Austria Bike Tour Reviews 481 to 510 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by M. Linwood 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We found the boat comfortable and the staff really helpful and friendly. The trip was most relaxing and a good insight into the Danube countryside.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by M. Mander 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part: The staff on board the ship, our guide, the beautiful sights and most importantly the people we met in the countries we visited. They were warm, welcoming and really made you feel like a special visitor.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark Mander 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Started our tour July 17th. Things went smoothly after they had gotten the engine fixed which caused a change in our first days agenda. They really came through in making up for the inconvenience. Staff on the ship and Stephan our Rad and Reisen rep were great.

    All in all it was an excellent vacation, very well organized. All the ships staff were friendly and willing to go that extra step to make it a great experience. The food was wonderful, accommodations great.

    I thought our Rad and Reisen biking guide Hugo did an excellent job navigating our group from spot to spot. Despite having quite a large group( English, German and Dutch speaking) he was able to spend time with all of us making sure we had a great experience. He was very personable and got our group from point A to B safely, making sure we had time to see and experience the many special places communities along the Danube.

    He even went above and beyond to make my experience extra special. Having MS Read more… meant that I could not participate in the walking tours. He took it upon himself to make sure I was included by providing me with my own tour using bicycles. This would have been a night off for him and he knew that I would not be able to take part due to my limited ability to walk any distance due to my MS. It was one of my more memorable experiences thanks to Hugo.

    He certainly looked after all of us and was accessible day and night to answer any questions and assist to make our trip an experience of a lifetime.

    Boat: My Story

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by L. Schmidlin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Was a great trip. Boat and tour guide were outstanding. Some of the staff were a bit stand-offish, but within reason. Just didn't make you feel 100% welcomed all the time (made you feel more of a guest than family) but again, well within reason. Got lost a few times so perhaps the maps could be a bit more directed, but again, not bad. Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it. Thanks - Larry

    Boat: Normandie

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
    by R. Kocher 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The scenery between Passau and Vienna was the most memorable part of the trip, even when we were away from the Danube. Beautiful.

    The reason I gave the first question a 4 out of 5 is because the daily rides were long enough that it was hard (tiring) to get back out in the evenings to see the local sites or to see some of the sites along the way. That was probably also a result of trying to coordinate and corral too many people (9 on our trip) to get things done in a timely manner. I suspect the 10-day option for this trip might have been better for us.

    Regarding route and description guides, sometimes it was a little too much to remember to coordinate the route book, the additional instructions in the travel documents (voucher) book, and Rad & Reisen's Travel Information book, not to mention the daily itinerary in the literature advertising this trip. In fact, the worst mistake we made was the worst one we could have made: ignoring the instructions to take the Read more… van transfer from Grein to Gasthof zum Aigner Kreuz, Bad Kreuzen to avoid very steep inclines. However, some of the literature given to us suggested we go to Klam Castle (a good way up the incline to Bad Kreuzen), which was not on the way to Grein, and that is what we did.

    I've now taken 5 bike trips in Europe: 2 using hotels, 3 using boats/barges. Barges are easier: you only have to unpack and repack once while riding.

    Thank you for all your help putting this trip together. Overall, it was a great experience.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Lockwood 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only bad was some hills and a very long bridge (wife is afraid of heights and had to walk the over mile long bridge).

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by M. Collins 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat was not in location we were told it would be. But once there the boat was good. The tour guide didn't seem to know the route as well as he should have. The directions on the maps could have been a lot better But we did have a great time but would recommend a different route next time.

    Tripsite was great. Would highly recommend booking with them.

    Boat: My Story

  • Four Country
    by K. McKay 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ok so.... all the hotels were perfect and suited to the atmosphere of our biking trip except for the Einstein Hotel in St. Gallen which was not in keeping with the "atmosphere" of the trip...a little too fancy if you get my drift. Also some of the breakfasts left a little to be desired but this could also have been from us just getting tired of eating the same type of food every day. The people in the hotels were all so friendly and accommodating! The bikes were perfect especially for my 6'2" husband. I had trouble with my gears one day, the next day a new bike arrived. Best service! The first ride (I think 65 kms from Lake Constanz to Zurich) was long and boring! Bike path most of the way. Not sure what could be done about that. The rest of the rides were awesome through little towns, gorgeous scenery. We will be booking our next bike tour with you next year!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by S. Woodhouse 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We very much enjoyed coming back to the Theodor Korner each afternoon and the camaraderie on board this boat. Previously we have been on hotel to hotel cycling trips, which we have also enjoyed, but this time we enjoyed not having to pack up each morning. The staff were all delightful, the meals excellent and the cycling / sightseeing just right for us. Even the rain a couple of days didn't dampen our spirits. The only thing to mention that Tripsite had wrong on the info we were sent was that we were told that credit cards could not be used for purchases on board. In fact we were able to use a credit card.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by S. Irwin 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The details of the transfer from Munich Airport to Passau was not described in the online information, but detailed in the updated information leaflet found in the cabin once aboard (too late). The online leaflet needs to be updated with details of where the transfer desk can be found at Munich Airport.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by S. Burwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The plan changed from recommending biking in Budapest...to it not being recommended - and therefore no briefing/description of the route was provided. While the stickers on signposts helped to guide the way, the book could have been more fully annotated. The boat was too full, there were not enough dishes for all passengers, dinner took 3 hours (2 hours too long). Bikes were generally in good repair and available when promised. Although the food was very good, bottled water was not provided every day as contracted.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by A. Roebelen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike path signs were sometimes hard to follow and we got off course a few times.
    The staff of the boat, The Normandie, was fabulous. The food was better than we expected and they were very accommodating with our lunches. The wifi was very disappointing.

    Boat: Normandie

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Jehiel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi A. Roebelen,
      Sorry to hear you found the bike route confusing. We have passed your feedback on and are working to make the route more clear. As for wifi, quality and availability can vary from boat to boat. We suggest purchasing portable travel wifi, an affordable and easy way to stay connected while traveling. You can find all the details on our FAQ page.
      Thanks for your feedback!

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Ron Zauski 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great adventure... We found the trail well marked throughout the journey; several times, at moments of confusion, we found discreet signs or stickers from a biking organization pointing the way. Budapest was exotic. Vienna was ultra-clean and organized. Bratislava had quaint, old-European, windy roads to explore. But my favorite parts of the trip were smaller towns and villages of Gyor, Bad Deutsch, the castle at Hainburg, the Hotel Bow Garden in Komarno, Slovakia (it is an old synagogue with a bowling lane at the reception desk!), and the jewels in the basilica in Esztergom. This is my third trip with Tripsite in 6 years; I am already seeking ideas for the fourth.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by V. Assis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was better than I could imagine! Thank you all.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Thibodeau 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We found this to be one of our best trips ever!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by S. Garson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I know that there was a mid cruise change of cruise directors and neither were particularly helpful. We basically did the routes ourselves and there could have been better instructions. We had a wonderful trip though.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by H. Hausch 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really liked our trip director Andreas. The Theodor Koerner excellent boat with superb staff.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by J. Gellerd 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This has been one of the greatest vacations for my husband and I, due to the luxury quality of the ship-hotel and the superior quality of the staff/services. The "Very satisfied" has to have 5 more stars! Thank you very much! We fervently advertise it among friends and beyond!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by B. Burwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking - generally excellent. There is one day - Budapest - that is described as a biking day in most of the material we saw but when we were on the boat the tour director tried to discourage us from biking that day. There was a good reason for that - the route was confusing and included a VERY busy road for a few km. It should be removed from the promotional material as a biking day,

    Boat - another boat broke down and several people were transferred to empty cabins on our boat. I think as a result there was more people on board than could be handled at dinners. Dinners went on for 2-3 hours just because the staff couldn't deal with all the guests. The good itself was fine when it finally arrived.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by R. Bass 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a problem with sewage odor in our room - which they boat crew was unable to fix - Also room was hot and we had to use a fan. When we complained to Rad and Reisen about the temperature they denied that the AC was not working. We complained to Rad and Reisen and they issued us a 10% refund which Tripsite matched. We appreciated your concern attentiveness to these problems and you willingness to offer some compensation.

    Despite these problems, overall the trip was great - good people, great rides and beautiful scenery and points of interest. We would definately book another trip with your company, but not with Rad and Reisen.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Michael Jenks 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    WOW!!!!
    Everything was outstanding. All my fears were for naught...
    Hotels knew to expect us, knew where to store our bikes, and knew our names!

    Bratislava, as someone mentioned, was under construction, but should be ok by summer 2016.

    18 thumbs up! Will do this exact trip again and again if I could!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by L. Zantingh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the most amazing vacation we have had. For our 40th we decided to do a self- guided bike tour around Lake Constance. The first day was a struggle due to many hills, but that was by far the most difficult day. The hotels were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. When biking you see so much more of the countryside, the historical towns were simply breathtaking. On one day we needed to take a boat from point A to B due to an injury and it was very easy to access. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Sattler 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only thing missing was quality wifi on the boat. The trip more than met our expectations

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Wagemakers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This adventure was more than we expected. The boat was very well equipped, and our cabin was comfortable and larger than we expected. The staff was very friendly and dealt with all of our needs, and the meals were fabulous. Our bikes were well maintained and were well suited for the route we rode. The scenery was amazing and we come home with a collection of pictures and memories.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Kehrberg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The itinerary was excellent. A nice blend of bike routes and city site seeing along the way. We spent a couple days in Vienna before the trip and then used our Vienna day to bike on the island. Glad we didn't have to cram Vienna into a few hours. It was our cruise director's first trip and his enthusiasm was greater than his organizational skills in his presentations.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by R. Hennigan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Normandie trip from Passau to Budapest was spectacular! The weather, the boat, the food, the fellow bikers, the countryside and the bikes were all a delight. We were also pleased to learn that our guide rode each day. He was very knowledgeable; however, under stress was verbally contentious and short with guests. It became almost comical and so we learned to stay out of his way during certain times of the day. Nevertheless, the trip was a dream and we thank-you!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Heide 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Correll 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bicycling Passau to Vienna with the MS Normandie was a great experience. The bicycle route was mostly flat and in top condition. The views along the way were scenic and enjoyable. The small villages were charming and the larger cities were very beautiful. Our accommodations and meals on the boat were wonderful. One of my favorite experiences of the week was the optional trip to the opera house in Vienna. I am especially glad I didn't miss it. This was my third Tripsite tour and overall this adventure was everything and more that I had hoped for. I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves cycling. I think it is suitable for all skill levels. I will say that on this tour the guides daily instructions were minimal. His input was very basic and quite a disappointment compared to past guides. No photo slide show with instructions such as, "when you see this landmark or sign be sure to turn here." The guide books with maps that were provided were of great assistance, Read more… however, and we were able to compensate for the most part by carefully following these written instructions. There was also a small tourist guide book in each room from which you could read about points of interest in each city and village along the way. As I said, overall this was a fantastic week and my friend and I loved every minute!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Four Country
    by Pilar Parra 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hice este viaje en septiembre de 2015 junto a mi marido. Fue un viaje inolvidable. Era el primer tour en bicicleta y nos encantó. El servicio de traslado de equipaje y los hoteles estupendos. Queremos repetir este año por otros paises.
    Recomendaciones para futuros viajeros:
    - La entrada a Zurich es un poco complicada, sí sería necesario un mayor detalle en las rutas.
    - El trayecto en tren desde la estación de Gais se hace desde una estación que no está detallada en la ruta, sería necesario explicarlo mejor en las indicaciones.
    - También sería necesario detallar la localización de salida del ferry desde Wessen.

PWPC