4 star rated Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 26 of 26

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rob H. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bruges was outstanding, boat crew very nice.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carol T. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have visited Amsterdam 3x so was well acquainted with the City, but for someone who has never been there before I would strongly recommend they plan extra time before or after the trip to Explore

    I loved Brugge and had never visit before I wish I had allowed more days there

    Packed smartly but the key is layers & several bike shorts/capri's as the weather is changeable

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael O. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing Home was a great boat, well finished, very clean, lots of room and nice staff. The trip from Bruges to Amsterdam was very scenic and flat country yet the riding did not offer the flexibility friends had experienced with other tours.
    We had expected to ride 30kms (+or- 10) a day and were somewhat surprised to hear the daily ride was 60 kms. That said, on one day, it was possible to ride 20 kms in the morning then 40 kms in the afternoon as the bike route crossed the boats route.
    There were nine in our group and to a person we thought it would have been far better to have the boat dock at mid day for people wanting to ride a shorter distance, then head to the overnight stopping point. We would have liked the option to stop in some local villages, had lunch in a cafe and strolled at some of the scenic spots. It is not supposed to be the Tour de France.
    Would we do it again, yes, but at our own pace, so we would do it 'self guided' next time as I Read more… don't think our guide could comprehend our desire to enjoy all the joys of the ride.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing the original Brooklyn (Breukelen, Netherlands) Bridge, and all the other quaint and charming towns between Brugge and Amsterdam was wonderful and worth every pedal!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by April S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience...biked along canals, by windmills and visited cities...literally smelled the roses. Must do!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Brugge to Amsterdam trip was a very flat, easy trip and we recommend it for beginner barge and bikers. Our main criticism was that although the guides were very nice and helpful, we would have liked more information and history on the sights along the way, and more picture stops.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michel D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were very happy with the biking experience, the food, the scenery, our new biking friends, our wonderful guide and the rest of the employees on the boat. We were disappointed at the end of the trip when we were advised that we had possibly been exposed to bed bugs. Adding to the disappointment, ship staff blamed us for having brought the bed bugs aboard the ship.

    Other than this issue, we had a wonderful trip!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ed W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike , boat, staff and fellow travelers all great fun. Memorable trip for me and still talking about to my mates at home in Australia.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery. If you are an experienced cyclist, consider splitting off with a smaller group. The group was too large with varied skills, making the ride less than it could have been.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Freddie O. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I actually crashed my bike at the end of the first day, tried riding an ebike the next day but found it too painful. Therefore I spent the remainder of the trip on the barge, totally loved it. My suggestion for others would be to make sure to train, most of the people on our trip felt that they were being pushed and that the distance biked each day was too far. Also, for myself I felt that the bike was just too big for me and that contributed to my accident. Our guide (Fred) was delightful as were the crew of the Gandalf and the meals were fabulous. So, overall a great experience in spite of the spill.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Francine G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The people and the beer!!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great experience, although a very large group to be riding together. The food was good but not great. Made some friends and really enjoyed the trip.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Franziska P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Love the boat ride, also liked the bikes and bike riding as well as our tour guide.
    The food was too American, it could have been more European. The scenery was
    lovely and the trails terrific. Weather fantastic. Would do it again.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. House 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was A-1. I was totally surprised when our tour guide Tom managed to reunite me with my lost "zebra" luggage on a cobblestone street corner 4 days into the trip! Thanks, Tom!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Great, hospitable staff willing to please, answer questions, professional, share information. Boat was clean, comfortable, well equipped. Food was excellent and there was plenty to enjoy.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Kister 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    When I first heard of a bike & barge trip, I thought I would be sleeping on a cot under the stars! After obtaining more info, I realized we would have a comfortable room but I was very impressed with our accommodations. It was like being on a mini cruise. Food was great, tour guide was personable and entertaining, friendly staff went out of their way to make this trip extra special. We had an arranged canal boat tour complete with champagne after arriving in Amsterdam! I would highly recommend the Magnifique and this crew, for an awesome way to experience Belgium and The Netherlands.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Exceptional staff, welcoming, friendly, informative, knowledgable. Perhaps on the rides having a buddy system so the guide doesn't need to count all the people to make sure everyone is present would be my only suggestion. I sometimes got the sense that people wanted to stop more often to take pictures and no one told them not to but then it can take time away from getting to visit town at the end of the day. Perhaps that needs to be discussed in more depth. Sometimes some of the breaks were longer than necessary. Again they were fine but took time from visiting a town at the end of the trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by W. Staab 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike leader. Have name tags for participants or for bikes to help us w names. Would like to have been brave enough to ride on my own! Some participants were not really regular cyclists. Would have been good to have a briefing re group bike rules, including spacing, passing, signaling, warnings, etc.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by K. Hadley 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some wait staff could have been more accommodating. We seemed burdensome at times. Running out of food & then having to wait for more or not refilled at all was an annoyance.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Robin Bagby 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge had bugs in drains. Lots in room every night. Aldo specifically booked comfort class boat for the AC. They turned it off before 9pm every night.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Natadha Vickery 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent guide, staff. Very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Natadha Vickery 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent guide, staff. Very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Diane Denham 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I had an amazing time. I loved everything about it and I would recommend it to anyone. In fact I have recommended it to many many people.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by John Ummels 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling a wee bit fast. Most people were in fifties & sixties and I was seventy-nine.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Richard Kurtz 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cabins were nicer than I expected. We stayed with the guide as found the routes hard to navigate and the guide knew all the great stops. Dinners were good, breakfast and lunches needed more variety by the end of the week. We had fabulous weather and loved the route. Lots to see.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Joel Benedito Junior 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    1) In the boat is possible to rent helmet for EU$ 5/week. This renting is good for travelers that spend more time in Europe. I'm not sure if this information is available in the Tripsite's site.

    2) I ordered a E-bike for my wife. In the boat I saw that 2 kinds of E-bike are offered to the customers. My wife would love bike in a more comfortable E-bike.

    3) According to the staff of the boat, I should speak German. I don't know the source of this information. This information is used to organize the passengers in the restaurant.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC