Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Quo Vadis 61 to 80 of 80

 

 Boat/Barge: Quo Vadis • REMOVE  About Quo Vadis

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Grace F. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall, the trip was good. There was, however, a disconnect among what our trip itinerary described and what the guide and the captain thought in terms of mileages and what entrance fees were included. The guide used the corner system. That means that the entire group has to ride together and do the same mileages each day. The trip description notes that each participant will receive maps and be able to ride on their own. We did not receive maps and therefore it made it impossible to ride on our own.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Jeffrey C. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The itinerary times/distances covered was not necessarily followed because of where the barge could dock and time allowed to get through the locks. Minor problem. People should have been given more instruction/introduction for the ebikes. Guide was excellent except he was not always knowledgeable about the route. His first time in that area. Otherwise, my wife and I loved the trip. Extremely difficult if not impossible to name a most memorable part of the trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Carol M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide, Cornel, was great, despite the fact that this was his first time guiding this route.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by R. Modi 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip for all 13 of us was superb !!! From the quality of the boat, the skipper, the chef, the cycle route, the guide, the food on board, all excellen !! A must do!! The quality of the cycles were excellent ! Which made the experience memorable! I did get a chance to compare it with other boat and bicycle tours, ours was far superior, practically new bicycles.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by J. Shah 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best time we ever had. It was like coming back to home after the day cycling. Staff was very friendly and felt at home. Food was good. Look forward to come again in future for sure. The E-bikes were too good and very good for us who are not regular cyclist.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by J. Stowell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was an amazing trip. The scenery and flowers were absolutely stunning, the group was great, and we had wonderful food, thanks to our chef, Sander. Nico, our guide was fantastic. He is fun and knowledgable and took great care of us. I would love to take another of his tours! I loved the biking. It was pretty chilly and sometimes very windy, but always doable. The bike roads and scenery make the Netherlands a perfect place to bike.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by K Arehart 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were very pleased with the Zwaantje and its ownership / crew, and Felix, our guide. We have already booked our next adventure on the Zwaantje for Sept 2017.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by T. Gaeng 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Boat, rooms, bikes, food, service, cleanliness, friendliness of crew (Captain, First Mate, Cook, Guide) - all excellent. It was was a fantastic trip !!!

    All entrance fees of the places we visited on the bike trips (Keukenhof, Flower Auction) were included and we also visited places that are not usually open for tourists (private cheese farm, retired tulip grower, ...). Some guests were not very experienced bikes (us included) but with e-bikes as options we managed to do all bike trips - although mostly flat we usually went at good clip and had frequently strong winds to battle. But the exercise only made the trip more fun and increased our appetite to look forward to the excellent 3-4 course dinners on the boat.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Susan B. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Super trip. I was a inexperienced bicycler and the ebike made the journey very enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by J Douglas 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The barge (Zwaantje) was exceptionally nice. It helps that the captain is also the owner. You could tell that he took pride in the vessel and kept it in great condition. We were lucky with the weather for this trip, as this time of year for the Tulip Tour can be cold and rainy, as some friends of ours found out, when they took a later week. The Tulip Tour is worth doing once, however since the weather during this time of the year is so unpredictable, we would not take the chance of a second time. Instead, we will be doing the September 2-week Paris to Brugge next year.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jan Bray 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The route was altered due to bridge construction, beyond the control of the staff. They handled it well, though. It was very fun and the group bonded well. I would suggest at the beginning, a short refresher on hand signals, road signs, etc would be good so that we all understand the traveling circumstances.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by George Pappas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We have made two bike and barge tours in the Netherlands and thoroughly enjoyed both trips. We are looking forward to another trip this coming spring on a barge with low beds. (Bunk beds are not as easy to use as we get older.)

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Terry Brannigan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the size of the group. We are now ready for a self guided trip.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Beth Groundwater 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff of the Quo Vadis and our bike guide were absolutely wonderful.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Paula Bramble 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We enjoy the international feel of Tripsite and tell our friends about the pleasures of bike and barge.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Maryellen Doyle 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Barge Quo Vadis was intimate and comfortable. Although small, our cabin had sufficient shelving available to store our clothes (we used ebags pouches to keep biking stuff and hanging out later stuff organized). Our very large roller duffels collapsed enough to store under the beds. The bathroom was fine and we eventually realized the shower squeegee was for the floor - to bring the water towards the drain in middle. Wifi was very limited as the captain made his hotspot available to us but that only seemed to work at the end if the dining room closest to his quarters. We would have liked more seating areas as you had a small sofa/ chairs seating area bordering the dining tables but once filled you would have to sit at a dining table to read etc. The outside seating area actually would seat twenty but appeared smaller....would have liked a bigger outside area too. The staff was wonderful. The bikes were great and i loved my ebike (you have to pedal every bit as much as on a regular bike but you are always "assisted" so you never break a sweat or have to huff puff if encountering an incline or a headwind. In truth i probably would have liked some kind of arrangement where we had the option to do a bit more touring on foot/ time in cute little towns, vs all the time on the bike. We did see things I never would have seen on my own and Belgium is fascinating....hence the wish to actually have had a bit more time in towns like Mechelen where we had a one hour lunch stop and then were on our way. For my next trip i would also invest in a pair of rain pants. I did not know about them but all the Swiss ladies jumped into them as well as their rain jackets when clouds opened up three times as we cycled. One other wardrobe tip...we were spending four weeks in Europe and packing was an issue. I did not bring sneakers which i would only have used while biking, then having to lug for three weeks through fashionable France. Instead my black Sketchers, GO WALK line, did the trick for both a great bike shoe and a walking shoe in France.
    We really enjoyed the trip in general and would just search out a barge with a bit more public space were we to do a future trip. "

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Prosper Bellizia 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    At the risk of sounding hyperbolic, this was a vacation that I still think about everyday, almost 2 months later. The only way to see this beautiful country is at ground level on a bike. And the only way to do it is with the crew of the Quo Vadis who made the trip so much fun.

    Did I say how much I loved this trip?!!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Ralph and Erna Fluit 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had an absolutely marvelous time.

    The crew was amazing,the food very delicious, they all went out of their way to make it a very memorable vacation.

    We truly appreciated all the extra things that Lia did for us, taking us on excursions in the town at night, even arranging a tour one night through the canals in one of the towns.

    We highly recommend a bike and barge tour and have done so already, we will definitely do it again and would love to be with the same crew.

    Thank you so much!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Nick and Petra Voordenhout 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just a note to say how much we enjoyed the 8 day tulip bike and barge. The captin Rendert, crew Valdi, chef Alf and guide Lia went beyond our expectations. The boat was clean and well kept and cozy. The meals amazing and Lia did her best to make it enjoyable for everyone regardless of ability. We would truly recommend this tour to anyone. We would like to do another tour with them in the future.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Simon Husband 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just a brief note to tell you how much we enjoyed the Tulip Tour aboard the Quo Vadis.

    The Captain Rendert, the Second Mate Waldi, the Chef Alfe and Guide Lea were excellent. They worked hard to make everyone happy and made a good team. They really enjoy what they do and this showed in the attention and professionalism shown to all the guests.

    The itinerary was spot on for content and interest. Not a moment was left to chance as they made sure we enjoyed every aspect of the Dutch culture, countryside and the beauty of the tulip fields.

    Special mention to our Guide Lea for her excellent knowledge of all things Dutch, our Chef Alfe for his passion for food and ensuring our nutritional wellbeing and Waldi for going out of way to make sure that we did not want for anything practical on the boat.

    We look forward to doing more tours with TripSite.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC