5 star rated Austria Bike Tour Reviews 151 to 180 of 342

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elisabeth P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Because our overall experience was so perfect, flawless in every way, it is difficult to highlight just one part. The barge, the bikes, the staff, the guide, the food were all excellent and this holiday by far exceeded our expectations.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tom F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We so much enjoyed meeting so many people from all around the world with the same interest and passion for the sport thanks again.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Patricia Leonard 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Hi Cheryl, the tour guide will review routes every evening, so you can bring your tour book to the meetings and take notes. We only got confused once when a route was poorly marked, but even then we ended up on the correct path. Also, most young people in Austria speak perfect English, plus there are always other cyclists around for clarification. This was our first "self-guided" tour too, and it was fabulous!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff were wonderful and attentive and the biking equipment was excellent. It was tremendously satisfying to enjoy this beautiful part of the world on bike and then return to the comfort of the boat each evening. Looking forward to the next trip!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Lorna T 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I enjoyed the cycling, the scenery was generally really lovely and revitalizing, with options to see different things.
    The food was very good (especially the fish dishes.)
    The staff were very pleasant.
    The bikes were good and the bike staff very helpful.
    The choice of outingings were very enjoyable.
    Overall it was a relaxing cycling holiday which was what I was looking for.
    I found that the Tripsite staff, (especially Carla), were very helpful in answering all my questions . Thank you!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bike barge trip along the Danube in October 2017 was a great experience. Biking was fabulous, the paths we're all very good for the most part. The scenery was beautiful. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and all the accommodations made for us. The food was all nicely presented and abundant. Our group of eight friends definitely would like to do another trip! Great scenery, great exercise, and an overall wonderful experience!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Celia H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was wonderful to have all the logistics taken care of. All we had to do was get up in the morning, have a hearty breakfast, get on our bikes and head out for a different adventure every day. Not too difficult!
    On board, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The ship amenities were great. Our on board entertainer was super and we danced most evenings.
    The cycling was scenic, varied and interesting and not too difficult. I liked the cruiser style of the bike. Sitting more upright made sightseeing while riding very easy. Overall a great experience that I can't wait to repeat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Danube River is beautiful. My most memorable day was the last one of our week, when we cycled mostly through parks along the Danube in Austria. Weather was pleasant and the quietude, along with the autumn colors and few remaining flowers, was spectacular.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laurence M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The daily rides were the perfect combination of distance and scenery. The ship and staff were excellent as was the food served in the dining room. We would definitely recommend this ride and cruise to our friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Visiting the Wachau valley was my favorite part of the trip. Entertainment on the ship was the only down side and that was just a small part of the trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Terence W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Favorite Part: A short cycling day through quiet, autumnal countryside, took us to Bratislava leaving us with oodles of time to spend exploring colorful backstreets and the rise to the impressive castle.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Prague to Budapest
    by Dean Mitzel 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our third bike tour with Tripsite and we were glad we came back. We we were able to see 3 new countries for the first time (Czech Rep, Slovakia and Hungary) with the same excellent logistics, accommodations and food we experienced on our other two trips. Tripsite staff was there whenever we needed support in any country. We'll be back!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christopher 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The experience on the barge far exceeded the expectations for my wife and the other 6 members of the group. The quality of the food, the excellence (and friendliness) of service , and the outstanding visuals of the meal presentations were an absolute delight.
    If I were asked for recommendations (I left these comments on the end of cruise comment card), would be to improve internet service and to make sure there is at least one English speaking television channel available.
    Other than that, everything was wonderful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Waking up each morning at a new port in the middle of no where with castles and beauty all around. Tip: Take all the bottled water you are able to as not freely available (although I drank the ship's water and it was fine). Don't rely on internet.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a fantastic trip. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sidney P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole experience was more than I expected. Just join in and enjoy life.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elaine D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first bike and barge trip. The 4 countries trip was awesome. Albert was an amazing tour guide and was available all the time to ask questions of and chat with. His info sessions were informative, we would have missed a great deal without his tips and suggestions. Amazing food. Friendly staff willing to do anything to make the trip memorable. No hassles ever! Wish coffee during the day was included but no big deal. We were on the top level with big picture windows. Immaculate boat, the Carissma. We booked the spa and enjoyed the expansive area, chilled fruit juices, robes and towels. Nice hot tub for two, romantic. We are already looking for another Tripsite bike and barge next year. This is an amazing way to see cities, get some exercise and fresh air, enjoy the countryside and visit little villages for coffee or drinks. We did city bike tours in Budapest &Vienna (booked on board) and they were well worth the money. Before the trip we had a number of questions and Mikky at Tripsite was great with answers. I was so happy she answered right away! Thanks for a memorable week.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Linda S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the second trip on the MS Carissma from Sept 24 - Oct 1- along the Danube. Great scenery- the best of the two trips. The river views of vineyards, historical sites were really beautiful. The staff on the boat were exceptionally customer focused and responsive to needs. The food was very good and well presented with the exception of the fruit plate which needed a little more imagination to meet the standard set by the other menu items. The hired tour guide for our group was not able to answer questions about the history or other information on some of the sites we spent time in or passed along the way. He knew the route well but other information was not forthcoming as he said "it did not interest him" when he did not know. Tips - do some research on some of the stops along the way to determine if the site is worth a stop along the way. Make good use of the extra time in Vienna and Budapest.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was great from beginning to end. The only thing I might suggest would be perhaps a better map on a couple of the days for our biking excursion. We found our way, but got a little confused in a couple of spots. Staff was excellent, tour guide bent over backwards for us, food was delicious, etc. Working with Susanna prior to our trip was so easy and she answered all my questions. I would do it again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Nancy B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bike routes were exceptional taking us through the most beautiful and scenic areas in the Danube Valley. We especially loved the Wachau Valley and it was Reisling harvest time!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Susan R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking everyday on a different path through diverse scenery and able to stop at any time to see different landmarks. Getting to see more of the countryside than if on a tour bus. This itinerary was very doable for all ages and levels of fitness.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Mary Ellen W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlight: Biking in the Wacchau Valley

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Four Country Tour
    by The Doeys 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Ronald Z. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The small towns set in the beautiful mountains with it clean air and pleasant residents.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through the Wachau Valley was spectacular, thus it was the highlight. The staff on the "barge" were super friendly and helpful. The biking was easy if a person is reasonably fit. A little practice doing long distance biking is a good idea.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John J. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The people I met on board - staff and guests - and the scenery.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Susan W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The cruise was wonderful supported by a fantastic crew on the ship who went out of their way to provide a very positive experience.
    I had left my phone at a restaurant on the bike route and it was returned to me within 3 hours...I was so grateful.
    Having a tour guide would have been very helpful on certain days of the trip...ie Vienna.
    I was very disappointed with the fact that the biking portion of the Wachau valley that was in the itinerary had been eliminated without our knowing until the night before.
    it was to have been a highlight for our group and the cruise company said that it was Never a part of the biking route.!
    We rented e bikes at an extra cost for the 4 of us because of the distance to be covered that day and otherwise would not have.

    All of the cycling group received the same information from Tripsite about the Wachau valley and we were all disappointed.

    Otherwise I would highly recommend this trip but do feel that you should update your itinerary so that people aren't disappointed.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by York C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip. Boat and river cruise portion of the trip was more than expected. Service and the crew on the boat were excellent, including the food.
    Quality of bicycles was excellent. They were mechanically perfect. The only down side of the entire trip were the nightly route planning meetings and the quality of the maps and route guides. It was obvious that the tour leader giving the route agenda had never ridden the bike paths. Her English was not very good which made it even more difficult to understand the route(s). We had to fend for ourselves (asking people on the street for directions) numerous times because the routes were just not made clear. Also, the route was not what was not the same as what was spelled out on the website.
    Overall, we were very satisfied with the trip.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Lyn H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the itinerary and biking routes!
    Barge suggestions:
    Dinner seat assignments-- still place with others of the same language, but not necessarily from the same country.
    The upper outdoor covered lounge allowed smoking which meant the entire area could be filled with smoke! This type of trip is for active, healthy lifestyle people...smoking should be confined to a small area in front of the pilot house (or not at all).

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Colin M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC