4 Star France Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 101

4.5 out of 5

 


Stuart A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

Enjoyed the staff, the group we met and the overall tour. I got to visit a part of France I might never have seen. Really enjoyed the champagne bottling winery the last day.

Eileen F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Montargis to Paris
France

Awesome trip with a wonderful crew. The only misleading part was the description of easy to moderate biking. The hills of France made this trip more difficult than expected.

Wendy K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria IV Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
France

The crew on this barge and bike trip were outstanding. The weather was unseasonably hot and adjustments were made to the schedule to accommodate everyone's comfort. The route and attractions were well planned and interesting. We had some difficulty with the bikes provided by HAT tours - several (5 in total) punctures and one unfixable issue with a bike. This meant delays whilst the tiress were being repaired - approximately 1 hour per puncture. This meant that we missed out on seeing some of the attractions and had to cut short our time at others. The unfixable problem meant that one volunteer had to return to the boat via taxi and forego the rest of that day's itinerary. I would like to congratulate the crew on this tour as they did their utmost to ensure that these issues kept the disruption to a minimum. The group of travelers were also a very friendly and tolerant group of people who got on well. This also assisted in managing the issues with the bikes.
My Read More

Kevin Armstrong
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Paris to London
France, England

Very nice tour following much of the Avenue Verte. Girolibero and Adriano were fantastic hosts on the unguided tour from Paris to London. The route was probably a little more unpaved then I expected an as such would not recommend bringing your own road bike to do the tour. We met and road with some amazing people from around the world making new friends and seeing areas that were amazing sites in the small villages and countryside.

Paul K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Having a guide for this trip was very beneficial. For the first 3 days our guided group consisted of 30+ people. This was too large of a group and was pretty much a pain. We eventually broke into a group of 8 riders with Dorian as our guide, that was perfect. We were able to travel at a much more leisurely pace, visit many wineries, tasting rooms, small villages and churches.

Linda H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

Excellent routes, well marked and the Châteaus are breath taking. Make sure you have a rain coat.

Linda H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

Sailing into Paris in the seine was spectacular, what a way to get acquainted for the first time and also enjoy how Parisiennes live and play along the river. Make sure you bring your sunscreen.

Jillian M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The experience of being able to see the countryside, remote villages and sites at a slower pace with the experience and knowledge of a guide is the highlight. It is good to leave your luggage onboard the barge and know you return each evening to great food and rest.

Peter and Denise Marzo
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mainz to Strasbourg
Germany, France

We were on this tour from June 16-23, 2018. First let me say that we had a fabulous time and I'll attempt to breakdown both the good and the challenging.
1. The boat was outstanding (5 star)
2. All the meals were nothing short of scrumptous (all three..every day) (5 Star)
3. The SE staff were knowledgable, polite and always willing to help. (5 Star)
4. Embarking and disembarking was seamless. (5 Star)
5. Our onboard guide was outgoing and fun to talk to. (5 Star)
6. The rooms were tight, but manageable. two single beds, good storage for your clothes and a small but efficient washroom.
7. The bikes were well serviced and enjoyable to ride. If you're not a seasoned cyclist, don't worry, the gears were easy to change and many of the people opted for the ebike option which really helped.
8. Biking directions were a challenge. At first we thought it was a language issue, but many of the German people were getting lost as well. We saw Read More

Debbie S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The Italian barge staff and guide Carlos made the group feel like family. We laughed so much every day. It was sad to leave at the end of the week. Cycling, scenery was all very nice.

Elizabeth C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

I took the Lorraine Tour this September. I was happy I chose to go Toul to Wasserbillig direction since it ended in a greener, more rural area. I love the countrysides and small villages best so this ended my week on the most positive note for my personal taste. There were interesting towns/cities to see along the way but this was also a bit more industrialized in some areas than tours I have taken in the past. If you are from the American midwest (I grew up in Ohio) you will swear you have been transported home many days it looks so similar. Others on our tour found it quite beautiful however. I was very impressed with the WWII memorials along the way. Even though I prefer a self guided tour I found our tour guide to be very pleasant and considerate of our physical abilities. I was disappointed with the conditions of the path one (our longest) day since I have been accustomed to fully paved trails on all my other tours. That day was exhausting due to the conditions of the route. Read More

Rodney W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Most Memorable Part: The friendliness of the local villagers and our fellow travellers.

Anieta W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

The boat and the bikes were good, the food was good and sufficient, the crew was friendly and helpful. The scenery was not always beautiful, part of the tour leads through industrial area.

Garnet T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The Barge Iris was outstanding to say the least. 24 guests were the perfect number, not too many, not too few, the crew was over and above terrific, the food was something we looked forward to each day and the whole experience was memorable.

Sara G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike and Wine Basel to Strasbourg
France, Germany, Switzerland

First day ride and exceptional lunch along the canal. Recommend more info on options to stop, eat, etc along the routes. Also recommend better bike maintenance - both bikes had shifter/derailer issues. Transfer of bikes and luggage went very smoothly. Hotels were all great, except the one in Freiburg - run down and rude front desk staff.

Susan M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

We enjoyed St Emilion which we explored on our own. We should have been told what there was unusual to see in all of the ports that we were in at the beginning of the trip so that if reservations were necessary at sights that interested us we could have made them. Sebastian worked very hard at making sure that we had a great time on the boat. We were part of a learning experience and work in progress for Pascal.

Linda R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The scenery was wonderful. Biking around the French countryside — what could be bad? HOWEVER, this trip should not be taken unless the client is assured that the barge has replaced their current bikes (as they say they will for 2018) with lighter bikes in perfect working order. They should make sure that there are bikes of all sizes, so that a small person (I am 5’) will get a properly fitted bike. I biked the entire week on a 6-speed rusty heavy old bike. Even the bell and kickstand didn’t work.

Richard O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

We were on the 9-16 Sep sailing on the Bordeaux from Castets-en-Dorthe to Libourne. The provided daily road maps were difficult to follow and easily confusing; most folks saved the $200 euro apiece, and did the self-guided rides -- and folks were going off trail everywhere. Luckily, I had downloaded Ulmon maps, so I could always find my way back to the trail. They did offer 3 bike computers with pre-loaded maps which were very helpful. You state they can be rented for $15 euro, actually, they are available for free, with a $100 euro refundable deposit, unless it is lost or stolen.
Otherwise, the trip was a delight, and great kudos to the bike guide Victor, the ship's owner Pascale, and her fine crew.

Kurt A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The Zwaantje and crew are top notch, and present a great value. Some of the routes in northern France had a little too much traffic. Riding in Belgium and Netherlands seems nicer. Once is enough for this tour.

Laura W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Around Paris
France

So many memorable parts it's hard to pick just one. On this trip, I'll say the warmth of the chef and captain, the meals were outstanding, and I loved meeting and cycling with people from all over!

Richard R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip but the weather was a bit average - no rain but lots of cloud and a bit cool.
The food was great as were the crew, the bikes, the other passengers and the boat. We thought Wouter (the guide) needs to "loosen up" a bit and learn more of the history etc. of the region. We also found the first couple of days on the bikes a bit boring, too much forest and not enough villages etc.
All in all very good!!

Kathryn K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Northern Normandy
France

We enjoyed the freedom of making our own decisions with our self-guided tour. We did not necessarily follow the maps and we chose to do completely different things on two days. The area was beautiful with a lot of different environments to enjoy. The hotel had wonderful staff who refused you nothing. The food was delicious and different. We were forced to use our French since there is very little English spoken in the area. We enjoyed the immersion into the community.

Trent A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Most memorable part: Going through the locks. Tip would be to practice cycling up hills.

Bob McKechnie
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Paris
France

Had a great time on this tour through Paris on the Clair de Lune. Marco, Thea, and Weiger were all great. A Dutch boat and crew through Paris! The daily rides were good. Anyone who has cycled around towns and flat trails could do it. Cycling into Paris city centre was a thrill. Food was very good on the boat.

Anne S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Paris
France

The most memorable part was biking immediately after Fountainbleu, through the park's woodlands.

Deborah P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Needed the second guide as group unwieldy for one. Unlike prior trips, guide gave little info on trip sites/locales, despite being quite personable.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The scenery , chateaus and winery were beautiful.

Pat R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Would have liked more time biking. 2 days had less than 10 miles. We were in the guided group and were told the group would decide how much to bike on those days-we were never asked as a group-the guide decided himself we would do the shorter distance. Barge "purser"-a woman-not very friendly or helpful or available. Trip booked as a Bordeaux start and end, but the location of start and end of trip changed and we had to pay extra to get ourselves to Cadillac and back to Bordeaux from Libourne. The boat company should have provided that transfer free of charge. The 2 wine tasting charges should have been included in the trip charge. The boat charged 20 euros for a bottle of wine in the wine country of Bordeaux and we were not allowed to bring on any wine from the outside. You could buy a nice bottle of wine for less than $10.00 in town. Disappointed that we had twin beds-expected a double in the suite room.

Bruce C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Auxerre to Paris
France

Barge was great, crew was excellent, could use more air conditioning, bikes need new pedals with more grip, very slippery especially when wet, boat could review policy of not letting riders use their own pedals.

Lisa S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

I would rather recommend a trip to Germany or the Netherlands, but that's just my preference. The staff on the Bourdeaux was very nice.