Austria Tour Reviews — 91 to 120 of 854

4.4 out of 5

 


GRACE M V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The stars at night from the boat sun deck were spectacular. The bike path along the river had beautiful views and occasionally wonder into small towns. Docked in Budapest across from Parliament which was a special sight at night. Reccommend bike tours of Vienna and Budapest and also eat at lovely restaurants

Shirley Donna S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Shirley Donna S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Maggie M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Easy to follow direction, mostly, cycling on designated bike paths so no worries about traffic. Great scenery.

Tracy W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Biking through the countryside of Austria, Slovakia, and Hungary offers an experience you can get no other way. Our group experienced an "insider's view" of these countries, towns and cities you can't get by car. If you want an immersive experience that leaves you fulfilled at the end of the day, biking is the way to go.

Helen C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Bicycling along the Danube cycling trail was such a great experience! The route maps were good for following our daily ride.

Margaret F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food on this ship was amazing - tasted good and also was amazingly presented. The staff was really terrific also. I would go on this trip again, on a different river though. The Primadonna is a first class ship, well-appointed and very comfortable.

Ellen L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

José M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The places visited was memorable, both: towns and hills.

Candace B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Danube Bike and Barge cruise was an enjoyable experience. The crew on the ship could not have been more attentive to our needs. How those folks got 129 bikes on and off so efficiently and with smiles was something to behold. The country side views and the little botagas along the way were a pleasant spot to stop and take it all in. The app made the route effortless to follow. The guided city tours were informative and exciting. An exceptional way to visit a city at a very reasonable cost. The paved paths with no vehicle traffic took any thoughts of danger off the table. It was pedal away and relax especially with the electric bikes that were top notch and very easy to maneuver. The food was presented and tasted like a Michelin star restaurant and a varied menu made choosing dishes difficult at times but our waiter obliged and we just had both. Now the most difficult part lies ahead deciding which bike and barge cruise we are signing up for next year.

Laura O.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a fabulous trip! We especially enjoyed Budapest, and having a full day there. I was unable to bike due to a recent injury, so did miss out on some things based on the times in the various ports and needing to get back on the ship. Also would have loved more time in Vienna (only half day).

Leslie D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Waking up to a new adventure every day. So easy to get on and off the boat and enjoy the various stops while biking.

Tom S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food was excellent. The sites from the biking parts of the trip were great. The crew were very approachable.

Gilberto M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The whole course along the Danube (Donau radweg) is amazing! ! One suggestion would be for the GPS to include more tips about the towns! In one occasion (ariving in Grein) the distance did not match becouse our hotel was quite far (around 8km) from the City (route destination) . The overall experience was great as all the three previous tours we did!

John G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip organisation was excellent. The hotels were comfortable and interestingly varied; everything from a pleasant boutique hotel in the centre of an Old Town to a rural hotel with tables and umbrellas on a riverbank in an idyllic setting.
Some of the towns/cities were buzzy and some very sleepy. Additional time - perhaps an additional day - in Vienna and Bratislava would be great, providing rest days and opportunities to explore - and perhaps avoiding some of the quieter destinations.
The cycle trails were, by and large, excellent; some long drags with somewhat uninteresting scenery, but balanced by superb tracks in beautiful countryside.
The bikes were sturdy but heavy and very solid, and this marred the cycling experience somewhat, the most disappointing part of the trip.
Overall definitely four stars.

Kathleen F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The scenery was so beautiful and all the hotels were very nice. The signage around the lake was confusing at times. There should be an option, for an extra fee, to have quality helmets provided along with having bikes delivered and picked up at hotels at beginning and end of tour.

Gillian F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The whole trip was fantastic despite two rainy, cold bike days which we survived wearing ponchos and smiles. The boat was extremely comfortable and well-appointed. We had the cabin with proper twin beds and big sliding door windows - very nice.

The e-bikes were excellent and although not super high-powered they were perfect for the terrain we were riding. They were very comfortable to ride. Any issue with the bikes was quickly dealt with.

Meals were superb, 5-star dining every day with a good choice. The cruise director was terrific, highly organized, and very helpful and his briefings were detailed and accurate. On 2 of the days, he rode with the 133 bikers because of high river levels to make sure we were all safe.

All city visits had options of bike tour, bus tour or do your own thing. Again the information about the cities at the briefings was detailed. The cruise director really knew the area.

The service on board was, at all times excellent and friendly - Read More

Anita S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Aside from the beauty, we sell along bike rides, I was totally impressed with how organized the stuff was on the boat. This was his regards to the trip trip information, and the bike set up. The food was phenomenal, the cabin was excellent, and the staff went above and beyond providing outstanding service. The atmosphere was very friendly and jovial. I honestly do not have any tips for others. Already a few of my friends are going to book this trip in the spring and summer next year based on my recommendations.

Tobi W.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Unfortunately ww had a lot of rain and some cold temps. However we still made it to the hotels every day!
Our hotels were wonderful and in great locations. GREAT VIEWS!
We also made a few wrong turns due to poor bike signs..
Overall..it was still a fun trip and glad we did it!

William H.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great boat, great crew. Great route. Only suggestion would be to mix dinner partners each nigh vs. sitting with the same people each meal. That way you would get to know more people.

Venise B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the scenic ride on day 1, 3 and 4
Day 2 was a good ride but not much to see much other than the farms….it was also a very hot day and no reprieve from the sun
The crew was amazing, the food delicious and plentiful, the activities on board enjoyable. Leslie is very knowledgeable and hardworking, he plans a very smooth trip! All the details of the trip are well organized
We really enjoyed our week on the Vivienne

Patrice I.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Well organized, accommodations, food and crew were all wonderful.

sara v.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every single part of it was wonderful! Very comfortable accommodations and great nights of sleep! Absolutely delightful bike rides! Great support for bike rides with maps, GPS download, salad and sandwich bar so we could make our own picnic lunches, delicious breakfast and dinners loved getting to see parts of four different countries And really enjoyed the tour options we were given in the different cities. I Cannot recommend it highly enough!

Lynette B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Austria

It was 8 days of awe! From the moment that we stepped on the boat the magic began. Biking along the Danube is something that we will never forget. Every town and the landscape is absolutely breathe taking.

The only suggestion I would have is to ensure that it is made very clear where the pick-up is for the bus transfer. We almost missed our pick-up.

Peter M.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

The bike tour went through amazingly beautiful and various countryside. The various roads were easy to ride on with very few other bikers. Daily distances were easy to moderate. Before doing this self guided tour, review the GPX tracks using an online software program that can also be used as an app (e.g. Komoot). The initial tour provided tracks weren’t all complete and most did not end at the actual hotel. A program like Komoot was invaluable in adjusting the tour for stops and the end point.

Neal M.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The first two days were very good as we cycled through farm land. After that we cycled above a river and the cycle path became much more difficult because the path sloped down toward the river and you had to work hard to keep the bike upright. I fell 3 times and ended up walking the bike. The step through bikes are very heavy and it was difficult to keep the bike upright on a sloping path. After several days of biking I requested a standard bike, not a step through. I was then charged over 200 euros for the exchange. This trip was our 3rd with with TripSite.

Eugenio R.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This incredible trip allows us to have a mix of beautiful natural views and amazing old towns. It’s not a tough biking, which is good because all the family can enjoy together.
Along the tour you will have the chance to enjoy the German and Switzerland gastronomy, which is a great point of this experience. I deeply recommend it.

thomas m.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The bike tour in Vienna was very good. Management did a poor job in communication. We were told conflicting information. We were surprised that the boat did not meet us in Passau and had to take an hour long buss ride. Food was from the region and Germans Austria are not as good as the Italian' s and French. Liver is not popular with us. We are spoiled with the other culture food.

NICKOLAS FILON F.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The itinerary was excellent and well selected, and the stages well judged.

We loved the inclusion of events, museums tickets. the vouchers were exxcellent!

For us the best part was the two excellent Hotels and amenities in Uberlingen (St Leonhard) and St Gallen (Einstein) - Many levels above the other Hotels selected - provided a welcome feel of quality and luxury. In general and in particularly for the less challenging tours as it is the Tour of Lake Constance, it would be good to offer at least two levels of options (and prices) with 3 ***/4 **** hotels and an option with 5 ***** stars hotels.

The one thing we did not like
, is the invariable time arrival of our luggage at the next destination. It was always 18.00 pm or slightly later. In case we arrived at our next destination earlier, that severely limited our options of what to do or even go for a swim as we have no alternative clothing options

Anna-Karin B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We had a lovely trip Vienna to Budapest! The organisation with bicycles, maps, app, and really great hotels were outstanding! We had extra nights in Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest and that was good to get rest days and also more time for cultural things. Luckily we brought swimsuits and towels in the saddlebags - Danube has great beaches and calm fresh water to cool down in. Hungary was a great positive surprise. The small towns Mosonmagyaróvár, Györ, and Esztergom was as taken out of a fairytale. Great food to good prices.
We had three days in Budapest and with the bikes we could easily discover all corners of the city. Magical evenings along the river in Budapest. The bustransfer back to Vienna went as smooth as everything else. We will surely come back!