Austria Tour Reviews — 121 to 150 of 853

4.4 out of 5

 


Jean-Yves B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The very nice villages on the Danube.

Trindl C.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

Leaving Innsbruck on the bikes was so exciting! It was wonderful to know that our luggage would be safely transported to the next hotel and we could just enjoy the scenery. The paths were well marked and going in and out of little towns was such a joy. The route was wonderfully planned and each day was just the right amount of biking. Definitely take time to swim in the Kalterer See. It felt so wonderful after a day of biking on a hot day.

John Stockwell
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Austria

My wife and I did this trip in August 2022. I basically chose it as it was the cheapest Danube Bike & Barge trip I could find (€769 high season) AND it included bike rental (beware this is an extra on most trips).
We were prepared for anything as it was a cheap trip but we had a great time. Primadonna was a comfortable boat and the evening meals and breakfasts were excellent. Our cabin was cosy but comfortable, let's face it, after a day's cycling you only sleep in it anyway. Each morning we were given a very tasty pack lunch (sandwich, cake, drink, fruit snack) which I never actually managed to finish it was so filling
We collected our (non-E) bikes around 10am on the morning of day two after breakfast. This process was pretty straightforward with staff on hand to adjust seat heights and brakes etc. They were very comfortable. From that point on we were away and cycling along by the river gazing at castles en-route to our late afternoon rendezvous with Read More

Maria M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

La capacidad de la tripulación de enfrentar cualquier cambio y hacer que el viaje sea maravilloso. La ruta es muy bella y el equipo del barco es como una gran familia qué hace todo lo posible para que disfrutes toda la experiencia. Mi única sugerencia es que podrían incluir una noche de karaoke.

Mark F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

The friendliness of the Czech people and the peace and quiet of the countryside and villages. The recreation of the bunker by the enthusiasts in Slup was very interesting. The towns en route were architecturally stunning.

Peggy D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It’s very hard to pick the “most” memorable…but probably the day of cycling through the Wachau Wine valley would top the list. The scenery was just magnificent that day. But truly, every day was beautiful, whether we were directly along the river, or cycling through farmlands. We upgraded to e-bikes this time, and that was definitely the right choice for us. The terrain is mostly flat, and the daily distances are not far, but having e-bikes made it more relaxing for us. I felt like I could linger in the small towns without having to check my watch to be sure I could make it to the boat on time. About half of the 90 passengers on our tour had e-bikes. Seeing the big cities was another highlight, but of course we only got a small taste of them. The staff of the Vivienne went out of their way to make us comfortable, and I can’t say enough about the food! Five course dinners every night, and everything was delicious.

Ya Wei A C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We will always remember the ride through the beautiful scenery of the Danube river, and the chance to meet so many people from different countries and learn the different cultures. We were also impressed with the crew members skill to get the barge thru multiple locks, the smooth ride on the boat. In addition, the tour director, Leslie's attention to details, Hans, the bike master to fix and adjust bikes for us. It was a wonderful experience for us. We loved the challenge to ride and comfort to be on a boat and relaxing afterwards. The only bad thing about the experience is to allow people smoking in the back of the sundeck and it would be best to make it nonsmoking tour.

Carol J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through small villages and seeing castles and gorgeous churches on the hillside.

Kevin
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

A wonderful experience! Lovely like-minded people on board, the staff were professional and very nice people, the boat comfortable and well appointed. Meals were outstanding and the entertainment was fun in the evening(especially 70s night). Bikes are well taken care of and suit the terrain well(glad I had an E bike and it was worth the supplemental fee). The time in the cities didn't seem long enough to visit many of the famous sites, but we knew this was the trade off in this type of adventure, and the time on board while travelling the Danube was easily spent talking with new friends or having a beer with the 7 friends I travelled with. The Trip Site staff were great in their support during the entire planning process, especially Claudia. Highly recommended

Robyn P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The boat, staff and experience were exceptional, plus the food and 5 or 6 course meals were incredible. This was a memorable experience for my group of eight. We loved every moment of this amazing bicycle trip along the Danube River through small villages, into large cities and along the peaceful beautiful Danube River. Our rooms were very nice with a good sized bathroom. We had plenty of room for storing our clothes and gear, even hiding our suitcases in the provided storage cabinet under our beds. The crew has thought of everything, they even have a small store on board to buy all sorts of gear, clothing and other items. They even lent helmets to those that wanted them - we had lugged our from home.

RONALD Z.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Leaving Wachova toward Tulln. The gentle rolling hills covered with terraced field of grapes; it was breathtaking.

Janet M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wow , what a well organized trip , our bikes were out every morning just waiting for us . The staff on the boat were fantastic, they are hard working people from different parts of the world . Very friendly and willing to help in anyway . I would recommend this trip and your company to everyone. The boat was very clean ,food was great and if you didn’t like a certain food they did a great job accommodating you . We will certainly be doing another trip with your company . Very please with or service . The scenery along the route was spectacular ! Beautiful countryside. I highly recommend this trip. Janet M

Wendy H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

THIS TRIP IS AMAZNG! This was probably one of the most beautiful trips I have ever been on and I have travelled to over 40 countries! The boat director, "Leslie" and the crew of the Vivienne were bar none in their service. The food was high grade, the boat clean and elegant and the crew was OUTSTANDING. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys food, art and FUN! Even on the hot days, Leslie and crew made it memorable. Loved the 70's party! Leslie proved over 200 outfits for the guests to wear and he was attentive to every guest, even with a broken wrist. THANK YOU for a the trip of a lifetime. You can be darn certain that I will be back! Such a great time! Thank you Tripsite and Rad-Riessan Eurocyle (spelling?) for making this happen All of the venues were amazing but the last ride in the wine country of Austria was spectacular! LOVED EVERY MINUTE! THANK YOU to the professionals at Tripsite, the crew of the Vivienne and Leslie the amazing cruise director. WIth much gratitude and appreciation, Wendy.

Virginia D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It would have nice to have access to a tire repair kit or at the very least, a way to contact bike repair shops that are open. It would have been nice to be able to order water and not have to pay $7 for a bottle. It would have been nice to have shorter rides so that we'd have time to stop and see the sights along the way.

Sharon W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Beautiful days of biking with great options for tours on the ‘rest’ days. Seeing a small part of Bratislava and Budapest was fascinating. Our cruise director Leslie offered great suggestions for unique restaurants, special tours for specific interests (historical, foodie, libraries, best photos of the area, etc. ). Onboard food was excellent with many tasty vegetarian choices.

Tim S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything went very well. The crew did an amazing job!

JAMES C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The biking was fantastic. The boat and crew made the whole adventure simply a great time.

LISA C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was outstanding! My room which was a standard was roomy. The ship was elegant. The stops were awesome so much to see. Our cruise director Leslie told us where to stop and placed arrows everywhere, making it easy to follow.

The food was delicious. We had. Choice of food. Loved the ice cream social.

The farewell party and costumes were a lot of fun! It seemed as if the crew was trying to do everything in their power to make a fun memorable trip!(which they did)

John S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We loved the SE Manon, its crew and the other travelers. We met many interesting people as we had a large group from Brazil and another from Norway on with us as well as the usual large group from Europe.

We choose to not bike in the large cities, but rather used walking tours in both Bratislava and Budapest and had a Vienna Greeter give us an interesting walking tour around their ring buildings. We felt comfortable using the local transportation in all three of these cities.

Jennifer G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip was great but we were disappointed our room configuration requests were not included in our hotel bookings. When we followed up after the first night the Tripsite employee suggested we follow this up. We didn't think this was very good customer service.

Nancy A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

We had long been looking forward to this Prague to Budapest cycling tour and it did not disappoint. The routes were well-chosen for ease of travel and for beautiful scenery and interesting touring. Our contact in Prague was on time for the briefing and gave us a good overview of the program; when we had questions, he responded quickly and helpfully. We added an extra day in each of Telc, Vienna, and Bratislava, which worked out really well to really absorb some of what those cities had to offer. The ride from Mikulov to Misselbach was a particularly busy, touristy day with lots to see and beautiful paths to connect them. The instructions we received for the second half of the tour were in a different format that took more work to review and absorb; unfortunately, this meant that we missed at least one site that we had been anticipating.

Joseph G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Mur Cycle Path
Austria

Excellent well marked bike path. Be prepared for rain.
Do your homework in advance to make plans for eating if there is a holiday and your lodging is not near an open restaurants or a grocery store.

Clara H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed going to three capital cities that we had not visited before, while being very active and seeing the countryside. The rides were not difficult but we were glad that we rented e-bikes for the occasional steep spots and headwind. We will definitely do a bike and barge trip again. Since we like sightseeing, next time we would look for an itinerary that includes more villages/places of interest and less long distance biking in isolated areas.

Carol H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip exceeded my every expectations from start to finish. The ship was more beautiful than than the brochure. The bikes were top quality although next time I will definitely get an e-bike. The crew & service were top notch! The meals & beverages were outstanding. I especially liked the different wine pairing at each dinner. The entertainment was eclectic, from soft piano during Tea & cake time, then kicked it up at nite for dancing. The pirate & 70’s theme nights were also super fun & unexpected. Everyday was a new experience. I especially liked our last day Krems - Melk and all the great villages, gothic towns, Vineyard’s, castles and breathtaking views.
The only thing I would change personally, is the guided bike tour in the city. Our tour guide was amazing, but I was so focused on riding the bike, due to lots of cyclist and lack of experience in city cycling and the rain, that I feel I missed out on lots. The next time I would due the walking tour or hop on - hop off! Thanks you for the great memories.

Gail F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The boat was very nice. Swiss Crowne. The crew and cruise director were wonderful, always very helpful. The food was very good. The only recommendation I would have is that the timing for the cycling and meeting the boat could have been better. We rode each day and we would have liked to have had more time while riding through some of the towns., The weather in the morning was a bit of a hindrance - but we realize that could not be helped. In the future I would prefer a trip that has guided cycling tours so we can get more historical background.

All in all, we enjoyed the trip, very relaxing and would recommend this trip for people who want a combination of cycling and touring.

Kevin A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a nice trip. The boat and staff were amazing. The scenery of the Danube was spectacular but the most memorable part of the trip were the other passengers!

Ron Goldberg
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was an absolutely amazing trip! I had high hopes from this tour and it even exceeded anything I could ever hope for. The boat was incredible, everything was beautifully decorated, our cabins we're really nice and well equipped, the sun deck was very pleasant and gave us a good place to take in all the beautiful landscapes we passed through, and the hot tub was a real treat! The staff was super friendly and professional, and the food was excellent. My need for vegan food was answered above any expectations, they really went out of their way to include me and give me the same dishes as everyone else but with a vegan version. The bicycles were excellent as well, very well maintained and they felt light and easy to accelerate even though they we're heavier than my own bike. I could really cruise in those bicycles with little effort. The routes were absolutely amazing and beautiful, the briefings were excellent and the app made it even easier to navigate (with added on map Read More

Assaf G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wonderful trip, actually; perfectly organized, very friendly and helpful staff, everything went by the book.
Especially admirable was the response of the kitchen staff to our demand for vegan food.

Daniel P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through the small Austrian cities was wonderful. The Se Manon cruise boat is well appointed and the boat floated down the Danube so quietly. The Staff on the SE Manon was eager, enthusiastic, talented and fun. We ate and we drank plenty. The Chefs and the Bartenders took good care of us.

Jim U.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great way to tour the Danube River valley with a good mix of active bike riding and the opportunity to visit cities such as Brataslavia, Budapest and Vienna by having a boat that can cover long distances while you are sleeping.