Italy Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 339

 

 Country: Italy • REMOVE

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Paula K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the varied scenery and warm and friendly Italian people.
    The hotel accommodations were very comfortable and more than adequate. We would have been satisfied with a less luxurious hotel in Trento. We would have liked to explore the town and find a different restaurant, but there was no time. That is one of the drawbacks of cycling so many miles between towns; not enough time to explore.
    The Ave Maria and the entire crew were first rate. We want to particularly thank our tirelessly helpful and fun-loving guides, Marinella and Stephania. In addition, the food was artfully created and inspired.
    Our one complaint is about the poorly written instructions on the 3-day, self-guided part of the trip, which sometimes caused stress. The instructions were not only terribly written, we also had different editions of instructions among our group of 12. The most exasperating time was at Riva del Garda when we cycled back and forth through the town at least 3 times, Read more… looking for the correct ferry dock, after asking and being misled several times.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

    • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Paula,
      We have shared your feedback with our local partner and they are reviewing the written instructions for the tour. I should also mention there are GPS tracks that can be requested for this tour, which definitely helps ease the stress of navigating on your own.
      Glad you had a great trip otherwise!

      Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by John B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We started out in Bolzano, going from Hotel to hotel the first three nights, and then on the barge for seven more. The scenery of the hotel to hotel was spectacular! The Ave Maria was a fantastic boat, the crew was great and very accommodating. The only negative is- I wish we could have spent more time in each town we went past. But with only ten days, squeezing anything else like more time is impossible.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Piedmont
    by Thomas H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall the trip thru Italy's Piedmont was very well handled, breathtaking scenery, (lots of hills), friendly people nice hotels very well done. One item I would caution others of is the description of the hills as moderate. Some are but 4-5 kilometers of 11 percent grade is more than moderate the 16 percent grade on some short stretches started me thinking of Hors catégorie type climbs. A description of the grades and distances could help others decide to get ebikes or do more training. I did enjoy the ride it was difficult but doable even if a lot of whining did happen.

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence - old version
    by Erica W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This bike ride was scenic and full of pleasant surprises! The fields we passed were full of fragrant flowers and fruit hanging off of the trees. The towns were small enough to get around by bicycle easily with lots of options for food and activities.

    We had some difficulty reading the paper maps because the English translation was not always words we would use to describe the route. (Also the mileage was in kilometers) My GPS did not work. That was probably due to our inability to make the technology work in another country ! So, we just got used to getting a little lost every day.

    We are adventurous people so none of this would prevent me from doing it again! We rode the self guided route.

    There was one day there was a long stretch of a gravel bumpy bike path. We opted to go another route on our own to avoid it. That was an adventure in itself!
    The last day the hill was steeper than anything we had ever ridden and we did Cape Bretton in Nova Scotia with 17% Read more… grade hills. So we walked up!

    Overall the trip was absolutely wonderful, people were super helpful etc. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kim F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Mantova to Venice was wonderful. Very pretty scenery with lots of unique places to stop.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Anne S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the beautiful, amazing mountain scenery (with very few hills) of the first three days. The written instructions, though, are of a badness difficult to describe. We rated the tour 4/5, and the lost star were because of the extremely poor instructions. If we hadn't had maps and stickers on sign posts, we wouldn't have been able to make it through. The frustration really distracted from the overall enjoyment of the trip - an English speaker with an accurate odometer really needs to rewrite the directions. For example, they talked about "crossing a railway" (or maybe a "railway bridge"), so we spent about 20 minutes trying to find a way to cross the railway - but really it meant to pass underneath an elevated railway crossing. Also, the symbol used to indicate a warning (I think of a turn easy to miss) is a hand pointing to the right. One not unnaturally assumes that this means a right turn. It does not.

    Otherwise the barge, scenery, Read more… activities, food, and guides are all exactly what we hoped for and have experienced on earlier trips. No problems with luggage transfers, and the hotels for the first part of the trip were all great.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Art W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the barge was terrific--as was our guide Fabio.
    Come prepared for 5 serious days of biking as well as bringing the right/complete biking clothes.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Shirley D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I feel the bike should have been rated moderate-not easy moderate!

    Countries: Italy

    • Dolomites to Venice
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Shirley,
      Thanks for submitting this feedback. We try to provide as much information as possible regarding the difficulty rating in the "Skill Level" section above, including daily distances, road conditions, and even vertical climb. It's sometimes hard because there are many variables that factor into rating a tour, including things that vary from person/person. When in doubt, we recommend ample conditioning before your trip or reserving an ebike which allows you to adjust how much assistance you receive from the electric battery. Hope this helps!

      Countries: Italy

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Ivette S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The perfect trip for families with young adult children. We enjoyed the different kind of roads, the food, the sights, every town we stayed at. Our guide Matic was excellent. We are looking forward to a new adventure with Tripsite.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Heather P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A thoroughly satisfying experience in all departments!
    The staff were welcoming and friendly, instructive and knowledgeable. I felt entirely safe in their hands.
    Accommodation has been well designed and thought out. I shared a cabin with a friend and it was easy to find our own space within a relatively confined space.
    The food was DELICIOUS! The meals exceeded expectations and were presented beautifully; the chefs having entertained us with their 'Two Ronnies' routine at the outset of each repast. I have made a batch of refreshing lemon and ginger cordial since my return, which is perfect for a hot summer day and reminds me of a very happy holiday.
    The bike was a delight to ride. I'm not a regular cyclist and I found the daily trips enjoyable and, with the regular stops, entirely within my capabilities. The one day off I had, sailing along the canal, added an extra dimension as it was so restful and enjoyable to watch the wildlife and the scenery Read more… glide by.
    The guided trips were enlightening and I now have a 'feel' for the part of Italy we traversed.
    From the start we felt like guests at a houseboat party. It was interesting to meet and enjoy meals with others from various countries and backgrounds.
    I shall be talking about this holiday for a long time thanks to you all.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Scott M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The views on this tour were breathtaking. Northern Italy is so beautiful. For a mountainous region the pedaling was not difficult. Take your time and soak it in. Great food and drink in the region.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ann W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Riding through amazing scenery and picturesque villages in Northern Italy!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Sicily
    by Peggy H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We went to Sicily in May 2018. Biking was beautiful especially along the sea. Inland there were some areas that had lots of trash. No problems with directions. One or two hills a day.

    Countries: Italy

  • Tuscany - Florence, Siena, and the Chianti
    by Jay M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nice to bike along the Mediterranean coast and a chance to swim at a few beaches. Also nice to bike through the agricultural areas and seeing tomatoes and eggplant growing and watermelons being harvested.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by David & Patsy 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The poppy fields along the bike ride was especially beautiful. Instructions need some updating.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Stewart J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hein was a most engaging and entertaining guide/trip leader. The rides were well planned with interesting stops and sightseeing, beautiful scenery and it didn’t hurt that we had spectacular weather. Post ride relaxation and camaraderie on the deck was great as was the value priced bar for beer/wine! The evening dinners were wonderfully prepared meals, truly excellent and overall the trip was very affordable, an A plus value.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Elizabeth Dianne D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Montova was a really lovely spot and I liked the cycling around there. It might be easier in the towns if the cyclists all had either jerseys or pennies to identify the group so locals see we are all together which would prevent us from getting cut off or unable to pass.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by April S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had an absolute great time on this Tour. Venice was amazing and Mantova as well. Our cook was Erica who is wonderful chef. Every meal was impressive— creative and delicious. This was my fifth bike/barge tour and she is definitely the best cook. Really enjoyed my fellow Travelers, as well.
    Vita Pugna

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Robert V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of the trip was as expected or better.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Jeanne W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? All of it! Fantastic! Most memorable: Hein! And Marco! The whole staff! Loved every minute. Loved the e-bike too.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patti S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was so impressed with the level of service and detail on this trip. Completely exceeded all expectations from the guides and the rides to the food and the lodging. So much fun! It didn’t hurt that we had perfect weather. Hoping to do it again!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Larry H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were a group of eight old friends and found this trip very enjoyable. The tour organizer, Klemen Stular was very responsive to our questions and preferences, and even worked to adapt the route to accommodate our request to visit a winery! The trails had some loose gravel so it required extra caution (and muscle) on steep hills, but the off-road trails made this particular tour the most special. The equipment was well-maintained, easy to use, and reliable. The tour operator was very conscientious about making certain everything fit the rider. The scenery was glorious and the people warm and welcoming.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Heel of Italy
    by Ida A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ostuni was a lively, great city- a major contrast to the rest of the region which is apparently deserted until summer is in full swing. I also really appreciated having my bike replaced, but I obviously wish the standard bike I got in the first place were more appropriate for long distance rides.

    Countries: Italy

  • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
    by Carol 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed your blog. We are looking forward to this ride in June this year with a group of six friends. Wondering about your rain. What month did you go?

    Countries: Italy

    • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
      by Barbara 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Our trip was late September. The rain made for some unique memories, but we had more beautiful days than rainy ones. Hope you will too. It's a great route! Enjoy! We are actually doing another with tripsite in May - Prague to Dresden, Tale of Two Rivers. Hope we'll have another great experience!

      Countries: Italy

PWPC