Austria Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Lynn F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our second trip ( the Danube to Vienna) was different, but equally as nice. This time the “barge” was a huge river boat (a la Viking), but that was OK. The scenery was lovely, the little towns quaint, they could have done better with the information about our route, but I guess it was OK. A bit different in that the boat traveled at night and moved us up the river to our next starting point. Again, the food was great, the passengers friendly... only one rainy day that time... not bad! I’ve told friends about this company and I look forward to our next trip with Tripsite!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Martin K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Biking the Danube with castles on the hills

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Eliz P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the experience of the bike and barge itself, as well as the scenery, the evening dining, and the fellow bike travelers. One tip would be to do your research ahead of the trip for cities where the boat docks (as in Budapest & Vienna) to be able to make the most of your time there. Overall, great experience; would definitely recommend this bike & boat trip along the Danube...

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through the little villages and getting a sense of how people actually live from day to day. All the senses are stimulated- smelling the fruit trees, feeling the wind, hearing the laughter and different languages, touching the handcrafted cloths, and of course experiencing all the sites and lights as you float along at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jacques B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite made our first bike tour so memorable we have booked another one for next year. It was perfect!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vern O. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was "The Entire Trip"!!! We met so many wonderful people. Our guide Jürgen Gehrke was "The Best"!! So much fun and really went above and beyond taking our group on special tours and always knowing the best Pubs for "The First of The Day"!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Exploring new places in a relaxing way and getting exercise at the same time.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful and we had lots of fun. Two things I would mention to people planning to do the trip 1) Realize that there is only time to see 1 or maybe 2 of the many sites listed for any given day. There is a small window of time that the barge will be in dock. We had envisioned having a leisurely ride seeing all these great sites and getting back to the barge by the end of the afternoon but thats not how it works. 2) Pay attention to whether you bought bike insurance through Tripsite b/c the barge staff will also sell it and they don't seem to know whether you have it already. We couldn't remember and the wifi was so bad that we couldn't verify so we ended up double paying for it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jane F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every minute of this trip was amazing. Would do it all over again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Laura M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking beside Lake Constance, stopping for a beverage along the way and the complete satisfaction of a great week! And as always spending time with great friends!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nita W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and two friends are not hard core cyclists and found our jaunt down the Danube, from Passau to Budapest just the right degree of difficulty, enjoying the Hospitality aboard the My Story when not exploring by bike. Sufficient time was allotted to get to the next boarding spot and it was wonderful to compare the days adventures with our English speaking table over a tasty dinner. I loved not having to pack and unpack as one does on many tours. Our berth was tiny, but not much time is spent there besides sleeping.
    My low point for the trip was the onboard entertainment. Then again, I’m just not a big ABBA fan or fan of one man band keyboards. Others seemed fine with it. The staff created a fun international atmosphere and pirate night was a blast. We Canadians were largely responsible for that. One of us in particular.
    The additional excursions were worth it. I’ll not forget the schnapps and goulash and wild dulcimer music in Budapest!
    I did Read more… fine riding Vienna somewhat challenging as I’m not used to city cycling, but it was optional. I loved the hop on hop off in Budapest. Loved the quaint statues and architecture of Bratislava. Loved riding the wine region in Austria.
    We four talk gloat about this trip with such fond memories, it was a truly amazing, friendship time -literally!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was wonderful being with the tour guide, both relaxing and visiting places we would not have found on our own. The wine tasting and lunch stops were great. Also, we had a very blustery day and our guide found a route to get the wind behind us instead of sideways! There were a couple of issues with government closing roads and the staff got us where we needed to be on time regardless of the intrusion. Wonderful barge, great food and awesome people in our group.
    Our second trip with Tripsite.....we plan on a third next year!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Janis B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Suzanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bikes were in terrible condition. My while broke down with 10 miles left on the first day. My wife’s bike had a flat that the crew was just going to fill with air. My sister-in-laws bike broke down 5 miles out on the third day. Food was poor. Very few English speakers among the crew. Directions and maps for the rides were poor or non existent. When we complained we were told. “Well you made it back didn’t you?”

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laney B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our bike tour guide was terrific. It was wonderful to not have to worry about missing sites. Riding in Vienna was made easy by 2 tour guides. Our group was like family by the end of the trip. The director of the boat made sure we made it to the opera night on time despite heavy traffic and extra security due to an important government meeting. Our rooms were immaculate. Our second trip with Tripsite and we plan on doing another next year!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Innsbruck to Venice
    by Kathy Feeley 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We found the signage very poor on this tour especially getting out of Verona.We ended up out in the suburbs for 3 hours and wasted half a day,getting tired and frustrated.Please improve this ,it would make the trip more enjoyable.Green arrows need to be much more frequently placed.Sometimes we got to a T intersection and even with the instruction book had no clue which way to turn.
    Bikes were great!
    Hotel in Padua was not in a nice area,though close to the station.Did not feel safe at night given all the refugees hanging around outside the hotel
    Generally the hotels would be better if they were closer to the town center in each city
    Scenery lovely ,some great countryside and villages.Enjoyed the trip but stressed out looking for green arrows that we often could not find.Definitely need GPS.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

    • Innsbruck to Venice
      by Carla from Tripsite 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Kathy - Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the trip overall. I wanted to point out that for this tour, and many other tours, we can offer GPS tracks. Cycling with GPS makes for stress free cycling! Even if you make the wrong turn, the GPS will redirect you correctly. You can download the tracks onto your GPS device or an app on your smart phone. Here is a really great blog about riding with GPS.

      Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Allison B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Quaint towns, lovely countryside, old world charm. Our trip will linger in our minds.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Innsbruck to Bolzano
    by Barry N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It’s quite difficult to review this trip as there were many great experiences like the scenery after we escaped the narrow valley from Innsbruck to about Imst but there were some cons. In the beginning of the trip we felt the cycle path, even though fantastic to have, was often too close to the railway or an autobahn (and the associated noise) to make for wonderful riding.
    The hotels and half board were mostly good but some noisy and the one in Imst not only noisy but also the food was definitely (for half board), poor.
    Some hotels were standouts - the small excellent hotel in Mals and the food in the hotel in Meran.
    The guides were not accurate with addendums with corrections and GPS (as per our previous bike trip) would have been better.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Marisa C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was awesome. The bike trails were excellent and we were so much in contact with nature that we couldn't believe it. Everything was very well organized and the villages and cities we visited were great. No complaints except for the Flamenco Hotel in Budapest, which was not as expected. We had to have our breakfast in the lobby sitting on a sofa because there weren't enough tables for all the guests. They didn't refill the breakfast buffet and no one took care of the spills on the tables. Besides the rooms were old and smelly.
    But it was just a hotel and we will definitely do more of these trips in the near future because it was a great adventure and a memorable experience! I really recommend Tripsite.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Stephen G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on board the ship was amazing, and at a higher quality more expensive competitors. I would definitely consider Rad und Reisen again.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC