Holland and Belgium, what a difference from Spain!!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Joyce H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Recommendation...do the riding prior to your trip that they suggest. I did not and had an uncomfortable bum for a few days, lol.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Pam B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the accommodations, crew was great, and cycling was easy . Looking at another Bike & Barge adventure!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Howard H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II was fine and the food was good. One thing I found odd was the staff joined us at the bar at night. The bar had limited seating and they took up the stools while passengers stood. Not cool. I found the biking boring. There were no interesting stops other than the cities. Amsterdam, Ghent and Bruges were very nice. The Netherlands were rather dull. On other tours we stopped at wineries, Chateaus or interesting landmarks. Here the guides just stopped and said there is coffee or a church you can visit. Not very organized. Their goal seemed to be to keep us out long enough to reach the boat. I would not recommend this tour.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathy B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike and barge trip and it won't be my last. The barge, staff and food were all excellent. The trail system in the Netherlands and Belgium was easy to follow and the countryside was beautiful. I'm ready to book my next trip.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Carol D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely stress free opportunity to experience real heart of Netherlands and Belgium. Really enjoyed meeting new like-minded tripping companions.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ron H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on our Amsterdam to Bruges trip were all fantastic. Our cabin was a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. The cycling was easy even for someone who does not cycle. The one area where I could see some improvement was in the breakfast and lunch offerings. There was very little variety from day to day. Would have been nice to have some other options.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Suzanne D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amsterdam to Bruges July 2018. We loved the whole aspect of cycling to meet our barge (our floating hotel) at the end of each day. The accommodations on the Sailing Home were great and the barge is a handsome one. Staff were friendly and relaxed but attentive and personable. Our cycling guide Karline was very competent and kindly took us into almost every town each night for a walking tour. Her historical knowledge of the areas in the Netherlends and Belgium we visited were an unexpected bonus. The food was great on board and most enjoyable. I will definitely recommend this trip to others.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna E. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really enjoyed the dedicated bike paths, the small villages/towns we stopped in for breaks. My only concern was the sometimes intermittent contact with the ship (cell service) and contingency plan should a participant become ill or injured or if the bike broke down.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

    • Amsterdam to Bruges
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Donna!
      Just wanted to address the concerns you mentioned...
      We provide an emergency number and the number for the boat before the start of your trip.
      In addition, there is a tour leader (for bigger groups 2) that can also assist you.
      Rest assured you would be cared for of in the event of an emergency! :)

      Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gail W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Although this was a bike-barge trip, I did not bike; rather, I stayed on the barge each day as it progressed along the rivers and canals. It was very pleasant and relaxing watching the scenery. Each day I was able to disembark at least once prior to arrival at the destination for the night to walk around nearby towns or along paths. The crew was extremely gracious and accommodating to my presence on the barge.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Peter M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It would be difficult to pick one specific memory as the most significant. I loved the companionship of my fellow riders. I recall one beautiful afternoon as we rode through countryside reminiscent of a Van Gogh painting. I was impressed by the open friendly manner of the local people in the small towns through which we rode.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ray C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The travel through the countryside and villages. The trip exceeded our expectations. The two guides, Tom and Hillo knew their stuff and created a culture of camaraderie for the bikers. This trip provided an opportunity to witness life in the countries of Holland and Belgium.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Linda P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge from Amsterdam to Bruges on the Magnifique was extraordinary! Whether you were aboard the boat or the bike there was never "a bad view". The route was a great mix of small villages, farmland and cities - our guides were fun and knowledgeable about the history of each region. Thanks to the fantastic staff of the Magnifique, the entire trip was memorable. Our fellow guests were a wonderful mix of folks from many countries and it was fun getting to know them. Thank you Tripsite for making the booking of this trip so easy - I would highly recommend your company to anyone considering this type of trip.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Michael W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking thru the countryside of Netherlands and Belgium

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC