5 star rated Austria Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 342

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I enjoyed the variety of the destinations and getting off the boat to explore small villages, ruins and interact with the local people.
    The staff was very friendly and always helpful.
    One tip we would suggest is to make every effort to be on top deck or in the parlor to see the cities we visited during arrival and departure.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judith M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The combination of biking in the beautiful countryside and also being on the water on a boat for my lodging was wonderful and just enough time to enjoy the cultural hubs of the amazingly beautiful cities. I loved it all and for me just the right combination of it all.
    I would suggest that the navigation on the bike routes was confusing at times so the next time to enjoy it more I would opt for being guided on the biking versus self-guided.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mari H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The new friends we made! We absolutely enjoyed the other travelers we ate with every meal! They became great friends despite language differences. It was a fantastic trip. We blogged our trip!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery along the Danube was outstanding and riding thru the vineyards on our last day was beautiful. Would do it all over again!!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The MS Normandie took us on a fabulous adventure down the Danube from Passau to Vienna. The last day of biking was the most memorable as we rode thru some gently rolling hillsides and were enveloped by vineyards and orchards. The quiet and the beauty of the scenery was breathtaking!
    Because it was all so beautiful we would on a daily basis become distracted and veer off the designated route (or maybe we were lacking in the map-reading skills). Therefore, after the second day we decided to each rent an e-bike so that it wouldn't be a huge deal if we got off the beaten path and put on extra miles. Best decision we made all week! Our new equipment helped us to keep up with some new found(older) friends who were rocking the routes every day.
    The evenings were mostly composed of a nice slow 4-course meal (stellar offerings) and catching up with friends and family via the sketchy internet service. I would suggest you bring along a game or two and some books.
    Couldn't have imagined a more complete and perfect vacation. We just had to get ourselves to and from the launch and dock sites and the staff of the MS Normandie took care of the rest!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charlene B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of the trip was the wonderful friendships made being a part of the guided tour group. There were six English speakers and seven Germans including the guide. Truly a remarkable experience. Budapest was also a memorable location. One tip we could recommend would be a portable hot spot. Wifi was not very good because it is satellite feed. Which caused issues with paying for some trips with a credit card.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joella D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was an excellent opportunity for travel with our mother who could stay on the boat while my sister and I biked through the countryside - meeting back up for meals and comparing experiences. Tripsite was very helpful and we got to know one of our Tripsite staff as she joined our trip to learn more about the tour and help others in the future. She couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Patricia L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The majority of the Danube cycling routes are truly beautiful. We were worried about the bikes only having 7 speeds, however it was only an issue when we made the climb to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. Otherwise, they were fine. The staff on the Normandie were fabulous, as was the food. I esp. want to thank Ani and Mikki who were a huge help to us prior to the trip. We had lots of questions and they always answered them quickly and thoroughly. I plan on continuing to book my trips with Tripsite. What a great company!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Laurie S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Wachau Valley is breath taking. Austria and Bavaria are absolute gem locations. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Tripsite made it easy to book, offer very reasonable prices and answered all our questions.
    My only complaint was our German bike guide. We were the only primarily English speaking riders in a group of 14. The rest mostly spoke German. Our guide explained the vast majority of what we were seeing in German. This is somewhat understandable given that we were in the minority, but we felt that we missed out on so much historical explanations. In addition, he admitted that he didn't really know much about all the areas we visited and often deviated from the guide book. We ended up leaving the guided tour and going solo the last 2 days.
    We rented e-bikes, which we loved, but had to figure out how to use them as we went along.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Antonina G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the ship-the Primadonna. We liked it that the servings were not big and that you could ask for seconds. Appreciated the lunches they prepared. It was a great trip. Staff was helpful and efficient.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip was memorable for me. I took lots of video and still shots. My plan is to create some YouTube videos to share the experience. I have wanted to do the ride along the Danube for several years and I finally got my chance. It was everything I expected and more. I am now looking at the choices for my next cycling adventure in Europe.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Clare C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
    Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
    The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
    Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. The bikes are really comfortable and take your time to enjoy the magnificent scenery on this ride. You will see old castles up on the cliffs and picturesque villages across from the bike path.
    In Bratislava we took our time to walk up to the castle which give great views over the city and looks beautiful when lit up at night. Take a slight detour from the route to ride over the "flying saucer" bridge. When you are riding to Bratislava take your time to look at Prince Eugenes palace with its magnificent Baroque gardens.
    Go up on deck to take full advantage of the cruise into Budapest. To say that every picture I took here was postcard quality is no lie. Rather than do the guided tour we jumped on the hop on hop off bus so we could make it up to the castle and anywhere else you might want to see. This was actually my favorite City as it was so beautiful and it didn't seem as packed with tourists and it's very walkable. The views at night from our cabin were fantastic with the city lights and the view across the river.
    The next day was a beautiful scenic ride by the river with another ferry ride to Esztergom where you really should walk up to the cathedral and the huge statue that overlooks the river.
    Vienna was our next stop and we took a tram and subway up to the city center. Tours were offered but we did this one ourselves, and I think that biking this city would be worth it as it is so set up for cyclists. There was a Jesuit church here that was more magnificent than any other church I saw on the trip. I had never seen rainbow colored corkscrew marble columns before. It was truly spectacular. Visit an art museum too if you get the chance. The architecture here was spectacular and we watched people waltzing in one of the central parks.
    Our final day was riding through the vineyards of Austria and little villages along the river. Stop for some wine tasting but not too much as this is the day you will probably have to ride against the wind on the final part of the ride.
    The rides were so much fun and anyone could do them, electric bikes were available for the less able. There is so much to do and see, and you can make great new friends.
    All I can say is sign me up for next year and while I would do this trip again in a heartbeat, I want to try a new one.
    Thanks!!!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The best part was seeing the countryside by bike.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Walking and biking around Vienna. It is a beautifully restored city with so many historic buildings and places to take your breath away. Our bike guide Bernd added to the experience by translating for us all the history and important information as we were the only English speakers on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jim and Margaret Molineux 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We have just returned from our boat/bike adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Being the only English speaking passengers on the trip, we were in the care of the multilingual SE bike tour guides; Bernd, Andreas and Wolfgang. And look after us they did. With all the tours and information in German, we would have missed so much if it hadn't been for Bernd showing up everywhere to translate for us. The staff on board were helpful, courteous and efficient. Food was gourmet and even with cool and often wet weather, tours were interesting and biking was exhilarating. Bikes were brand new, maps were clear and information given beforehand made navigating easy. Ebikes are the way to go if climbing hills is difficult; although it is mostly flat.
    We would absolutely do this again with Trip Site or SE Tours.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
    The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elisabeth P. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was since every bit of it was exceptional: the scenery, the friendly staff, the other guests, the food, all were above expectations. Add to that the fact that we had perfect early Fall weather, sunny but not too hot, we felt like we had spent a week in heaven.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gordon M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of exercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Susan D. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
    Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roger H. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rollie B. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Harry L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was very nice. Everything was nice. If I can figure a route will do it again next year!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rebecca V. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking thru Wachau valley. Our guide, Hugo, was not real informative. We had to drag info from him. He was better later in the week when we kept asking. Wine tasting was fun. Loved quaint villages.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gordon M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of excercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Shannon P. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The incredible countryside through which we traveled both by boat and on bike as well as the wonderfully hard-working, pleasant and attentive staff who made my trip so memorable. Lastly, the food was fantastic!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elizabeth G. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    All of it was memorable - the scenic routes through lovely towns, stopping at wine tasting, castles, cathedrals, the day in Vienna. Lovely wait staff, house keeping and front desk!! Top award goes to the extraordinary chef -- who listened attentively to my request for whole foods, plant based and each evening created an extraordinary delight of color and tastes -- wonderful food combinations, spices, herbs.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by Sally S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the BEST bike trip! Lake Constance is a beautiful setting, lodging was terrific, loved my e bike and food was good. Thanks to you and Radweg-Reisin for making the arrangements.

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV (no longer available)
    by Steve & Jan C. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Extremely happy with our trip. There were a couple of times where maps or detailed instructions would have been helpful, eg. How to get to the boat in Passau and more detailed directions to get to our accommodations. The other part of the trip that proved difficult was getting from the train station to our hotel (Novotel Suites) in Vienna. The biking through the city was a bit dicey.
    Each accommodation and restaurant knew who we were and was expecting us. The luggage always arrived before we arrived. The bikes were comfortable and worked well (after using our own tool to adjust a dragging brake which wasn't discovered until after the first day). You offer a great service and were very helpful answering our many questions prior to the trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ross M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Sometimes we were unsure if we were on the route or not. Maybe could have had some additional signage along route.

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC