5 star rated Portugal Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 58

 

 Country: Portugal • REMOVE

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Liz G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike company and owner Sergio were extremely helpful and particular that we all had a good experience. The bikes were of superior quality...Escorting us out of the center of Porto was greatly appreciated and necessary as we were a group of 12. Accommodations were excellent and GPS’ worked well. Restaurants along the way provided excellent food. The only negatives were the cobbled streets and some of the roads had many potholes so attention had to be paid instead of looking at the scenery. As Portugal becomes a “biking” country, I’m sure this will be addressed in the future. The locals were more courteous to bikers than our drivers at home!!
    The abundant storks nesting in one area was a highlight.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Kathleen B. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking along the coast was epic. The vistas were beyond beautiful.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Patricia S. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our Silver Coast of Portugal trip was splendid. Our guides, the food, our hotels and our group had a lovely time. We've done over 10 cycling trips and this was one of the best overall trips we've had.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Greg and Judy 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our 3rd guided/supported ride with trip site and our favorite. The biking along the coast was fantastic and easy going with perfect weather. The last 3 days had some steep hills and cut through beautiful small towns in Portugal and Galicia but Sergio and Enrique helped support the group and took time to catch our breath and hydrate. We had never been to Portugal before but found the people extremely friendly and helpful. Sergio and Enrique were wonderful guides and organizers. They seemed to anticipate the groups needs and really overachieved with making us enjoy the culture. Sergio made sure we tried all the great food and drinks of the region. The hotels were exceptional. The Torre do Rio could be one of the best small country hotels in the world!
    Meeting and greeting thousands of Pilgrams hiking the Camihno along the route made the ride truly unique...Bon Camihno!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Nicole 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What an incredible trip! Sergio and Henrique were amazing guides and did everything to make our trip one of a kind. The bikes are great quality and the ride had the most incredible scenery. I loved that you biked near the coast on some day, in the forest for others and then got to spend the night in the most beautiful hotels across Portugal and Spain. This is definitely a trip you will remember for a lifetime.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Mercedes Nejatali 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A fantastic bike tour. Very well organized and executed. Sergio and Enrique went above and beyond to make sure we had the best of the time while staying safe. The scenery was amazing, the hotels were top notch, and food was wonderful.
    This was the best bike trip we've had so far, and we highly recommend it to fellow bikers.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Lisa O'D 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Whole trip end to end was fantastic! Sergio and his crew of Tiago and John were amazing ensuring that we had what we needed including a tour of Porto. Sergio in particular was extremely responsive and went above and beyond to provide a great experience.
    The views were incredible, nice camaraderie with the walking pilgrims and the accommodations were incredible really augmenting the trip experience. Highly recommend this trip however, just know of the hills and elevation changes as you train pre-trip.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Steven 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Portugal Silver Coast bike tour was one of my favorite vacations ever! I and 7 other people took the guided version of the tour in early June 2019. The more urban sight-seeing highlights included the city of Porto, with its very unique architecture and charming neighborhoods and cityscapes that cascade down the walls of both sides of the beautiful river valley, providing memorable photo-ops everywhere you turn. We toured a port distillery and tasted. Also noteworthy was the town of Aveiro, with its canals inhabited by gondolas and its colorfully tiled town center. And finally the university town of Coimbra, with its extraordinary 16th century library and its charming town square where groups of university students wearing darkest black perform splendid music (instruments and vocals) in various Portuguese traditions, such as Fado. Rural high-lights included beautiful beaches, pine forests, and amazing villages of stork nests, some constructed on high-voltage power distribution towers.
    Food highlights included a seafood and rice stew served at a little café in Miramar right near the chapel on the beach. Also, standout was a sports bar named Núcleo Sportinguista in Figueira da Foz where we feasted on sardines. Our server was a gem! She was so friendly and patient with our rowdy group that she deserves some sort of prize! And on the final night, we enjoyed a really extraordinary meal of lovely tapas and wines at Taberna Urbana in Coimbra. Just excellent!
    Many thanks to our guides, Sergio and Henrique, for their generous hospitality and flawless attention to detail. It was a joy to have them along on the trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Portugal’s Vicentine Coast and Algarve
    by Kedar 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just completed this trip in last week of May 2019 & had so much fun that I’m ready for one more right away. The process to book this trip was so easy & quick with excellent communication at all times. Once we landed in Lisbon Sergio picked us up at the airport & gave me a ride to the hotel which was excellent. The bikes they provided were really in good
    Condition. Before we began our trip they gave us GPS route info & guidance which helped us tremendously in ensuring our trip was safe, enjoyable & exciting. I highly recommend this. Have fun.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Ann and Patrice 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved our bike trip and will definitely go back to Portugal. We would love to do another bike trip supported by Sergio and his team - we highly recommend them!
    Our trip was in April 2019 and from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed - with an airport pick up. We were given the best walking tour we have had which was done in conversation style allowing us to both learn about the rich history of Porto and to ask questions vs. being "talked at". A port tasting and tour was also included and was equally well done. Sergio and his staff treated us with incredible care all along the trip even though we were self guided. The bikes and Garmin GPS were top! The suggested restaurants along the way provided delicious food (that says a lot because we live in France and we are quite selective). Hotels were very comfortable some with spa facilities which were appreciated after being in the saddle. The route was varied - mostly coastal yet some forests. We enjoyed the visit to Vista Allegra to see the porcelain factory including the artists at work hand painting porcelain. We saw many birds along the route including nesting storks. The surface for cycling varied from paved bike routes, dirt trails and sometimes a bit of sand covering the route due to some wind. We strongly encourage you to treat yourself to this trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Richard J. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I really enjoyed this bike tour; everything from the hotel in Porto, to the gps guide, luggage transfer and our final transfer to Lisbon was excellent. Carlos briefed us about the tour, introduced us to our bikes and our gps "tour guide"; actually made us do it before he left us. Since we had an extra day in Porto we practiced using the gps by doing its walking tour of Porto. Appreciate the Emergancy phone provided, even tho we did not use it. Weather was perfect. The only downside is the tour goes thru areas that were burned a couple years ago; very sad; made us really appreciate the beautiful unburned forests we rode thru. The tour booklet provided a good overview of each day's ride; there are some sections where finding food & water at mid day may be a challenge. A good tour

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Leigh & Pat 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just completed this tour - May, 2019. We were a group of 12 (Canadians) and were looking for a reasonably easy bike journey. The terrain was - as advertised - very flat and never strayed very far from the beautiful shorelines of Portugal. (one significant hill - character builder) Early to mid-May worked well and we could only imagine how crowded the beaches and communities would be if the trip were taken in high summer months. Many of the small towns we passed through were almost dormant - very little life or activity, and many shops seemed closed . If you take the trip - be aware of Sunday closings and fewer selections of restaurants in Portugal. Sergio, the organizer and supporter, was helpful in every way with the organization of the trip, gps devices and bikes. He was available at all times if needed. We did not require that sort of support - and we were non-guided. The actual surfaces of land that we biked upon were variable - ranging from excellent bike paths to rural, remote dirt roads - but all very passable.
    Not enough can be said about the hospitality and consideration of the Portuguese people we encountered. Bike travel is not as abundant in Portugal, and not as much a part of the culture, as elsewhere in Europe - but the gentle ways of the Portuguese are a pleasure to encounter. lb

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Gary M. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our self-guided bike ride along the Camino from Porto to Santiago de Compostela was a bit tough along the walking trail sections; but, the overall experience was fantastic. The high quality accommodation was exceptional - just what we needed at the end of each day! Recommend to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Marci C. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip was incredible! So glad we chose the upgraded accommodations as we stayed at some remarkably unique properties. Two were old castles and one we referred to as the garden of Eden. The scenery was incredible throughout the route and the food was delicious! The best part of the trip was the people we met along the camino. So many bikers and hikers were there from around the world on personal journeys and were incredibly interesting to talk to along the route and whenever we stopped. I would definitely recommend this trip and will absolutely do it again. Tripsite was amazing recommending this trip at the last minute and for connecting us with the fabulous local company who took care of us while we were there.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Paradise in Portugal
    by Michael O. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The farmstay outside Evora was fantastic. The food sensational. The riding was great. (If you are after big climbs then not for you). We had an excellent holiday.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Alentejo Vineyards
    by Joseph White 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a fantastic trip with some of the best vistas and sites. Roads were quiet one your got off the cobble stone and marble streets of the towns. Hotels were exceptional and a great part of the trip.
    The hills are longer than we had expected but it was not a problem. Error on the side of using electric if in doubt
    All around great trip with new GPS and Kickstands.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Jane S. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    So much of this biking trip was on trails or roads with views of the Atlantic Ocean almost the entire way. It was a gorgeous ride which gave us the opportunity to experience so much of the beauty of the Portuguese and Spanish coastline. The trail we rode was for the most part the same one being used by the pilgrims on the spiritual journey to Santiago de Compostela, Spain which is where our trip also ended. That in itself was so inspiring, seeing the many folks from all over the world making that trek.
    If I had one suggestion it would be to find an alternative to biking through the city of Vigo and its metropolitan area. That was the most stressful part of the trip and unfortunately where we got lost the most.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
    by Thomas W. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bicycle trip through Portugal (Atlantic West Coast Sinatra) was a trip that will not be forgotten soon. Starting with Bernardo who picked us up at Lisbon airport, then bicycling through the small villages, the countryside, the seaside and ending up in Caicais, words alone cannot describe what an absolutely marvelous time we had. Almost the entire bicycle trip was ridden on bicycle paths or roads with limited automobile traffic, the only exception was Sintra where the traffic was higher, but was tolerable. Our hotels exceeded our expectations as did the bicycle ride itself. Being able to choose where we wanted to eat, from the small restaurant in Sao Pedro Moel where the restaurant owner was our waiter and chef, and the fish was out of this world good, to having picnics along the way, we always had an excellent meal. We cannot recommend this trip more highly and want to say thanks to Tripsite for helping us find a great, enjoyable and challenging bicycle ride through Portugal. We will have to bring our friends on this trip in the future.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Carlos da Mata 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Olá,
    Gostaria de saber se você fazem somente o aluguel da bike e quanto seria para um período de 7 dia saindo de Porto e indo para Santiago pela Costa.

    Grato
    Carlos da Mata

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Tom H. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I did the Camino de Santiago Bike Tour in October of 2018 and it was an experience of a lifetime. I began my trip in Porto, Portugal and completed my journey in Santiago, Spain. My trip began with a guided tour of Porto, Portugal with Diego. Diego was extremely informative throughout my tour and he provided insight and information into the beautiful city of Porto. The next day I was met by my tour host, Sergio and he provided my bike, an explanation of the GPS system and safe passage out of Porto. The sights I enjoyed over the next several days were breathtaking. For the first 3 days of my trip I had the Atlantic Ocean over our left shoulder and it was warm, beautiful and inviting. After I left the sea coast I was greeted by vineyards, forests, small rural areas and eventually larger busy cities. Upon arriving in Santiago I ended my route at the Cathedral and was filled with emotion and tears. This trip gave me the opportunity to pray, reflect on my life and give thanks for the many blessing I have been given. Thank you Tripsite for providing an opportunity of a lifetime!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
    by Allen W. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My girlfriend and I took this trip down the coast in early October. The whole experience was excellent. We were picked up at the airport on time with bikes ready. The scenery and destinations were outstanding. The accommodations were very good. We really enjoyed the whole trip. We would recommend Tripsite and their partners to everyone.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by David C. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a trip of a lifetime. There were plenty of climbs and equal downs. The small towns and seasides were magical. Some tough riding on stone streets in Portugal and some other challenges with fire damaged roads. Overall, the natives were supportive and friendly. Food and wine made the trip!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Manuel Cordeiro 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I flew all the way from South Africa to do the self guided tour from Porto to Santiago. This was a way to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary and what a treat. Sergio, Tiago and Diego were totally professional and made sure we got the right sized bicycles for our trip. The route was amazing, the hotel accommodation was spectacular. Especially in Bayona and Caldes dos Reis. We would recommend this ride to anyone who wants to do the Camino de Santiago over a six or seven day period. We will be back with Sergio and his team soon.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Marjorie S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved this trip. The route was scenic and easily navigated, the bikes were well maintained and the customer service was impeccable. It was an easy trip with the exception of one leg at the end, but electric bikes made it doable. Absolutely recommended. The only point of confusion was occasionally the GPS would point us in 2 different directions. One was the main route and the other was an optional side trip. At times it was confusing as to which way to go. Otherwise, things were exceptionally well planned. See this wonderful part of Portugal while it’s still less visited by tourists.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Gloria 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Did a self-guided tour with a group of 5 women - had a blast. Flat terrain, beautiful scenery. Glad we built in time to explore Porto and Coimbra, both fabulous cities. Sergio was a pleasure to work with, highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Valerie K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall the trip was excellent. Sergio and his crew could not have been more accommodating. They went above and beyond to provide a great experience. Although I realize that it is difficult to grade the level of cycling difficulty for people of different ages and abilities, the trip was more difficult that I was expecting from the description.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Christine T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The accommodations each night were such a treat! The guides and the care they took was excellent!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Jeanette A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful bike tour along the coast of Portugal which included biking through forests and small towns. Having a pre-set GPS made it so much easier when traveling without a guide. Hotels (and breakfasts) were' top notch' and our luggage was always waiting when we arrived. Could easily do his trip all over again but more likely will consider a second one in Portugal (starting in Lisbon and heading south this time). Not only is Portugal an incredibly beautiful country, but the people are friendly and radiate the relaxed atmosphere that makes touring even better.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Katharine S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip was arriving at the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela. After 6 days of cycling over varied and often challenging surfaces it was a thrill to reach our ultimate destination. What a way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary!
    Other highlights include turning in our Pilgrim's Passport to receive our certificates of completion, attending Mass in the Cathedral, as well as the magnificent coastal scenery along the way.
    Sergio and his team - Tiago, José and Pédro - are real pros. Safety is their number one concern and they are extremely attentive to the needs of their riders. The bicycles were well-maintained and adjusted as required.The support van was a much appreciated added feature.
    Our accommodations were top-notch, in fact one place was the nicest in which we have ever stayed. The breakfast selections at every stop were plentiful and varied.
    It was enjoyable speaking to the walking pilgrims and finding out their countries of origin.
    If walking is not the way you choose to complete your Camino Journey we highly recommend joining this tour. Make sure that during your preparation you not only cycle "distances". Cycle "hills" and if possible a "variety of surfaces".
    Everyone in our group of 22 felt a real sense of accomplishment having completed 280 km of challenging terrain.
    The great food, wine and fellow cyclists add to the enjoyment.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Martha 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Very nice bike tour - great scenery and nice hotels. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Sergio is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our questions and requests. Wonderful trip!

    Countries: Portugal

PWPC