Austria Bike Tour Reviews 421 to 450 of 560

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • hermann friedmann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip, through beautiful area. No problems with bikes or hotels. Staff at all hotels was helpful, accommodations great and all our luggage was always waiting for us.

    Strongly recommend emailing pdf version of bike route maps and direction two weeks prior so they can be read and the directions studied. This is especially important in the city of Konstanz and suburbs due to lack of bike route signs in those areas. Had it not been for some friendly English speaking locals, we would have been seriously lost several times.

    Also would be a good idea to provide directions to the next bike path segment from the each hotel as well as the from the end of each bike path segment to the next hotel.

  • Vivien Watts 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Overall great trip, really loved it. Did feel the duration and arrival time in Vienna was disappointingly limited - nowhere near long enough to see sufficient in daylight hours.

    Unfortunately one major problem became apparent. The tour director was charming and affable when presenting to an audience, but his manner often vacillated (changed) when talking with individuals. On many occasions he was rude and dismissive, including sometimes making derogattory comments. Due to his public persona (welcoming and friendly), I was really shocked by this. At times he gave the impression that he was putting on an act, that he really did not like or enjoy his job and the guests were an infuriating annoyance to him. Even allowing for tiredness and stress, I do not think there is any excuse for rudeness to friendly (and paying) customers. I was not the only one to observe his changeable attitude or bear the brunt of his dismissive rudeness. As it wasn't possible to pick what his response Read more… would be (ie positive or negative), I only spoke to him when spoken to. I shudder to think of his treatment of the genuinely lovely and diligent cleaners and kitchen staff. Perhaps it's time for Leslie to retire.

    Boat: My Story

  • Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We certainly agree that our 10 days riding from Passau to Vienna was awesome. However we chose to have Tripsite arrange hotels along the river each night and deliver our small suitcase to our new location each day. Our luggage was always there when we arrived. We began our ride September 28, 2015 and had perfect weather. We saw about 10 other bikers which meant we had the entire route to ourselves. The ride is beautiful. We understand the summer has "bike jams." We loved being in the small villages each afternoon so we could wander through the towns and enjoy the area. Definitely should be on an active person's bucket list!

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Jehiel 4 years ago     Staff

    Chris, Glad you enjoyed the post! We would love to help you plan your Danube adventure! Linda was aboard the Theodor Körner...and as you can see from the blog, she absolutely had a blast!

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Chris Dear 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Sounds like a fabulous trip. Which boat/ barge were you on? Would love to do the Danube!

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Judy Lucas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    As this was our 1st bike and boat experience, we did not know what to expect. We are recreational cyclists, not cycling fanatics, and were very happy with this trip and look forward to saving up to do another similar adventure.

    I do have 2 comments. The meal situation. It was disappointing not to have the opportunity to mix with more of the passengers as we were at a table by ourselves and had to stay at this table for every meal - even breakfast - every day. As it was a breakfast buffet and not everyone arrives for breakfast at the same time, being free to sit wherever, would definitely encourage more socializing amongst all passengers. Also, some nights, even though the staff was definitely hustling, it took more than 2 hours to be served our main course. It would seem that a few more staff members could help with this loooong wait after a long tiring day.

    Also, there was a definite, obvious bias each day towards the larger group of German speaking passengers when it Read more… came to the briefing on the bike route. They were always briefed first and always went over the allotted time leaving the briefing for the English speaking passengers a very rushed affair, leaving no time for clarifications and a late start each day. This did result in some people getting lost. Alternating which group was briefed first might alleviate this problem.

    Having said this, it was a tremendous trip and I would definitely recommend it to any recreational cyclist. Wonderful scenery with fantastic suggested rest stops made it an exceptional adventure. Thank you for all your help in making this a superb, memorable experience. Your service was outstanding. Thank you again.
    Judy.

    Boat: My Story

  • Deborah Waldo 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Food was not we are accustomed to on trips of this type.

    Boat: My Story

  • Jeanie Lundell 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The first day out, my e-bike had a low tire and faulty valve - not a great start, but the rest was very good. Sometimes, the route was to as clearly marked as we would have preferred. Nevertheless, I've told several friends about this trip and one is considering booking reservations! Thanks for everything.

  • Anna Brasier 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Ship broke down and we were bused to Budapest vs cycling in, that was disappointing, but not to be helped. Jurgen our guide was very good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Dawood 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Never brought it up to the bike staff, but gears on my bike were difficult to manage. I attributed it to my having small hands, but I also thought the gears should be replaced soon, for the next "small handed" guest.

    It was a wonderful experience and we were fortunate to have beautiful weather the entire week.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Susan Oman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I liked the ease of being in a larger boat vs a small barge. There was plenty of room in the lounge and other public places so we could get some quiet time. Also a little more anonymity on the larger boat and self guiding was fun.

    Boat: My Story

  • Leslie Kerluke 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the trip fully but thought there could have been a little better information on riding and expected timeline for rides, as we often rode faster than necessary and didn't know we could stop along the way for sight seeing etc. Our cycle guide was very nice but did not have all the information to answer our questions or help us to maximize our sight seeing experience.

    Boat: My Story

  • David Pomfret 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time it was a highlight of the trip; can't say about the bikes as we had our own.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Elise Manners 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was fantastic! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and one group have already booked a trip for next year!

    Boat: My Story

  • Tammy Schmidt 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We could not have had such an amazing trip without the help from Tripsite. Anna from Tripsite worked with me on all of my hotel request, allowing us to customize our trip. We were able to choose the towns we preferred to stay in around the lake. Anna recommended hotels over other hotels and reserved lake view rooms which we requested. Our biking trip around Lake Constance would not have turned out as spectacular if it were not for Anna's hard work. I don't think we will use another tour company. The Barge/bike trip offers it all. An added bonus of traveling by boat is that you don't have to pack up every morning like you would have to with other tours that move your stuff from hotel to hotel with a van. The stress of packing up every morning is not there with this tour.
    On the Barge/boat trips you simply wake up, go have your coffee and breakfast before you set off on your bike no packing required. When you return to the boat after the day's biking Read more… there is no unpacking or waiting to be assigned a room, it is off to the showers and out on the deck to join your new friends. We love the friends from around the world that these tours have allowed us to meet. It is a cultural exchange and add to the interest factor of traveling abroad. Thanks Tripsite, the Oppenheimers will be finding some more boat/bike tours that Tripsite offer, maybe Turkey or Greece.

  • Susan Martin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    There was a mixup checking in to the cabins on the boat. The boat staff assigned us different rooms than the vouchers from TripSite indicated. Glad I had my voucher, otherwise we wouldn't have been placed in the upper deck room we paid for. I think the mixup affected everyone in our group of 12, and unfortunately some people were not as fortunate as we were and ended up in lower deck cabins when they reserved upper deck ones.

    Boat: My Story

  • Hazem Zayed 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip very well organized the team is very supportive, will definitely repeat with my wife and kids I enjoyed big time.

  • Mary Sandra Duggan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed the trip very much and are planning another. We enquired about the the free shirts for repeat customers but haven't gotten them. The website is not clear about ordering them.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Steve VanderWeide 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We did have rain quite a few days on her trip. But we were prepared and so we wore our raingear. Our guide Pieter, was very good at watching the weather and getting us inside or out of the rain if he could

    Boat: My Story

  • Bill Fleshman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is the 3rd travel group I've put together through tripsite and each was very enjoyable. My groups ranged in size from 3 to 12. The first was a land bike trip in Provence, France and the next two were bike and boat trips on the Mozel and the Danube. I am not associated with a tour company but found working with Tripsite personnel, Mary, Carla and others, to be easy even for a novice like me to put together such trips. I have worked with other agencies but have found Tripsite to be more "reachable" and available at any time I had questions. I will continue to use them for future group and individual trips.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Vickie Butte 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Yes, but only to the most experienced rider as the route is very diverse and at times rugged which would be very difficult for the average rider. coupled w/the bike/equipment is substandard making the ride even more difficult than it should be.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Patricia Scullin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    There was a chemical odor in the hallway outside our room, and the food was not good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Eileen Biggs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We were pretty unlucky with the weather. Exciting trip in spite of that

  • Ronald Allard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Was not always easy to "stay on course" on the bike tours. Directions and/or course markings could have been better.

    Boat: My Story

  • Mari Jo Krebs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We prefer guided trips because we miss the guides knowledge of area. We start riding and don't take time to check out the sights

  • Carol Reimann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience! Can't wait to plan my next adventure with you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Brandan Hardie 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Tough for an American who doesn't speak German... Our shortcomings, and the only reason I might not recommend it but nothing wrong with the trip.

  • Julie Kummel jkummel@rain.org 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Some of the routes were complicated, but we had good backup from our staff, and possibility of getting lost was reduced considerably. The bikes were in excellent condition, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable--it was a very enjoyable trip and I would do it again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Mark Hensien 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great family adventure. We all enjoyed seeing and exploring new things while staying active. We really liked the self guided option, because it let us control the schedule and select what we wanted to see and do.

  • Doug Okey 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Have recommended the 2 trips we did to all our friends and they are very keen to go.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC