Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 3806

 


Kate S.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

From the moment we boarded the Magnifique IV to the morning we left everything was exceptional…Mariela was our cycling guide for the week and she couldn’t have been more lovely. We had beautiful weather and each day of cycling was interesting and fun! All members of the crew went out of their way to make us comfortable and the food prepared by Jules was delicious! We had a great group of travellers and enjoyed our social time on the barge each evening. We would highly recommend the adventure!
John and Kate

Carol K.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Beautiful countryside and small towns; our guides were knowledgeable and helpful. The boat was beautiful and comfortable. Staff on the boat were friendly, accommodating, and professional. Oh--and the food was 5 star delicious!

Doreen C.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Incredibly warm, friendly and extremely customer-focused crew, all 7 of them!

Janet L.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This was a great trip and the guides and crew on the boat were wonderful! Karin, Eric, Frank and Brando made the trip and the food absoulutely great! Every day we had delicious meals and wonderful desserts! Despite some days of cold and rainy weather, the guides made sure we cycled through the beautiful countryside with good stops for rest and lunch. Keukenhof and the beautiful tulip fields were a highlight. The boat is so clean and well-taken care of. I would definitely recommend Zwaantje for this trip!

Linda B.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Great trip. The captain, guide, chef, and crew were wonderful. They made me feel very welcome and safe. While meals could be served earlier (breakfast at 8 and then heading out to ride at 9) and (dinner at 6:30 which lasted until about 8) the meals were very tasty. One thing I wish were different, we had our destination "tour" after dinner when everything was closed and often walking around in the dark. We didn't therefore get to really experience the lovely towns we were docked in because we left at 9 each morning and had little time to explore. It would be great to have a timeline and not just the riding itinerary because we could have gone faster through the open fields and farmland if we knew the plan for the day and seeing the towns, cities, villages. Our guide was very fun and made the days throughly enjoyable.

Karen S.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We loved travelling on the Magnifique II from Amsterdam to Bruges. It’s a beautiful, intimate barge with nice sized rooms. With only 30 people on board we got to know almost everyone. The food was amazing everyday and all 7 staff were friendly and accommodating. The guided biking was the highlight even though we didn’t have great weather. Both of the biking guides were great fun, informative and kept everyone safe.

Donald K.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The staff on the Iris were excellent. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The passenger capacity of the Iris (24 people) was just right. It afforded us the opportunity to get to know the other travelers. Although the cabins were small, they were well laid out; comfortable; and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed cycling throughout the Netherlands with the exceptional guides on the Iris.
We would've preferred more time allocated to exploring the towns where the Iris moored daily. Most of our exploration time was limited to after dinner walks in some towns.

Jacque W.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Riding our bikes through the countryside and small towns. The staff and food on the Fluvius was spectacular. Renting e-bikes was definitely a plus

Elizabeth R.
7 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The route was a great mix of countryside, nature and village. The cruise director, Leslie, provided invaluable information for route and highlights.

LDA
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

I had a great trip and meet some really fun new friends. Our upper level stateroom was pretty standard, small but comfortable. Itinerary was great and our guides were very accommodating, making a special stop at an olive mill per the request of a couple of our passengers. E-bikes were in good operating order and were a must for all but one person on our trip. We did a lot of uphill climbs, one was really steep, the rest just long and steady uphill. Probably due to the terrain/hills, most rides were on the shorter side (less than 20 miles for the day). Food was plentiful, but poor quality, vegetable soup without any trace of vegetables, thin chicken cutlets that were over cooked, and a main course of pasta daily. I ended up stopping at a grocery for snacks to bring onboard.

Effie H.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Bruges to Amsterdam Fluvius May 5/24 - 8 day bike trip

Unfortunately our barge had major mechanical problems ( thrust motor) from Day 1. As a result our first 4 full days of biking were changed, shortened significantly and day 4 spent almost entirely on the boat going to Antwerp with mechanical engineers working to fix it. We are very disappointed to lose this much biking on what was supposed to be a wonderful biking journey.

To add to our disappointment our biking tour guides, Tom and Laura, gave us very little information on what was wrong with the boat and what changes to expect. Generally they were not very communicative about our daily itineraries.

On the positive side, the barge crew were mostly fabulous. Mieke, the chef and her staff were very personable and hard working. The bartending staff were also very good. The food was excellent and the boat in good condition .

Overall we enjoyed the trip, especially the last 4 days once the barge was repaired.

patricia R.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This is a beautiful region and accessing it from the river trails is wonderful . The boat was very comfortable and the wonderful staff met our every need with a smile . We had rainy days , and closures due to local holidays which impacted our visits to small town restaurants and shops . I would avoid national holiday weeks in future .
My suggestions to improve this already wonderful trip :
- have bike storage racks that allow a little more deck space for sitting out .
-eliminate the hot tub , it’s only used by a few and takes up too much deck space .
-

Margaret C.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Trip was a good value but communication was not very good . The chef and the food and waitstaff were very good . There was a huge engine issue and we lost a day of biking . This was out of your control but the communication about what was going on was really poor .
Meike the chef should be the standard , she was terrific .

Debra W.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The week on the Feniks was great! I really think the barge was undersold!. The wifi worked for all of our party of 4. The daily laundry was such a great thing. And the staff- the skipper, the first mate, the cook, the guide were so, so much fun! Really happy we took this tour.

Mark L.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  San Snova National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

Amazing trip. Great guides, boat and food. Itinerary was a good mix of riding, relaxing and sightseeing.

Brian C.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique I Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This was our second bike and barge on this boat through tripsite. This time we brought friends, who said “one of my favorite vacations of all time”. We agree!
Cycling through rural north Holland was magical and we were fortunate to have great weather - not always guaranteed.
E-bikes were comfortable and safe, our guides Brian and Marianne were fun, knowledgeable and engaging.
Keukenhoff was packed with visitors, but we visited the smaller Hortis Bulborum and learned more about the beautiful tulips there.
Being in a small group on bikes allowed us to visit less-touristed sites, for example a working windmill Schermerhorn, Van Veen family cheese-making farm, and artist studio in Bilderdam.
The new Magnifique I was spacious, we had one of the new larger rooms. Food was varied, delicious, nutritious and plentiful.
Staff onboard led by Captain Walter became like family, helpful and responsive to everyone’s needs, including when Read More

Catherine C.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Nassau Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Thé bike trails so well marked. Ride with GPS so helpful .Frans was skillled with all the languages he mastered or attempted. His. Ride descriptions were accurate and he showed up along the way to give encouragement.
On the De Nassau get blinds for the windows in the dining hall. My table was in the sun and uncomfortably hot every evening at dinner.

Keith N.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It was our first trip on a smaller boat and we enjoyed getting to know all the other bikers and also the crew. It was also our first trip with a guide(s) and it was nice to not be concerned with navigating. The guides were excellent and the mini tours we interesting. My only suggestion is it would be nice to know more about the lunch stop ahead of time so we could decide whether we wanted to bring a lunch or eat at the restaurant.

Carl Magnus M.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Biking by river Po, the visits to the distillery and cheese factory

Leslie H.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Croatia is a beautiful and very clean country. The tour of Dalmatia was a fabulous overview of the outside islands. My most memorable part was climbing the uphills on the bikes. Even with an E-Bike it was a lot of work.

Sharon N.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

We had a wonderful time. Croatia is one of the most beautiful places we have visited! Our guides Marko and Edie were great, they took great care of us and were full of info about Croatia. They were fun and entertaining. As for bringing helmets, they are hard to pack and only 4 people brought them. The boat had plenty. The food was outstanding! I occasionally get seasick but had no problem on this boat. The wine was only sold by the bottle and beer by the glass. Our bar bill was $150 and has to be paid in cash (Euros) at the end of the trip. We did not drink much. Uber was much better than taxis and Dubrovnik buses worked great. The fast ferries from Split were cheap and easy beside the boat in the port. Cabins on board are small with upper berths noisier and more light at night. We are looking forward to another trip!!

Dave S.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Leafde fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Tulips
Netherlands

Excellent tour, great accommodations, great food and great staff!

Rochelle F.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The guides and staff were fantastic.

The trip was a wonderful way to see Italy minus the crowds.

Tereceda J.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Our guides Ana and Bubi were most memorable; they were excellent and made us feel safe and informed. Ana is a gifted leader who always had a smile on her face.

The meals were nutritious and tasty; the portions were large ( often larger than needed). The crew and cooks worked very hard to make us comfortable and taken care of. The boat was clean and well maintained despite being older than the Harmonia.

The boat could’ve used chairs at the upstairs table so we could sit together there. One bench was good, but chairs are needed. Perhaps a wifi booster could be added in the captain’s helm so rooms at the front of the boat could stay connected.

Thomas J.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

I really enjoyed the trip, especially being able to ride a bike throughout Holland and see all the flowers and small towns.

James (Jim) S.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Outstanding ship, and the tour guide was nothing short of fantastic.

Linda R.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This was my first bike and barge trip. Honestly, I haven't rode a bike in 25 years! Shame on me. I travel extensively, however I have never been on a trip like this previously. I would recommend this experience to anyone! Specifically, I believe Tripsite accounted for most of the pleasure. From the boat to the staff to the chef to the guides....everything was perfect and I can't wait to book my next trip with them. Tripsite took the STRESS out of planning and the caliber of accommodations were perfect. Thank you to everyone that made this memory possible!

Katia L.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The whole trip was a beautiful experience full of memorable biking moments, new friendships and an attentive and talented staff. The best part of the trip was the attentiveness of the staff who met our various needs throughout the trip. I can't say enough about our tour guides and barge staff who always took the time to hear our concerns and or special needs and do their best to meet them. By the end of the trip, The Iris was our home and it always felt good to return back to our barge after a successfull and beautiful day of biking throughout the countryside. So with that being said, the trip is beautiful, but the staff made it special.

Pam I.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Every day was a new adventure along winding canals from pastures, to fruit groves, windmills, cheese farms, little towns, and past back yards with sheep, chickens and goats.

Steven T.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Hungarian dinner, music and bridge tour was one of the highlights.
The guides gave personal help with excursion directions. They were out on the trails that were our shepherds leading us.