Austria Tour Reviews — 211 to 240 of 602

4.6 out of 5

 


Michael S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

Cheryl H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Phyllis C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

Deirdre R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful

Laura W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

I highly recommend this trip!

Kathryn G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

Jennifer G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

Dale K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

We biked the Danube, 7 days departing Passau and had one of the best weeks ever. Our cabin was beyond what we expected and very comfortable. The tour director gave us great information for our following days cycle. The dining both breakfast and dinner couldn't be faulted.
A peaceful, relaxing week, where we only had to think about the experience.

Anita G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The MS Arkona was a lovely ship, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately The Danube River was low and we were bus to Budapest where we had a nice tour. The biking on the trip was scenic, and a lot of fun. Due to a change in itinerary we were shorted a day of biking but that was out of anyone’s control. The bikes could have been newer because they were not operating at their best.
My e bike was wonderful but was grinding gears quite often.
The food on the ship could have been better. Breakfast could have had more fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal with other breakfast specialties. The dinners lacked fresh salads. My favorite meal was when we were on the boat for lunch one day and had a fresh salad bar with soup and pasta.
The tour guide on the boat could have been more communicative and answered questions more readily. The explanation of the bike riding should have included an overview map of the riding from point A to point B everyday.
Overall the trip was good and the weather conditions with the Danube were out of the tour company’s control. The biking that we did do was spectacular!

Lisa H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The beautiful bike paths along the Danube and the great food on the MS Arkona. Found the unguided bike tour confusing. Comfortable beds but loud vibrating boat motor at night made it impossible to sleep. Yay sleeping pills.

Pamela B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

This was a wonderful tour with many interesting & historic stops along the way. The portion in the Czech Republic included challenging terrain while the ride from Vienna to Budapest was fairly flat. The hotels were all unique and very different, from botels to spas to penzione. Locations were great, had delicious breakfasts and were clean with the exception of the last one, which I'll discuss later. This trip would have been perfect if a few simple things had occurred: we received detailed information for the trip the day we left for Prague. Since there were some modifications, I lost half a day in Prague getting those worked out. That easily could've been taken care of before we left if we had the detailed info sooner. When we arrived in Prague, the cycling company sent Maps.me files to load. Because of the types of phones we have, it again took some vacation time to figure out how to download. We discovered that these were imperative to smooth navigating along the Read More

Kieron G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My wife and I just finished this trip with another couple. First of all, remember that you get what you pay for. This cruise is much cheaper than Viking or Avalon or some of the others so you can't expect as much opulence or fine cuisine. That said, everything was fine. The food was good but not great. The walls to the cabins are thin so if the person in the room next to you is a loud talker, you will hear every word. Also, try to avoid the lowest level of rooms - the windows don't open and are noisier as you are close to the engine. The trip it self was great. The cycling was easy and scenic. We had Axel as our guide, and seriously, he ruins you for any other guide. If we went on another cruise, it would have to be with Axel - any other guide would suffer in comparison I suspect. He is Austrian with a very keen sense of humour (He would have to be as he is an Arsenal fan). He went above and beyond.

Denise G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a mixed experience on this trip, having completed two other bike and barge trips on smaller boats (and smaller waterways). This is a wonderful region for riding - much of the route follows bike paths that parallel the river and provide gorgeous views of river towns. Unlike our other trips, participants ride on their own without a guide, and this worked well for us. Because the boat travels from Passau to Budapest and back again, there is quite a bit of travel time on the boat. At times, we enjoyed watching the scenery, but this also meant that our time on land was quite limited. Food was decent and several options were available at each meal. The dining room was noisy and it does take quite a bit of time to serve everyone, with the staff clearly working hard! During our tour, there were engine problems which resulted in a change in itinerary. The company struggled to manage this and identify reasonable options. In the end, they have promised us a partial refund, which seems quite fair. We would have preferred that this offer had come sooner in the process, without the numerous conversations that were needed to help the company understand the concerns of passengers.

Dan C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

Lois K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The entire trip was greater than expected! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate. The gorgeous Danube!

Lori C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

Gail W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving

Wendy T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

Melody S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

We decided to have our honeymoon on the St. Morritz to Innsbruck self-guided bike tour. We are so happy we did as the scenery was beautiful and the people we met along the way made it memorable. I recommend staying an extra night in St. Morritz so you can take the gondola up the mountain (free from the hotel when you stay 2 nights) to hike and enjoy the views. The bikes were sturdy and had the gears necessary for the hills. Bring your own helmet for this tour as they are not available to rent.

Earl W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Best part of the trip was bicycling through the scenic Wachau wine region. The views of the Danube River and vineyards were magical. Views like you see in PBS commercials for Viking cruises. Bratislava was the most pleasant surprise. A beautiful city with an active cafe culture that is not as big and intimidating as Vienna.

If you are unsure of your bicycling skills consider the hop-on hop-off tour option for Vienna instead of the bicycle tour. The crowds and heavy traffic make the bicycle tour slightly treacherous.

The hardest bicycling day ironically was the first day with steep hills up to the Mauthausen concentration camp and the Clam Castle both of which were worth seeing. If you question whether you are in good enough physical condition for this trip rent the electric bikes, they make a huge difference.

Susan W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I would highly recommend this trip. The food was fantastic. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cycle route were scenic and enjoyable. I would definitely do another.

Janet C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Austria, Germany

Riding along the Danube river was fantastic! We loved all the port cities and the scenery was picturesque. Our favorite memory of the trip was being able to explore on our own each day. Guiding ourselves on the daily rides was challenging but very rewarding. Usually we saw our fellow shipmates along the way and had lunch companions for our daily Danube picnics!

Paul H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What an unforgettable trip! We were able to take our 75 year old dad and he cycled the whole thing easily. The touring days in the cities were full, overwhelming, and inspiring for someone who's never seen the rich history of Europe. Cruising down the river while eating a 4 course dinner was a perfect finish to cycling though forests and orchards all day. It was a perfect combination of cycling, cruising, relaxing and sight seeing. I would recommend it to anyone!

Paula H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip provides a chance to explore the rural areas along the Danube by bike and to visit the great cities of Budapest and Vienna. There is a lot packed into this trip.

Sherry D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a perfect way to spend a holiday. The food was AMAZING! The staff was personable, kind, and so very efficient with all they do. I was pleasantly surprised with all the paved bike paths and the number of cyclists out traveling on vacation. It was inspirational to interact with them along the way. Thank you, Normandie and staff. We had a fantastic time!

Sandi B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Cycling past the remnants of the Iron Curtain. WOW!
There were so many highlights, but having Axel as our guide certainly added a great deal to our daily rides. Thanks Axel!

Diane W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The beautiful scenery along the river was the most memorable part of the trip. We also loved all the little cafes right by the path for lunch and breaks.

Ursula T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking along the Danube and in the evening sitting watching the sunset on the top deck. I would like more time on the bike, but happy we got to see so much!

Tracy F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The entire trip was wonderful! The food was great, accommodations were perfect and the scenery is spectacular.

Andrea S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!