Austria Tour Reviews — 391 to 420 of 602

4.6 out of 5

 


Clare C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. Read More

Beverly C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best part was seeing the countryside by bike.

Steve C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

While the scenery was wonderful, I don't think that I could recommend this type travel to someone who would like to take more time to see the sites. This tour, just in my opinion, is much better suited for someone prioritizing cycling over site seeing. I (and some others in my group) discussed how there was a "rushed" feeling to the trip. That being said, the itinerary is posted online for all to make an informed decision. Lastly, there was almost a sense that we, the customers, were an inconvenience to many of the staff until the second to last day when there was an announcement that a tipping envelope would be left in each cabin. Staff personalities completely changed for the better on the last day and a half. This opinion was quietly shared by most of us who had done this type of tour numerous times before.

Frank V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was cruising down the river during dinner.

Robin T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My first Tripsite vacation, first bike/barge trip, first trip to the 4 countries.....loved it. Somewhat poor attitudes of hotel manager, Peter and the guides did not spoil my trip...in fact, became a bit of a joke to us. I would not let it stop from booking another trip.

Jennifer Formolo
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food and scenery were magnificent. The boat was better than I had expected. Don't pay extra for the upper deck cabins on the Normandie because they are identical with the exception of being able to open the window on the upper deck. Our tour guide was rude. He spent a lot of time talking to the Germans and very little time talking in English. He scolded us if we asked questions that could be found in our book or were only relevant to the next day's bike trip. Peter at the front desk was also very rude. He made you feel stupid for asking any questions. He is in the tourist business and should expect questions and answer them gracefully. I wouldn't tell someone to avoid this trip, because of the beauty, but don't expect a lot from the staff. The rest of the staff were quite nice, but there were three men that should not be in this business!!

Margaret M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Walking and biking around Vienna. It is a beautifully restored city with so many historic buildings and places to take your breath away. Our bike guide Bernd added to the experience by translating for us all the history and important information as we were the only English speakers on the trip.

Jim and Margaret Molineux
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We have just returned from our boat/bike adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Being the only English speaking passengers on the trip, we were in the care of the multilingual SE bike tour guides; Bernd, Andreas and Wolfgang. And look after us they did. With all the tours and information in German, we would have missed so much if it hadn't been for Bernd showing up everywhere to translate for us. The staff on board were helpful, courteous and efficient. Food was gourmet and even with cool and often wet weather, tours were interesting and biking was exhilarating. Bikes were brand new, maps were clear and information given beforehand made navigating easy. Ebikes are the way to go if climbing hills is difficult; although it is mostly flat.
We would absolutely do this again with Trip Site or SE Tours.

Deirdre R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

Deirdre R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

Annette Weaver
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

A fabulous tour. Friendly countries to cycle in, great history and a variety of terrain. Would recommend an extra night in Znojmo to give you a chance to go discover the catacombs.and a chance to enjoy the magnificent view , wine and delicious food from the local winery. Would check with the tour company to ensure that the bikes will be delivered the night before so they can be checked out.
The Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia were places we had never been to and they exceeded my expectations hugely. Accommodation was chosen well and the bike company was very helpful.

Molly S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Having a guide for the biking. He was terrific. We had a route change which led to a boring day biking. They do not give you water at the table. Too many people on the boat. Lining up for things to buy tickets. Did not like having to buy a drink package. Too expensive.
Staff was very pleasant. Our guide was fabulous.

Elisabeth P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was since every bit of it was exceptional: the scenery, the friendly staff, the other guests, the food, all were above expectations. Add to that the fact that we had perfect early Fall weather, sunny but not too hot, we felt like we had spent a week in heaven.

Gordon M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of exercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

Susan D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

Roger H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

Rollie B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

Harry L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was very nice. Everything was nice. If I can figure a route will do it again next year!

Rebecca V.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking thru Wachau valley. Our guide, Hugo, was not real informative. We had to drag info from him. He was better later in the week when we kept asking. Wine tasting was fun. Loved quaint villages.

Sandra L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everyone was amazing: Welcoming; friendly; accommodating; delicious food and informative.

Mele M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I organized a trip with 20 friends and family to take the boat and bike trip up the Danube. I was a bit concerned because my co-travelers varied in age and fitness. I was delighted to find that with the option of the electric bikes and choices of long or short bike paths, everyone was accommodated. The entire group had a magical time. They loved the boat, the staff, the food, and particularly enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment after cycling through gorgeous towns and scenery.
I have organized many group trips in the past, and this one allowed me to enjoy myself more fully because I knew that the crew was taking care of my friends and family's needs, and I didn't have to be dealing with questions or problems. Because we had such a large group, we could all break up into smaller groups and enjoy the sights, knowing that we would all converge later on the boat and share our stories from the day.
Even though we already had a large group, we all made new friends on the boat.
I take an international adventure trip every year, and I would put this one among the top of my list!

Gordon M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of excercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

Shannon P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The incredible countryside through which we traveled both by boat and on bike as well as the wonderfully hard-working, pleasant and attentive staff who made my trip so memorable. Lastly, the food was fantastic!

Elizabeth G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

All of it was memorable - the scenic routes through lovely towns, stopping at wine tasting, castles, cathedrals, the day in Vienna. Lovely wait staff, house keeping and front desk!! Top award goes to the extraordinary chef -- who listened attentively to my request for whole foods, plant based and each evening created an extraordinary delight of color and tastes -- wonderful food combinations, spices, herbs.

John F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The ride through the Wachau valley was by far the most memorable. We were happy with the overall trip. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The one disappointment was with the info from the cruise director on the trip. At times it was inaccurate. This trip could be improved by updating the notes in the bike route, providing information and maps on side trips to the villages we biked through. Many bikers were concerned to vary from the route to find other attractions for fear of getting lost. One section of the trail was on a small sidewalk yet the cruise director and the printed information did not mention this. A lot of bikers were confused. It seems like the cruise director never biked the route or it has been too long ago.

Sally S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was the BEST bike trip! Lake Constance is a beautiful setting, lodging was terrific, loved my e bike and food was good. Thanks to you and Radweg-Reisin for making the arrangements.

Steve & Jan C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

Extremely happy with our trip. There were a couple of times where maps or detailed instructions would have been helpful, eg. How to get to the boat in Passau and more detailed directions to get to our accommodations. The other part of the trip that proved difficult was getting from the train station to our hotel (Novotel Suites) in Vienna. The biking through the city was a bit dicey.
Each accommodation and restaurant knew who we were and was expecting us. The luggage always arrived before we arrived. The bikes were comfortable and worked well (after using our own tool to adjust a dragging brake which wasn't discovered until after the first day). You offer a great service and were very helpful answering our many questions prior to the trip.

Ross M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sometimes we were unsure if we were on the route or not. Maybe could have had some additional signage along route.

Neil Blanks
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Salzburg & the 7 Lakes
Austria

Just came back from an exceptional Salzburg Lakes holiday.
I'll start with the good - fantastic scenery (so green), friendly well-appointed hotels, not too difficult route (a few hills from time to time but appropriate for the "easy to moderate" level, well sign-posted. Even the continuous rain on the first day didn't dampen our spirits.
This was my second time with "Tripsite" (went to Provence, France two years ago) and I feel compelled to add a few negative comments by comparison. Most of the maps and brochures were in German and not English. The quality of the bikes was less than expected. Far worse was the comedy of errors on the bike handover - no saddle bags, no repair kit, no pump, no apology. We only got the missing equipment at the end of the first day of riding. My thanks to the Tripsite Team, who did their best to intervene on our behalf.
In conclusion - don't let the negative comments stop you from booking this trip. I would however recommend to Tripsite to have a serious word with their local agents to prevent such mistakes in the future. And, yes, I'm already planning the next trip !!

Craig M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Great trip but two minor issues
Room - hopeless shower curtain meant water went all over the floor. Other rooms had screens so why not all rooms?
Ride into Bratislava is ugly - need to find a better to arrive at this lovely city. A real low point in an otherwise fantastic itinerary - last 3 days were sublime.