5 Star Gandalf boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 18 of 18

4.9 out of 5

 


Howard J.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

The Gandalf has a great crew and captain, excellent service great meals clean and tidy. You must remember where you are you are on a barge not a 5 star hotel. Cabin cleaning was done regularly and clean towels were available when ever needed. Patrick our tour guide went out of his way to accommodate everyone, even taking us for walks in the evening. His knowledge was amazing. Bikes were well suited and maintained. It is hard to say what was the most memorable part of the trip as we saw and enjoyed everything. We would definitely look at another trip especially on the Gandalf.

Nick and Sharon G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

We loved the biking! We realized very quickly that with the 'junction points' identified for us by the cycling guide, we were able to venture off on our own. That allowed us to stop when we wanted and still get to the boat on time. The meals on the ship were outstanding as was the crews' attention to detail! The owner of the boat was very personable and had history to share, which we really enjoyed. Getting to know 20 people by sharing breakfast and dinner was also very enjoyable. Paperwork provided prior to the trip was thorough. Payment efficient and accurate.

Jennie G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Best Part? Feeling a sense of Awe as we traveled through spectacular scenery on a bike then stopping at the little villages for coffee and a chat with our fellow riders.
Just the best.

Harold S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

All days, with one exception, were beautiful, pleasurable, interesting, refreshing. The one exception day, that was actually most memorable, had very strong headwinds and some driving rain. It was the one day that added a sense of reality to this fabulous biking adventure.

Pat M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Bruges to Amsterdam BOAT-BIKE tour created memories that will last a lifetime! We really enjoyed the people we met. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The guests were interesting and fun to get to know - we hope to keep in touch with several of the couples that we met. The cycling was at a good pace and the frequent breaks for coffee and regional treats added to the experience. We toured through a nice mix of historical sites and local neighborhoods. After cycling, arriving back at the boat to have a glass of wine while dinner was prepared was the ultimate in being pampered. We will definitely book another tour through Tripsite.

Linda H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Really enjoyed the bike/barge tour on the Gandalf. The food & scenery were great. Enjoyed cycling into the forest & small towns. On the down side, be prepared for some wind. If new to cycling I would recommend getting the electric assist bicycle. The terrain is mostly flat but there are some hills which can be challenging with head on wind. Our guide, Fred, was very knowledgeable & friendly. He took good care of everyone.

Corri & Tom H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

Michael P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I enjoyed the whole trip. The pace was perfect, fast enough to be interesting, with constantly changing scenery and a mix of cities, villages, and farmland, and yet slow enough to enjoy and savor the experience. Our travel guide and the staff on the Gandalf were fantastic and looked after us almost like royalty, but still with a casual and friendly approach.

Patricia C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

I loved everything about my barge/bike trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. Wonderful staff members were very professional and accommodating making all of the guests feel special. The food rose above my expectations. The quality and presentation were superb. I have already booked another bike/barge trip for 2018!!

Michael C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

The route for the Authentic Holland Tour was very attractive and went through some very attractive Hanseatic villages. Our guide Meindirt made every day a pleasant experience. For people looking for a fun and relaxing bicycle trip in the Netherlands, this one will not disappointment you. Enjoy!

Rick C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The country side, the guide was very personable and knowable of the routes, sites with a very positive and safety conscious attitude. More time in some of the major centres (Gent, Antwerp) I would recommend that travelers arrive at least one day preferable two in advance of the bike & barge departure and stay at least 2 days afterwards to enjoy the cities of Bruges and Amsterdam. The availability of e-bikes was essential so that those less experienced in pedalling the distances could enjoy the biking part of the trip.

Michael P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I really enjoyed the variety of the tour, including bike rides through pastoral countryside and alongside canals, and walking tours through fascinating historical cities and towns. The food and drink were highlights, both on and off the boat, and I really enjoyed traveling with a great group of fellow travelers. The crew and guide were fantastic! The Tripsite guidebook included suggestions for tipping the crew and guide. Our group felt that the suggested tip amounts were not adequate, so we tipped a lot more than what was suggested.

L. Fesyk
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

It would have been nice to have a group photo at the end. It seemed a little confused at the end. Also, with other trips I have been on the guide circulates an email list and anyone who wants to join it can. That way it is easy to connect with other participants to exchange photos etc. Other than that it was a great trip. I'd definitely like to do another one! I think the Gandalf is the best boat in the fleet (or so I hear from others).

K. de Geest
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

The trip was nothing short of Fantastic! The towns we went through on the Hanseatic Route were so charming. Captain Hans on the Gandalf was so generous to me...he knows what he did! ;-) I will specifically seek out trips on the Gandalf. Fred the guide was superb...ensuring everyone got the biking experience they wanted and just a lovely guy all around!! This was my first Bike & Barge but it won't be my last...I've got friends lined up wanting to join me on my next trip...they didn't know such trips exist, but they do now!!

Kris
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

This was such an amazing trip on the Gandalf with Captain Hans and Fred the guide. The description does not do this trip justice. You go through such varied terrain like forests, along the water and the towns were sooo charming! I've been to Holland many times and yet I saw such a beautiful side of Holland that blew me away!

Doug Lay
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I thoroughly enjoyed the Bruges to Amsterdam bike/barge trip last spring. From the easy, scenic rides, to the informative, knowledgeable guide to the excellent private accommodations on board the barge, I'm already looking at booking another bike/barge trip with Tripsite!

Bill Bellamy
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges was a great first bike trip. Although we averaged 50km/day the pacing allowed much time to soak in the culture and scenery .

Diane Denham
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fantastic trip we loved everything about it. I would recommend this trip to anyone. The people we met were so nice and helpful and friendly. Our Polish chef on the boat was fantastic.