Austria Bike Tour Reviews 391 to 420 of 517

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elise Manners 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole trip was fantastic! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and one group have already booked a trip for next year!

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Tammy Schmidt 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We could not have had such an amazing trip without the help from Tripsite. Anna from Tripsite worked with me on all of my hotel request, allowing us to customize our trip. We were able to choose the towns we preferred to stay in around the lake. Anna recommended hotels over other hotels and reserved lake view rooms which we requested. Our biking trip around Lake Constance would not have turned out as spectacular if it were not for Anna's hard work. I don't think we will use another tour company. The Barge/bike trip offers it all. An added bonus of traveling by boat is that you don't have to pack up every morning like you would have to with other tours that move your stuff from hotel to hotel with a van. The stress of packing up every morning is not there with this tour.
    On the Barge/boat trips you simply wake up, go have your coffee and breakfast before you set off on your bike no packing required. When you return to the boat after the day's biking there is no unpacking or waiting to be assigned a room, it is off to the showers and out on the deck to join your new friends. We love the friends from around the world that these tours have allowed us to meet. It is a cultural exchange and add to the interest factor of traveling abroad. Thanks Tripsite, the Oppenheimers will be finding some more boat/bike tours that Tripsite offer, maybe Turkey or Greece.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Martin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    There was a mixup checking in to the cabins on the boat. The boat staff assigned us different rooms than the vouchers from TripSite indicated. Glad I had my voucher, otherwise we wouldn't have been placed in the upper deck room we paid for. I think the mixup affected everyone in our group of 12, and unfortunately some people were not as fortunate as we were and ended up in lower deck cabins when they reserved upper deck ones.

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Hazem Zayed 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a great trip very well organized the team is very supportive, will definitely repeat with my wife and kids I enjoyed big time.

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Mary Sandra Duggan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We enjoyed the trip very much and are planning another. We enquired about the the free shirts for repeat customers but haven't gotten them. The website is not clear about ordering them.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve VanderWeide 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We did have rain quite a few days on her trip. But we were prepared and so we wore our raingear. Our guide Pieter, was very good at watching the weather and getting us inside or out of the rain if he could

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Bill Fleshman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is the 3rd travel group I've put together through tripsite and each was very enjoyable. My groups ranged in size from 3 to 12. The first was a land bike trip in Provence, France and the next two were bike and boat trips on the Mozel and the Danube. I am not associated with a tour company but found working with Tripsite personnel, Mary, Carla and others, to be easy even for a novice like me to put together such trips. I have worked with other agencies but have found Tripsite to be more "reachable" and available at any time I had questions. I will continue to use them for future group and individual trips.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Munich to Salzburg
    by Vickie Butte 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Yes, but only to the most experienced rider as the route is very diverse and at times rugged which would be very difficult for the average rider. coupled w/the bike/equipment is substandard making the ride even more difficult than it should be.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia Scullin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    There was a chemical odor in the hallway outside our room, and the food was not good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Eileen Biggs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were pretty unlucky with the weather. Exciting trip in spite of that

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ronald Allard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Was not always easy to "stay on course" on the bike tours. Directions and/or course markings could have been better.

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Mari Jo Krebs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We prefer guided trips because we miss the guides knowledge of area. We start riding and don't take time to check out the sights

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carol Reimann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Awesome experience! Can't wait to plan my next adventure with you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Wine Trail between Prague and Vienna
    by Brandan Hardie 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Tough for an American who doesn't speak German... Our shortcomings, and the only reason I might not recommend it but nothing wrong with the trip.

    Countries: Austria, Czech Republic

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Julie Kummel jkummel@rain.org 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some of the routes were complicated, but we had good backup from our staff, and possibility of getting lost was reduced considerably. The bikes were in excellent condition, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable--it was a very enjoyable trip and I would do it again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Mark Hensien 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great family adventure. We all enjoyed seeing and exploring new things while staying active. We really liked the self guided option, because it let us control the schedule and select what we wanted to see and do.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Doug Okey 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Have recommended the 2 trips we did to all our friends and they are very keen to go.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael Sudheer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful experience made even better by the friendly and so very helpful staff. Thank you!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve Slinkard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

    Boat: Normandie

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Michele Forsberg 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first European experience, and we enjoyed every minute of it! What a great way to get to know the countries we went to and engage with the locals. Our bike trip took us off the beaten path and in to the old tiny villages and backcountry of Switzerland and Austria. It was a trip we will never forget. From the first day we arrived at our hotel in St. Moritz, Switzerland, with the exception of a flat tire, everything went off without a hitch. Thank you Tripsite!

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Cecil Harris 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    One of our hotels was not up to our expectations or the trip rating. Most of our maps/directions were good but missed a detour/construction.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Art Shotwell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife & I had a wonderful four country bike-boat trip on the Danube. Saw wonderful little towns, met good friends on the trip, and enjoyed good food and wine.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail Black 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra Stocks 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Despite nasty weather conditions, which no one can control, the crew made our trip fun and exciting.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kristi Sinkus 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    AC did not work
    BargeBoat needed updating
    Crew was accommodating
    but moody
    Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rafael Camarota 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gary Saelens 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV (no longer available)
    by Heidi Coleman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The route descriptions were mixed. Some were excellent. Some were not. But our overall experience was wonderful. When the route descriptions were not as good, it added to the adventure and, as a result, we met additional people, who were generally warm and helpful.

    It would be most helpful to have both detailed instructions (which are confirmed, e.g., make sure there's a street sign if the cue is to turn at a street or provide odometers if the cue is the travel a certain distance), and also decent maps."

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathleen Josten 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

    Boat: My Story

PWPC