Austria Bike Tour Reviews 601 to 630 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Merle Brinkman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thanks for providing us with a lifetime of memories.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jim Watson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall we had an outstanding trip. The boat was a little better than we expected but very well maintained and managed by the staff and crew. Leslie, our cruise director, was fabulous. I think we overwhelmed the boat with our large group and American ways. Leslie did a great job of balancing our fun trip and the ship's need to do their jobs in a certain way. We will definitely look to Tripsite for another boat/bike adventure in the years to come.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Lee Ann Gee 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike route and description was really good except on 2 occasions. First, riding out of bratislava is confusing. There is trail construction and NO sign saying where to turn for detour. The second poor section was the last 5 ish miles riding into Budapest. Route poorly marked. We ended up just asking how to get to our hotel since we couldn't find any signs.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kerfoot 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Main reasons for not recommending: Too many people. I would prefer a smaller group especially for lunches and stops along the way. Too much time needed for logistics with such a large group. (That being said, Leslie and the crew did a great job being as efficient as possible with this given the numbers involved.) The trip was marketed as meals all included. However, it was clear that we were "expected" to eat lunch at restaurants during our biking days. That would have been okay except we were always at the same place as dozens of other people (mostly people from our own boat who had not elected to take the guided trip option) so that the experience was not at all enjoyable. The restaurant staff were obviously harried at having to deal with such a large group at one time.
    We always seemed to be in a rush to get back to the boat before its departure. I hadn't realized that the boat would have such a tight schedule to get from one docking point to another. I Read more… would have paid slightly more to have better food. There was way too much pork served; I felt starved for good quality, fresh vegetables by the time the tour ended.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Beck 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on My Story were amazing! Lesley the cruise director did a great job as did the entire staff. Five star service!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Robert Vinton 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Food was only average. Breakfast buffet was good, but the dinners were mixed. If you could find a way to upgrade the dinners, that would be great and worth more money. For biking trips, given it is a healthy, active crowd, even more healthy meal preparations would likely be welcomed. We did appreciate the vegetarian options though Vegan would also be nice. Overall a wonderful trip though, we enjoyed it very much.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peter Parnegg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I know you know this, but the My Story is an old boat. Our bathroom smelled really bad. The food was average. The staff was incredible. The biking was spectacular. Leslie, our tour manager could not have been better. This was an incredible trip and it was a great value because the boat was old it wasn't very expensive. The folks at tripsite we excellent as well.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were to have 1 rest day in Vienna but had 2 rest days. The second being Budapest. We liked the city but would have preferred to see more of Hungary from our bikes. My husband is not an historic buff so was bored with sight seeing.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brett McGillivray 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Besides information on the bike routes, I enjoyed the information on side trips.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph Hludzenski 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group was more than well treated. The staff and officers on the barge went out of their way to help us and make the entire trip one to remember. The tour director really put himself out for everyone on board. He even helped us to solve a problem after we had left the boat at the end of the trip. It was outstanding.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane Malone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Yes, yes, I would and have recommended this trip to friends. It was very relaxing, fun, offering beautiful scenery, helpful staff! visiting the small villages was a treat. The route and route guide was user friendly. Hope to bike this way again soon.

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Nigel Finney 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Konstanz trip and bikes were very good. The Danube trip bikes were not as good and the scenery needed to be varied more since riding alongside the Danube got a touch boring after a while. (Review from Around Lake Constance and Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna)

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Howard Christie 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip maps were difficult to decipher in some cases and needed more explanation. There were too many questions of ""which way do we go?, we must have missed our turn, where's the ferry?

    Why couldn't we get a cup of coffee or tea before 7am or 4pm? Why couldn't we get a beer in the lounge right after returning from ride? Why couldn't we drop off our panniers before 4 on Friday when the man in charge was sitting at his desk doing nothing? The crew for the most part was accommodating but the Teutonic influence was in evidence too often, and I am 50% German. My grandfather having served for Germany in the First World War.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia Scullin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food could be a lot better, and we would even pay more. Other than that the trip was lovely.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joe Rine 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow! Last year we did a bike and barge; Koblenz to Saarburg on the Patria and loved it. This tour on the MV Story was even better. Boat was a bit more upscale, food and service was better; and the biking along the Danube was beautiful. The City visits were very good.
    The hotel Manager on the boat, Paval, was tremendous. And under his leadership the rest of the staff was also very, very good.
    My wife rented an E Bike which was well worth the money. The 21 speed I got was also very nice for a comfort bike.
    The other guests were also great!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tess Tholstrup 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I didn't like was the fact that the ships organisers would have known that the Water levels in the Danube would not be sufficient for the boat to moor in Budapest long before they told us. I feel that we weren't told as it would have put in jeopardy people attending the trip.

    Otherwise everything else exceeded my expectations. The only staff member who could have done better was the guy in charge of the bike courses.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Ray Damijonaitis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Good job in organizing the trip. The only suggestion I would have is for the route organizers to take construction projects into account when giving the directions . We encountered 2 cases which made us deviate from the stated route. One of which go us quite turned around.

    In any case it ultimately added to the adventure.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Hazem Zayed 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    wonderful tour around the Constance perfect roads visited Switzerland, Austria and Germany perfect organizing and extremely caring team despite that we made the booking at the very last minute.
    Hazem Zayed

  • Around Lake Constance
    by ryan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is an awesome bike tour, great work.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Harry Krebs 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip was great fun and as promised. I recommend this bike ride. We road in September and it was a little warm so I recommend an early start to enjoy all the sights along the way .

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Nilton Araujo Alves 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ja conheco Budapeste e Praga.Em Budapeste(cidade linda e agradavel)fiz um tour de bike e agora gostaria de conhecer tmbem Viena,entao,gostaria de informaco sobre preco completo saindo de salvador,porem me deixando livre quanto a aida e retorno

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Harvey & Sharon Rishe 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Although we are seasoned travelers and fairly fit cyclists, we were new to bike & boat touring, and as a result we probably drove TripSite's Carla crazy! But her patience never faltered; she was generous and gracious with answers to our interminable questions and we arrived in Passau well informed and ready to have a great time.

    Our expectations were met and exceeded. Not only had Carla prepared us well, but Rad & Reisen proved to be a world class organization. The accommodations were lovely, the gourmet meals splendid, the route information excellent, the professionalism and friendliness of the crew impeccable, and the camaraderie among fellow travelers delightful. Not to mention the gorgeous Danube scenery, the interesting villages, and beautiful Vienna!

    We were so happy with TripSite and Rad & Reisen that we are already researching our next bike and boat trip with them! Thank you for a lifetime of wonderful memories.

    Harvey & Sharon Read more… Rishe
    Salt Lake City, Utah

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Photo Friday: Emily Hull-Parsons
    by Carla Sprout 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Beautiful!! Thanks for sharing, Emily!

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by K. Augustyn 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I will say that this Danube barge/bike trip was probably one of the best vacations I have ever taken. My friends who took the trip with me feel the same way and we are considering doing another one next year. We will definitely consider the barge/bike cruises that you have to offer. Again, thank you very much!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret Collins 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The four country tour on the My Story was an amazing adventure. From the time we boarded the boat til the last evening it was very well organized. The staff were friendly and fun and helpful. The bikes were comfortable and the staff made sure they fit each person. The bike rides each day were well planned with lots of information on the wonderful stops along the way. The meals were amazing with lots of choices.

    Thank you so much to trip site and the staff on the My Story for making our holiday a very memorable one. We enjoyed out trip so much we are looking forward to doing another one in the near future.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Joanne MacRae 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our best trip to Europe as it involved lots of fresh air and exercise in a dream like setting. We sang "the Sound of Music" as we cycled across the German border into Austria.

    The bicycles were top notch. The food on board was fabulous and the customer service was excellent. We were so pleased with the Pack and Pedal Europe organization for giving us lots of valuable information before we arrived on board. We felt we were well prepared for the bike and boat adventure. The whole experience exceeded our expectations! I would definitely advise anyone to take the "Comfort Relaxed Tour" as it identified us with a group of fellow cyclers on journey with an experienced guide who introduced us to the culture and cuisine of local villages in Austria. We appreciate all of the travelling tips and advice we received from Pack and Pedal as all of our inquiries were answered promptly. I highly recommend this tour to anyone. The bicycles were in top working Read more… order and cycling on the paved pathways along the Danube was a breeze for anyone in decent physical shape. We can't wait to return and take another trip!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judi 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    If you want a great bike-and-barge trip, the My Story "4 Country Tour" should be high on the list for consideration. All of the staff are polite, courteous and helpful, full of energy and enthusiasm to help make your trip a pleasure. We didn't have the best weather, but even so, the rides were beautiful, safe and fun. They were accurately described as easy to moderate and the morning briefings with the maps were most helpful. As an American, I was so impressed with the European bikeways, which are well maintained in all the countries visited. The staff, cruise director and hotel director were terrific and ready to help with any concerns. They saw to it everyone had a great time! The bike tour of Budapest and the music concert in Vienna were our favorite extra tours. I would recommend this trip for anyone who would like a vacation with exercise to work off the great food and who wants to see a lot of country in a short time.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jose Mª Duque Heras 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    * Impresión general: muy buena, satisfechos con la organización

    * el equipo entregado y la infraestructura muy buena

    * personal y atención : buenos

    * régimen de comida muy bien

    * rutas programadas: muy adecuadas, fáciles y atractivas

    * como aspecto negativo: falta de guias en español

    Gracias por todo

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris Prince 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely the greatest vacation I've ever had. My wife and I did this for our honeymoon- Tripsite made planning this an absolute breeze. Picturesque sights, loads of activities and things to do. This was the quintessential vacation/honeymoon.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy Davey 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fantastic trip. From the moment we were on board we knew it was going to be well organised and professional. The barge "My Story" was always very clean and the food was fantastic along with the staff very helpful and accommodating. The cycling along the Danube was picture perfect. All the extra tours were well organised. Wonderful memories! Thankyou.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC