Hungary Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 330

 

 Country: Hungary • REMOVE

  • Vitali B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I am very glad that I did this trip: the boat, cabin, food, bike, everything was very good. But there were some challenges, which I would like to mention.
    1. The tour guide (Jan, his first name) was not rude, but more like indifferent to your problems. Very often his answer was ""It's up to you. You want this, go this way, you want that, go that way."" Hr didn't try to understand your problem and to find the best solution for your situation.
    2. Bike path pavement sometimes was bad and poorly marked. For people with not good vision (like myself) it was a big problem. European bikers are more aggressive speed wise and more comfortable in the crowded environment. It was a problem to have pedestrians and bikers in both directions at the same time. So, for me it was easy to complete 50-60 kilometers physically, but it was stressful psychologically to be in such crowded place.
    3. Unguided tour is a challenge: you can get lost, something Read more… can happen to you, your bike, and no help is available. One person locked a bike and lost a key. I even do not know how he came back on the boat. I am writing all these problems to give future fellow travelers more real picture before making a decision to take this trip, and moreover how to prepare yourself for the trip. My mistake was that I was thinking that if I can do 40 miles on the bike, I am ready for the trip. Physical part is not enough. You should be ready physically, but also you should be able to function in the crowded city environment at low speed, be able to repair your bike, if needed, to read a map, and not to expect that all people in the world like Americans. Sorry for being so long, but I really wanted to give the most truthful picture of my experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Courtney R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Touring by bicycle is the best! It's a great way to take in the scenery, small villages, and larger cities while getting a little exercise along the way. It was a very relaxing trip and I was glad to be a part of a larger group on the trip. The food and cycling directions could be improved, but the service and itinerary were great.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Diana W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best combination, boat and bicycle, without packing in every place.
    Every morning a new city to visit and the best way is by bike where you can experience the sound of the win through the forest, the river just by your side and beautiful villages where always will be a huge church and a restaurant to have a beer.
    And unforgettable experience, I just love to do it and would like to experience again.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Andy D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was very well organized, the scenery was beautiful, boat staff very helpful. All the meals were great. The packed lunch was a nice feature for the day rides. Rooms were very nice, lounge staff treated us well.
    We liked the City of Budapest very much, glad we had the day to explore.
    Biking through wine country on the last day was a great way to finish the experience.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Beth M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most beautiful part of the bike trip was he Danube Bend, eye candy around every corner! The thermal pools at Szechenyi in Budapest are not to be missed! It is the largest medicinal bath in Europe. Plan on spending 3-4 hours there, it is an unbelievable experience. Also, in the Jewish Quarter you can feel & experience Jewish life before WW II inside old shops; the communist period of Hungary at retro restaurants; and contemporary Budapest through street food and street art.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Peter M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was our free time in Budapest. What a beautiful city.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mark L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I enjoyed the variety of the destinations and getting off the boat to explore small villages, ruins and interact with the local people.
    The staff was very friendly and always helpful.
    One tip we would suggest is to make every effort to be on top deck or in the parlor to see the cities we visited during arrival and departure.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Judith M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The combination of biking in the beautiful countryside and also being on the water on a boat for my lodging was wonderful and just enough time to enjoy the cultural hubs of the amazingly beautiful cities. I loved it all and for me just the right combination of it all.
    I would suggest that the navigation on the bike routes was confusing at times so the next time to enjoy it more I would opt for being guided on the biking versus self-guided.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Charlene B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was the wonderful friendships made being a part of the guided tour group. There were six English speakers and seven Germans including the guide. Truly a remarkable experience. Budapest was also a memorable location. One tip we could recommend would be a portable hot spot. Wifi was not very good because it is satellite feed. Which caused issues with paying for some trips with a credit card.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Joella D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was an excellent opportunity for travel with our mother who could stay on the boat while my sister and I biked through the countryside - meeting back up for meals and comparing experiences. Tripsite was very helpful and we got to know one of our Tripsite staff as she joined our trip to learn more about the tour and help others in the future. She couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Antonina G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the ship-the Primadonna. We liked it that the servings were not big and that you could ask for seconds. Appreciated the lunches they prepared. It was a great trip. Staff was helpful and efficient.

  • Charles H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the Wachau valley and the small towns was most memorable. Staff/guides could be more customer focused and less argumentative with guest/customers. First day of biking was too rushed to complete prior to boat departure ... ride did not accommodate leisurely stops. Guides did not provide enough information on daily routes to assist with historical sites, lunch/rest stops, places to visit or provide assistance on route to ensure guests made it back to the ship. This trip did not meet the standards that previous (5 trips) Tripsite trips offered in the past that we booked.

  • Clare C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
    Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
    The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
    Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. Read more… The bikes are really comfortable and take your time to enjoy the magnificent scenery on this ride. You will see old castles up on the cliffs and picturesque villages across from the bike path.
    In Bratislava we took our time to walk up to the castle which give great views over the city and looks beautiful when lit up at night. Take a slight detour from the route to ride over the "flying saucer" bridge. When you are riding to Bratislava take your time to look at Prince Eugenes palace with its magnificent Baroque gardens.
    Go up on deck to take full advantage of the cruise into Budapest. To say that every picture I took here was postcard quality is no lie. Rather than do the guided tour we jumped on the hop on hop off bus so we could make it up to the castle and anywhere else you might want to see. This was actually my favorite City as it was so beautiful and it didn't seem as packed with tourists and it's very walkable. The views at night from our cabin were fantastic with the city lights and the view across the river.
    The next day was a beautiful scenic ride by the river with another ferry ride to Esztergom where you really should walk up to the cathedral and the huge statue that overlooks the river.
    Vienna was our next stop and we took a tram and subway up to the city center. Tours were offered but we did this one ourselves, and I think that biking this city would be worth it as it is so set up for cyclists. There was a Jesuit church here that was more magnificent than any other church I saw on the trip. I had never seen rainbow colored corkscrew marble columns before. It was truly spectacular. Visit an art museum too if you get the chance. The architecture here was spectacular and we watched people waltzing in one of the central parks.
    Our final day was riding through the vineyards of Austria and little villages along the river. Stop for some wine tasting but not too much as this is the day you will probably have to ride against the wind on the final part of the ride.
    The rides were so much fun and anyone could do them, electric bikes were available for the less able. There is so much to do and see, and you can make great new friends.
    All I can say is sign me up for next year and while I would do this trip again in a heartbeat, I want to try a new one.
    Thanks!!!

  • Beverly C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was seeing the countryside by bike.

  • Steve C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    While the scenery was wonderful, I don't think that I could recommend this type travel to someone who would like to take more time to see the sites. This tour, just in my opinion, is much better suited for someone prioritizing cycling over site seeing. I (and some others in my group) discussed how there was a "rushed" feeling to the trip. That being said, the itinerary is posted online for all to make an informed decision. Lastly, there was almost a sense that we, the customers, were an inconvenience to many of the staff until the second to last day when there was an announcement that a tipping envelope would be left in each cabin. Staff personalities completely changed for the better on the last day and a half. This opinion was quietly shared by most of us who had done this type of tour numerous times before.

  • Frank V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was cruising down the river during dinner.

  • Robin T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My first Tripsite vacation, first bike/barge trip, first trip to the 4 countries.....loved it. Somewhat poor attitudes of hotel manager, Peter and the guides did not spoil my trip...in fact, became a bit of a joke to us. I would not let it stop from booking another trip.

  • Jennifer Formolo 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food and scenery were magnificent. The boat was better than I had expected. Don't pay extra for the upper deck cabins on the Normandie because they are identical with the exception of being able to open the window on the upper deck. Our tour guide was rude. He spent a lot of time talking to the Germans and very little time talking in English. He scolded us if we asked questions that could be found in our book or were only relevant to the next day's bike trip. Peter at the front desk was also very rude. He made you feel stupid for asking any questions. He is in the tourist business and should expect questions and answer them gracefully. I wouldn't tell someone to avoid this trip, because of the beauty, but don't expect a lot from the staff. The rest of the staff were quite nice, but there were three men that should not be in this business!!

  • Annette Weaver 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A fabulous tour. Friendly countries to cycle in, great history and a variety of terrain. Would recommend an extra night in Znojmo to give you a chance to go discover the catacombs.and a chance to enjoy the magnificent view , wine and delicious food from the local winery. Would check with the tour company to ensure that the bikes will be delivered the night before so they can be checked out.
    The Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia were places we had never been to and they exceeded my expectations hugely. Accommodation was chosen well and the bike company was very helpful.

  • Molly S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide for the biking. He was terrific. We had a route change which led to a boring day biking. They do not give you water at the table. Too many people on the boat. Lining up for things to buy tickets. Did not like having to buy a drink package. Too expensive.
    Staff was very pleasant. Our guide was fabulous.

  • MaryAnn Ley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I loved reading your perspective and it's very inspiring. I too, vow to be a receptive traveler. One of my favorite things to do is travel and meet people and participate in the local culture. We have been on 2 bike trips and have fallen in love with this type of vacationing. Planning our next trip- Croatia!

  • Gordon M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of exercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Roger H. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

  • Rollie B. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

  • Harry L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was very nice. Everything was nice. If I can figure a route will do it again next year!

  • Rebecca V. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking thru Wachau valley. Our guide, Hugo, was not real informative. We had to drag info from him. He was better later in the week when we kept asking. Wine tasting was fun. Loved quaint villages.

  • Sandra L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone was amazing: Welcoming; friendly; accommodating; delicious food and informative.

  • Mele M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I organized a trip with 20 friends and family to take the boat and bike trip up the Danube. I was a bit concerned because my co-travelers varied in age and fitness. I was delighted to find that with the option of the electric bikes and choices of long or short bike paths, everyone was accommodated. The entire group had a magical time. They loved the boat, the staff, the food, and particularly enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment after cycling through gorgeous towns and scenery.
    I have organized many group trips in the past, and this one allowed me to enjoy myself more fully because I knew that the crew was taking care of my friends and family's needs, and I didn't have to be dealing with questions or problems. Because we had such a large group, we could all break up into smaller groups and enjoy the sights, knowing that we would all converge later on the boat and share our stories from the day.
    Even though we already had a large group, we all made new friends Read more… on the boat.
    I take an international adventure trip every year, and I would put this one among the top of my list!

  • Gordon M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of excercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Shannon P. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible countryside through which we traveled both by boat and on bike as well as the wonderfully hard-working, pleasant and attentive staff who made my trip so memorable. Lastly, the food was fantastic!

PWPC