Austria Bike Tour Reviews 391 to 420 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Four Country
    by Michael R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through the countryside, seeing Stein-am-Rhein, the Rheinfalls, taking the boat across the Wallensee, seeing the Schattenburg in Feldkirch, and visiting the Abbey Library in St. Gallen were all highlights.

  • Four Country
    by Jeff B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Konstance was very bike friendly, and interesting.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Kristine C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the countryside, seeing the roadside farms along the way, was far and away one of the most beautiful parts of the trip. We enjoyed finding places to eat, visiting museums, taking an excursion to the monastery outside Stein am Rhein, and finding cool drinking fountains to refill our water bottles! We had some trouble finding the path at times, but the longer we rode, the easier it was to decipher the guide/route. We took one really long, uphill (very steep) wrong turn on day 2- at least riding back down to the correct path was easy. Overall, it was the best part of our trip! Would have loved to have seen Rhein Falls, but I think it may have been too far away.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Heather F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the rides through the countryside in this trip. Our cruise director was fun and very helpful. He gave us many tips for the route and how to experience the culture of the places we went.

    Boat: Carissima

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Elyse Jacob B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The 3rd day of riding downhill.
    Tip: The first two days are difficult. When you train for this trip be sure to train on hills.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ted & Sylvia G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was great. We thoroughly enjoyed it and didn't want it to come to an end.

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Bob Snyder 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great diary of our trip!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Karen L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip were the people I had the opportunity to meet including the staff who were extremely courteous.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great! Even when the ship had a mechanical problem, the staff made sure everyone was happy.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: The small towns and villages we biked along the way.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Vince K. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable: Arriving in Budapest just at dark and seeing the city all lit up and riding through the Wachow valley. The visits to the cities, Vienna, Budapest, Bratislava, were too short and left us wanting more. This particular boat was geared more towards German speaking guests and English was a poorly translated afterthought.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff and food were excellent, as well as the ambiance of the river boat, not too crowded, a good mix of nationalities, great info dissemination and communication with passengers. Very relaxed and customer service was wonderful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roberto Marcelo B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    El recorrido fue modificado a los 3 dias por desperfectos en el barco, razon por la que no conocimos Bratislava ni Budapest!! A pesar de ello.. la ruta Lintz Passau con arribo de laas bikes en Viena fue satisfactorio.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Morris T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Tripsite Bike and Barge Danube River Tour! The cruise was so relaxing, it was a real vacation! How do I start? The MS Carrisma , what a boat! The Danube River! The food, every meal a delicious event to enjoy! The staff was always cheerful, friendly, helpful and so cosmopolitan! Every one from the Captains, bar crew, boat crew, cruise crew, housekeeping crew, kitchen crew and the waiters. They made our trip experience a very memorable event in our lives, which we will never forget! Too many things to do and see in eight short days. We plan to do this trip again!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Loree K. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bikes were in excellent condition The maps were hard to read and did not even show what country we were in on the route, however the route was clearly marked. That saved us many times. The carry out lunch was great. Maybe some variation in granola bars throughout the week. Meals were good. Staff seemed rushed and understaffed at dinner. It was overall a great trip. Suggestions for others: pack light!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat its self is quaint. The cycling was scenic, beautiful and had a variation of easy to moderately challenging rides for an average cyclist, pretty doable for anyone. My only suggestion is to provide more water and provide it daily weather if cycling or not. In saying that, do bring yourselves 4 to 6 large bottles of water.
    Packing -nothing too heavy do plan on layers, it was warmer than expected .
    If you bring alcohol on to the boat you can only drink in your room.
    Crew were great as was the guide and the food prepared by the Cook!!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Neil M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling along the Danube of course was the highlight for sure.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Sue H. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The entire cycling tour was fantastic. Each day was different, and with a guide who was absolutely terrific, we enjoyed every bit of it!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Bill W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We are long time customers to Tripsite and have always enjoyed our trips. This year we did St Moritz to Innsbrook. It was an amazing trip with some of the best views we have ever seen. The ride was challenging for the first few days but then it got to be a typical river ride. We did a triple room package rather than paying for a single supplement and it worked great. All of the hotels were newly renovated and very modern. The people of Switzerland and Austria were very friendly and supportive. Again these trips in the alps are so spectacular! Looking forward to planning next years trip.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vitali B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am very glad that I did this trip: the boat, cabin, food, bike, everything was very good. But there were some challenges, which I would like to mention.
    1. The tour guide (Jan, his first name) was not rude, but more like indifferent to your problems. Very often his answer was ""It's up to you. You want this, go this way, you want that, go that way."" Hr didn't try to understand your problem and to find the best solution for your situation.
    2. Bike path pavement sometimes was bad and poorly marked. For people with not good vision (like myself) it was a big problem. European bikers are more aggressive speed wise and more comfortable in the crowded environment. It was a problem to have pedestrians and bikers in both directions at the same time. So, for me it was easy to complete 50-60 kilometers physically, but it was stressful psychologically to be in such crowded place.
    3. Unguided tour is a challenge: you can get lost, something Read more… can happen to you, your bike, and no help is available. One person locked a bike and lost a key. I even do not know how he came back on the boat. I am writing all these problems to give future fellow travelers more real picture before making a decision to take this trip, and moreover how to prepare yourself for the trip. My mistake was that I was thinking that if I can do 40 miles on the bike, I am ready for the trip. Physical part is not enough. You should be ready physically, but also you should be able to function in the crowded city environment at low speed, be able to repair your bike, if needed, to read a map, and not to expect that all people in the world like Americans. Sorry for being so long, but I really wanted to give the most truthful picture of my experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Courtney R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring by bicycle is the best! It's a great way to take in the scenery, small villages, and larger cities while getting a little exercise along the way. It was a very relaxing trip and I was glad to be a part of a larger group on the trip. The food and cycling directions could be improved, but the service and itinerary were great.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diana W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best combination, boat and bicycle, without packing in every place.
    Every morning a new city to visit and the best way is by bike where you can experience the sound of the win through the forest, the river just by your side and beautiful villages where always will be a huge church and a restaurant to have a beer.
    And unforgettable experience, I just love to do it and would like to experience again.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Andy D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was very well organized, the scenery was beautiful, boat staff very helpful. All the meals were great. The packed lunch was a nice feature for the day rides. Rooms were very nice, lounge staff treated us well.
    We liked the City of Budapest very much, glad we had the day to explore.
    Biking through wine country on the last day was a great way to finish the experience.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beth M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most beautiful part of the bike trip was he Danube Bend, eye candy around every corner! The thermal pools at Szechenyi in Budapest are not to be missed! It is the largest medicinal bath in Europe. Plan on spending 3-4 hours there, it is an unbelievable experience. Also, in the Jewish Quarter you can feel & experience Jewish life before WW II inside old shops; the communist period of Hungary at retro restaurants; and contemporary Budapest through street food and street art.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peter M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was our free time in Budapest. What a beautiful city.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I enjoyed the variety of the destinations and getting off the boat to explore small villages, ruins and interact with the local people.
    The staff was very friendly and always helpful.
    One tip we would suggest is to make every effort to be on top deck or in the parlor to see the cities we visited during arrival and departure.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judith M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The combination of biking in the beautiful countryside and also being on the water on a boat for my lodging was wonderful and just enough time to enjoy the cultural hubs of the amazingly beautiful cities. I loved it all and for me just the right combination of it all.
    I would suggest that the navigation on the bike routes was confusing at times so the next time to enjoy it more I would opt for being guided on the biking versus self-guided.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mari H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The new friends we made! We absolutely enjoyed the other travelers we ate with every meal! They became great friends despite language differences. It was a fantastic trip. We blogged our trip!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Danube was outstanding and riding thru the vineyards on our last day was beautiful. Would do it all over again!!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Kimberly W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Normandie took us on a fabulous adventure down the Danube from Passau to Vienna. The last day of biking was the most memorable as we rode thru some gently rolling hillsides and were enveloped by vineyards and orchards. The quiet and the beauty of the scenery was breathtaking!
    Because it was all so beautiful we would on a daily basis become distracted and veer off the designated route (or maybe we were lacking in the map-reading skills). Therefore, after the second day we decided to each rent an e-bike so that it wouldn't be a huge deal if we got off the beaten path and put on extra miles. Best decision we made all week! Our new equipment helped us to keep up with some new found(older) friends who were rocking the routes every day.
    The evenings were mostly composed of a nice slow 4-course meal (stellar offerings) and catching up with friends and family via the sketchy internet service. I would suggest you bring along a game or two and some books.
    Read more… >Couldn't have imagined a more complete and perfect vacation. We just had to get ourselves to and from the launch and dock sites and the staff of the MS Normandie took care of the rest!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

PWPC