Austria Tour Reviews — 91 to 120 of 813

4.6 out of 5

 


RONALD Z.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Leaving Wachova toward Tulln. The gentle rolling hills covered with terraced field of grapes; it was breathtaking.

Janet M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wow , what a well organized trip , our bikes were out every morning just waiting for us . The staff on the boat were fantastic, they are hard working people from different parts of the world . Very friendly and willing to help in anyway . I would recommend this trip and your company to everyone. The boat was very clean ,food was great and if you didn’t like a certain food they did a great job accommodating you . We will certainly be doing another trip with your company . Very please with or service . The scenery along the route was spectacular ! Beautiful countryside. I highly recommend this trip. Janet M

Wendy H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

THIS TRIP IS AMAZNG! This was probably one of the most beautiful trips I have ever been on and I have travelled to over 40 countries! The boat director, "Leslie" and the crew of the Vivienne were bar none in their service. The food was high grade, the boat clean and elegant and the crew was OUTSTANDING. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys food, art and FUN! Even on the hot days, Leslie and crew made it memorable. Loved the 70's party! Leslie proved over 200 outfits for the guests to wear and he was attentive to every guest, even with a broken wrist. THANK YOU for a the trip of a lifetime. You can be darn certain that I will be back! Such a great time! Thank you Tripsite and Rad-Riessan Eurocyle (spelling?) for making this happen All of the venues were amazing but the last ride in the wine country of Austria was spectacular! LOVED EVERY MINUTE! THANK YOU to the professionals at Tripsite, the crew of the Vivienne and Leslie the amazing cruise director. WIth much gratitude and appreciation, Wendy.

Virginia D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It would have nice to have access to a tire repair kit or at the very least, a way to contact bike repair shops that are open. It would have been nice to be able to order water and not have to pay $7 for a bottle. It would have been nice to have shorter rides so that we'd have time to stop and see the sights along the way.

Sharon W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Beautiful days of biking with great options for tours on the ‘rest’ days. Seeing a small part of Bratislava and Budapest was fascinating. Our cruise director Leslie offered great suggestions for unique restaurants, special tours for specific interests (historical, foodie, libraries, best photos of the area, etc. ). Onboard food was excellent with many tasty vegetarian choices.

Tim S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything went very well. The crew did an amazing job!

JAMES C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The biking was fantastic. The boat and crew made the whole adventure simply a great time.

LISA C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was outstanding! My room which was a standard was roomy. The ship was elegant. The stops were awesome so much to see. Our cruise director Leslie told us where to stop and placed arrows everywhere, making it easy to follow.

The food was delicious. We had. Choice of food. Loved the ice cream social.

The farewell party and costumes were a lot of fun! It seemed as if the crew was trying to do everything in their power to make a fun memorable trip!(which they did)

John S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We loved the SE Manon, its crew and the other travelers. We met many interesting people as we had a large group from Brazil and another from Norway on with us as well as the usual large group from Europe.

We choose to not bike in the large cities, but rather used walking tours in both Bratislava and Budapest and had a Vienna Greeter give us an interesting walking tour around their ring buildings. We felt comfortable using the local transportation in all three of these cities.

Jennifer G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip was great but we were disappointed our room configuration requests were not included in our hotel bookings. When we followed up after the first night the Tripsite employee suggested we follow this up. We didn't think this was very good customer service.

Nancy A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

We had long been looking forward to this Prague to Budapest cycling tour and it did not disappoint. The routes were well-chosen for ease of travel and for beautiful scenery and interesting touring. Our contact in Prague was on time for the briefing and gave us a good overview of the program; when we had questions, he responded quickly and helpfully. We added an extra day in each of Telc, Vienna, and Bratislava, which worked out really well to really absorb some of what those cities had to offer. The ride from Mikulov to Misselbach was a particularly busy, touristy day with lots to see and beautiful paths to connect them. The instructions we received for the second half of the tour were in a different format that took more work to review and absorb; unfortunately, this meant that we missed at least one site that we had been anticipating.

Joseph G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mur Cycle Path
Austria

Excellent well marked bike path. Be prepared for rain.
Do your homework in advance to make plans for eating if there is a holiday and your lodging is not near an open restaurants or a grocery store.

Clara H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed going to three capital cities that we had not visited before, while being very active and seeing the countryside. The rides were not difficult but we were glad that we rented e-bikes for the occasional steep spots and headwind. We will definitely do a bike and barge trip again. Since we like sightseeing, next time we would look for an itinerary that includes more villages/places of interest and less long distance biking in isolated areas.

Carol H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip exceeded my every expectations from start to finish. The ship was more beautiful than than the brochure. The bikes were top quality although next time I will definitely get an e-bike. The crew & service were top notch! The meals & beverages were outstanding. I especially liked the different wine pairing at each dinner. The entertainment was eclectic, from soft piano during Tea & cake time, then kicked it up at nite for dancing. The pirate & 70’s theme nights were also super fun & unexpected. Everyday was a new experience. I especially liked our last day Krems - Melk and all the great villages, gothic towns, Vineyard’s, castles and breathtaking views.
The only thing I would change personally, is the guided bike tour in the city. Our tour guide was amazing, but I was so focused on riding the bike, due to lots of cyclist and lack of experience in city cycling and the rain, that I feel I missed out on lots. The next time I would due the walking tour or hop on - hop off! Thanks you for the great memories.

Gail F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The boat was very nice. Swiss Crowne. The crew and cruise director were wonderful, always very helpful. The food was very good. The only recommendation I would have is that the timing for the cycling and meeting the boat could have been better. We rode each day and we would have liked to have had more time while riding through some of the towns., The weather in the morning was a bit of a hindrance - but we realize that could not be helped. In the future I would prefer a trip that has guided cycling tours so we can get more historical background.

All in all, we enjoyed the trip, very relaxing and would recommend this trip for people who want a combination of cycling and touring.

Kevin A.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a nice trip. The boat and staff were amazing. The scenery of the Danube was spectacular but the most memorable part of the trip were the other passengers!

Ron Goldberg
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was an absolutely amazing trip! I had high hopes from this tour and it even exceeded anything I could ever hope for. The boat was incredible, everything was beautifully decorated, our cabins we're really nice and well equipped, the sun deck was very pleasant and gave us a good place to take in all the beautiful landscapes we passed through, and the hot tub was a real treat! The staff was super friendly and professional, and the food was excellent. My need for vegan food was answered above any expectations, they really went out of their way to include me and give me the same dishes as everyone else but with a vegan version. The bicycles were excellent as well, very well maintained and they felt light and easy to accelerate even though they we're heavier than my own bike. I could really cruise in those bicycles with little effort. The routes were absolutely amazing and beautiful, the briefings were excellent and the app made it even easier to navigate (with added on map Read More

Assaf G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wonderful trip, actually; perfectly organized, very friendly and helpful staff, everything went by the book.
Especially admirable was the response of the kitchen staff to our demand for vegan food.

Daniel P.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through the small Austrian cities was wonderful. The Se Manon cruise boat is well appointed and the boat floated down the Danube so quietly. The Staff on the SE Manon was eager, enthusiastic, talented and fun. We ate and we drank plenty. The Chefs and the Bartenders took good care of us.

Jim U.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great way to tour the Danube River valley with a good mix of active bike riding and the opportunity to visit cities such as Brataslavia, Budapest and Vienna by having a boat that can cover long distances while you are sleeping.

Denise L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The biking was certainly the highlight. Loved it. The boat was great, rooms good sized ,staff lovely. Food was not great but ok for price. The vegan in our party was not planned for but chief did his best. Overall certainly recommend.

Lori I.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This bucket list trip does not disappoint. One week of magic. Unpack once and you are good for the week which was a huge part of the magic. Every day was different. Cycling through villages and towns, or wineries and vineyards, or just along the river. The two 'rest days' were filled with walking around Vienna and Budapest and seeing all the sites we could. Food on board was exceptional and the service of the staff exemplary. We also liked that there was time in towns/cities to also eat local food during the day and a few days the boat was docked at dinner as well so although food was prepaid for all meals - we liked that we could also experience local cuisine. It was a mostly German speaking boat or week but we did have about 30 English speakers and the staff all spoke English so that was helpful to us. The routes were good (but we did have to crowd source a bit to not get lost). There is not really anything to do on the boat per se - but the scenery was Read More

Shirley Elizabeth C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I have done multiple boat/bike tours now and this trip was definitely everything I had hoped for. The experience onboard was outstanding, the bicycle routes were excellent and the optional excursions I chose were fun. The bicycles were perfect. This was my first ebike experience.

Stephen G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We were very fortunate that we had beautiful weather the entire trip, except for a brief hail storm as we returned to the barge in Bratislava. The alternate days of biking and city touring was excellent in that it allowed time to recover from saddle sores, and the e-bikes were very comfortable for the long distances we biked. The crew was fabulous and accommodating to every need, and the Cruise Director (Leslie) made sure we were prepared and had everything we needed to make our biking a pleasure and free of stress.

Kim W.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a fantastic trip! The boat was great and the crew was the best. Meal were great and nicely served - significantly past my expectation for a trip focused on biking. If you are doing this trip, here are some things I wish I had known....

- You will spend more time on the boat than you might think - pack clothes for that and excursion days as well as what you were for biking

- Speaking of clothes, it is hard to get things to dry if you wash them out by hand - there is a clothesline in the shower but bring your own clips

- You won't have much shore time on biking days or excursion days, so don't bother looking up 100 things to do in a city. Think in terms of a few hours not a whole day

- That being said, I would suggest setting something up on your own in Vienna in the evening - especially if you are into Classical Music - that is, after all, the town for it. We went to the ballet and it was wonderful. Our friends went to the Opera - you might Read More

Jeffrey O.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The lodging and breakfasts were terrific, especially in Vienna, Bratislava, Gyor and Budapest. The bikes were very good; in excellent condition with good features. We have biked all over Europe along the main rivers, including the Danube. We expected to ride along the Danube more on this trip, but realize that Eurovelo does not have bike paths close to the river, for most of the trip from Vienna to Budapest. We did the Athletic tour which was good for us, but we did have challenging weather (rain, wind, cool temperatures) on one day.

Eitan G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The magical moments were riding in avenues of trees along the Danube, on paths in the villages in northern Hungary, the old city In the stunning giyor and in all of Hungary it is a complete surprise in the landscapes and the historical cities.

Habib R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Great trip. I was hurt on the first day and had to ride to my destinations with my luggage in the van. The van drivers were kind and helpful. I appreciate Tripsite making this possible for me.

One suggestion: travelers are required to pay the city tax when they check out. If would be good if this were included in the cost of the trip.

Jane S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

So many memorable moments. Beautiful ship, quite luxurious, wonderful food, spectacular towns and villages along the Danube and Vienna! What a place. I loved the classical concert in L’Orangerie at Schönbrunn Castle and the scenery between Krems and Melk. I had to pinch myself several times as I was cycling through Austria along the Danube. I had done the tulip tour on the Iris the previous week which was great too but harder cycling and not such good weather. I also didn’t use an e-bike in the Netherlands and had some pretty strong winds and long days cycling. So the Swiss Crown tour was a more relaxed week and totally different. The e-bike made it pretty easy too and the self guided tours made it easy to stop at more places along the way.
I know the Swiss Crown tour director, Jurgens, aka Ding Dong!, had to deal with some staffing issues during my week on board but he made everything so easy in spite of working lots of extra hours. There was a much bigger group Read More

Arik L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The elected rout of the tour was the best we can think of . The views, the panoram, the environment... Everything was very beautiful and enjoyable.
Most of the hotels were very good including the breakfasts. The best of all was the one in St Gallen, but the others were more than sufficient.
In regards to the bikes... Well we are used to Carbon or even Aluminum bikes with full suspension. The bikes we got were Irone ones, very heavy and with no shock absorbers, nor in the front neither in the tail. It caused the biking to be uncomfortable in spite of the fact that 95% of the roads were padded...
Regarding the OFF ROAD GPS SOFTWARE.. It quite Allright But it didn't guide us to the hotels so in order to get there we needed to use Google map