France Bike Tour Reviews 391 to 420 of 532

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sunita 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed my first Barge and Bike Tour(June11th to June 17th)Sanders and Els were very Good. I would like to give them 10 out of 10 for their Hospitality. Our Bike Guide Arie was Great.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by T. Gihring 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Sorry, it rained the entire trip. Route and scenery would have been fine if not for that. Barge has seen better days. Staff (Stephan and Florence) are very pleasant.
    Suggestion: Give the tour riders a sew-on patch to remember the tour.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi C. Bauer,
    Thank you so much for your comment. We have contacted our local partner and assure you we are working very hard to improve this tour based on your feedback. Thanks again for sharing!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Uram 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    For the most part the trip was wonderful, I would like to put most of my answers right in the middle of satisfied and not satisfied, I just thought the scenery and the landscape etc. was not what I expected. That is not your fault, enjoyed my trips to Italy and Germany were much more scenic

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by C. Slater 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nothing bad or ugly. Scenery got better as we moved north. Group on our trip (both crew and guests) were great. Enjoyed the Soleo.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Bauer 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide seemed lost most of the time. He didn't know where to stop for a picnic and one day we ate our lunches at a bus stop. I realize cafes mostly close in France between 12 and 2, but his lack of knowledge of where to find a toilet after lunch was a problem. He chastised us for being slow to re-organize, but then later we'd stop for no reason and wait for up to a half hour with no info from him. He was good at describing architecture.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by J. Farina 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! Mostly all positive. Tom and I would like to have the pace a bit faster....that was the only negative.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by M. McDonnell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Nearly everything excellent. The only downside was the cycling was promised to have the option of two different rides each day i.e. a long or a short ride with two different guides. There was only one guide so both options were compromised into one medium length ride each day. Many on the tour would have preferred a longer ride most days.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by J. Probst 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I fully enjoyed the Lorraine/Moselle bike trip (May 14-20, 2016) with the staff of La Belle Fleur. This was my first bike and barge trip and it certainly was a stress free and relaxing way to see the region. The owner/operators of the boat (Sander and Els) were not only very professional, but charming, enthusiastic, and helpful. Els was also a superb cook so our meals were always delicious. Pieter was the perfect guide (and quite the character!), fun to bike with, patient, knowledgeable of the route and the potential sights, and willing to change the agenda to meet the interests of his clients. The pace was leisurely and we had ample time to view both the valley scenery and the grand old cities along the route. The bikes were in good repair and suitable for the mostly level countryside we were traversing. Another delightful aspect of the trip was that the route was mostly off the busy roads and on dedicated bicycle paths (except, of course, in the cities). The weather, though Read more… often cloudy and brisk with occasional light sprinkles of rain, was never a problem. The passengers got along well together and we had fun evenings relaxing aboard ship along with the crew. One week of biking seemed just the right amount of time. I came home with many wonderful memories of people, places, and experiences. I can highly recommend this trip and this boat company. The folks at the Tripsite office in the U.S. were also very responsive and easy to work with so they get my "thumbs up" award too!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by S. Mather 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was well above our expectations in every way, cabins, staff, cleanliness and the gourmet meals all the time. Fantastic experience.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Paris to London
    by E. Greer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Countries: France, England

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by B. Milroy 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything exceeded expectations. I would definitely recommend the Fleur and trip

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
    by M. Flynn 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was well organized logistically and the biking routes were beautiful. I highly recommend Tripsite and will be booking future trips with them. Thanks for a fantastic week of biking.

    Countries: France

  • Kevin Purdy: Mosel River Bike Tour Through Time
    by Kevin from Trailsnet 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    You would love both the wine and beer and probably the food too, Keith. And the wonderful bike trail connecting them all makes it paradise on earth. I highly recommend this incredible bike tour!!

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Kevin Purdy: Mosel River Bike Tour Through Time
    by John Murtari 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great photos of the scenery and the food! I normally like Italy, but you've convinced me to travel farther north!

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Carla 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Rebecca - Your concern has been voiced and heard! In 2016 it will no longer be policy that you cannot stay on board. You are welcome to stay on board and there will even be suggestions on activities for non-bikers.

    Countries: France

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Kevin from Trailsnet 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This bike tour had it all: great scenery, wonderful food, delicious wine and the perfect itinerary. The rental bike was fantastic, the accommodations were comfortable, the luggage shuttle was reliable & the guidebook was helpful/informative.

    I was surprised at how much there was to do and see along the way. Each town was interesting & historically fascinating. Touring this region by bicycle is the only way to go. It allows you to stop in each village/town along the way to sample the food & explore the sites. The guidebook that is provided with your tour is quite helpful; but I encourage you to stop in as many towns as possible, even if they aren't listed in the book. You'll be surprised at the hidden charms you will discover on some of the side roads.

    The bicycle route (mostly bike paths) can be found on either side of the Mosel River. And, in most cases, you can't go wrong. Once again, the guidebook provides suggestions for which side to choose. Read more… But either side is fascinating. And since the vast majority of the route is car-free, you feel safe and free to watch the scenery rather than the traffic. I hope to go back sometime and explore the places I missed on my first tour.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Charles Hancock 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was greatly appreciated to allow us to drink and enjoy the wine we purchased without any extra charge.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Discover the Dordogne-old version
    by Dianne Cunningham 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Initial bikes provided were in very poor state. They were replaced when we contacted local agent at the end of the first day.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Margot Horan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge/cycling trips are a fantastic way to explore the countryside and towns - you see so much more when you are cycling. One vivid memory of a cycling trip through northern France was stopping to look at poppies growing along the side of the road. I love the fact that you do not have to pack up each day - it is a very relaxing experience. The diversity of people who do these trips also adds to the experience. The trips that I have done in the last three years had fantastic staff who were very friendly and knowledgeable. I have done two barge/bike trips and look forward to doing more in the future.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux Wine Country
    by Alex Ladouceur 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some hotels definitely better than others. Also some of the road directions were not translated well. Overall, however, generally satisfied with the trip but the service could use some improvements.

    Countries: France

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Catharine McCalmon 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew and barge were just terrific. The food was excellent and plentiful. The French towns and scenery were a delight.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Gary Koolhof 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The staff was very friendly and they made our trip outstanding!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Paavo Kivisto 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Issues related to the boat: bad smell, cabin room was cozier than we would choose in the future. Laundry facilities were inadequate. We really enjoyed the trip, the guide and the experience!

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Heart of Alsace
    by Lynn Tindula 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I would recommend the trip only if the biking instructions we changed. Alsace is a wonderful area and the people, food, and accommodations were great! But the instructions for the bike routes were too confusing and unclear and not in English. They were in Dutch - not even French or German!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Ross Densky 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the second barge and bike trip we took with Tripsite and I would have to say we liked the scenery more on the Taste of Burgundy than we did with Provence. Riding the in the Camargue got a little boring. Other than that we enjoyed the overall trip.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Rebecca Posante 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My main concern about this particular trip is that we did not know ahead of time that staying on the barge and not biking was not an option unless one was sick. The winds were pretty bad (25-50 miles per hour) so that some of us did not feel up to the rides. On the particularly difficult day, it would have been nice to just remain with the boat.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Robert Burt 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Soleo was a disappointment in all respects.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Helen Belletti 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip. There were only 3 of us on the tour so they gave us each our own private cabin which was very much appreciated. Marco, the captain was one of the best boat captains. He shared a lot of information with us and really made the trip fun and interesting. Our guide was great too, and tailored each day to our needs because our group was so small. The food was good too, and a good variety. I only rated the food as "satisfied" because I toured the year before on the Zwaan, the Mosel and Saar tour, and the chef was soooooo good, that he spoiled me for future tours! If you have any questions on my experience on any tours, please let me know. And I hope to book one of your tours again ~~

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by George Bibeau 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    More time in certain areas would have been nice. There were instances where it felt like we were being pushed along, and I appreciate that we had 22 people of varying age, skill experience and physical ability, and that we have to get back to the boat. Our guide was very good, but you needed to try and understand his manner, which could be short at times. He was knowledgeable, insightful and caring, but his manner did not necessarily reflect that. Meals were good but thought it would reflect more French cuisine of the Provence area, not a complaint, just an observation.
    Staff was excellent and I continue to recommend this bike trip and company to friends."

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

PWPC