Hungary Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 380

4.6 out of 5

 


Douglas C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything! The trip was very well planned and easily do-able. The bikes were great and were very comfortable. We had thought about bringing our gel seat covers, but did not and they were not needed. The routes planned were great and having downloaded the gps tracks we had no problems finding our way. The food on the boat was fantastic, my only complaint would be the length of time some meals took. The rooms on the boat (Carissima) were very comfortable.

Cathy
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is my 3rd trip with Tripsite and they do a good job...but the instructions to the boat were a tad misleading. If there are detours/changes, I believe they should keep on top of that and be sure to report to their customers.The bike ride was amazing. The scenery was like all the other reviews stated......I would NOT recommend the ride in Vienna or Budapest; way to much traffic. The crew was not customer focused. The cruise director/bike tour director, Monica, was often short and rude to passengers. Unlike the other 2 trips I took, the crew was not welcoming or eager to help. There were a few in housekeeping and wait staff that were nice. The captain was cold and never engaged at all with the passengers. This is NOT a tripsite issue but this crew needed a kick in the pants from above to treat the passages better........recommend the trip but I hope you don't get this negative crew.....

Pat L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

Gayl G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

Sarah H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed Wachau. Definitely stop for the wine tour, and enjoy the biking through the vineyards. It was absolutely beautiful.

Amanda S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

Wendy R.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read More

Bob R.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

By far the most memorable part was the opportunity to explore regions on our own and meet new people. The ship crew was awesome and attentive, and as this was the first trip of its kind we'd ever taken, it was beyond expectations!

Kenneth H.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The crew was fabulous, all of them!

Itinerary was excellent the food was great.

Drinks were too expensive at the bar.

One suggestion - smoking on the top deck - put the smokers at the back of the boat, not the front, so the rest of us don't have to smell the smoke if we choose to be on deck.

Craig A.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is a trip that is not to be missed. The crew was great, the sights were jaw dropping and the memories will keep me going for a long time. Second time using Tripsite to book and the experience gets better every time. Already planning on using them for our next trip.

Lanette A.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was an absolutely amazing trip which exceeded all of our expectations. The food on the Carissima was wonderful, the trip overall was so well organized and the crew was helpful and professional. I would definitely recommend this trip to others.

Cindy T.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read More

ALAN B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

Terry C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

Winifred T.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

Jim S.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Slovenia
Austria, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia

The support and coordination by tripsite was awful. The directions they provided were more like Escape Room Clues rather than directions. Tripsite directs us to a ferry across the river Muir which was closed which no alternative route. I would never use Tripsite again

Steve F.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

Claudia B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

My favorite portion was the path from Vienna to Bratislava (and both cities were awesome to visit). We were mostly on the Danube and there were interesting sites along the way. My one suggestion is to let people know that most of the ride through Hungary is not along the river but includes long flat stretches of farmland. The final day going into Budapest was great with 3 ferry rides and a boat trip into the city.

Scott A.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

Dave U.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

Nancy U.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our table mates(who we had never met before) became our best friends for the week. We did all our rides together and had a great time visiting the different cities. We had brand new bikes of high quality that enhanced the experience.

Yvonne L.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

Jeff F.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

Veronica M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It's been a delight to bike around Europe

Donna G.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

Michael H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best Part? The nice people on the boat

Lorne H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

Patricia C.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

Mark R.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

Tammy M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.