5 star rated France Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 251

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kathleen S. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I broke my wrist while half way through the trip. Everyone was very kind and supported me to make sure I was included in most activities.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • The Heart of the Tarn River Valley
    by Robert E. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our group of eight greatly enjoyed our experience at Les Magnolias and especially appreciated the personalized hospitality of Claudia, supported by her always-courteous and attentive staff. We really give highest marks to the quality of the food, cleanliness of the rooms and facilities, selection of bikes and, of course, the amazing scenery and sites of interest. Thank you so much for a great week!! We will be back some day!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Doreen S. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bourg / Blaye was a wonderful ride with minimal traffic and enough gradient to make it interesting. The fortified town at Blaye was an interesting diversion from vineyards. In all a well organized tour with excellent staff. The bikes were a little heavy but that gave me an excuse for an extra creme brûlée!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sam 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A GREAT experience on a bike & barge trip! I LOVE Bordeaux and the bike routes were beautiful !!! absolutely amazing from the start to the end.
    The staff members were superb and we had fun !!!
    I highly recommend this trip !!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Steve & Ginny B. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Thank you for arranging our bike/barge trip on the MS Bordeaux.

    We cannot tell you enough good about MS Bordeaux, the Captain and his crew. It was so enjoyable to arrive on board, unpack for eight days, and relax. On other bike rides, we unpacked every night and repacked every morning. I think another bike/barge is in order. Tim LaMonte and I are researching next year’s ride already!

    The food was exceptional (except for one night when the chef was off. My red mullet was raw and not cooked. Can you spell Y-U-C-K?). Every day, we packed our lunches (except when we did our walking tour of Bordeaux with Sebastian, see below.) Desserts were yummy!

    The bike rides were great and we discovered fantastic wines!

    There were 84 passengers on-board. A large group was from Australia, some from Canada, Switzerland and the USA. Even though those of on the non-guided ride tour rode at different speeds, we continuously found each, and other helped each other find our way and found places of interest. The camaraderie with other riders was phenomenal.

    I had an e-bike. Ginny had a regular bike. On the last day, she traded it in for an e-bike! She will get one for the next tour! Tim also traded his bike for an e-bike on the last day.

    In the middle of the week, we could ride our bikes on a short bike path or take a walking tour of Bordeaux, or both. We decided to have a relaxing day and took the walking tour.

    Sebastian, the bartender, had the day off. We asked why he did the free walking tour on his day off. His response was simple. He loved to tell people about his country and take them on tour of his hometown, Bordeaux.

    A total delight was our interaction with 19-year old Dorrian (sp?). He was the highlight of the trip. He gave the welcome briefing, the evening briefings on what to expect the next day, and was always available.

    1. Dee LaMonte had a flat tire. We called Dorrian and he was there within 15 minutes

    2. Dorrian was on different roads where the non-guided riders were, and always got us on the right track.

    3. Every time we were not sure of where we should be, Dorrian showed up like magic!

    4. Another flat tire, a telephone call, and Dorrian found us again. He took Dee LaMonte and her bike in a van to MS Bordeaux. Dorrian also offered a ride to the rest of us, however, we declined and rode the rest of the way back.

    The final night on board, was the Captains Dinner, a party and lots wine flowing and lot of dancing! A perfect way to celebrate the end of our adventure!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Eileen A. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable? For me the day we cycled through the city of Paris. We got to experience a very authentic side of Parisian life, zooming along the myriad of bike paths with the locals, enjoying the sights, sounds and smells and knowing we were in the capable hands of our guide. Having a guide removes all of the navigational stress and allows for the freedom to sit back and enjoy the ride.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Gary F. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip, great barge, well organized, a list of fellow passengers for each cabin would have been helpful from the start
    Keep in mind the MPS Zwaantje does provide hairdryers for each cabin, provides WiFi- a truly upscale barge.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Pauline J. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The crew of the Feniks, provided the most amazing experience. The food simple satisfying and enjoyable. Food fresh, tasty, and cooked well by the Nelje. Marius and Reinhold, provided amazing care of all our needs The accommodation small, efficient and clean. You always slept well. The guide Nina with her amazing knowledge showed us her secret places, backroads, canal paths, and bike paths. She encouraged all riders while challenging us beyond what we thought we could do. As a experience it exceeded my expectations. Looking for a different French/Belgium experience do this trip you never forget it. Will do another trip this way, and if possible on the Feniks...

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • The Heart of the Tarn River Valley
    by John Manley 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is a fantastic tour in a very beautiful part of rural France. The hotel is very comfortable, consisting of a series of very old but beautifully restored buildings together with some sympathetically designed modern extensions. These include a covered pool and a large paved outdoor area shaded by the huge magnolias that give the hotel its name. The hotel has its own restaurant offering excellent food at very reasonable prices. The special dinner offered on Saturdays features regional produce and is worth far more than its E29 price tag.
    There are a dozen or more excellent day rides that can be made using the hotel as a base. Your host Claudia will suggest rides to suit your interests and riding capabilities and will provide very clear maps and directions. However - be warned - the surrounding countryside is stunningly beautiful but there are hills! Unless you are a strong rider you may wish to consider the electric bike option that is available.
    This is probably the best of the half dozen or so bike tours we have done in France and Italy. We will be back!

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Bruce K. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Roman, Matilde and guide Ari, couldn't do enough to make welcome and please our entire group, especially during some minor technical difficulties that were not of their making. The quality of the bikes, whether due to model, age or degree of maintenance is something that our entire group of eighteen agreed is an area that could be looked at HAT tours; a lot of pressure fell upon the Anna Maria crew (especially Ari) to rectify faults not of their making. A less flexible and tolerant group of paying passengers might have made for an uncomfortable trip.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Neil M. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The accommodations, the staff and of course cycling through all the beautiful country side.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • French Alps Lake Tour
    by Brenda A. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Thoroughly enjoyed! Hotel staff were a wealth of knowledge and so friendly!

    Countries: Switzerland, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Nelson G. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time riding through Bordeaux’s beautiful wine country. Our trip was enjoyable for our entire group of varying cycling abilities. The E-bikes made it easy for those that needed them. The staff was excellent and very personable. We were treated as art of the family. We are looking forward to our next cycling adventure.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Alsace Road Bike Tour
    by Rose B. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip in Alsace, France was an amazing way to see the French countryside, wine region and the local community. The route choices were amazing, almost no cars the entire time and the hotels and restaurants were very aware of how the system worked and how to support us on our trip. I would highly recommend this trip to any expert cyclist.

    Countries: France

  • Luxury Castles of the Loire
    by Michael S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Loire environment was wonderful, and the well planned routes through the area, with so much off road or quiet road cycling was exceptional. The accommodation and overall organization was of excellent standard.
    The one piece of feedback that you should receive concerning the bicycles is that they needed servicing. There was significant slippage of the gears throughout the trip, on both bicycles. This can very simply be fixed with appropriate servicing of the chain and rear cluster.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Patrick S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part for me was the camaraderie formed within the group. Mainly because our guide, Helmut, was so personable and caring. Also, Tripsite did a great job filling our time with memorable adventures. I'm so glad I chose to use an e-bike.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Richard O. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide, Chris, was exceptionally talented. He answered questions clearly and completely, and he offered many interesting comments about the various sites we traveled through. Our captain, Connie, was also thoroughly competent and provided additional insight about our travels, especially thru the various locks. Meals were good. Breakfast was standard European and I appreciated their encouraging us to prepare sandwiches and snacks for lunch. Be aware that the instructions for meeting the tour bus from the train station, Gare du Nord, were incomplete: You have to continue walking about 100 meters on Rue de Maubeuge beyond Rue Ambroise Pare to find the bus. Also, this bike trip was considered "easy" based on the relatively flat terrain and modest miles ridden.
    However, the paths were not always very smooth; we experienced rocky, bumpy, pitted and muddy roads for much of the trip. In general, however, this was a very memorable trip; I'd do it again!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Raine P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The routes were described well before each ride and usually easy to follow, however at least one person in your group should have a GPS. The guide and scenery were exceptional. The food was great but it was difficult getting vegetarian food for dinner even though I had requested vegetarian when I signed up.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Jenny D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was amazing!! From pink Lakes, to Pink Flamingos, White Sandy Beaches, to the Punta Du Gard, Castles, Sunsets, Fields of Lavender, and Van Gough. This trip was a feast for the senses. What a fun trip. I've already booked my next one. This was excellent!!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Molly C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall the trip was great. Route was rated as easy, but it was a little more difficult than expected. Lots of traffic in Paris and trails and streets were often more like off-road or mountain biking. That should be made clear from the beginning.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Mary W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This tour of the Seine was delightful. The boat and crew were top notch. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the history and bike routes of the area. And the weather was c'est bon. It was the trip of a lifetime.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Judy C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The weather was warm, sunny, and perfect for biking. The country roads, surrounded with miles of vineyards, and the canal bike paths were beautiful. The small towns and villages were charming and delightful destinations; there was always an old castle or church to explore. The picnic lunch that we packed each morning allowed us to experience a variety of "picnic" spots. One day we were on the steps of the University of Bordeaux; another day sitting along the Garonne River in St. Macaire.

    The boat, with just our family plus another couple, was terrific. We got to know the crew quite well-- actually, all on the boat became one big family. It was the trip of a life-time for all 15 of us. Everyday a grandchild would come up to me and say, "Mema, this is the best trip I've ever been on. I am having so much fun." From the youngest, at age 12, to the oldest at 78, we are left with memories that will never be forgotten.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Judith K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bike tour was terrific and exactly what our group was looking for. Biking along quiet country lanes and through vineyards. Our Italian cabin crew was fabulous.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Trizay
    by Helena Knight 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My husband and I did this tour in September 2017 and loved it. Easy cycling, superb food and fabulous warm service at the hotel. Beautiful location and great rides. We
    Also took our bikes by car and then rode bikes across and around Ile de Re. Fabulous week. Only shortcoming were the bikes that were more city cruisers not as advertised. But fabulous holiday

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Georgia M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Brain F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jenny & Ted Miles Johnson 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff members were superb!!!
    Another great experience on a bike & barge trip!
    Some suggestions:
    We should have known in advance, that appointments were necessary to visit a winery. A daily visit to a winery would have been nice, where the staff of the boat could have made the appointments.
    In the write up for this particular bike & barge (Bordeaux), it would have been nice for the write up to let people know, that there are a few hills (12-15%) to ride up daily.
    Even bicyclist in decent shape had a tough time riding up these 12-15% grades, due to the heavy bicycles. Maybe, letting people know, that it’s advisable to get an ebike, can resolve the uphill climbs issue.
    Also, for not getting lost on the daily bike routes; The availability of the gps was a big plus and a necessary piece of equipment, for a successful & pleasant daily bike trip.
    Overall, the staff & owner of the barge were very helpful & were there for you, when you were in need of something!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Angela R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole trip was great. Other passengers on the barge were great, weather was good, one couldn't ask for anything better. The Tripsite staff were extremely helpful and I have always found them to be most professional.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Stephen M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Visiting Arles was particularly memorable, but we very much enjoyed the trip itinerary.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gilles P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the "flag" system. Excellent guide (Antonella) that made it possible to stop and discover the sites. Adored stopping in bistros and similar. Great suppers.
    I would recommend splitting a group of 21 in two or even three smaller parts when on public roads; the flag system assures you that you will not get lost from your group.
    OK, when do we leave?
    Gilles XX

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

PWPC