Austria Bike Tour Reviews 121 to 150 of 651

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Cindy T. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read more… and get to the ship.

    As far as the bike routes, I prefer dedicated bicycle paths (not "sharrows") and loved every ride. Most were on dedicated paved paths, but some traversed through villages on very quiet roads. A few tips: Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Check your packed lunch at breakfast, which typically contained a veggie (cheese) sandwich, a cold cut sandwich, fruit, sparkling water, and a pastry. From the breakfast buffet, you can exchange the fruit and add a slice of meat to your veggie sandwich. If you don't like sparkling water, they will exchange that for bottled water at the reception desk. Dinner was good and I thought the portion size was reasonable given the four course meals (the soups were yummy!). Watch the tightness of the breaks on the bikes (the front break can launch you if you're not careful) but the bikes were in great condition. Plan ahead for your massage (which was fantastic). One came with the room and we purchased a second. We chose to skip one day of biking along the Danube, and we're pleased that we had plenty of time to bike around the town in the morning before the ship left port, get lunch, a massage, and a nap, and then bike around the new port we arrived in that afternoon.

    Thanks to all the crew on the MS Primadonna, who learned our names and favorite drinks by the second day! We miss you already.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by ALAN B. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Terry C. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by John H. 8 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic Value; super helpful staff. Only 80 riders. Very friendly guests attracted. Beautiful sights. Good food. Bikes heavy and clunky with no choice in quality except electric. Excellent trip overall.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by SUSAN C. 8 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Briefing by tour director daily with clear instructions on the following days ride. Highlighting and suggestions where to break for coffee and lunch, and points of interest along the way.
    Breakfast and evening meal was delicious.
    A great range of reasonably priced good quality bike attire, including wet weather jackets ,and bike helmets for sale.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Winifred T. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
    I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Sitaraman R. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travel agent was very helpful with late booking.
    Hotels were excellent.
    Bike company was excellent and helpful.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Karen F. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Slovenia
    by Jim S. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The support and coordination by tripsite was awful. The directions they provided were more like Escape Room Clues rather than directions. Tripsite directs us to a ferry across the river Muir which was closed which no alternative route. I would never use Tripsite again

    • Slovenia
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Jim,
      I am sorry to hear about this, especially because we didn't hear from you while you were on your tour. We provide emergency numbers (both of the local partner and Tripsite) to use if you run into problems while on your tour. Surely we cannot help it if a ferry is closed but we could have certainly helped arrange another transfer if you reached out to us.
      I hope despite this issue you still found the trip enjoyable.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve F. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
    Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
    Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
    We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Claudia B. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My favorite portion was the path from Vienna to Bratislava (and both cities were awesome to visit). We were mostly on the Danube and there were interesting sites along the way. My one suggestion is to let people know that most of the ride through Hungary is not along the river but includes long flat stretches of farmland. The final day going into Budapest was great with 3 ferry rides and a boat trip into the city.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dave U. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nancy U. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our table mates(who we had never met before) became our best friends for the week. We did all our rides together and had a great time visiting the different cities. We had brand new bikes of high quality that enhanced the experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Yvonne L. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeff F. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Anna F. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Veronica M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Alana B. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of the most memorable parts of the trip were all of the absolutely gorgeous roses we saw growing everywhere! It was a fairly easy ride although wish more of the route had been along the Danube! In a couple of spots, the signage was poor or nonexistent so that was a little challenging but overall it was delightful!

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan E. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike/Barge was a great way to spend time with family and see the sights of the Danube. Accommodation on the boat was comfortable, staff friendly and it certainly made for a very relaxing & easy holiday.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by John M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Comments are for the self-guided Danube cycle path Passau to Vienna with support by Austria Radreisen.
    Most memorable was riding through the small towns. Tips and suggestions: It was a little confusing how to leave the bike at the end of the trip, whether to lock it or not, would it be safe until returned to Austria Radreisen. We locked ours in the hotel inside parking spaces and left the key inside the panniers which we left in the hotel office. The hotel choice was good except in Linz it was very difficult to get there by bike; it was a big hotel and we would have preferred a guest house. The food was very good eating in hotel dining rooms everywhere except Traismauer where dinner was not available at the hotel. The "Danube Bike Trail" booklet provided by Cycline is a little confusing to read. We used a off-line map application (Locus) to find our way. I would have preferred a lighter bike and a single sided kickstand would have been better than the heavy double Read more… sided one. The booklet provided by Austria Radreisen contained a post-trip survey that had to be mailed in to them by post; there should have been a way to submit it by email and hence we did not complete that survey.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donncha O. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Cycling in dry weather; we got soaked one day

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by John W. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed the eight-day Danube Bike & Boat trip in June. Biking along the Danube through quaint villages and vineyards was a very special experience. Onboard our "floating hotel" we enjoyed the food, amenities, and camaraderie with like-minded and active people. If you are keen on an adventure, I highly recommend this one!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathie W. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Along the Danube- Four Country Tour aboard the Carissima- very large group on board and biking so lots of waiting and wading through the crowd. Cabin was clean and comfortable even labeled as ‘eco’ cabin. Food was excellent however many courses and supper would take up to three hours- too long. Drink package was highly encouraged but not necessarily economical. All coffee/tea was at a cost except for a brief time in the morning. Our guide was adequate however seemed to rush the biking limiting conversation and countryside observations. The tour director Albert was indifferent and not clear on what to do related to a tour bus that didn’t show up. It took quite a bit of arguing on my part to feel justified with the outcome to balance up the ticket cost as this was not made clear earlier. Staff seemed overworked and had favorites. I would recommend the trip as the countryside is beautiful but choose another barge/ship. Run by Rad/Reissen.
    All reservations Read more… and coordination through Trip Site- excellent in communication, coordination and cost information.

    Boat: Carissima

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Mark 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Kathie,
      We are thinking about booking this trip for next summer and were wondering if noise was a significant problem in your cabin? How noisy was the eco cabin? Did it interfere with sleeping? And was your eco cabin on the lowest or middle floors.
      Many thanks for your help and advice!

PWPC