4 Star Italy Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 57

4.7 out of 5

 


Ali B.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Verona
Italy

Hotels were pleasant. Well organized tour.

Ambrose M.
7 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Overall very enjoyable. There was however a big discrepancy between some of the accommodation eg Neptune Hotel was superb while the hotel in Porec didn’t have an elevator. Some of the bedrooms were very spacious and others were very very cramped.

Tracy R.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Enjoyed everyone on the boat, great staff and food. Good bikes, some of the paths and roads were a bit on the rough side.

Yael N.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria
Italy

Overall the trip was a great success.
The accommodations were fine. All clean and well kept. Air conditioning did not always work properly.
Bikes were in great condition throughout the entire trip.
Suggestions: we took road bikes for the trip and followed routes for these bikes yet several locations were very uncomfortable for riding. Roads with lots of potholes and gravel not meant for road bikes.
Overall experience was very positive and the company's organiztion was great.

Jim P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

The scenery was incredible. The bike paths are well maintained and made for an easy trip. My only suggestion is to have the hotel in Bolzano closer to town. It was pretty far from downtown however the people were very pleasant. Luggage was late a couple of times. One was due to car trouble. Can't predict that.

Amber E.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Brenner Pass to Venice
Austria, Italy

The scenery was incredible

Cynthia A K.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Scenery riding on the bike. Sunrise and sunset. The staff were amazing and the food delicious. The staff went above and beyond to handle special requests.
Disappointed the AC didn’t work and the room was between 75-77 F at all times. The WiFi rarely worked. The staff did get fans for some of the rooms. With the rooms being so hot and no option to have laundry done other than in the sink, things took days to dry.
Thirty people riding as one group is too many.

Ruth B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Overall, the scenery was pretty-perhaps a trip in the summer would have been more brilliant. I would suggest bringing your own helmet or the boat supply appropriate helmets.

Michael b.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sardinia: Culinary Delights E-Bike Tour
Italy

The excellent guides scenery and food. My only suggestion if the trip is full of North Americans that the suppers start and end earlier. Going to bed at 11 after just finishing a large meat supper is hard on my gut.

Nelson P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

It was my 4th trip with Tripsite. There are some points I would like to mention- 1) Actually the company was Eurobike. No problem but I think I should know before. The others trips were with local company. Eurobike clients have an app with the route 2) The bikes wasn't so good 3) In others trips you offered me to rent helmet. In this trip nobody offered and I supposed there were helmets to rent. But Eurobike doesn't rent helmets. So I should bought. Since I doesn't have space in my luggage I let 2 helmets (mine and my wife) in the last hotel 3) The beginning of the Journey in Mestre was very difficult to find the route.
Well apart from this 3 points the trip was Ok. I am wondering in my next trip If I am going with you or with Eurobike directly.

Charlotte S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Being in Venice, great dinners, excellent staff, incredibly good background material and maps (wish we got this before the trip so we could have been better prepared). We would have appreciated “corners” and a “sweep” when biking.

Tina C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

I truly enjoyed this tour that included daily rides through the picturesque Italian countryside. Each day we biked through a variety of landscapes, stopping in small towns along the way for cappuccino breaks, lunch and local tours. The bike tour staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat crew was equally as wonderful, preparing wonderful meals each evening and serving them with a smile. Everyone bent over backwards to make this a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
As for suggestions, I think the last leg from Pellestrina Island to Venice could be improved. The morning was wasted in a small town that was not really open for business. Why not take an earlier Ferry to Lido and spend more time there before heading to Venice?

Matthew B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The Crew on the boat (Captain Eduardo, Sylvia, & Barb) and our biking guide Antonella were all PHENOMENAL. The service and the food are first class.

Maria Luiza L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The cities of Noto, Syracuse, and Modica. The architecture, atmosphere, and food...

Neil M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence - old version
Italy

We loved the small roads and bike paths often used to take us in to the villages. The accommodations were well placed in the towns with easy access to restaurants.
Most memorable was the last day (finding the climb quite the challenge ) but the exhilarating run down worth it .

To mention more signage in busy areas would be appreciated to put one at ease.

Rachel F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

The best part was the first three days self-guided tour near the Dolomites on our 10 day tour.

Terry W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

As professional as the staff were and as delicious the food, the most memorable part of the trip was interacting with fellow travelers. Since the boat can only berth around 40, I was able to get to know almost everyone and learn about their countries and personal histories.

Rosana S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The best trip i’ve ever done was through Danubio, from Passau to Vienna. It was perfect, the scenery, the route, the boat. It was my first time in a bike and tour trip. It was in 2016 and since then it,’s the only way i like to travel. A new world for me, I felt like a child recovering my childhood near from nature!

Douglas Y.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our bike and barge from Venice was fantastic. The villages were quaint and the opportunity to swim in the Adriatic Sea was a great way to cool down and relax. Our trip aboard the Ave Maria was wonderful. Captain Connie, Enrico, Giuliano, Silvia and Helmut made our trip to be quite memorable! Giuliano and Silvia made fabulous gourmet dinners for us. Our only complaint would be that there were periods of riding on dikes/floodbanks but all the stops along the way were very interesting and full of character. The visit to a Grana Padano cheese plant was followed by a wine and cheese picnic and our ending destination, Mantua was beautifully surrounded by 3 lakes. We would definitely recommend this trip!

John M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Flavors of Italy: The very best of Emilia Romagna (OLD)
Italy

The tasting opportunities added a different perspective to just cycling.

Kathy Feeley
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Brenner Pass to Venice
Austria, Italy

We found the signage very poor on this tour especially getting out of Verona.We ended up out in the suburbs for 3 hours and wasted half a day,getting tired and frustrated.Please improve this ,it would make the trip more enjoyable.Green arrows need to be much more frequently placed.Sometimes we got to a T intersection and even with the instruction book had no clue which way to turn.
Bikes were great!
Hotel in Padua was not in a nice area,though close to the station.Did not feel safe at night given all the refugees hanging around outside the hotel
Generally the hotels would be better if they were closer to the town center in each city
Scenery lovely ,some great countryside and villages.Enjoyed the trip but stressed out looking for green arrows that we often could not find.Definitely need GPS.

Paula K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

We loved the varied scenery and warm and friendly Italian people.
The hotel accommodations were very comfortable and more than adequate. We would have been satisfied with a less luxurious hotel in Trento. We would have liked to explore the town and find a different restaurant, but there was no time. That is one of the drawbacks of cycling so many miles between towns; not enough time to explore.
The Ave Maria and the entire crew were first rate. We want to particularly thank our tirelessly helpful and fun-loving guides, Marinella and Stephania. In addition, the food was artfully created and inspired.
Our one complaint is about the poorly written instructions on the 3-day, self-guided part of the trip, which sometimes caused stress. The instructions were not only terribly written, we also had different editions of instructions among our group of 12. The most exasperating time was at Riva del Garda when we cycled back and forth through the town at least 3 times, looking for the correct ferry dock, after asking and being misled several times.

Thomas H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Piedmont
Italy

Overall the trip thru Italy's Piedmont was very well handled, breathtaking scenery, (lots of hills), friendly people nice hotels very well done. One item I would caution others of is the description of the hills as moderate. Some are but 4-5 kilometers of 11 percent grade is more than moderate the 16 percent grade on some short stretches started me thinking of Hors catégorie type climbs. A description of the grades and distances could help others decide to get ebikes or do more training. I did enjoy the ride it was difficult but doable even if a lot of whining did happen.

Kim F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Mantova to Venice was wonderful. Very pretty scenery with lots of unique places to stop.

Anne S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

We loved the beautiful, amazing mountain scenery (with very few hills) of the first three days. The written instructions, though, are of a badness difficult to describe. We rated the tour 4/5, and the lost star were because of the extremely poor instructions. If we hadn't had maps and stickers on sign posts, we wouldn't have been able to make it through. The frustration really distracted from the overall enjoyment of the trip - an English speaker with an accurate odometer really needs to rewrite the directions. For example, they talked about "crossing a railway" (or maybe a "railway bridge"), so we spent about 20 minutes trying to find a way to cross the railway - but really it meant to pass underneath an elevated railway crossing. Also, the symbol used to indicate a warning (I think of a turn easy to miss) is a hand pointing to the right. One not unnaturally assumes that this means a right turn. It does not.

Otherwise the barge, scenery, activities, food, and guides are all exactly what we hoped for and have experienced on earlier trips. No problems with luggage transfers, and the hotels for the first part of the trip were all great.

Shirley D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dolomites to Venice
Italy

I feel the bike should have been rated moderate-not easy moderate!

Peggy H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily
Italy

We went to Sicily in May 2018. Biking was beautiful especially along the sea. Inland there were some areas that had lots of trash. No problems with directions. One or two hills a day.

Rochelle R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most Memorable Part: Venice in the rain at midnight! Excellent food, great staff and guides.

Gene C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Florence to Rome - Self Guided
Italy

Most memorable part was stopping for lunch in little Italian towns.

Janice V.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence - old version
Italy

Most Memorable Part: Riding through vineyards and orchards.