Austria Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 813

4.2 out of 5

 


Thomas T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Internet sucks. Needs to be available throughout the ship, not just in the bar. Also we were not told how to use our electric bikes. And some parts of the bike route were hazardous, e.g., loose gravel, fast auro traffic. 3 of 4 of our group wiped out at least once.

Joel k.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

Michael K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything was amazing. Great trip. If you need to rent a bike in Passau for taller ebike riders the shops in passau are great.

timothy c.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Good trip. I knew of 2 people who complained of having a "cold" toward the end of the tour. 3 days after returning home I tested positive for covid having minor symptoms. Not the fault of Tripsite but I think you should be aware.

Barbara T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

For the most part, the trail was paved and easy to ride. It was a great trail to do. The Iron curtain monument on the way to Bratislava by Devin Castle was moving and should not be missed. Take some time to visit Budapest at the end if you have never been there, it is a beautiful city.
There was one glitch: one of our hotels from the final list that we had gotten from Tripsite changed shortly before we left. The representative never mentioned this when he gave us our package the night before we started. On the fifth cyclin day, we were supposed to stay in Esztergom but had to stay in Visegrad that night which meant we had to take two trains that day. The tickets for the first train were in our package, but not for the second train. We had to called about this. The tickets were supposed to be with our luggage one day and they weren’t which meant another call. The tickets did come the day before. Suggestion-when you get your package carefully look at the list of hotels and compare it to the list you had received. It would have been better and we wouldn’t have had to waste time calling when we wanted to sightsee.

Rockwood R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Your representative for the initial orientation meeting was a No Show. This became problematic when we received train tickets in the packet- with no clear guidance. Your travel app and book were well coordinated but the app didn’t always work on the trail.
If you’re providing train tickets it would be helpful to have directions to the train station. Hotel locations, near the bike route and points of interest, were excellent. Quality and experiences varied. Overall pleased.

Deborah D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The scenery along the Danube River was just spectacular. The little villages along the way were so beautiful to photograph. Traveling on the Merlijn is like being in a 5 star hotel. The ship is just beautiful and the food is downright amazing and delicious. The crew members are like your family. Love the Merlijn!

Kathryn V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is the BEST Vacation!!
I’ve had a lot of great adventures-but the Bike & Barge 4 Countries Tour topped the list.
Riding everyday was my favypart o

Cara A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Fabulous bike trip! Everyday we received a very thorough briefing including a map for our daily ride. Leslie took great care of us along with the rest of the crew! Bring a Tupperware dish to make a salad in for the lunch that you can make to take on your ride. The lunch bag will come with the bike.

BARRY S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sitting on the Deck eating dinner in Budapest and watching the city lights. Bratislava was also excellent. We did not have enough time in Vienna though.

Heidi L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best parts were the scenic rides on the first and last day. The ride through wine country was particularly beautiful . I also loved the day in Budapest.
People definitely need to train for the biking part. Although not difficult , time on the seat is important. I would highly recommend bringing a gel seat cover.

Pete H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The overnights were great. I would recommend you arrive early as the overnight towns were all great to visit.

Juliet S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery through which we biked. The landscape was ever-changing. It was flat which made for easy biking.
The route was beautifully labelled, which removed all stress of getting lost. It was also away from busy car routes.

Paul G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Cycling the Danube is memorable and the accommodation was excellent. Melk and the Wachau Valley were high points. The bicycles were a disappointment: Heavy & Clunky. We were expecting 24 gear Hybrids. The directions for Linz and the last day in Vienna need work. Perhaps you could a more detailed map for each city that show the route in street map detail. These would be separate from the daily cycling maps. There was confusion regarding where stayed : Ardagger Shift and not Grein! The daily cycling map suggested that we end the day in Grein.

Anne C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Biking thru the small villages of Austria, enjoying their beautiful, clean lifestyle and the magnificent Danube was memorable. Our guide was quite capable and knowledgeable adding to the experience. Would recommend this trip highly!

Mark S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew and our guide were very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time biking through beautiful countryside and learned alot about local culture and history. The food was great.

theodore s.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew was absolutly great the bikes were of good quality the food was also. We had a great time. The reason I gave a 4 was the fact that you couldn't drink the tap water and they charged you for bottled water. Water is a basic necessity and should be free.

Cheryl Smith
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Saint Moritz to Lake Garda E-Bike Tour
Switzerland, Austria, Italy

This is my 6 th European cycle tour in two years. Overpriced and overbooked. Avoid this shameless money grab at all costs. An enormous motor coach with limited access to parking lots and some tour stops replaced the advertised support van. Thus, Zero ability to stop during an accident or transport an injured rider—- which happened twice. There were no picnic lunches provided. We were handed a cheese/cured meat sandwich with optional banana/apple and choice of energy bars every morning. Meals provided were high-carb, low cost— as sub standard as the accommodations. Our last hotel provided rooms with, I kid you not, two flights of stairs within the room. At least it had an elevator. Many of the places we stayed did not. At first, we were expected to transfer our own luggage to/from the bus and back. As well as our e-bike batteries and chargers. The last few nights our luggage was actually taken to our rooms— a huge relief. When heavy rains set in and I asked Read More

Marilyn K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

10/5 stars! The wonderful crew members , the rides, the quality of the rooms were outstanding!
I have already shared this trip with new and old connections. Thank you so very much!
We made so many wonderful new friends that we will connect with again!

GRACE M V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The stars at night from the boat sun deck were spectacular. The bike path along the river had beautiful views and occasionally wonder into small towns. Docked in Budapest across from Parliament which was a special sight at night. Reccommend bike tours of Vienna and Budapest and also eat at lovely restaurants

Shirley Donna S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Shirley Donna S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Maggie M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Easy to follow direction, mostly, cycling on designated bike paths so no worries about traffic. Great scenery.

Tracy W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Biking through the countryside of Austria, Slovakia, and Hungary offers an experience you can get no other way. Our group experienced an "insider's view" of these countries, towns and cities you can't get by car. If you want an immersive experience that leaves you fulfilled at the end of the day, biking is the way to go.

Helen C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Bicycling along the Danube cycling trail was such a great experience! The route maps were good for following our daily ride.

Margaret F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food on this ship was amazing - tasted good and also was amazingly presented. The staff was really terrific also. I would go on this trip again, on a different river though. The Primadonna is a first class ship, well-appointed and very comfortable.

Ellen L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

José M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The places visited was memorable, both: towns and hills.

Candace B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Danube Bike and Barge cruise was an enjoyable experience. The crew on the ship could not have been more attentive to our needs. How those folks got 129 bikes on and off so efficiently and with smiles was something to behold. The country side views and the little botagas along the way were a pleasant spot to stop and take it all in. The app made the route effortless to follow. The guided city tours were informative and exciting. An exceptional way to visit a city at a very reasonable cost. The paved paths with no vehicle traffic took any thoughts of danger off the table. It was pedal away and relax especially with the electric bikes that were top notch and very easy to maneuver. The food was presented and tasted like a Michelin star restaurant and a varied menu made choosing dishes difficult at times but our waiter obliged and we just had both. Now the most difficult part lies ahead deciding which bike and barge cruise we are signing up for next year.

Laura O.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a fabulous trip! We especially enjoyed Budapest, and having a full day there. I was unable to bike due to a recent injury, so did miss out on some things based on the times in the various ports and needing to get back on the ship. Also would have loved more time in Vienna (only half day).