Austria Tour Reviews — 241 to 270 of 602

4.6 out of 5

 


Larry B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.

Tama L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

Peg Hanson
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I did the 7 day Around Lake Constance. This was my 4th Tripsite bike tour. I will list the positive things first.
I booked the Category 4 hotel package and was extremely pleased with all the hotels. Location was good for all except the Park Hotel in Uberlingen. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and was very difficult to find even after you saw the sign pointing the way!!
The breakfasts at all the locations were amazing and so beautifully displayed. A wonderful way to start the day!
The bikes were comfortable and almost brand new. Panniers, front bag and trip meter were all very nice.
Now the not so positive...
I had read all the reviews before booking and noticed the negative comments about the bike route directions. Since these comments were from a year and 2 years ago I assumed they had improved this info. NOT TRUE. The book with the routes is almost worthless. Getting from city to city was not always the problem but once in a city the Read More

Dean Y.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

Donald V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The staff on the boat were wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and hard working. The food on the boat was excellent. They consistently turned out perfectly prepared delicious meals. The bicycles were in excellent condition and performed perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Mary R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

Janene M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Each day of the tour had its own special treat. A castle one day, a palace the next. The opera experience in Vienna was amazing. A day cycling through the vineyards with a relaxing place to sample wines. Crossing the river through the lock. The guide always explains in advance the best places to visit on the ride.

Maxine W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

Maxine W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

Mary Beth R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Scenery was gorgeous, food was superb. Accommodations good.
If you took Albert out of the equation I would give much higher ratings. He was inadequate with trail details. His info was hard to follow on the maps. Someone described him as a Peacock. Very apt. The rest of the staff was very good although you need another person in the dining room. Way to many people for the amount of people serving.
Don’t advertise that you have WiFi....you really don’t .....

Janet H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wonderful time with friends. The maps and route descriptions need to be more exact.

Saundra F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The scenery, along our bike route was like a dream! So spectacular! I felt I could bike forever! We did a video of all of us peddling through the lush trees! It could be a commercial for happinesses!

Glenn S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Most Memorable Part: The scenery and history while cycling though the Danube river valley.

Carol J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The daily biking was wonderful. Every day was a new adventure with many different points of interest each day. A good variety of biking and places to see. Our guide was excellent. He was personable, extremely informative and shared all his knowledge of the area where we travelled each day. Juergen (sp?), our guide, was always patient, personable, enthusiastic and a lot of fun. Meals, staff and entertainment on the ship was excellent.....our beds were made up every evening and linens and towels changed daily as well....excellent job!!....my friend and myself booked a bike and barge through Tripsite last year and recommended to 16 other friends who booked with us for this trip this year. I will definitely recommend to others again for next year..... not sure where yet....but will be checking into that in the fall. Fabulous trip!!

James Lindsay
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

What a wonderful time! We did the 7 day self-guided tour in May and was better than we could have imagined. I had a good feeling from the moment of our pre-tour meeting with Lukas, (the local tour bike company) who had everything well prepared; maps for each day, route descriptions with helpful hints, shortcuts or longer route options, restaurant recommendations, bikes, and all the bike gear, including rear racks and bags! We had a few questions during the trip and they were very quick to respond and even gave us a heads of some weather to expect. Each day was different but filled with spectacular sites and castles in nearly every night's stop. Hotels were great and luggage transfer always showed up before we did. We saw amazing sites along the way and was a great way to fully experience the wonderful country of Czech Rep!

Sandra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

Amy Sandlin
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Wonderful trip! We did the self-guided tour option (and used the GPS coordinates from the tour company to help with directions). Everything about the trip went very smoothly, and someone from Europe Bike Tours was always quick to respond if we had any questions or issues during the trip. Every city we stayed in along the route had something interesting for us to see and do. The routes were long enough that we got the physical challenge we were looking for, but also had time to sight-see every day in each city. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Loved every day!

Thomas A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

Avace W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Having a guide who provided all the extra touches for touring for our perfect sized group of 10. Dinners on the boat were very dragged out with no opportunity to change tables and meet other guests. Food was beautifully presented, but the petite portions left me starving after a day of biking. I made sure to stock up on a big breakfast. Director made a big deal of tipping whereas this could have been explained ahead of time, so more time could have been spent on what to see in the quaint, darling villages. More info on what to see along the way would have enhanced the adventure. We did a lot of homework ahead of time on what to look for in each village and that helped us to appreciate the history and stories. Highly recommend a guide, but keep groups small for safety and management purposes.

Barbara C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our private guide, Axel, was excellent. I strongly recommend a guide because it took away all of the worry about maps, directions and getting lost. He was also very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the areas we visited. I would definitely do another bike tour with Axel.

Lou Ann C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery was amazing and fortunately, the weather cooperated and made it even more perfect. My only “suggestion” (not complaint) was that coffee was not available in the rooms. Being an early riser, a lot of us “seniors” prefer to have our coffee in the room while getting ready for breakfast! :).

Beverly B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most memorable part: Being on the water at night and looking out our bedroom window to see the Budapest Parliament bathed in a golden glow against the clear night sky.

Terrence Zito
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

Judith B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

Michael K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

Frank M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

Isabel V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

Suzanne P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

We really loved our ride from Innsbruck to Bolzano. The scenery through Austria was breathtaking and the hotel accommodation was excellent. We have not stopped telling our friends what an amazing time we had, all thanks to Tripsite.

Charles H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

Kathy S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We loved our trip on the Danube! From the first day to the last, we enjoyed the food, scenery and new friends. Would definitely recommend.