France Bike Tour Reviews 481 to 510 of 564

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Joan Farina 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I recommended it to Dave Ford who is joining you in September 2016 with his large gang. Do I get a free shirt?

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Donald Stockwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was not good, would ride off too fast, often the tail end riders were lost and confused as they could not keep up. Everything else was excellent!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Provence - Van Gogh
    by Leslie Lami-Reed 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff was wonderful. Weather not so good but we had a great time.

    Countries: France

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Sharon Robers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Mosel trip was excellent. Danube trip, the map and instructions were worse than useless because they were actually wrong in places.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Carmel Manley 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We are return users of Tripsite, we have found both the service from Tripsite and the tours (now 3 in total) have all been excellent. Great tours because of the combination of places, organisation and staff. Am looking forward to taking part in more in the future.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

    • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
      by Julie 2 years ago        

      Hi, as far as scenery goes, what has been your favorite trip?

      Countries: France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Barbara Berling 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the trip and the Merlijn. Hoping to do another tour in 2017.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Howard Jay 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was awesome!

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Letha Denese Anderson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the crew, but Clive (our chef) was the best. I have since done another bike and barge trip with another company and was totally disappointed with the food we were served. I am looking forward to doing another bike and barge trip this year.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Susan Miller 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The guide was not well prepared with maps and the boat kept changing docking locations. The Rhine is very industrial from Basel to Mainz. The rides were not very interesting or long. It was not one of your better offers.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Christel Mikelic 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike part was more challenging than in the discription. You have to be a strong biker used to hills. There are many hills and one very challenging hill. So I would not consider this an easy tour as in the description. However it was well worth the effort if you are well trained. Our guide Wiro was awesome and kept us together and on time which was very much appreciated. I would recommends this trip in spring or early summer. By the time we went end of August the vegetation was all dried up and there were no flowers because they had such a hot dry summer. I prefer a comfort plus boat as you have more space in your cabin. These cabins were very small. However all in all it was a beautiful, historic and worth while tr which I would recommend to avid cyclists.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Marcus O'Neill 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only real complaint was the signage throughout the route. More route markers would have been very helpful and prevented us from getting lost several times.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Suzanne Triplett 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip was as described, well planned and executed.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Bruce Belman 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Everything we were hoping for.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Kenneth Larsen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We started with the book with maps and directions. Although it was pretty good, we got lost a couple times with that. I think on the 3rd day we met the woman who wrote the directions and she got us the file for my Garmin. That gave us turn by turn directions with no mistakes. Everyone we met was very pleasant. The trip was great. The bikes were a bit heavy.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Terry Benson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a wonderful time. Only problem was the weather, very very cold.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Lois Requist 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides are young and very athletic. People who sign up for this level of bicycling aren't usually top bikers, unless they are doing it to be with friends or spouse. I think a bit more thought could be put into the introductory ride the first day, bridge crossings, sudden merging into traffic, sudden turns to go steeply uphill. I've done much longer bike rides, but at this age, I didn't want that much challenge.

    Boat: Iris

  • Heart of Alsace
    by Eileen Schuler 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I broke my arm 3 weeks before our trip to Alsace so was not able to bike; instead of cancelling my husband and I decided to go anyway and we are so glad we did. We would never have discovered the lovely town of Osthouse and especially the beautiful renovated Hotel de la Ferme; we discovered some beautiful walks in the region, over meadows, woods and rivers. L'Hotel de la Ferme is very charming with a lovely garden and a ping pong table which we had fun with. The dining area at the hotel was very comfortable with a delicious, plentiful breakfast buffet; fruit of every kind, cheeses, breads and cakes. Lunch was always a hearty piece of french bread with butter and cheese! And dinner, 2 nights at the hotel and the rest of the evenings at the Aigle d'Or, a 4 star restaurant which has been in the family for 40 years, were always a fun surprise and delicious.
    Our room was on the second floor with a balcony and was very spacious, especially by European standards. Bathroom, Read more… sitting area, beds, everything comfortable, clean and very quiet. Our hosts could not have been nicer. They offered to pick us up and bring us back to the train for a small fee and took us to an amazing modern museum in Erstein. All in all a wonderful vacation!

    Countries: France

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Jessica Kiedrowski 4 years ago         Staff

    I was pleased with the points of interest on the tour (Strasbourg, Heidelberg, Colmar, Breisach), however, the route was very industrial at times and there was just nothing special about it. The maps and route descriptions were terrible and I'd say that was the number one complaint of fellow passengers. I talked to the guide and he said they will redo the route for next year so hopefully with some changes, it will be much better.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Anna Zdancewicz 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The boat itself is nothing remarkable, but quite comfortable and clean. The staff was amazingly friendly. Route descriptions were sparse in some sections so there was some guessing involved. The maps themselves didn't have any road names on them if you did get lost they were of no use. We honestly didn't rely on the maps/route descriptions as much as the info from our daily meetings with the tour guide. There were good and bad days as far as scenery on the rides, a few days were pretty boring with not a lot to look at, while others were quite beautiful. We docked within walking distance to town on all days except one (where you had the option of one lonely restaurant). On board you are provided with maps and flyers for each overnight town. The bikes were super heavy and cumbersome (not bikes I am used to) but this is the norm in Europe. The food on board was excellent. I would recommend this trip as I know the routes are being reviewed and descriptions/maps Read more… updated.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Laurie Frarey 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    There seemed to be tension between the owners of the barge and guy doing the cooking, cleaning and maintenance. The guy was trying to do the job of more than 2 people by himself. One day when he needed help with a cranky generator the captain was in a bar. We did not get clean towels half way through as promised. I have been on 2 bike and barge trips and this had the worst staff. The guide was good but left slower riders at several critical junctures. It did not happen often. Seems the system works best when the owner is captain. Means he is present and accountable.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

    • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
      by Julie 2 years ago        

      Hi. In terms of scenic rides, what has been your favorite tour?

      Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Gordon Maze 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We highly recommend the Paris to Bruges bike and barge on the Elodie but one must be a strong cyclist as there are hills. The food was really excellent. Comradery among the group was high, and that's one of the great aspects of the trip.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Around Paris
    by Karen Picard 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This was the first trip of this type that we have ever done and my first time to France. It was a great way to experience the country and it was nice to see rural areas, historic small towns, castles and the big city of Paris. The crew was wonderful-- friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and thoughtful. The trip price was a great value for all that we received and experienced. It was great to get so much exercise while on vacation-- walking and biking makes it possible to see and do so much in the fresh air and to burn off the great food and wine we enjoyed. I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Vic Lumby 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of the best holidays we have ever experienced. Great cycling along the Moselle with excellent and knowledgeable guides and then returning tired but exhilarated to an most welcoming environment on the barge - the IRIS. Meals were excellent and entire crew and owner went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed the total experience. Would recommend this trip to anyone. We will be back for more.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Margaret Munro 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Even for a novice biker I was looked after and given the opportunity to cycle shorter legs and enjoy the sailing on the boat. Bikes - we had a couple of bikes that had gear problems, otherwise they were fine.

    Boat: Iris

  • Mainz to Basel
    by David Miller 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Garrit, our bike tour leader, was a novice on this route as well as a poor communicator to the english speaking clients. The docking area changed at each stop from the printed instructions, and the maps and turn-by-turn instructions were only partly correct! Everyone got lost at some point in the trip!! I had asked for GPS routing for my bike Garmin GPS but was told the route was to new and that it was not available! I think some accurate preparation would have made the trip more pleasant.
    Second - the route along the Rhine is not scenic (as on the Danube) with few small towns to stop and look/snack on the way. The most notable sights were gravel pits and cement manufacturing. Of course, that is not the fault of the tour operator, however, they should have provided a detailed description of the small towns on the way (although not on the river) to give us the option of exploring the interesting ones and forgetting about the towns with 3 streets and no interesting Read more… sights.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Norbert Glatt 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Boat staff need to learn how to be more polite and friendly. The management seems to be in the military service.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Provence - Van Gogh
    by Alan Bartlett 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We found the map directions confusing at times--i.e. Cross bridge and 3 streets and turn right. Sounds easy enough, but actually it meant 2 major streets and a round about. We usually solved this by using Google maps. But it added stressful tens of minutes to resolve. It pretty much meant that we slightly dreaded arriving at even a little village, due to the almost guaranteed confusion. Having the route available as a google map path would have been much much much better.
    It's the service we pay for, not the specific route. It also made it feel like the route had not been retested for a while. Getting a bit lost wasn't all that bad, and we found some nice paths near Arles. The bikes were state of the art and high quality. None of our group liked the automatic transmission on the Bosch drive. It would frequently incorrectly shift in the middle of a climb and caused a bit of needless suffering. All in all it was a fun time. We couldn't have achieved the ride Read more… without the e-bikes.

    Countries: France

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Gregory Akin 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Rhine from Mainz to Basel, for the most part, is industrial and not as picturesque as other European bike and barge routes we've enjoyed. There were a few cities (Heidelberg, Germany and Strausbourg, France) which were beautiful and offered much to do, but we were expecting the scenic bike routes with quaint towns for cake and coffee, or beer stops along the way and were sorely disappointed. But the most disappointing aspect of this trip was the inability of the on-board guide to give proper instructions nor enlighten us of things to see or visit. We found out about popular sites from all channels except the guides. In Strausbourg, while chatting with tourists, we heard of an amazing evening light show projected onto an enormous cathedral - huge crowds gathered to enjoy this historic presentation, yet nothing was mentioned of it by our guide. We have needed so little guidance to enjoy our bike and barge trips, but this one missed the mark. Based on previous trips that Read more… we've done, we'd convinced 2 other couples to join us and they were underwhelmed and disappointed as well. The barge and accommodations were adequate, though rooms were random sizes no matter which deck you choose. One couple paid extra for the upper deck, but their room was much smaller than another couple's on the lower level. The staff and meals on this barge were top notch and we can't say enough about the gourmet chef and tireless staff.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Francis Duckworth 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Not my favorite part of France. 6th bike tour there and the least scenic and inviting.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Paula Birch 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the bike/boat tour on the Rhine. Accommodations on the boat were very good and the meals were excellent. On our arrival we found that our boat was not at the dock as listed but had changed locations and was on the other side of the river. This created a longer taxi drive thus a much bigger fare (54 euros instead of 21 euros) for the 3 of us in each taxi. We had a briefing each morning by our tour guide and on almost every day, the directions were not detailed enough. One of the people we biked with had a GPS and with that and along with discussions among all of us, we managed to find our way back. I really feel this was a big gap and should be rectified before another tour. However it was a wonderful experience and we met many lovely and
    interesting people. I would love to do a different bike/boat tour at some time in the future.

    Boat: MS Andante

PWPC