Belgium Tour Reviews — 601 to 630 of 657

4.8 out of 5

 


Alan Searle
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We had a great time and plan on another bike-and-barge trip sometime. We loved the mix of passengers from different countries. Some of the other passengers, using other tour companies, had a few more details of the ports of call, and this would have been helpful for us, and may be a useful selling point for Tripsite.

Sanra Turner
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I loved everything about this trip from the boat, the staff, the bikes and, of course, the scenery. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who likes to take a trip up close and personal.

Patrick Roddy
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

West Flanders & Bruges
Belgium

I brought my own bike, but my friends rented. I was not impressed with the fitting of the bikes. The measurements requested by the site were insufficient to get an accurate fit and we had to request a new bike (inseam should be required). If I hadn't been there to fit the bikes nobody from the tour company would have been. Also, I had to replace a bolt on one of the bike's chain guard half way through the tour. At least check that everything is torqued down before renting them.

Joel Benedito Junior
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

1) In the boat is possible to rent helmet for EU$ 5/week. This renting is good for travelers that spend more time in Europe. I'm not sure if this information is available in the Tripsite's site.

2) I ordered a E-bike for my wife. In the boat I saw that 2 kinds of E-bike are offered to the customers. My wife would love bike in a more comfortable E-bike.

3) According to the staff of the boat, I should speak German. I don't know the source of this information. This information is used to organize the passengers in the restaurant.

Karen Thomas
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are already planning another bike and barge trip. It would have been nice if there were a better split in English speaking guests as most of the guests spoke German and we didn't get a chance to mingle much. Tripsite was very good to work with and we would use this company again. "

Diane Denham
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fantastic trip we loved everything about it. I would recommend this trip to anyone. The people we met were so nice and helpful and friendly. Our Polish chef on the boat was fantastic.

Beth McGinnis
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We were overall extremely pleased with our trip! The only downsound was the infestation of bedbugs... The staff had bites and my husband I had bites as well. The staff took this very seriously and called a Pest Control Company ...they had their rooms treated and ended up treating our room as well. We ended up having to treat our luggage and all personal items upon our return home to Canada.. To make sure we didn't bring any into our home.....Which was quite a chore and inconvenience.

Other than this, it was an awesome time.

Archie Benton
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

Our Brussels to Brugge trip was an incredible experience. The biking was fantastic, the boat was great, and the staff superb. We even traveled with wonderful fellow travelers on the trip! So many kind people. I had heard great things about this trip too but it turned out even better than my expectations! What can I say? The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The camaraderie was wonderful. We were on the Magnifique and it was magnificent. Thank you!-Archie, Nancy and Zach August 2015

Michelle C
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

This was our first bike tour (second for the two other couples in our party) and we truly enjoyed it. It was a good amount of daily biking, a mostly flat ride, with nice places to stop along the way. We liked all of the hotels - though two could have been more conveniently located in town - and the breakfasts were always great. We made use of the printed directions, maps, bike route number system, and GPS to find our way - each system seemed to work better at different points of the journey. There were a couple mix-ups with missing or misplaced signage on the bike route, but other than that, things went smoothly. We've posted pictures and more info about our trip at http://intentionaltravelers.com/4-reasons-self-guided-bike-tour/ . Thanks for a great trip!

Cheryl Williams
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

Hello some feedback from our bike trip to better the experience.

We had a flat tire and the bike pumps didn't work. We were in a group of four and none of them worked. Also there were no tire tubes! Should we have taken some with us? If so I didn't read that suggestion in the info provided.

We only had two saddlebags
No knobs on kick stands
No stem caps
Odometers only worked on one bike and one bike didn't have one at all
Bells didn't work on all bikes
The handle bars were loose on one bike and that was quite worrisome going down hills
On the bike trip from Dresden to Wittenburg we did a couple of years ago we were sized to our bike by a nice gentle man who took the time to explain aspects of the bike and we appreciated his efforts. We didn't have that attention this time so wondered if the bikes actually were road worthy, especially when we came to facing a fairly challenging route. The feed back from the bike Read More

Rachel Rulmyr
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I(in our 60"s) were on the Sailing Home a month ago with 6 friends from Bruges to Amsterdam. We had the most wonderful time. Everything about this trip exceeded my expectations. The boat, our accommodations, the food, the crew were all excellent and I can't say enough about our guide Hugo. He was amazing and really made our trip memorable. He was funny and very knowledgeable about everything we saw so we got info about the countries and the politics. I highly recommended this fun trip for all ages and biking abilities.

