Austria Bike Tour Reviews 511 to 540 of 601

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill Roach 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diana Collins 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent McLean 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Hong Gao 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip, thank you.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen Molony 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time, the staff worked very hard to please, and it was a very good trip.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Creighton 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. The only thing we didn't like was the guide we had for our guided tour. All other staff were fantastic.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lois Farmer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

    The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

    I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Beck 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip of a lifetime! My Story boat a bit dated, but the entire staff was wonderful!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lori Cicero 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed our trip immensely and recommend it to everyone! The boat was nice, just vintage. The bike routes were well thought out, relatively easy and well marked. Some meals on the ship were good and a couple were not. We preferred eating out on the sightseeing days anyways. Overall it was a great value for the overall price. Can't wait to do another one in a different country!

    Boat: My Story

  • Four Country
    by John Lonsway 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The four country tour is one of the best trips you offer. Thanks

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Hyland 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great way to travel on the Danube from Passau to Budapest and back. Our 4 days of biking were on well marked and scenic trails. Glad to have the opportunity to climb the hill overlooking the Danube Loop. Loved biking through small towns such as Melk, Durnstein and Krems. Would recommend this trip on the MS MY STORY.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Four Country
    by Thomas Brandt 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some hotels were too far from the center of the city. Directions need more detail, such as recommendations for lunch or rest stops, and places where you might want to bike on the road rather than a gravel or hilly bike route. Detailed maps of town and cities would be good.

  • Wine Trail between Prague and Vienna
    by Wallace Rowe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a tremendous trip in a place where we encountered NO other Americans--still clean and wholesome. The trip company was stellar!

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
    Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Alan Robson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great tour down the Danube.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Corinne Bauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous guides, wonderful scenery, food, very helpful Tripsite staff. Will be taking another trip as soon as I can!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken Scheske 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have recommended this trip to all of our cycling friends, it was one of the best trips we ever had in Europe - and we have had a lot. So far we have cycled in Scotland, Germany, Holland, Belgium, France, Denmark and Sweden and then of course the barge trip. Keep up the good work, would love to do another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sue Ernst 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I've passed your site along to others.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pam Davis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John Bowyer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dennis Marshall 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great value for money. Barge had broken airconditioning for 24hours+ so was unpleasant for a while. Highly recommend this trip to anyone as a great balance between active and passive holidaying. Stay overnight in key cities for 2 nights would be better, eg> Vienna. Thank you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janis Benedict 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful bike trip along the Danube. Have already recommended to several friends. Look forward to doing another trip. Prefer the self-guided, plenty of time to stop and take photos.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carolyn Myers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful trip - we took our 17 year old grandson and he had a great time with the bicycling and visiting the cities along the route. The staff on the barge was so kind and helpful and the food was outstanding!! The bicycle leader was very well versed in the route and explained the itinerary every evening. We love to take Barge and Bike trips and have taken several Tripsite trips - enjoyed them all.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathy Showers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trip! The route and scenery was amazing and we will cherish the friends we made. This tour wasn't posh - it was an active tour - I'd rather get out and experience the culture from the seat of a bicycle than from the deck of my suite. The staff was first class, food was good and the room adequate. I couldn't ask for more beautiful and safe routes each day but got lost once. My husband, who was a bit hesitant about riding 25 miles each day, did great, and is ready to plan the next trip! Tripsite was very professional and helped with all questions and concerns. We will take our next cycling trip in the next few years and will use Tripsite! Thanks!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Knight 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our Read more… replacement guide tried hard, but couldn't seem to match the route to the one we'd booked, so we missed seeing things we'd looked forward to. So our last trip, Koblenz to Amsterdam, was not one we would recommend unless they sorted the route out. Apart from the above, we'd recommend this mode of travel.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Claudia Bonomi 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide Mr. Leslie was extremely eficiente, the routes very thoughtful and well signposted. I considered it a fascinating experience!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joyce Lear 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought we would bike every day, not a problem, but it would have been nice to know.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Martin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Upon boarding, there was confusion regarding our room assignments. All 12 of us in our party were assigned different rooms than our vouchers indicated, even on different decks. Fortunately, the cruise director was able to sort everything out, but not without some angst on the part of the hotel manager, who was in the midst of boarding all the passengers at the start of the trip.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC