3 Star Belgium Tour Reviews — 1 to 20 of 20

4.8 out of 5

 


Peg H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

I always love the Merlijn and the new owners were great! However, this is the least favorite of my Tripsite tours I didn't find the stops very interesting and when we did have an interesting place to visit, our time was very limited. Fun group, great food and pleasant weather but very short days of cycling. I will do another trip next year but do suggest some changes to this itinerary.

Jill S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Overall the trip was good and we enjoyed our time. However, we did have some things that could be improved -
firstly the e-bikes that we rented had several problems with them and were unreliable
secondly I found the choice of food strange for being on a tour in Europe - we had Mexican food, followed by Asian food & sushi. What was wrong with french or belgium or even North American (seeing that we were all from NA). There was no flexibility or accommodation of other types of food.
The group leader should have allowed some of us to go ahead with maps rather than keep us in a long line of 20 people strung out with the slowest members behind the leader. We are all adults and professional people and do not wish to be treated like children.

Kathy M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The scenery was absolutely beautiful and thankfully the weather was the same. If I had to make one suggestion it would be to improve the food on board. I don't think that can vegetables are a great reflection of the fresh vegetables that were all over the countryside. I also think that there should be more options for vegetarians.

Howard H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Magnifique II was fine and the food was good. One thing I found odd was the staff joined us at the bar at night. The bar had limited seating and they took up the stools while passengers stood. Not cool. I found the biking boring. There were no interesting stops other than the cities. Amsterdam, Ghent and Bruges were very nice. The Netherlands were rather dull. On other tours we stopped at wineries, Chateaus or interesting landmarks. Here the guides just stopped and said there is coffee or a church you can visit. Not very organized. Their goal seemed to be to keep us out long enough to reach the boat. I would not recommend this tour.

Julie R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Overall, it was a great trip - boat and crew, bikes, guide, fellow passengers. Where this trip fell short of a previous bike boat trip that I did, was that this trip lacked interesting stops along our cycle route. It felt more like getting from point A to point B with a brief coffee or lunch stop - no tours along the way. From my understanding in talking with the boat owner/captain, the cycling routes and stops are planned by Bike Boat Tours.

Tom L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Quo Vadis was super! The food, accommodations, staff and bikes were all terrific.
However, we were unprepared for the traffic and city riding intensity. Marsha is an experienced recreational rider but had no idea how to deal with traffic. She completed the first day and began another, but turned back after the first half kilometer and packed it in after that. City traffic and congested cycling is something only urban folks experience, so we and others were unprepared. We were were really expecting a leisurely paced scenic tour, not the frantic paced marathon we got. The trip was listed as easy, but a 12 mph average speed for 36 miles is ridiculous for most recreational cyclists, especially when you’re there for scenery and cultural experience along with cycling.
Additionally, once you start for the day, there is no practical way to drop our.
So, if we were to look for another bike barge trip, we would be looking for:
Quo Vadis or equal
20-25 mile Read More

Margie A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The Elodie bike/barge trip was fabulous in terms of scenery, routes, staff, food. However, 2 couples on the barge were not able to keep up with our very leisurely pace. I would advise your company to stress level of fitness for participants, and also to recommend 2 guides for different ability levels.

Richard H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Our fellow travelers and Jacko, the chef on the Quo Vadis.

Jerry K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

We met a lot of really nice people. We were surprised that our guide was largely unfamiliar with the route!

Suki G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Book from Brugge to Amsterdam to avoid headwinds. Expect riding in country with nothing special to see.

Mona W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The people on our tour were great. A bunch of fun people.

Marie B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Overall this was a great experience. The boat was clean and the staff friendly. The itinerary and scenery was beautiful. The only negative was that the website had several inaccuracies. For example, the mileage each day was much longer than published. Also, the number of meals provided was less than published.

Kevin Armstrong
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I have done this trip from Amsterdam to Bruges as well. I found this version to not be as enjoyable. The reason was there was not as much on the route to see and take in. I think that there are some differences do to which barge you are on which may restrict the routes. Bruges is amazing as was Amsterdam but in between nothing exciting. The barge was amazing (Sailing Home) with a wonderful chef. I love this style of touring and have done 8 of them and will do more!

Darryl White
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

My wife and two other couples did this trip in August 2017. The crew was great the boat is very well appointed, the rooms are small but function well. The evening meals were great, breakfast was limited most days to bread cheese and cereal.
Now the bad part:
The crew turns off the air conditioning at 10:30 at night and does not come back on until the morning. So one would wake up in the middle of the night sweating and not be able to go back to sleep, The bedding, our clothes and all other items in the room would get moist and moldy from condensation.
The Bicycles were not the best, they were quite used and most of the seats were loose and could not be tightened which made for long days of riding...

Betsy A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

The trip was fun but I don't think the description of the trip was accurate. The trip was about 85% bike riding and 15% site seeing. I would have liked more time to explore the cities we were riding through but most of the time it was too late or placed were closed. Not sure if I would do another tour like this. The riding was beautiful but I really expected more site seeing according to the trip description.

Mary Lees
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

Route descriptions need significant updating and elaboration. There were many detours that are not indicated in the guide - took us off track, added many km and much confusion to the ride. Became VERY frustrating. Bikes need much better maintenance - friend had a broken chain day 2 . Arranging the repair was difficult - they lost a day of cycling. Very poor communication around the repair, no one seemed to know what they were doing. Really took away from the trip. Would have been much worse had we been in a more remote area when the break happened - would have been stranded for hours. The most helpful person was a local tow truck driver - he saved the day. Never saw a representative from the company in person for the whole trip. What??? Should, at the very least, have one at the beginning to review procedures, answer questions. Liked the biking, but some routes along canals got boring. We ended up going off route - saw much more. Hotel, luggage transfers were smooth. With Read More

D. Pincar
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I would recommend it, but with reservations. I think there should have been two guides, one to take a faster group and one for a beginner group. A few people on the trip should not have been. They were not comfortable on their bikes, and were a daily danger to whomever they were near. Something should have been done about it.
I also would have liked to ride faster, and spend more free time in the little towns.

E. Hull-parsons
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I have planned to contact you with feedback, but haven't. The staff was great except the guide. He was not friendly or helpful. We were all disappointed in his lack of leadership and "guiding". Of the three trips we have taken, this was the least appealing. The route was not attractive, and mostly industrial, urban or rural. We were near places we know were charming and interesting, but did not visit them. I'm left wondering if it is that tour company. For 35 people biking there really should have been more staff on the road with us. Still love you!

Charlene James
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

In Ghent, too far from city centre to explore after biking unless take a taxi into the city. Antwerp museum was closed, as it was a Sunday. Very disappointing. Breakfast and lunch meals were almost always the same, got too uninteresting.

Patrick Roddy
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

West Flanders & Bruges
Belgium

I brought my own bike, but my friends rented. I was not impressed with the fitting of the bikes. The measurements requested by the site were insufficient to get an accurate fit and we had to request a new bike (inseam should be required). If I hadn't been there to fit the bikes nobody from the tour company would have been. Also, I had to replace a bolt on one of the bike's chain guard half way through the tour. At least check that everything is torqued down before renting them.