Austria Bike Tour Reviews 271 to 300 of 594

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Keith W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The camaraderie of our dinner table group. There were 12 of us from Australia, New Zealand, Canada & the U.S. and we had the best times together.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mari H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our Danube Bike and Boat trip. It was a perfect balance of freedom and guided travel. The pace was perfect and the crew and staff on the ship were great. We can’t wait to book another bike trip through you.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Pauline L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really loved going through the locks on the Danube and the rides everyday were fabulous with the detailed instructions. There was a castle, ruin, vineyard or cafe around every bend!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Linda T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cruising into Budapest at night. It was breath taking!!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Charlotte G. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful, unforgettable trip -- best part was biking into Vienna and spending the day hiking around seeing some fantastic scenery, buildings and people. Absolutely loved the boat. Some on our trip only spoke English and the staff on the boat quickly accommodated them when it became obvious those darn Germans (can say that being related and understanding what they were saying!) weren't going to shut up during the English trip briefing by moving the following days sessions into separate areas. I would certainly do another trip somewhere else sometime with this company!

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Doug N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip. We traveled with another couple and they also very much enjoyed the trip. Room on the boat was comfortable, food was good, bikes were good. A nice combination of fresh air, exercise and comfort. Have already recommended to others.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Elizabeth J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat, the crew, the accommodations, the other cyclists, and the tour itself were all first rate. My own group hired, in addition, a professional bicycle guide (comfort guided option), who rode with us and provided directions, historical information, and additional short trips to fill out the schedule. I would go again with Tripsite in a minute!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable part? Riding along the Danube!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pam C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    5th Bike trip along the Danube and still love it!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elisabeth P. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Because our overall experience was so perfect, flawless in every way, it is difficult to highlight just one part. The barge, the bikes, the staff, the guide, the food were all excellent and this holiday by far exceeded our expectations.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tom F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We so much enjoyed meeting so many people from all around the world with the same interest and passion for the sport thanks again.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Patricia Leonard 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Hi Cheryl, the tour guide will review routes every evening, so you can bring your tour book to the meetings and take notes. We only got confused once when a route was poorly marked, but even then we ended up on the correct path. Also, most young people in Austria speak perfect English, plus there are always other cyclists around for clarification. This was our first "self-guided" tour too, and it was fabulous!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Cheryl 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Pat, how was the "doing your own navigation? " my friend is afraid to go w/o a guide. Are you literally following the Danube? We're looking at may.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff were wonderful and attentive and the biking equipment was excellent. It was tremendously satisfying to enjoy this beautiful part of the world on bike and then return to the comfort of the boat each evening. Looking forward to the next trip!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Lorna T 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the cycling, the scenery was generally really lovely and revitalizing, with options to see different things.
    The food was very good (especially the fish dishes.)
    The staff were very pleasant.
    The bikes were good and the bike staff very helpful.
    The choice of outingings were very enjoyable.
    Overall it was a relaxing cycling holiday which was what I was looking for.
    I found that the Tripsite staff, (especially Carla), were very helpful in answering all my questions . Thank you!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike barge trip along the Danube in October 2017 was a great experience. Biking was fabulous, the paths we're all very good for the most part. The scenery was beautiful. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and all the accommodations made for us. The food was all nicely presented and abundant. Our group of eight friends definitely would like to do another trip! Great scenery, great exercise, and an overall wonderful experience!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Celia H. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was wonderful to have all the logistics taken care of. All we had to do was get up in the morning, have a hearty breakfast, get on our bikes and head out for a different adventure every day. Not too difficult!
    On board, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The ship amenities were great. Our on board entertainer was super and we danced most evenings.
    The cycling was scenic, varied and interesting and not too difficult. I liked the cruiser style of the bike. Sitting more upright made sightseeing while riding very easy. Overall a great experience that I can't wait to repeat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Danube River is beautiful. My most memorable day was the last one of our week, when we cycled mostly through parks along the Danube in Austria. Weather was pleasant and the quietude, along with the autumn colors and few remaining flowers, was spectacular.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laurence M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The daily rides were the perfect combination of distance and scenery. The ship and staff were excellent as was the food served in the dining room. We would definitely recommend this ride and cruise to our friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Shelly F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was our 35th anniversary and we had lots of alone time to tour ourselves but also met the nicest people on the boat

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery que sheets needed to be more precise. Several of us got lost on our last day and therefore couldn't tour the Melk Abbey. I was very disappointed we ended up biking 50 miles instead of 26.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Visiting the Wachau valley was my favorite part of the trip. Entertainment on the ship was the only down side and that was just a small part of the trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sue H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the first and last days a lot which were in the beautiful countryside along the Danube. It was good to see the cities but the visits too short to really visit anything in depth.
    I recommend the Mozart concert which I really enjoyed.
    I loved meeting people from other countries and wish we could have had meal seating change every couple of days to mix with other people who also were interested in meeting others.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Terence W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Favorite Part: A short cycling day through quiet, autumnal countryside, took us to Bratislava leaving us with oodles of time to spend exploring colorful backstreets and the rise to the impressive castle.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gary & Anne F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The comfort guide was somewhat disappointing and the on ship tour director was disorganized and dismissive. While the comfort guide did give some good suggestions, the bike tour through Vienna would have better been replaced by a bus tour, as the group was very large, traffic was heavy and the whole experience was somewhat dangerous to anyone not a very experienced rider. We were led to believe that the bike tour in Vienna would be easy, on nice paths , not crowded or busy, whereas the opposite was the case. The tour guide through Vienna, a local, did not wear an identifying vest, and travelled too quickly, More instruction for the riders not experienced with electric bikes would have been appreciated. A session especially on the electric bikes while on board the ship would be an improvement. We paid extra for a top level cabin, but it seemed to be nearly exactly the same as the cabins one level down. While the food was good, and the service was excellent, we wearied of the sauces Read more… typical of continental cuisine and the small salads. Bike lunches and water were good. Fresh fruit was available at breakfast.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Budapest
    by Dean Mitzel 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our third bike tour with Tripsite and we were glad we came back. We we were able to see 3 new countries for the first time (Czech Rep, Slovakia and Hungary) with the same excellent logistics, accommodations and food we experienced on our other two trips. Tripsite staff was there whenever we needed support in any country. We'll be back!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christopher 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The experience on the barge far exceeded the expectations for my wife and the other 6 members of the group. The quality of the food, the excellence (and friendliness) of service , and the outstanding visuals of the meal presentations were an absolute delight.
    If I were asked for recommendations (I left these comments on the end of cruise comment card), would be to improve internet service and to make sure there is at least one English speaking television channel available.
    Other than that, everything was wonderful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Waking up each morning at a new port in the middle of no where with castles and beauty all around. Tip: Take all the bottled water you are able to as not freely available (although I drank the ship's water and it was fine). Don't rely on internet.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a fantastic trip. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sidney P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was more than I expected. Just join in and enjoy life.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC