4 star rated France Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 80

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Northern Normandy
    by Kathryn K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We enjoyed the freedom of making our own decisions with our self-guided tour. We did not necessarily follow the maps and we chose to do completely different things on two days. The area was beautiful with a lot of different environments to enjoy. The hotel had wonderful staff who refused you nothing. The food was delicious and different. We were forced to use our French since there is very little English spoken in the area. We enjoyed the immersion into the community.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Trent A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: Going through the locks. Tip would be to practice cycling up hills.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Around Paris
    by Bob McKechnie 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Had a great time on this tour through Paris on the Clair de Lune. Marco, Thea, and Weiger were all great. A Dutch boat and crew through Paris! The daily rides were good. Anyone who has cycled around towns and flat trails could do it. Cycling into Paris city centre was a thrill. Food was very good on the boat.

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Anne S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was biking immediately after Fountainbleu, through the park's woodlands.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Deborah P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Needed the second guide as group unwieldy for one. Unlike prior trips, guide gave little info on trip sites/locales, despite being quite personable.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jim S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery , chateaus and winery were beautiful.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Pat R. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Would have liked more time biking. 2 days had less than 10 miles. We were in the guided group and were told the group would decide how much to bike on those days-we were never asked as a group-the guide decided himself we would do the shorter distance. Barge "purser"-a woman-not very friendly or helpful or available. Trip booked as a Bordeaux start and end, but the location of start and end of trip changed and we had to pay extra to get ourselves to Cadillac and back to Bordeaux from Libourne. The boat company should have provided that transfer free of charge. The 2 wine tasting charges should have been included in the trip charge. The boat charged 20 euros for a bottle of wine in the wine country of Bordeaux and we were not allowed to bring on any wine from the outside. You could buy a nice bottle of wine for less than $10.00 in town. Disappointed that we had twin beds-expected a double in the suite room.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Bruce C. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Barge was great, crew was excellent, could use more air conditioning, bikes need new pedals with more grip, very slippery especially when wet, boat could review policy of not letting riders use their own pedals.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lisa S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would rather recommend a trip to Germany or the Netherlands, but that's just my preference. The staff on the Bourdeaux was very nice.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Patsy V. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would recommend the trip if the operator makes improvements to the selfguided route finding; the narrative, GPS, and detail maps were inconsistent with each other and recommended routes were sometimes difficult to find. We had large area maps that allowed us to navigate and a crew member who helped but especially during the first couple days it was a bit challenging. The route narrative should include more information on sites to visit or note along the way. The bikes were heavy in comparison to other trips we have booked.
    I really enjoyed the scenery and sites; it is a lovely area to visit and bike, especially during late September. Grapes were cascading from the vines, just pre-harvest. The vineyards, wine tasting,chateaux, churches, fortresses, medieval towns, history and landscapes were wonderful along the routes. Experiencing the tidal surf (the mascaret) was also quite interesting.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Reid H. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff on the boat were terrific, especially Sebastian. The breakfasts were the same every day which really got old quickly. Their new bikes had terrible shifters and were really heavy. The route descriptions led us to be lost on many days and we finally had to rely on Google maps.
    The scenery was great and when we got on less well-traveled roads, the riding was great. Unfortunately we spent too much time (IMHO) on roads with a lot of traffic.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Elaine C 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery in the Bordeaux region was lovely, as were the people we encountered along the way. Some of the staff were extremely helpful and added to our overall enjoyment of the trip.
    We thoroughly enjoyed our days of cycling, despite the many problems my husband experienced with his bicycle (locked brakes, flat tires, a pump that didn't work, loose bearings in the pedals...)
    More accurate written descriptions and an updated GPS would have helped with the navigation on the our self-guided routes.
    Asking for a dinner without red meat resulted in being served an omelette on more than one occasion (not a great alternative).
    Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable trip!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Leonidas R. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The barge BORDEAUX and all of the staff were great. The rooms small as expected but comfortable. The food at dinner was adequate and well presented but certainly not excellent for taste and quality. Breakfasts were ok often some of the hot food was served cold. Plenty of food and variety for breakfast.
    The guide, Scott, is a very nice person and tried extremely hard to help everyone but the maps and supplied route instructions are poor. Need a lot of work to become usable for everyone. No problem for me as I had a GPS unit with me. All of the time the routes include highways and roads. There are NO dedicated bike paths and that should be made clear on the trip description so people come in full knowledge of that issue. Such roads are likely to be unsafe for many ""first time"" riders. For that reason I would not recommend this trip to others. There are far safer bike routes in the Netherlands, Belgium and Germany, with just as nice and memorable scenery and more ""lived in"" towns with cafes and bier gardens than this tour had to offer. After the first 20 Chateaux one gets easily bored seeing another Chateaux for the next 5 days. Generally the scenery was ok but having to dodge traffic is not fun at any time. Also spending 2 or 3 nights at Cadillac at the end is really a poor location and very little to do there. This trip is not quite ready yet.
    I will be riding again next year with Tripsite but we will go back to the countries mentioned above.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Burgundy - Paris to Auxerre
    by Jacqueline Eger 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved this trip. The captain and crew could not have been more accommodating. Due to low water levels, we started our tour a little further north of Dijon than usual and as a result were a day ahead of schedule. This prompted the Captain to make a small detour down the lovely Canal du Nivernais where we had some of the best biking of all. We were blessed with great weather and enjoyed most dinners out on the deck. And coming into Paris - who knew there was a 2km long underground canal through the city! A wonderful experience. Look forward to another trip on the Feniks in the future.

    Countries: France

  • Burgundy - Paris to Auxerre
    by Gerti L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a great bike and barge trip, although we originally had not chosen this one. Our original trip around Paris ,unfortunately was cancelled just shortly before we were supposed to leave. The staff at Tripsite was very helpful and we were able to book the Bourgogne one on the Feniks. The bike routes had to be changed a bit, due to the barge being delayed on the canal a few times. That meant a lot of riding along the canals, which made it easy riding, but not quite as interesting. However, the "plan B" as a whole turned out to be very nice and we saw many beautiful and interesting sites. The only complaint would be that there were a lot of mosquitoes, which of course is not the captain's fault. Next time I would come up with some kind of solution to put some "screens" on the windows, so we won't wake up in the morning full of mosquito bites...... Our guide was great, as was the whole crew. The cook was fantastic and we had the most wonderful meals during our tour. Good thing we did a good amount of bike riding, or we would have ended up putting on quite a few pounds.... All in all, we highly recommend this bike and barge trip.

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Susan W. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was well maintained. Beds were comfy for bunks. Our cabin [#9] had huge bathroom. With the hot Aug temps, a fan would have been appreciated. Bring a small personal 4" or 6" USB fan if you can find the space in your luggage. A small soaking pool on the deck was a welcome relief from the heat.

    Meals were basic, but tasty and filling. Els did a nice job of accommodating my dietary restrictions. Ample cooler filtered water was available on the boat - remember your water bottle. Lunches were packed in zip lock baggies. Bring your own insulated lunch bag / Tupperware to keep your lunch fresher.

    GIANT bike were like new and well maintained. I was disappointed we could not use the bikes during the city stops that were part of the day trips or after dinner when we returned to the barge. Even though the bikes have locks, Sander and Els don't allow this to minimize theft risk. Besides my husband and I, all participants were in there mid-60s to mid-70s and didn't seem to mind.

    Our guide, Weiger, did an outstanding job of leading our daily tour as well as guiding us through the cities we were docked in at night. He managed the multiple languages within our group with ease. The participants on our trip were German [6], Spanish [3], Austrailian [2] and American [2-us]. By the end of the week, our group had bonded even though our shared vocabulary was easily less than 50 words!

    The countryside between Thionville and Wasserbillig was very beautiful and what I had envisioned - river and hills covered with vinyards. The other days were nice paved bike trail with the river on one side and trees on the other. I could have taken a picture and convinced friends that I was still in the US Midwest. I guess that is why there are so many French and Germans in Wisconsin and Iowa! I think I would have preferred more time off of the trail and in the countryside, but perhaps if we did do that, the car traffic would cause me to have a different opinion. Certainly the cities we stopped in were old and had a quaint European feel.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: France, Germany, Luxembourg

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Mark G. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall a great trip and experience. The Mosel exceeded my expectations.
    Collaborative and friendly staff; very good chef, very good captain and crew. Host was efficient but not overly friendly. Bike tour guide was ok but not very organized.

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Gloria S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Accommodations were too small. The rest of the journey made up for lack of space. No room to put our belongings.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Discover the Dordogne-old version (no longer available)
    by Jeff E. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fantastic trip! An amazing area of France to explore by bike. The views were amazing, lots of interesting history, great food and drinks. The tour was well organized and staff were friendly and helpful.
    Our only comment: it was rated as 'moderate', and ratings are averages and are relative of course, but there were sections of the route that were quite difficult, e.g. steep dirt/stone roads that we had to walk the bikes up (and we are in good condition and have done a lot of bike tripping before). Should probably note this in the description.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by L.G. Germishuys 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Really impressed by the effort and kindness of the staff on the boat.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by C. Machado 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Try and offer more non-meat entrees for dinner. Too much meat. Also, try and incorporate rail trails( voies ferrees) when possible. They provide relaxed cycling without worrying about constant traffic.
    Very friendly staff and good display of professionalism. Bikes were easy to ride! And, it was hard to have to drink only what the boat offered. Can we have more choice, especially in wine country like Bordeaux? Thanks for everything.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by C. Robinson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Rooms really small; Guide was lost a lot; Staffers not very good with knowledge of E bikes;
    But food was great..staff was kind..trip was pretty.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Southern Alsace
    by K. Hagan 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is our third trip with Tripsite and this was our least favorite so far. The scenery was not particularly stunning and in France we were on more roads than we would have preferred. We also stayed in larger cities such as Basel and Freiburg than in previous trips. It is a personal preference, but we prefer the smaller towns such as the ones we encountered on our trip from Amsterdam to Brugge and from Prague to Dresden.

    On the positive front, the lodging and equipment were the best that we have had from the three trips. The hotels were quite nice and truly were 4 star accommodations. The bikes had cushy seats and comfortable handlebars. Even the panniers were a step up with easy snap on and off functionality and very good water proofing.

    We enjoyed the trip and it was high quality as we have enjoyed with Tripsite. The scenery just wasn't as nice and that's why we rank this as our least favorite of our trips so far. Have no fear, we will go again next year and are already looking at the Barcelona/Girona trip. We love working with Tripsite and will be long-term customers!

    Countries: Switzerland, Germany, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by J. Farina 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was great! Mostly all positive. Tom and I would like to have the pace a bit faster....that was the only negative.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Paris to London
    by E. Greer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Countries: France, England

  • Discover the Dordogne-old version (no longer available)
    by Dianne Cunningham 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Initial bikes provided were in very poor state. They were replaced when we contacted local agent at the end of the first day.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux Wine Country
    by Alex Ladouceur 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some hotels definitely better than others. Also some of the road directions were not translated well. Overall, however, generally satisfied with the trip but the service could use some improvements.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Paavo Kivisto 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Issues related to the boat: bad smell, cabin room was cozier than we would choose in the future. Laundry facilities were inadequate. We really enjoyed the trip, the guide and the experience!

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Ross Densky 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is the second barge and bike trip we took with Tripsite and I would have to say we liked the scenery more on the Taste of Burgundy than we did with Provence. Riding the in the Camargue got a little boring. Other than that we enjoyed the overall trip.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Rebecca Posante 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My main concern about this particular trip is that we did not know ahead of time that staying on the barge and not biking was not an option unless one was sick. The winds were pretty bad (25-50 miles per hour) so that some of us did not feel up to the rides. On the particularly difficult day, it would have been nice to just remain with the boat.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

PWPC