France Bike Tour Reviews 361 to 390 of 512

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by N. Foley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My travel advisor (Carla) is already aware that, although we registered as two vegans and sent a reminder a week or so before we left for Europe, the information had not been transferred to the chef. So we ate as vegetarians (eggs and dairy) for the trip rather than eschewing all animal products as is our preference.

    Our trip leader was not experienced on the route, having only travelled it once before in the opposite direction, and this meant a few wrong turns to be corrected... But Ronnie was as pleasant, friendly, encouraging, and multilingual as you could ask for! The only problem I encountered with the bikes was the lack of suspension -- which meant for a bruised tail bone after the first day when we travelled a very bumpy, broken pavement back road on the return from Chateauneuf de Pape ;-)

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Richard Oliver 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Iris, from Cochem to Metz, 18-25 June. It was a most delightful and joyful experience. Even with initial high water from unseasonal flooding and occasional detour from the bike paths, it was an incredibly memorable experience -- the crew, the tour guides, the food were all top notch, and the camaraderie among the other bikers was phenomenal. Special thanks to our two bike leaders and guides, Roelie and Wouter, who were fantastic in making the rides safe and mostly easy, and with an in-depth knowledge of historical sites. A special treat was having the ship's owner on board, Lenny was very engaging and most pleasant. Aline, the chef, served delicious meals, especially the final banquet was a true feast! Again, our thanks to Lenny and the entire Iris crew.

    Boat: Iris

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by C. Machado 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Try and offer more non-meat entrees for dinner. Too much meat. Also, try and incorporate rail trails( voies ferrees) when possible. They provide relaxed cycling without worrying about constant traffic.
    Very friendly staff and good display of professionalism. Bikes were easy to ride! And, it was hard to have to drink only what the boat offered. Can we have more choice, especially in wine country like Bordeaux? Thanks for everything.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by S. Midha 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful way to travel from Luxembourg to France. Bike quality was very Good. Our Bike Guide Arie was very knowledgeable. Every evening we had Four course Gourmet Dinner. Sander and Els were the best Host and Owner of the Barge.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Champagne Tour
    by M. Dumestre 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend the Swaantje barge. The captain is both technically experienced and oriented toward customer satisfaction. The staff was very attentive to passenger needs.
    The bike guide was competent, but needed a bit more familiarity with the routes.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Robinson 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Rooms really small; Guide was lost a lot; Staffers not very good with knowledge of E bikes;
    But food was great..staff was kind..trip was pretty.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Jen Herold 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic trip on the Fleur, It was well above our expectations.
    The crew were fun and helpful in every way. ( food was excellent )
    Bikes were easy to ride, i would take a gel seat cover for extra comfort.
    Cabins were bigger than expected and the bathrooms clean with a instant hot water.
    Our guide was informative, she took us into places that you would not normally enter.
    We had a fun team of riders, thanks guys from the Smurfs xxx

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Southern Alsace
    by K. Hagan 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is our third trip with Tripsite and this was our least favorite so far. The scenery was not particularly stunning and in France we were on more roads than we would have preferred. We also stayed in larger cities such as Basel and Freiburg than in previous trips. It is a personal preference, but we prefer the smaller towns such as the ones we encountered on our trip from Amsterdam to Brugge and from Prague to Dresden.

    On the positive front, the lodging and equipment were the best that we have had from the three trips. The hotels were quite nice and truly were 4 star accommodations. The bikes had cushy seats and comfortable handlebars. Even the panniers were a step up with easy snap on and off functionality and very good water proofing.

    We enjoyed the trip and it was high quality as we have enjoyed with Tripsite. The scenery just wasn't as nice and that's why we rank this as our least favorite of our trips so far. Have no fear, we will go again next Read more… year and are already looking at the Barcelona/Girona trip. We love working with Tripsite and will be long-term customers!

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Quigley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Your tour was so damn good l find l'm getting naught done cause l want to go again - tomorrow. Seriously, l received courteous service that was pertinent and addressed any of the issues that l might have experienced. Personally, l think the whole Bike and Barge tour was run to the highest professional standards under what were adverse weather conditions. You can't plan for the tidal wave like flood of water that swept down the rivers and the very fact that you were able to 'tap-dance in the snow' and continue to operate at all does you no amount of credit. So from me, a big thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work. it was indeed a distinct pleasure for me to bear witness as other professionals surmounted adversity and came out on top.
    D. Quigley - Melbourne, Australia.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by S. Bingham 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This was the first Bike and Barge experience for my husband and I, and we feel very lucky to have had our initiation into this traveling experience with Marco, and the crew of Claire de Lune. What a fabulous way to see the sights so very few visitors get to see! The barge accommodations were tight, but efficient, and as advertised. Be sure to pay attention to the packing instructions sent out ahead of time! Our tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and very flexible with our small group of 7. Highlights were definitely riding through Paris, and "barging down" the tunnel under the Bastil. However, riding through the picturesque little French villages, countryside and forests were also what made this trip so special. We would highly recommend this tour, and hope to travel again on this barge, or one very much like it, on our next Bike and Barge trip.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sunita 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed my first Barge and Bike Tour(June11th to June 17th)Sanders and Els were very Good. I would like to give them 10 out of 10 for their Hospitality. Our Bike Guide Arie was Great.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by T. Gihring 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Sorry, it rained the entire trip. Route and scenery would have been fine if not for that. Barge has seen better days. Staff (Stephan and Florence) are very pleasant.
    Suggestion: Give the tour riders a sew-on patch to remember the tour.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi C. Bauer,
    Thank you so much for your comment. We have contacted our local partner and assure you we are working very hard to improve this tour based on your feedback. Thanks again for sharing!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Uram 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    For the most part the trip was wonderful, I would like to put most of my answers right in the middle of satisfied and not satisfied, I just thought the scenery and the landscape etc. was not what I expected. That is not your fault, enjoyed my trips to Italy and Germany were much more scenic

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by C. Slater 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nothing bad or ugly. Scenery got better as we moved north. Group on our trip (both crew and guests) were great. Enjoyed the Soleo.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Bauer 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide seemed lost most of the time. He didn't know where to stop for a picnic and one day we ate our lunches at a bus stop. I realize cafes mostly close in France between 12 and 2, but his lack of knowledge of where to find a toilet after lunch was a problem. He chastised us for being slow to re-organize, but then later we'd stop for no reason and wait for up to a half hour with no info from him. He was good at describing architecture.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by J. Farina 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! Mostly all positive. Tom and I would like to have the pace a bit faster....that was the only negative.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by M. McDonnell 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nearly everything excellent. The only downside was the cycling was promised to have the option of two different rides each day i.e. a long or a short ride with two different guides. There was only one guide so both options were compromised into one medium length ride each day. Many on the tour would have preferred a longer ride most days.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by J. Probst 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I fully enjoyed the Lorraine/Moselle bike trip (May 14-20, 2016) with the staff of La Belle Fleur. This was my first bike and barge trip and it certainly was a stress free and relaxing way to see the region. The owner/operators of the boat (Sander and Els) were not only very professional, but charming, enthusiastic, and helpful. Els was also a superb cook so our meals were always delicious. Pieter was the perfect guide (and quite the character!), fun to bike with, patient, knowledgeable of the route and the potential sights, and willing to change the agenda to meet the interests of his clients. The pace was leisurely and we had ample time to view both the valley scenery and the grand old cities along the route. The bikes were in good repair and suitable for the mostly level countryside we were traversing. Another delightful aspect of the trip was that the route was mostly off the busy roads and on dedicated bicycle paths (except, of course, in the cities). The weather, though Read more… often cloudy and brisk with occasional light sprinkles of rain, was never a problem. The passengers got along well together and we had fun evenings relaxing aboard ship along with the crew. One week of biking seemed just the right amount of time. I came home with many wonderful memories of people, places, and experiences. I can highly recommend this trip and this boat company. The folks at the Tripsite office in the U.S. were also very responsive and easy to work with so they get my "thumbs up" award too!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by S. Mather 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was well above our expectations in every way, cabins, staff, cleanliness and the gourmet meals all the time. Fantastic experience.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Paris to London
    by E. Greer 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Countries: France, England

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by B. Milroy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything exceeded expectations. I would definitely recommend the Fleur and trip

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
    by M. Flynn 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was well organized logistically and the biking routes were beautiful. I highly recommend Tripsite and will be booking future trips with them. Thanks for a fantastic week of biking.

    Countries: France

  • Kevin Purdy: Mosel River Bike Tour Through Time
    by Kevin from Trailsnet 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    You would love both the wine and beer and probably the food too, Keith. And the wonderful bike trail connecting them all makes it paradise on earth. I highly recommend this incredible bike tour!!

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Kevin Purdy: Mosel River Bike Tour Through Time
    by John Murtari 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great photos of the scenery and the food! I normally like Italy, but you've convinced me to travel farther north!

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Carla 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Rebecca - Your concern has been voiced and heard! In 2016 it will no longer be policy that you cannot stay on board. You are welcome to stay on board and there will even be suggestions on activities for non-bikers.

    Countries: France

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Kevin from Trailsnet 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This bike tour had it all: great scenery, wonderful food, delicious wine and the perfect itinerary. The rental bike was fantastic, the accommodations were comfortable, the luggage shuttle was reliable & the guidebook was helpful/informative.

    I was surprised at how much there was to do and see along the way. Each town was interesting & historically fascinating. Touring this region by bicycle is the only way to go. It allows you to stop in each village/town along the way to sample the food & explore the sites. The guidebook that is provided with your tour is quite helpful; but I encourage you to stop in as many towns as possible, even if they aren't listed in the book. You'll be surprised at the hidden charms you will discover on some of the side roads.

    The bicycle route (mostly bike paths) can be found on either side of the Mosel River. And, in most cases, you can't go wrong. Once again, the guidebook provides suggestions for which side to choose. Read more… But either side is fascinating. And since the vast majority of the route is car-free, you feel safe and free to watch the scenery rather than the traffic. I hope to go back sometime and explore the places I missed on my first tour.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Charles Hancock 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was greatly appreciated to allow us to drink and enjoy the wine we purchased without any extra charge.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Discover the Dordogne-old version
    by Dianne Cunningham 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Initial bikes provided were in very poor state. They were replaced when we contacted local agent at the end of the first day.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Margot Horan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge/cycling trips are a fantastic way to explore the countryside and towns - you see so much more when you are cycling. One vivid memory of a cycling trip through northern France was stopping to look at poppies growing along the side of the road. I love the fact that you do not have to pack up each day - it is a very relaxing experience. The diversity of people who do these trips also adds to the experience. The trips that I have done in the last three years had fantastic staff who were very friendly and knowledgeable. I have done two barge/bike trips and look forward to doing more in the future.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

PWPC