Belgium Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 690

 

 Country: Belgium • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Jane S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The overall concept of being able to bike daily, sleep in the same bed every night and socialize with great people during the 11 days both on the boat and on the daily rides was a fantastic way to experience our vacation time. Anyone can go to a city and be a tourist. Cycling allows you to experience so many other places along the way in a less busy format. Countryside, quaint villages and towns, beautiful homes and churches, the scenery all the while chatting with your new friends about what you are seeing. I would do a bike and barge again any time.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Sue M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We so recommend this trip. We cycled mostly on cycle paths or quiet country roads but when we occasionally had busy roads or intersections our guide Bart ensured we were safe. Everything was well organized crew were great. Meals were very good. Our guide Bart set a good pace and gave us a lot of information.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by James C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jill S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall the trip was good and we enjoyed our time. However, we did have some things that could be improved -
    firstly the e-bikes that we rented had several problems with them and were unreliable
    secondly I found the choice of food strange for being on a tour in Europe - we had Mexican food, followed by Asian food & sushi. What was wrong with french or belgium or even North American (seeing that we were all from NA). There was no flexibility or accommodation of other types of food.
    The group leader should have allowed some of us to go ahead with maps rather than keep us in a long line of 20 people strung out with the slowest members behind the leader. We are all adults and professional people and do not wish to be treated like children.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jean B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was 5 star.......from the barge accommodations, the meals, the guides, the side trips and tours which were all included! It was a wonderful trip!
    We definitely want to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Kim F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every day was an adventure. The bike paths were lovely to follow and every town was beautiful. We enjoyed riding all day and walking the towns at night before selecting a restaurant for dinner. The history was endless and the daily map book provided good advise for sightseeing in each town. Generally the ride was easy until we got to the coast where the wind presented a challenge. Amsterdam and Brugges proved to be the perfect bookends for the smaller towns we visited in between.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kent H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Guilherme G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Maps must be improved.
    We got lost more than one time.
    The signs are very poor in many places.
    Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.

    The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.

    The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gerald W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I travelled with my 13 year old granddaughter .I must congratulate the crew on how they treated her on the day she did not feel well .Becuase she is a Celiac the crew and especially the chef made sure that at every meal there was a substitute.if needed. The ride distances were a concern of mine but as it turned out the ride distances were as stated. Becuase of the crew this was a worry free week for me.
    .

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was exciting getting on our bikes in the morning and heading out to new places each day. The GPS was super easy to follow and we had plenty of time to stop along the way. It was lovely coming back to the barge in the afternoon where the crew greeted us and ice cold water with mint/lemon/herbs and treats awaited us. We also lived heading out in the evening for walking tours of beautiful cities, and one evening got to go on a canal tour too. The food was fantastic and plentiful. The dinners were beautifully presented. Fresh orange juice and really great coffee in the morning. Loved our trip and looking forward to booking another one.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Vera S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and I made this trip in may this year. We love this tour. Everything was perfect, the GPS Works well , The hotels were excelent . We recomend this tour.
    The most memorable part of this trip was the differents and wonderful landscapes all the way.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Hamilton C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trips is very easy and fantastic.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Cindy L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I cannot say enough about this trip. The entire experience was amazing. We were on the Sailing Home which is beautifully appointed and the rooms are small but quite comfortable. The crew made sure that our every need was met. We got caught in a bad rain storm one afternoon and when we arrived back at the boat we were greeted by the crew with baskets for our wet shoes and jackets to dry everything for us before the next day. The food was amazing, every meal was 5 stars and the chef was not only talented, but charming! Our tour guide, Seitse, was a true scholar who loves his country and is proud to share his knowledge of the land, the people and the rich history. Every night he offered walking tours through the town for anyone who was interested. We saw the country up close and personal, riding through the fields, towns and neighborhoods in a way we we could not have done without the bikes and our guide. We will definitely do another trip, however the next one will have a lot to Read more… live up to!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Brenda R. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew and service provided by our crew on the Anna Antal was excellent. Mijintje (Marianne) our tour leader was a National guide and provided a well paced, safe and lovely route, pointing out important and interesting sites in towns along the way. In the evening Marianne offered activities from walking tours, to an art gallery and a fun group sing song. Nicole our chef was superb offering delicious breakfast and 3 course dinner meals...even provided a rice table for our final evening.
    Most memorable was cycling on the fantastic array of paths winding along canals, rivers and through forests, pastures and towns made enjoyable by the excellent bikes provided to us. The view from the changed from day to day. The homes along the route were well maintained and occupants seemed to take pride in showing something of beauty in the front windows such as bright flower bouquets, vases or pictures. A terrific bike and barge experience!

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Peter D. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The team on the Magnifique III took such great care to make our experience outstanding!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Being our first bike/boat tour, touring from bike paths gave us a different perspective as tourists!
    The canals, the culture and beautiful people sharing their heritage was memorable!
    New friendships and a marvelous boat crew !!!!
    Cuisine and services were top rate!!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jeannette D. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved Bruges! Also many of the villages we visited along the way!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Doug L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Tim W. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We just completed the bike and barge tour from Bruges to Amsterdam. The staff were excellent- professional, knowledgeable and safety-conscious. Our cabin on the barge Fluvius was clean and cozy. The food and service on the Fluvius was exceptional. Touring Belgium and the Netherlands by bike was fantastic. We would highly recommend and are already planning our next bike and barge adventure.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Linda M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike and barge trip so I didn’t know what to expect. I am delighted to report my experience was so wonderful, I honestly can’t decide on one single highlight when everything I experienced was unforgettably memorable. From the accommodations on the barge, the great staff, and delicious meals on board to the terrific guides, bike routes through the Neverlands and Belgium, the lovely countryside and small villages we passed through, each day led to wonderful memories. I am blind and rode a tandem bike with my adult daughter and everyone, from the staff on the barge, the two guides, the other guests, to the people who worked at the cafes, shops, and sites we visited were welcoming and accommodating. I rode a rented tandem with my daughter and loved every minute we spent together. I’m already trying to decide which bike and barge trip I’ll take next year which will be hard to decide on because there are so many enticing ones to choose Read more… from.

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Judy L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Coming around a corner in rural netherlands and seeing a tradition windmill complete with thatched roof! Beautiful!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Montgomery M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Sailing Home exceeded my expectations! The crew was excellent, the scenery magnificant, and I totally didn't expect a French-trained gourmet chef to prepare our meals complete with nightly explanation of each dish and it's country of origin. This is an intimate cruise ship experience for only 24 persons.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Margaret M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very good guides (Johanas and Hanakka), food (Chef Michael) and Captain Chris and crew (Lena, Sil and Harm).

    It would be good to have pedals that don't let your feet slip off when riding in wet weather.

    Also, we didn't bring bathing suits because we didn't know (or notice in the info provided) there was a hot tub on the barge. So it would be good to make that amenity more prominent / eye catching in the materials.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Richard R. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved everything about the trip. The boat was darling, the crew lovely, the guides super fun and the other guests were a great group. We will bike again with several of them! The weather in mid-Oct was pretty rainy, so early would have been a better choice - but we would do it all over again...

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Paulette M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This bike and barge trip really surprised us in such a great way. I had no idea how nice the boat was going to be and it held only 40 passengers which was a plus. The staff was fabulous and helpful in every way and the food was amazing. We had the time of our lives cycling through Brugge to Amsterdam. The scenery and bike trails were outstanding and the sites to see along the way were really fun. I will definitely use Tripsite again.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Donna H. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was excellent - our cook Nicole did amazing 3 course dinner meals and breakfasts in her tiny kitchen, loved the pancakes!
    Our guide Marianne was enthusiastic, knowledgeable about the areas traveled, and had planned activities for after dinner.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Hart B. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was excellent, having a small group was great.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
    by Debora Z. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip even though we had a far amount of rain. We enjoyed the challenge. So many memories. Going thru the Dutch country side and how clean and neat all the houses looked. Out in the middle of nowhere in a field a cow was giving birth to two calf's. My husband and I were self guided and we had fun finding all the little water crossing. Riding into Amsterdam on our last day was intense but now I feel I can ride anywhere. All our accommodations were unique and wonderful. This was our second trip with Trip site. Thank you.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Richard R. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was getting to see the countries from a bicycle. The weather was not good and the tour guide did an excellent job of juggling the personalities with varying degrees of athletic fitness. At 53-58, there were people on the boat that were over 20 years older than my wife and I, and as a result, some rides were cut short somewhat - this was a bit disappointing as my wife and I had hoped to ride at least the distances advertised. One additional constructive comment - some of the bikes were not in good shape. The bike set aside for me had its front brakes permanently rubbing and the solution was for me to ride a women's small bike for the week. Disappointing. The trip was excellent overall and we will do a bike and barge tour again.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC