Quo Vadis boat/barge tour reviews — 31 to 60 of 96

5 out of 5

 


Will E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The Tulip tour was wonderful. Loved the Quo Vadis and it’s crew and enjoyed the biking. Our guide Rikko was so well informed and enthusiastic about the places we saw. Everything about the tour was first-rate.

Peter D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

Our barge the Quo Vardis was nothing short of beautiful with great accommodation, great food great staff, great food and as clean as a whistle. The scenery along the Rhine valley is as you would expect. Castles, vineyards and picture perfect towns and villagers. We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side.

Phillip R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Whether it was the “barge”, the food or the bikes or the bike routes.....everything was thoughtfully planned for the best customer experience possible. Friendly family type atmosphere with a “flair”! Truly enjoyable!

Robert B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

Excellent Boat, best cabins, & cheap beer

Gord W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Off ride to the Arnhem museum. What a memorable day!

Karina M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved it all but the range of fellow travelers was perfect, fast, fit riders for my husband and some less fit, slower riders for me to ride with.

John G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Tulip Tour was overall a great experience. The staff on the Quo Vadis did an excellent job and the accommodations were very comfortable. The 24 passengers was a nice size group.

Joanne B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

Great Bike & Barge with the QuoVadis. Food was excellent, friendly people, lots of exercise. We will do this again, maybe a seven day instead of ten :)

Jacqueline E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

It would be hard to decide on the most memorable part of the trip as there were so many. The barge Quo Vadis was exceptional in every way. Clean, bright and comfortable and so obviously cared for by the owners Captain Rendert Jan and his wife Ina. They had a great chef, Franco, whose meals were so good I even ate things I normally wouldn't. Our guide Peter led us with enthusiasm and humour and we enjoyed lovely scenery and many historical sites along the route from Cologne to Bamberg. The cycling was mostly on good bike paths away from traffic and where we did have to ride for short periods on the road, the drivers were considerate. We are looking forward to our next trip, hopefully again on the Quo Vadis.

Jacqueline E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

We just returned from a wonderful tour on the Quo Vadis from Cologne to Bamberg. The Quo Vadis is a beautiful little ship and the Captain Rendert Jan and his wife Ina are fabulous hosts. Our chef Franco provided amazing meals every day and our biking guide Peter led us through the lovely countryside with humour and care. This is our fourth barge and bike and we are already looking forward to our next one, hopefully on Quo Vadis.

James K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

My wife and I did a 10 Day Barge and Bike trip from Brugge to Amsterdam during Tulip season. The boat Quo Vadis was really excellent. The rooms were small but quite comfortable. The dining room and lounge were well appointed and welcoming. Everything was always spotlessly clean! The crew was incredibly hospitable catering to any need. Captain RJ was knowledgeable, experienced and and very approachable. The evening walks he led in towns were great fun. Also really enjoyed sitting in the wheel house and chatting as he navigated rivers and canals.

The food was basically gourmet with delightful surprises every dinner. Fresh bread was baked on board every day and breakfast was a mix of american style eggs, bacon, etc and European style meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, etc. Chef Franco deserves many accolades for his commitment to healthy and delicious food.

Our bicycle guide was extremely competent. He knew the roads and towns well and was able to make changes to routes as Read More

Ronald R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Memorable parts: The other guests, the scenery, and the barge experience. The Tulip time is also the rain time, so be prepared with proper clothing. Even though the weather may not be ideal, the experience more than makes up for it.

Alix L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Qua Vadis boat, staff, tour route all exceeded my expectations. The food is fabulous and the chef, Franco, made me fabulous gluten free options. I loved the small group, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. He made sure to take us on loops that would show us major sights. R.J. And Ina, owners and captain, are personable and accommodating. I would recommend any tour on the Quo Vadis.

Rosann G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorial Parts: the biking routes and scenery.

Frederick S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Our trip aboard Quo Vadis exceeded our expectations; the food and crew were great. We ended riding more than the itinerary suggested (averaging about 35 miles per day), but we lucked out and head great weather the entire trip.

Tom L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Quo Vadis was super! The food, accommodations, staff and bikes were all terrific.
However, we were unprepared for the traffic and city riding intensity. Marsha is an experienced recreational rider but had no idea how to deal with traffic. She completed the first day and began another, but turned back after the first half kilometer and packed it in after that. City traffic and congested cycling is something only urban folks experience, so we and others were unprepared. We were were really expecting a leisurely paced scenic tour, not the frantic paced marathon we got. The trip was listed as easy, but a 12 mph average speed for 36 miles is ridiculous for most recreational cyclists, especially when you’re there for scenery and cultural experience along with cycling.
Additionally, once you start for the day, there is no practical way to drop our.
So, if we were to look for another bike barge trip, we would be looking for:
Quo Vadis or equal
20-25 mile Read More

Beth P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The first day was the best...but then the next day took over that stature and then the next day...and so on for all glorious 10 days of our sojourn. Around every turn was another beautiful vista, filled with the aroma of hyacinths, the colors of tulip fields, the beauty of windmills and the charm of 16th century villages. Our accommodations were impeccable, the captain, cook and staff were thoughtful, accomplished and accommodating. Did I mention the food? The food was deserving of a Michelin star! Our bikes were perfect for the terrain (the Netherlands is gloriously flat - for a biker from the hills of NEPA that was a treat!). Our fellow bikers were great company - everyone had a sense of camaraderie and fun. This was my second Tripsite excursion and it won't be my last!

Stephen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

It was a very well organized trip with no unexpected “surprises” at the end. RJ and his staff were very friendly and helpful. His barge was very clean and comfortable. The cabins are definitely small so pack lightly. The WiFi is slow but we were able to use Facebook and email. The bikes were all new. We found that the bikes are heavier than our hybrids. My wife used a ebike everyday and really enjoyed the trip. If your spouse isn’t a big rider, rest assured that the ebike is the way to go. The other guests were very compatible and most were repeat customers of Tripsite. We would definitely book with Tripsite again.

John G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

A tour of the Netherlands has to be a "bucket list" item for any biker. It is a fascinating country with great history and scenery. Travelling on the Quo Vadis for the Tulip Tour was a great way to experience the smell of the hyacinth fields along the country roads.

Karina M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorable Part: Riding through the tulip fields and the Kuekenhoff gardens on the same day is a memory that will stay with me forever.

Mia & Jim M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Parts: The fields of flowers in the Netherlands, our fellow passengers, both the barge and bike riding experience.

Jean P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

We really enjoyed the smaller group and felt that everything was tailored to the individuals. This tour was well thought out and professional. It sure seems like the best way to travel and sightsee At a slow pace. The hot apple strudel at a sidewalk café ranks among my top memories!

David F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Great atmosphere created by the staff and participants so much so that we still connect on email with the hope of another bike and barge cruise.

Richard H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Our fellow travelers and Jacko, the chef on the Quo Vadis.

Natalie F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

I loved everything about this trip. It was perfect in terms of length of ride, personalities on the boat etc...My husband and I REALLY enjoyed.

Mona W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The people on our tour were great. A bunch of fun people.

Dave C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Passenger/participant/staff group dynamics were excellent.
Barge had no laundry service, so go prepared with the necessaries to look after it yourself.

Gordon W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Biking through wine country in Germany and going into the fields themselves. Take this trip!

Kristine & Joe S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

This trip exceeded our expectations on every level. We'd never done a bike and barge excursion and decided to jump in with both feet on this trip. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement. The incredibly comfortable boat, the friendly and hardworking crew, the delicious meals, the fantastic guide, the varied and beautiful route... it was all more than we imagined. I can't tell you what a pleasure it was to experience three countries and their cultures with the intimacy that a bike tour allows.

We're experienced travelers and think through our options carefully. The combination of activity, education, relaxation and total immersion was so appealing... and this excursion did not disappoint. To top it off, given everything that is included, this trip is a tremendous value. We can't wait for our next adventure with Tripsite!

Gail C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

The trip started out with high winds and rain but it didn't dampen the spirit of the group. We were always going downhill with the wind on our back! The comfort of the barge and delicious meals were outstanding. The Mosel valley was probably the highlight for scenery and seeing the grape harvest in full swing. Our wine tasting evening was one of the best we have ever experienced. The Captain wanted us to have a real experience and we did.