5 star rated France Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 310

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by David and Anne S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read more… were some minor problems with the GPS, particularly the road barred off in one place. Fortunately we had a hotspot which we took with us each day, and were able to figure out how to reroute ourselves using Apple maps, but we would have been in trouble otherwise. We went to the market at Isle sur la Sorgue, but it was impossible to visit with bikes due to the crowds of people. We didn't dare leave the e-bikes, even locked, so we had to take turns going in - but still fun!

    Countries: France

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Craig M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I recently returned from a bike and barge trip in France which I booked through Tripsite. The trip was from Montargis to Paris and was provided by Bike Boat Tours based in Amsterdam. This trip was exceptional as it was for myself and 9 of my family members, eight of whom had never traveled to Europe before. I have personally used Tripsite many times in the past and as in all previous instances they were totally professional. They handled any communication to the tour provider, provided a link for trip insurance and all last minute advice regarding clothing, tipping, currency exchange, location where to board the boat, etc. Working with Tripsite is key to making foreign travel easy and I'm sure I will be contacting them again.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Ross M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the best kept secret for those of us that enjoy intimate, caring, luxurious adventure with people that will care and spoil you along the way. Quo Vadis will always be our first choice if available and the standard by what we measure all of our other trips.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Patti S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery along the Mosel River is the star of this Bike and Barge trip! The vineyard along the steep mountain face for miles and miles, the gorgeous river meandering , the church steeple in every village, and the ancient castles on the mountain top! I could not believe I was there in the midst of this! Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone and I have!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by James C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Paula H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was wonderful. It made our bike riding less stressful. Meet some great people from different countries. Enjoyed our dinner every night. The staff was helpful.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Camille B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My favourite parts of the trip were spending time in Cochem, the happy hour the entire group would spend “debriefing” at the end of the day on the deck of the boat, both vineyards that we visited and the incredible gardens we saw as we rode along the Moselle river.

    My suggestions:

    Clear instructions about the day we board the boat. Everyone was confused about whether we simply drop off our luggage, stay on the boat, is there dinner on the boat?? Etc.

    It would have been nice to have some background music on the boat during breakfast, happy hour, dinner or the evening. I heard a number of people mention this.

    A few planned activities on the boat would have been a lot of fun. A theme dinner, trivia night, learn to make the local cocktail, a local historian gives a presentation, a quick and simple local language lesson, etc. People also commented on this and would have gladly paid another 100 Euros for a few little “extras” like Read more… these.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Ceira S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Gorgeous Mosel with quaint towns cycling and being on a gem of a boat! Surrounded by great people and a great crew!
    Thank you for wonderful memories!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Carol M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have been traveling for many years and have had many amazing adventures. I can honestly say that this is one the the best holidays I have taken. I loved being active and after a day of exploring to come back to the boat for a cocktail, wonderful dinner and conversation with the other guests. The crew made us feel at home. I cannot recommend this trip enough! We are already planning the next holiday. Thanks for a great experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Richard J. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Marge H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The views along the Mosel River were fantastic and of course, the wines.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Best of Burgundy
    by Gary N. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The hotels were great & friend

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Paul M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip from start to finish was excellent. Boat staff were exceptionally helpful and always ready to assist as needed. Food was varied and tasty too. Will be booking another bike and barge trop on the future.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by John M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every biking day was a new adventure which culminated in our finding our barge (Zwaantje) as if by magic; but in reality through the skill and navigation expertise of our fearless guide. Beautiful countryside, lovely quiet towns and the bustling town hall squares of the larger cities. Absolutely loved it. Our chef on board was a delight and the food was excellent featuring both local produce and an international flair. Very well looked after throughout.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Antonina (Ena) G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery loved the old towns. The bikes were great

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Paul M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Further to my previous review I wanted to add the service, courteousness and responsiveness of the Tripsite Representatives in answering multiple questions and following up on the many details of our group was much appreciated. A customer focused company which is a novelty today.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kinne H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Terrific sights made better by great group of cyclists.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Carol M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was one of the best holidays I have ever taken - being active, seeing history and meeting new friends. Highly recommend.

    I have already booked another trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by James C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Sheilagh M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the south of France along quiet country roads with the occasional stop to learn about the history and people of the place.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Janice C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, so hard to pinpoint to one memorable experience; there were so many. Our first impression of the boat and crew was wonderful. The boat was very clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. All the crew members were welcoming, kind, fun and efficient. The Captain, RJ, was one on the crew, always on, active, involved and always with a smile. I loved that by the end of the trip, all 24 of us knew each other well after eating, biking and watching out for each other after the 8 days. Bike riding along the Moselle River in the fall with the colors changing was breathtaking. Every turn was equally as beautiful and everyday the colors became more vibrant. We broke off into 2 groups of 12 every morning; each group having one of the two guides. I was very happy to see there were two guides. We came across another bike/barge tour in one of the towns and there was only 1 guide for a group of 24. I think that was pushing it a bit. The villages, towns, castles, history, wineries Read more… and food on board were all exceptional. The pace of the daily ride was not difficult. The only suggestion that I have would be to separate the e-bikes from regular bikes. I found at times, the e-bikes would interfere with the momentum of the rest of us trying to pedal up the hills. It might just be the need for a little more training with the riders on the e-bikes, there was none that I saw, and a better understanding of an "etiquette".

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by John C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the boat Caprice was wonderful. Each crew member did their utmost to make the trip perfect for everyone. The food was outstanding, our compliments to the chef Joseph who prepared a gourmet meal every night. The tour guide Alessandra was wonderful and kept the group moving along together. The size of the tour was perfect, 20, the route was ideal and that part of France was beautiful. Highlights were the Ponte du Gard, the villages in Provence, Avignon and the tour of the winery and La Moulin d'Huile. We also enjoyed the company of the others on the tour very much.

    Suggestions: bring raingear if it's the rainy season, stop in the cafes in the little towns along the way for beer, wine, french fries or desserts.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kent H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
    by Anette Lie B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful landscape in the Loire Valley and the picturesque towns of Chinon and Azay le Rideau made this trip a wonderful experience that I would warmly recommend everyone! The bikes had high quality and the hotels were all great.Everything went smoothly and everyone was very helpful. I will definitely come back some day.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Shelly B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My friends and I had a wonderful time on the Bordeaux Bike and Boat Tour! The bike rides were like riding in a postcard! The boat was very comfortable. The meals were delicious and based on the region! There was a wide variety of wine available at a very reasonable price! The crew were all extremely polite, pleasant, and helpful! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do a boat and bike tour!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Tom E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was perfect - the biking, the people, the food and the sites.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Michel D. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our second experience with Tripsite. Our first was in the Netherlands and the second in France. Everything has been positive from the time of booking to the end of the trip. Great food, great cycling, comfortable ship, scenery and most importantly, the other guests on the trip. We have already booked our third trip for May of 2020!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Doug L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Charlotte A. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the countryside and small villages, visiting Arles and Les Beaux.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Andrew O. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is impossible to single out a single most memorable time. The food was delicious, the tour guide wonderful, the cycling routes took us to a variety of historical, cultural, and geographical places. We saw castles, an abbey, art, old villages, wildlife, walled cities, mountain top views, and took several short cruises on the river, The days were full, we had downtime when needed but were always kept busy if desired.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

PWPC