4 Star Merlijn boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 9 of 9

4.9 out of 5

 


Coral C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

There were two main memorable parts of this trip. First, the Dutch countryside and cycling infrastructure are amazing. We were fortunate to have clear weather and lovely, cool riding temperatures for our trip through the Green Heart of the country. The route planning was excellent, giving us opportunities to see farmland, cities, beautiful small communities, polders, and of course, picturesque windmills. Second, the Merlijn is a memorable ship: beautiful, comfortable, hospitable, and first class, no one could ask for a better barge/cruise experience.

Jill B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Highlights of Germany
Germany

The views were amazing and the staff was great!

More biking per day would have made the trip perfect!

Courtney R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

Mike C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Wolfsburg to Koblenz
Germany

Our experience was simply exceptional! The shared experience and fellowship created new friendships. The Merlijn was an exceptional venue for seeing Germany and our hosts took great care of us. We got great value for our travel dollar and created terrific memories that will bring lasting joy.

Joan S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Ludwigsburg
Germany

We had a wonderful time riding through the vineyards along the Rhine and Neckar Rivers and explore that small, picturesque towns along the way. Our tour leader made every effort to enhance our experience with interesting information and spontaneous adventures. Very much enjoyed the evening walks as extra value. Fine trip. Be aware that road surfaces vary.

Mary P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

Most Memorable Part: The beautiful fields of poppies

K. Macwilliams
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

We had a lovely time. The barge and entire crew were wonderful. We were very disappointed with the bike guide though. She was not at all knowledgeable with her directions and we many times retraced steps on the bike. We feel we could have seen much more but her choices for stops were terrible. We would spend way too much time at a stop when we could have been seeing a lovely park nearby. Her choices for stops were not well planned out and some were just very disappointing. The captain, in our opinion should consider another guide for this trip. There is much to see in this area and easily done so on a bike. The guide was not good with directions and perhaps a bit more planning on her part would have made it a far more enjoyable trip. Berlin and the surrounding ares are beautiful and offer a wealth of history to be seen. We have taken other bike and barge trips and honestly, the guide truly is the person that makes or breaks the trip.

Barbara Berling
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Loved the trip and the Merlijn. Hoping to do another tour in 2017.

Debby Repensky
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Loved the trip!!