Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 181 to 210 of 3806

 


Cahal G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magellan Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The guides were outstanding. We got lucky with the weather, but when it didn’t cooperate they figured out alternatives that didn’t feel like compromising. That said there was an emergency where we swam in a current and three people needed assistance. The guides responded, but not one of the crew did anything. This was very disturbing.

Earl B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Barge was nice, food and staff incredibly good. Stefania and Hein were very friendly, informative and helpful. My only criticism would be that there were too many bike riders, a couple who were inexperienced enough to veer over to my wife causing her bike tire to go off the pavement inciting a crash breaking her wrist necessitating shortening our trip and surgery at home to correct the break. Stefania was incredibly helpful throughout the ordeal helping Barb and I arrange a trip to the hospital in Adria, transportation by taxi and train back to Venice where were able to fly home early. All in all, the trip was that much more memorable in a complex way!

Grant B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

This was a fantastic trip. My whole group was really impressed. The bike guides (Dionysis and Demetrius) were fantastic. They really did a good job supporting us during the rides and on board the ship. The crew worked really hard and their worked showed. The food was exceptional. I highly recommend this trip.

alan o.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

Nice group of people. I suggest tighter and better organized biking component.

William D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The overall experience was beyond our expectations! The Harmonia boat was spotless and well maintained and the crew and kitchen staff were superb. One highlight was the long bike ride of 38 miles through the beautiful countryside of little villages, small farms and lavender fields. Croatia has to be the rising star throughout all of Europe. With crystal clear waters, beautiful views and wonderful food that is very reasonably priced combined with extremely friendly people you have the perfect vacation destination.
This trip is a MUST do experience!

Lynn K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

The most memorable part of the trip was the scenery of the terraced vineyards, and olive tree orchards against a clear blue sky. Mountain roads without cars winding through the landscape to the Douro River below.

Food on the Alva Rosa was excellent as was the service, the bar staff, cooks, and servers.

Tips: Use multi use water bottles as part of bike tour. Longer rides with a little more uphill as we had E bikes!

sonya s.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

A trip of a lifetime. The best way to see the small cities of Holland and Belgium at a leisurely pace with like minded people. Our North Star our guides Hester, Ester were amazing. They had very good understanding of the routes and the history of each city. Drum roll for an amazing crew on the barrage. The food and service was spectacular . If you want a slow, luxurious bike tour this is the trip to do!

Alice T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands E-bike & Boat
Greece

We loved everything about this trip. The Thalassa was amazing. The guides and crew were great. The bike rides were beautiful. My tip for others would be to opt for the e-bikes! This was my first time riding one and it was so much fun. Even the climbs were enjoyable. And we were not afraid to stop and take photos at any time. We fell in love with Greece amd it’s friendly people.

David M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The Magnifique III Is a wonder boat with well appointed cabins and public space. The Mossell river is one of the prettiest and easiest to ride along. Getting to Metz from Paris was an easy train ride. We did not have to rush to the boat by 2 PM. The first day you get fitted on your bike and then are free until dinner. I would recommend an E -bike as there are sudden uphill grades and it make life easier. The GPS for your phone is very easy to follow So I would recommend that if you are traveling with a group of friends that the group goes self guided because there are many quaint villages along the way that you could see. The rides each day are from 22 to 37 miles and with the guide and take about 5 hours. The guides are on a schedule to meet the boat and not arrive early. They stop every 8-10+miles and linger for 30 minutes. Lunch is in nice towns but you do not have enough time to enjoy them. Overall, it was a beautiful trip however really fast and experienced riders would be frustrated.
The crew and guides change with each sailing so we cannot comment on our experience. I will say both crew and guides were extremely competent and friendly.

Kevin P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

Accommodations on the boat and the food were spectacular. The biking trips were very short and mostly downhill. The guides did not provide much history or background for the sites that we visited.

Douglas S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We had a great time on the Ave Maria and touring Northern Italy. The staff/crew of the Ave Maria were top notch. The bicycles provided were comfortable, very well maintained, and worked flawlessly throughout the trip. Our tour guides, Hein and Stefania, were knowledgable providing us with history, culture, and insight into and of our Italian surroundings. This was a trip well worth taking. If we were to do it again, we would book an earlier date to see active growing/harvest in the farmland.

Stephanie S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

The island of Ithaca was the most beautiful and inspiring. I deeply appreciated the guides--their patience, their support, their advice for a better ride. I am also grateful for the flexibility of the tour in regards to adjusting the itinerary for adverse weather conditions; the captain always kept our safety in mind but the staff made sure we didn't miss out on any opportunities for the trip.

My only recommendation would be for the Tripsite staff around answering traveler questions. I read the material sent by the coordinator but, when it provoked questions and I reached out for clarification, all I received back was copies of the printed material again. I would have preferred more direct communication regarding the questions incited by the material.

Karen B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands E-bike & Boat
Greece

It was totally amazing when the sails went up on the Thalassa and a beautiful sight to see!! The crew were amazing and so friendly! We couldn’t have asked for tastier Greek dishes! An all around amazing experience and I can’t wait to book another trip!

Umberto M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The attention of de guides for sure.
The food was so good too
About of the begining of the travel, when we were buying our trip we didn’t have a good help.

Marla A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It would be a challenge to identify the most memorable part. The tour brought us to amazing places, both commonly visited and out of the way sites; Stephania and Hain led the group with interesting and amusing stories, giving us an historical context and a cultural understanding; all of the crew was professional, helpful and friendly; the bikes were high quality and well maintained and the meals were the best!!!! Love the use of local foods and accompanying explanations of each dish. The cabin space is small, so if you have a few days of rain, you’ll be searching for places to put wet clothes.

Mark G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The scenery, the history, the superior quality of the staff, the appealing pace of the active elements & the great food!

James C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

The entire package was memorable which was enhanced by the other travelers on the boat. The camaraderie among the travelers, guides and crew was the icing on the cake for each day! The guides were excellent: informative, caring, supportive. Be prepared for "Croatia flat" (undulating hills) after climning the long hills while biking!

Matt D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Bike riding through small villages. Cruising between all the islands
Clearer expectations-no independent riding. Some biking experience needed.

Scott R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Pearls of Dalmatia
Croatia

Fabulous scenery on the islands
Comfortable boat with friendly crew
Great meals
Hybrid bike was dated but reliable

Julie M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands E-bike & Boat
Greece

Wow...what a fabulous trip. OPA! It was a fantastic eight days with great food and excellent staff onboard the ship Thalassa. The tour was very intimate, and I was able to make some great friends. Everything about this first-class trip exceeded expectations. I highly recommend this trip for a great and relaxing way to see Greece.

Philip M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We enjoyed the cycling with expert guides through this Low Countries. I became very emotional at the Canadian memorial cemetery and finding headstones from his regiment.seeing historic sites at Kinderdyck was fascinating. Our accommodation was top notch and was great being with like minded travellers . The bikes were comfortable and perfect for this tour.we had ebikes which were great for the Dutch mountains (wind)!We enjoyed the Netherlands. Amsterdam is a lively city for tourism and easy to manoeuvre.

Katherine H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

The scenery both on the boat and during the biking were spectacular. The food was fantastic. The rooms were really comfortable. I really loved the trip.

For improvements, having the guides know where bathrooms are along the way would be nice. A lot of people had to find bushes along the way. On your France barge I took we stopped in towns to walk around and sometimes had a coffee and people used the restrooms. More information on the towns would be gppd. Also, we had a very sick guide and maybe she should have been traded out at some point and not been eating and hanging out with us. She's a lovely person but if I were that sick I would stay away from people as much as possible. We all came home very sick.

Sandra B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

Sept 23 - 29, 2023 Nürnberg to Würzburg on the Merlijn : This was our 6th Bike & Barge trip with Tripsite (it would have been our 8th, but you know that story!), and we wouldn't dream of booking with anyone else! We'd taken a trip on the Merlijn in 2017, but since then, the interior has been renovated. Very nice! Food and accommodations were excellent, staff was friendly and helpful. Our bike guide, Thomas, prepped us each day, reviewing the routes and stops, always prioritizing our safety. The bikes were new and well maintained. The staff took the time to adjust each to personalize the fit and comfort. The hybrid bikes are Dutch and light weight, which my husband rode. This was the second trip I've taken using an e-bike and I'm hooked! The biking routes were generally level and we mostly rode on dedicated bike paths. When riding through a town, Thomas did a great job of keeping us together, advising us on how to approach intersections. Another fabulous B & B trip and we're already planning our 7th!

Mary D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands E-bike & Boat
Greece

The trip to the Peloponnesian Islands aboard the Thalassa surpassed expectations. The scenery, the company, the AMAZING food and the professional and good humored way the captain and crew handled the Thalassa added to the experience. It was great to share an adventure with friends old and new.

Lloyd "Lee" N.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Yolo Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

beautiful scenery, perfect weather and knowledgable guides. Although I am not a big fan of "guided" bike tours (due to the slower pace) this one was OK due to it being an e-bike tour and nearly everyone could keep up.

Joan-Carol B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

The biking was lovely, the service on the boat was excellent.

But, communications between the boat and the bike guides was terrible. There was a lot of second guessing and lost time.

For the biking, more cultural information would have been good. Stops for coffee in interesting places would also heighten the experience.

Linda W.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Alva Douro River E-Bike & Boat
Portugal

The boat and food were great. Beautiful area along the river. Nice wines. Wait staff were incredible

Nancy V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

It is hard to decide on just one memorable part of the trip. Sailing along the Rhine with a drink, seeing castle after castle along the beautiful hills, drinking “fresh wine” at the lunch stop during one of our rides along the Mosel, riding through charming town after charming town, each was highly memorable. This was my dream vacation.

The only thing I would change is that I should have ridden an e-bike. Had I not been recovering from a recent illness, it would not have been necessary, but as one can never predict one’s future health at time of booking, I would consider an e-bike an insurance policy in case one is not 100%. It would have made some days more enjoyable.

Sally F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands E-bike & Boat
Greece

Excellent trip! The rides were scenic and most of the roads on the islands had very few cars. Weather in early October was perfect: sunny every day and not too hot. The capacity of the boat was perfect for getting to know everyone and bonding over the scrumptious meals they provided. The crew was very professional, as were the two guides. E-bikes are a must to really enjoy the trip, unless you are a very strong biker who loves hills. Swimming from the boat and various beaches was great! I highly recommend this particular boat and bike trip.

Harvey S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

My Second B&B trip on Merlijn. After my wife & I had such a great experience in Belgium & The Netherlands on the Merlijn, I pledged That I would try to reserve the entire barge and recruit 22 of our friends to join us on another trip. We did just that. We just finished our second trip - This time Mainz to Merzig in Germany.
Safe to say we all had a great experience that we will long remember.