Mayita
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fiep Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I traveled aboard the Fiep from Amsterdam to Bruges* in July of 2013, and it was a wonderful way to see this part of the world. (*It looks like the itinerary has changed slightly, but on our trip the boat stopped in Ghent and we had to take a train back and forth to Bruges, which was a disappointment I didn't discover until after booking.) I traveled solo but was matched with a wonderful roommate. The accommodations were fine - I believe they've added air conditioning now, which will be a great improvement! - and the crew and chef were terrific. Our tour guide was adequate, and we all agreed that with a large group of 26 she probably should have had some assistance with wrangling everyone, but there were only minor glitches and no disasters. :-) I can happily recommend both the Fiep and TripSite if you're looking for a unique travel experience!

Lisa Smoak
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We just returned from our bike trip; Amsterdam to Bruges aboard "Sailing Home" (June 13- 20). This is our third Bike-n-Barge tour and we will do it again. I thoroughly enjoy being able to exercise everyday and have someone make me dinner in the evening. We also prefer the smaller barges.
Bill and Lisa Smoak - Melbourne, Florida

Bill and Candy Flink
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We just returned from our trip aboard the Sailing Home going from Bruges to Amsterdam. The trip was outstanding! Our guide, Hugo, was fantastic. He took time to explain a lot about the country, its people, and culture. We appreciated the walks he took us on in the evenings into town to learn more and explore. The boat was exceptional. the cabins were very comfortable and we enjoyed every delicious meal. The crew was always helpful, positive, and welcoming. We would go on another trip like this next week if we could. We will be back again as soon as we can. Thanks for preparing such an enjoyable cycling experience. Bill and Candy Flink Sacramento, California

Cornelius Mast
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The Mast Family
Bike tour Bruges to Amsterdam,
June 14-20, 2015

We really enjoyed the trip. The scenery was beautiful and we got a good overview of the coasts, farm land, waterways, historical sites and the cities. The hotels were very nice, comfortable, varied and had good restaurants in the hotels. The breakfast buffets were great. We particularly enjoyed the smaller hotels. Luggage transfer worked well.
The routes were easy to follow for the most part once we got “tuned into” finding the route signs. With the maps we were also able to alter the route to see some other sites we were interested in.
A couple of things would have made the trip easier:
Equipment:
More specific information about the bikes, which differ from those we normally ride, before the trip started would have helped us to get a good start the first day.
An extra tube for the tires would have helped since some tires required multiple patches.
Read More

James Dowie
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

the captain was wonderful and the nice part was he had his two daughters on for a few days and they were lovely. They also had there small dog who was great. Missed the dog when he went with the girls. The guide Lia was excellent and very helpful at all times. They rearranged the direction of the tour to cope with the wind and to go to the Keukenhof on a day when it was not so busy. The Keukenhof Gardens were at its peak the day we went. We will never forget that day. There were many highlights the cheese farm, the floralies were flowers are sold world wide, and so many other things like a barge tour at night in one town. I could go on for pages.

Waldy the helper was always there with a smile and never did he let me carry a bag. The cabins were neat and clean. Alf the cook who did the food was sensational every day . Alf and I had a birthday on the same day (April 21st) and they had a party for us. It was my 82nd birthday one I will never forget. All the other guests were Read More

Jean Stock
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I had always wanted to take a bike and barge trip in Europe for many years and finally did as my retirement celebration. Everything about the tour exceeded my expectations! The bicycling through the country, villages and cities was pleasant; our tour guide Sjac (Jack) aboard the FLUVIUS was friendly, helpful, indefatigable and could speak 4 languages; the camaraderie with the other cyclists and staff was outstanding; the food was excellent; the cabins were clean and actually bigger than I expected for a barge; and we lucked out and had perfect bicycling weather day after day. The folks at tripsite always responded quickly and were very helpful when I emailed or called them with questions. I would highly recommend this mode of travel as a way to get exercise and see Europe close up!

Martin Bay
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Romantic Bruges
Belgium

We are really impressed and will give all our friends top ratings on Brugge.

Great things to say about the hotel and the area. June is cool weather - bring jacket & light rain gear, but just expect to get a little wet every day and you won't be disappointed.

Paul and Mannie are great. One runs the hotel and one the B&B. They are very helpful and good people. There are not real "rides". You get a map, you ask questions and you go ride. It's just not that specific. A total beginner needs a little more hand-holding. Nancy & I did not.

Breakfast is filling & tasty. Cereal, juice, coffee (more American than most of the places in Belgium), toast, cheese, ham (really good ham), and a soft boiled egg every day. Plus yogurt, fruit, jams/jellies, and always something sweet like a cookie/chocolate. And an apple, kiwi, or banana to go.

You don't need to eat again until 2pm.

It stays light until 10:30, so you end up eating Read More

Daniel Edwards
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

we just returned from our trip. Brugges to Amsterdam. It was AWESOME. We had such a great time on the Gandalf with Hans. Els was our biking guide. She was terrific. It was fabulous and a great way to spend my 50th birthday!

Thank you for everything you did to arrange this trip for us. We will be back on some other trip in the future.

Bonnie Johnson
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Not too sure what I can say that the above feedback haven't already said. We travelled as a group of 6 on the Magnifique from Brugge to Amsterdam May 31st to June 7th, 2014. Everything and everyone was top notch. We started out with Carl as our Captain but due to holidays the barges owner, Walter, took over. Not only can he handle the barge but he does a mean BBQ. Our guide Tom was perfect. With a great sense of humour and and sweet personality. There was not one person who did not get along with him. Meeka, bar tender, server, cleaner, and Peter the amazing cook finished off the crew. The barge itself was fantastic. No complaints there. The beds are extremely comfortable.

Unfortunately one of our group was not able to complete the trip but we did meet a great group of people from all over the world.

I am not the greatest biker but thoroughly enjoyed the whole journey and would do it again.

Kimberley White
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Romantic Bruges
Belgium

Our cycle trip to beautiful, medieval Brugges was exceptional. The routes were picturesque and diverse; small castles, forests, canals, sea views, beautiful farmland and interesting architecture.The bike paths are amazing, easy to follow and extensive . Our rental bikes were new, well-maintained and suitable for any level rider. Hotel Fevery was very comfortable and quaint; we especially enjoyed our hosts', Paul and Benny, who had many suggestions and helpful hints for our daily rides. Breakfast was super and filling with cheeses, meats, baskets of bakery fresh breads, and market fresh fruit.

Because the terrain is so flat and easy to cycle we recommend this bike trip to anyone who is just starting out on their quest to tour Europe by bike.

Ian and Kim White, Canada

M. Gilbert
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

West Flanders & Bruges
Belgium

This was our third Pack and Pedal tour, and as usual it was fabulous! However this time we had a day that was well above and beyond what was expected. The owner of the partner company in Roselaire, Belgium,(who provided the bikes) was incredibly knowledgable about WWI, and when he found out that my brother-in-law wanted to try to locate an uncle's grave near our route, he took it upon himself to meet with us on one of our biking days, drive us to the nearest town likely to be the one with the gravesite, and successfully help us find it. This was one of many meaningful days in an amazing week. I might also say that whatever weather gods you partner with, keep them happy. We have almost always had really good weather when biking. And we will definitely be back! Thanks again and again!

Raylee Flick
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

We had an absolutely fabulous time in September this year on this trip. Cycling was fantastic-Francien an excellent guide, Inma a wonderful gourmet cook. The crew was always helpful and cheerful. The group of fellow cyclists were great fun - lots of laughs. Thank you, we will be back!!

Victoria Diehl Levesque
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Sept trip from Bruges to Amsterdam on The MS Magnifique, booked through Tripsite.com. Comfortable cabin, great food, hot tub wonderful after long days of biking! Crew easy going but always helpful and attentive. Multi national fellow passengers all good company. Definitely encourage bringing your own gel seat cover! I had an electric assist bike which I'd highly recommend if in any doubt about managing the occasionally challenging distances. Already thinking of booking another similar trip next year.

Loretta Dobson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I did the bike and barge tour from Bruges to Amsterdam Jun 29/2013 - and had the most amazing time!! Right from my first contact with the folks at Tripsite to the end of our tour - everything was perfect. Carl the Captain, Tom the guide and all the rest of the hardworking fun loving crew were amazing. We cycled some of the most beautiful countryside, Tom was very funny and looked after everyone - the ages on our tour were 16 to 77 - and we all felt comfortable. You can go at your own speed or go strictly with the group. The Magnifique was a beautiful and very comfortable boat - I loved it and I would be very hard pressed not to choose her again for our next trip - we are hoping to do a trip during the tulip season and maybe one in the early fall:) I actually wanted to book the return trip when we cycled into Amsterdam - but we were going to a friends wedding in Italy so had to continue on:) I really can not say enough good things about Tripsite on the organization side (friendly, knowledgeable and efficient; and the the crew of the Magnifique - they were all Magnifique!!!! Can't wait to go again.

Larry and Nancy Bern
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our experience on the August 31st Brussels to Bruges Bike and Barge tour. The accommodations, the staff, the food and even the bikes were all top notch. Peter is a wonderful chef, Leah was a great guide, Walter and Carel were great captain, Carel barbecue was over the top!! It took us a few days to adjust to the biking, as most of us have not done much city biking. But by the end of the trip most of us were doing pretty well. Larry and I would recommend this trip to anyone!

Jonathan G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Brussels to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We just got back from Amsterdam on Saturday. What a fantastic trip. We actually did more miles of biking than the itinerary listed. But that was fine. We had a great group of people. You don't need to be in fantastic shape for this trip but you should brush up on your basic bike skills. If you have not ridden in 20 years you may want to ride on some bike trails. It's a leisurely pace but it's not the mileage but the time in the saddle. On our longest ride we went about 35 miles but probably spent over 5 hours in the saddle. How will your tushy feel?

Our boat was the Tijdgeest, Gerritt (captain), Franz (deckhand, waiter, dog wrangler, and all around good kid), Eva (if I could keep her she would be my personal chef) are the crew. They did a fantastic job and the service was great. Food was great. After a long day of riding if Eva would have cooked a sock I would have eaten it. Rooms are small but livable. Comfy place to take a nap, sleep and get cleaned up. Nothing Read More

Marti G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I had a fantastic time onboard the IRIS on the Amsterdam to Bruges tour 8/3/13. The IRIS is a great vessel for this kind of tour. Our air-conditioned cabin was spacious with plenty of cabinets and closet space and we easily stored our luggage underneath the bunks. The private bathroom also had well thought-out storage space and towel racks.

On this tour, I was able to put my worries and my wristwatch away and simply enjoy myself. Our guide, Wouter, took good care of us and was knowledgeable about each town and village we visited with him. The food was superb! Our chef, Clive, prepared inspired three-course dinners for us, including some local dishes, like Flemish stew. All in all, it was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had.

Thanks to the folks at Tripsite for booking this tour and providing really detailed information to me prior to the trip. I would like to mention two additional points that would have been useful to know. First, as to the meeting Read More

Jette Vang-Ahlgren
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We will do it Again. A perfect way too reelax and see new Things every day. Meet new pepeole from other continents. good groupe size on the Iris and the crew made us feel very comfortabel and "hyggeligt" (cousy). New city every night with out packing our stuff. We are on in a new route when posibel.

Jim Elkan
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Our Kansas City biking group just got back from our annual European bike ride..This year it was a Bike and Barge trip: Paris to Bruges..It was a great trip..The Elodie was as pleasant as advertised, the food, prepared by Chef Sander, was excellent..Our guide, Ono was very good and patient with us..Michael, our Captain, couldn't have been better..

The countryside was beautiful..It was a memorable trip and we'll see you again next year..

Jim and Janet Elkan