Italy Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 307

4.7 out of 5

 


Rachel F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

The best part was the first three days self-guided tour near the Dolomites on our 10 day tour.

Ilene W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The Mantova to Venice bike and barge on the Ava Maria! The crew, the ship, the food and our guides were outstanding! Also all the guides we had in the cities and venues were fabulous!

Terry W.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

As professional as the staff were and as delicious the food, the most memorable part of the trip was interacting with fellow travelers. Since the boat can only berth around 40, I was able to get to know almost everyone and learn about their countries and personal histories.

Alicia F.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Dolomites to Venice
Italy

My sister, brother-in-law, and I highly recommend this tour. The views were stunning and the accommodations superb. Dobbiaco was our favorite stop with spectacular views of snow cap mountains, rivers, and UNESCO sites. A breathtaking experience!

Dara W.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Heel of Italy
Italy

The guide book and route map for the heel of Italy tour were very detailed and informative. Each day there were highlights picked out and sites to see and additional loops to cycle that added interest
The routes picked were along lovely rural roads as much as possible yet brought us through lovely towns and villages and we started in Materea the European city of culture this year
Overall a very enjoyable holiday that was well organized by Tripsite and I would highly recommend these holidays

Avace W.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Guides were amazing. They worked hard to make sure all guests mingled with guests from other countries. Games played encouraged teams working together and finding new information about the villages we visited. Always extra surprises..like visiting the mussel fishermen, panoramic vista of Venice from rooftop. Training on how to use ferry system in Venice invaluable. I didn't think we could get a better tour than our 2018 trip, but this one exceeded all expectations. From snow in the mts. near Bolzano to swimming in the Adriatic, the differences in scenery was dramatic and thrilling. Bikes...so comfortable and fit perfectly. Didn't even need to wear my bike padding! Plenty of time to look around when we went thru villages. What can I say. This tour was the best!

Sandy H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Fabulous trip. Filled with adventure. Highlights included guide, staff, food and overall camaraderie developed with a great group of people!

Gorge M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Menu and food prep. much better than other bike and barge/cruises we've been on.

Connie M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The Venice to Mantua tour was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the stops for cultural and natural sites of interest. The food was wonderful and the staff very helpful.

Greg S.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It is hard to specify just one thing. The barge was great, the food superb and the staff could not have been better. Even though the weather wasn't great, we had a wonderful time. We're looking forward to booking our next tour.

Sandra B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was our 4th Bike & Barge trip with Tripsite. Our most recent was on the Vita Pugna from Mantova to Venice early May, 2019. We loved our first trip and didn't think it was possible, but somehow, they just keep getting better!
Our guide, Hein, was knowledgeable, friendly, and personable. The staff was wonderful and the dinners were amazing! At each port, they shopped daily for fresh foods and wine, and served us the local specialties of the area. Each night before serving, they described the menu, explained how it was prepared, and paired it with a local wine recommendation.
The cozy, comfortable barge accommodates 20 guests. Even though we represented 6 different countries, there were no differences at all. Everyone was enthusiastic, energetic, fun, friendly and helpful.
The bikes were exceptional and made the rides smooth and comfortable. I usually struggle to keep up, but didn't have any problems this time. The bikes contributed to my ease, and the Read More

Catherine P.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The entire trip was great. Have highly recommended it to others!

Berry B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our guide (Sylvia) embellished every part of the day, the staff was very friendly, cooperative, accommodating and full of fun...great trip, thanks

Barbara C.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

The most memorable part of the trip was the gorgeous scenery around Lake Garda. I wish we could have spent more time there, but much of our time was wasted trying to find the boat. The directions definitely need improvement.

Teresa H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food was absolutely delicious! We had a very entertaining, informative guide and the rest of the staff on the barge were great! I can’t say enough great things about our experience!!

Nancy A.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

This was our eighth cycling tour but our first self-guided. We thoroughly enjoyed cycling through the north of Italy along lovely bike trails away from the crush of other tourists. The guidebooks gave us plenty of suggestions for side trips and places to explore. Leaving Bolzano, the route took us up along a tree-shaded old railway path, with a clifftop castle on one side and a valley of orchards spread out on the other, all within sight of the snow-capped mountains; it was a perfect way to start our adventure.

Donna M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

The overall experience was excellent! We selected a self-guided trip, and were thrilled to enjoy the countryside and magical villages at our own pace.
The signage was a bit tricky to figure out at the start, but once we learned where to look, the directions were spot on.

Susan J.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Just finished the Venice to Mantova about the Vita Pugna. This trip was amazing and exactly as advertised with easy cycling on flat roads. Normally I would have liked more miles but with a record breaking heat wave (topping at 44C one day) that week, the distances worked out well. The chefs Sylvia and Irene are hugely talented and every meal was a delight. I really can't praise the food enough! Fabio did an excellent job as guide and is extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave excellent advice. Eduardo the captain was also very personable and friendly, overall a super crew who obviously enjoyed working together. Our international group had a great time cycling together despite the heat. I hope to do this trip again someday.

POM
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

My husband and I have been on 12 European bike/boat tours. We love to see the world this way, and we are usually 100% satisfied and happy when we finish a trip.
In April we took the Ave Maria tour from Venice to Mantova. The first two days we biked on busy highways next to large lorries, semis, and garbage trucks, one of which almost wiped me out. We were shocked at having to ride on these highways because here is the company description of this trip on this website...
"This cycling tour is largely along the flats of the Po plains, and the daily stages vary from 25 to 55 km – mostly on tarmac cycle paths along rivers and canals, or quiet country roads."
The first two days of this trip were not on QUIET COUNTRY ROADS. They were on heavily traveled highways, and they were dangerous and certainly no fun! We will never travel with this company again because they were not truthful about the roads and
paths. This was not a relaxing trip.
On a good Read More

Kenneth L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Piedmont
Italy

We toured Barolo wine country. This is a prosperous part of Italy but the young women wore tattered blue jeans. We had great food and wine. The countryside is beautiful. There were some parts of the route that were on roads with big trucks and others on gravel or dirt (in our case muddy with rain) road. There were long uphill climbs with 16% grade, thank goodness for the excellent bicycles. It was a great experience that I recommend. We have done multiple trips with Tripsite and all have been wonderful.

Sue F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our fabulous 2019 vacation was aboard the Vita Pugna (very clean and comfortable) biking from Mantova to Venice. We were well taken care of by Captain Edoardo, crew/chefs Silvia and Barbara (delicious meals and afternoon snacks plus breakfast!) and our wonderful guide Fabio. I can’t say enough about each one of them, the patience of Fabio is extraordinary. He went above and beyond to make sure each guest was comfortable cycling and informed of routes/plans throughout the week. At the end of the tour he went out of his way to assure that each person knew exactly how to get to their destination when departing the barge. The biking (the bikes were in great shape!) was fun/well organized, the food was outstanding, the landscape/pubs/villages/museum/cheese factory/cappuccino stops, etc. were wonderful. We loved the night walks and the walking tours by local guides. Tripsite provided second to none customer service through our booking process. They were quick to answer any Read More

Marilyn Walker
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Well-Done
We rode the entire week independently of the 30-person group, which is our preference. We requested beforehand, and received promptly, the GPX files for each stage, which we downloaded to our Garmin bicycle computers together with relevant open source street maps. We used the GPS directions as our primary navigation, and referred to the jigsaw puzzle of a tour map and the turn-by-turn directions in puzzling moments. All three references agreed very well, which is a great comfort. Tour Guide Michela provided us a separate walk-through every evening, clarifying points of confusion and explaining where the main group would be. Several times we met the group for special sightseeing tours. Otherwise, we did our own thing, took rest stops at our own discretion and ate the picnic lunch at places of our own choosing.

The bicycles were better than expected. We chose the e-bikes and count the expense as worth the money. The batteries were strong enough to carry us through Read More

David & Patsy A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

We loved the scenery and it was such a relaxing bike ride we decided to go on our own rather than go with the group with the guide. The green arrow stickers saved us many times. Loved all the small villages on the way and stopped at a few every day for a cappuccino which was excellent. There was a few errors on the routes however we figured them out and pointed the errors to the guides when they occurred.

Margot S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Mt Etna, Taormina, and the Ionian Sea
Italy

The bike route for your trip to Sicily takes us through farms of the regions. Very interesting to see how so many tomatoes and eggplants grow in green houses.

Katherine G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Despite the crowds and chaos in Trento on day one of our cycling (Bolzano to Trento) due to the Alpine Black Feather military reunion, it is now one of my favourite memories and stories that I share! I also really enjoyed seeing all the beautiful poppies, gardens and farmers fields.
The route guides had some errors and you could tell that they were translated by someone who’s first language is not English but we usually managed to figure things out. We preferred to cycle independently from the group as people rode too slow for us and being clustered together we were concerned about all of us crashing into each other. We loved being able to rendezvous with our guides and the rest of the group for the Carrosel Museum visit, the cheese factory etc.
The staff on the Ave Marie Barge were fabulous, they all worked together, even the Captain helped set the table. The food was excellent and the chef was a real character.
The bikes were excellent, we were provided Read More

Rosana S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The best trip i’ve ever done was through Danubio, from Passau to Vienna. It was perfect, the scenery, the route, the boat. It was my first time in a bike and tour trip. It was in 2016 and since then it,’s the only way i like to travel. A new world for me, I felt like a child recovering my childhood near from nature!

Sue H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Couldn't ask for more. We absolutely loved our bike/barge tour in Italy from Bolzano to Mantova to Venice in August on the Vita Pugna. The staff were fantastic and our guide Michela was amazing. We had a lot of fun, met some great people and visited some very beautiful places. The biking was not difficult. The food on the Barge was first class and plenty of it. Would absolutely recommend this trip. Can't think of the most memorable part of the trip it was all amazing. The first three days was challenging following the instructions, but we got there in the end. Was sorry to say goodbye to everyone.

Douglas Y.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our bike and barge from Venice was fantastic. The villages were quaint and the opportunity to swim in the Adriatic Sea was a great way to cool down and relax. Our trip aboard the Ave Maria was wonderful. Captain Connie, Enrico, Giuliano, Silvia and Helmut made our trip to be quite memorable! Giuliano and Silvia made fabulous gourmet dinners for us. Our only complaint would be that there were periods of riding on dikes/floodbanks but all the stops along the way were very interesting and full of character. The visit to a Grana Padano cheese plant was followed by a wine and cheese picnic and our ending destination, Mantua was beautifully surrounded by 3 lakes. We would definitely recommend this trip!

Wendy S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most memorable part of our Mantova to Venice trip was visiting chioggia, the carnival museum and the cheese factory.

Jack E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria
Italy

Tripsite staff are very knowledgeable , helpful and friendly. Anna found us an ebike on short notice on our Italian tour.