Austria Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Innsbruck to Bolzano
    by Brent H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. The scenery was breathtaking and the hotels were in good locations close to the center of towns.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot Read more… more vegetables but overall was very happy with his meal planning. The dining room was a bit noisy with all the people chattering so this made it difficult to converse with some of the other people at our table. The waiters were outstanding in their hard work. We will definitely go on more of these trips as we enjoy being active on vacations. This trip was a wonderful experience and so enjoyable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the 4th of the boat bike trips we had done with Tripsite and I would say the best. Our guide Axel was amazing and being able to visit the many little villages along the Danube was wonderful. We had two rainy days right at the start but we all came prepared so was still great rides. Biking around Vienna was really incredible as there are many good bike paths however one had to watch carefully as there were also many tourists. Our visit to Budapest was also a major highlight. Our guide Axel walked with us up to Buda Hill to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion for the most amazing views of Pest at night. The Bastion was also a beautiful sight at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jeanne L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great family reunion and scenic vacation. E-bikes made it easy for less experienced bicyclists to keep up with trained cyclists. Nice to hear all 8 of us laughing while riding!

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Jane M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful. The extra excursions were popular with our group. The breakfasts were great.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Richard S. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great experience overall, will do another trip soon!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by David F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
    Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip. The bike trail, signage and printed guide was very good on the section from Passau to Vienna. If we were lost it was due to our own failure to read carefully. The section from Vienna to Budapest was not as clear. There was more road riding, confusing or absent signage, and detours due to construction projects. There were also several stretches where the ‘path’ was gravel/sand or old Roman road. We do not regret doing both legs, but learned that most people do only the first segment and we can understand why they make this choice. Luggage transfer was seamless and all of our hotels provided secure, inside bike parking. We also had great weather, which made the ride much easier.

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Deirdre S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Jerline S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic trip!!! Everything went smoothly. Want to return and spend extra days in some of the places!

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maria Tereza and Arturo 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Estela B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great tour, with wonderful cities to visit and scenic bike rides. The barge was perfect, great food and service. We enjoyed the evening music and dancing very much. A heat wave happened while we were there, so we had a great time on the sun deck
    I was not as happy with the bikes. I was in charge of a group of 25 and at least 6 of them had bike issues: brakes that worked only in the front or back, e-bikes that only assisted when pedaling at full throttle, and more. Even though we reported this, and we were told they would fix the bikes, in reality the bikes were not repaired by the next day, and it took time and effort to get them replaced. I expected more from Rad & Reisen, the bike company. Also there was very little instruction on how to use the e-bikes. My suggestion is to have a person at the dock on the first day to give a 10 minute one-on-one instruction on the e-bike and make the person do a little test ride. It was not as intuitive how to use them if you Read more… never have done it.
    Another issue that could have been better is a bigger, clearer map on how to get to the path from the barge location. That part is usually the hardest.
    All that said, it was still a nice, memorable trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Valerie P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a terrific trip. The scenery was outstanding and the bike trails were great fun. More biking would’ve been even better. The MS Arkona was a very nice ship, all recently remodeled and the staff all did a great job. I enjoyed all the breakfast choices. We would make our lunch at breakfast time to take with us for the day. Dinners were good but more salads would be a nice addition.
    Our boat was unable to reach Budapest due to low water levels. We were however taken by bus to Budapest and enjoyed a city bus tour. It made for a long day but at least we were able to see some of the city. This gave us more time in Vienna and an opportunity for a really fun afternoon bike ride there. Our tour director gave us excellent instructions for this ride since it was not part of the original tour itinerary. It offered shorter and longer distances that seemed to meet everyone’s needs.
    The directions in the map and narrative book were often lacking. I would Read more… recommend having turn by turn distances Incorporated. Generally, the morning briefing by the tour director was not much additional help. Questions by us to the tour director were often answered by “it’s in your daily program".
    It would be nice to have newer bikes. They were fine for the flat biking paths but would have been very challenging for anything with hills. They were heavy and some didn’t ride very smoothly.
    The optional Vienna concert was a bit of a disappointment. Although the music was nice I didn’t care for the venue. It was hot inside, the seats were very cramped and this particular theater was not very impressive.
    There is no free Wi-Fi despite an email from Tripsite confirming that there was.
    We were offered beverage packages which included bottled water.
    I drank the tap water on the boat and had no issues. I do feel that on an active trip such as this, unlimited chilled water should be available. We opted to forgo the beverage package and found the beer and wine reasonably priced.
    Laundry service on board would be a nice option.
    Having said all of the above, I would still recommend the trip and I would use Tripsite again.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by David R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to pick one part...The cycling and scenery each day was stunning. Vienna must be experienced. The staff and the food on the Arkona was outstanding.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mok L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik

    Ps
    Still like Tripsite’s

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Tim Devine 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Florence B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read more… Thanks to the help of a receptionist at the Courtyard Marriot in Linz, the company delivered replacement 21 speed hybrids(which we should have received in the first place) at our next hotel (we had to take the train to get there), which we used with no problems the rest of the way. The hotels provided by the company were excellent, and the travel maps adequate. We certainly will not go with this company again when we plan our next bike tour.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

    • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
      by Carla 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hello Florence -
      Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the confusion about the arrival meeting. As it states in our day-to-day information, an arrival meeting is based on your starting city. As you specifically requested start in Passau, there is no meeting included. We can, on request, try to organize this (for future reference). I cannot explain why you thought you had been given 7-speed bicycles. Our newer Bosch step-less gear bicycles had been delivered to you, which are not 7-speed bicycles. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with our bicycles. It's good to keep in mind that bicycles used on these tours are very good quality, but may be a bit heavier than what you are used to at home.
      Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we can assist you with your next cycling adventure and we'll do our best to avoid any surprises!
      Kind Regards,
      Carla at Tripsite

      Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Faith S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Michael S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Cheryl H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Phyllis C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
    There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laura W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

    And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

    We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

    I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
    The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
    The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
    We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dale K. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We biked the Danube, 7 days departing Passau and had one of the best weeks ever. Our cabin was beyond what we expected and very comfortable. The tour director gave us great information for our following days cycle. The dining both breakfast and dinner couldn't be faulted.
    A peaceful, relaxing week, where we only had to think about the experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anita G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Arkona was a lovely ship, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately The Danube River was low and we were bus to Budapest where we had a nice tour. The biking on the trip was scenic, and a lot of fun. Due to a change in itinerary we were shorted a day of biking but that was out of anyone’s control. The bikes could have been newer because they were not operating at their best.
    My e bike was wonderful but was grinding gears quite often.
    The food on the ship could have been better. Breakfast could have had more fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal with other breakfast specialties. The dinners lacked fresh salads. My favorite meal was when we were on the boat for lunch one day and had a fresh salad bar with soup and pasta.
    The tour guide on the boat could have been more communicative and answered questions more readily. The explanation of the bike riding should have included an overview map of the riding from point A to point B everyday.
    Overall the trip was Read more… good and the weather conditions with the Danube were out of the tour company’s control. The biking that we did do was spectacular!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lisa H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful bike paths along the Danube and the great food on the MS Arkona. Found the unguided bike tour confusing. Comfortable beds but loud vibrating boat motor at night made it impossible to sleep. Yay sleeping pills.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Prague to Budapest
    by Pamela B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful tour with many interesting & historic stops along the way. The portion in the Czech Republic included challenging terrain while the ride from Vienna to Budapest was fairly flat. The hotels were all unique and very different, from botels to spas to penzione. Locations were great, had delicious breakfasts and were clean with the exception of the last one, which I'll discuss later. This trip would have been perfect if a few simple things had occurred: we received detailed information for the trip the day we left for Prague. Since there were some modifications, I lost half a day in Prague getting those worked out. That easily could've been taken care of before we left if we had the detailed info sooner. When we arrived in Prague, the cycling company sent Maps.me files to load. Because of the types of phones we have, it again took some vacation time to figure out how to download. We discovered that these were imperative to smooth navigating along the Read more… routes so I recommend that those files be sent in advance. The only other disappointment was that the hotel in Budapest was very dirty with mold all over the shower floor and walls. We had been told we'd be in a much nicer hotel, but i'm assuming they were unable to book it. Fortunately, we had booked our extra nights elsewhere. Bottom line, I would recommend this trip with the modifications above.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kieron G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just finished this trip with another couple. First of all, remember that you get what you pay for. This cruise is much cheaper than Viking or Avalon or some of the others so you can't expect as much opulence or fine cuisine. That said, everything was fine. The food was good but not great. The walls to the cabins are thin so if the person in the room next to you is a loud talker, you will hear every word. Also, try to avoid the lowest level of rooms - the windows don't open and are noisier as you are close to the engine. The trip it self was great. The cycling was easy and scenic. We had Axel as our guide, and seriously, he ruins you for any other guide. If we went on another cruise, it would have to be with Axel - any other guide would suffer in comparison I suspect. He is Austrian with a very keen sense of humour (He would have to be as he is an Arsenal fan). He went above and beyond.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC