Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour Reviews 121 to 150 of 202

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rinske B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly especially our guide Tom Stout, and the sailor Joop was a fount of information with regard to ships and harbours.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Elisabeth D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was more than I expected, but especially the knowledge and good humor and patience of our guide Tom.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Arden C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable parts: Cycling, getting to know the Yannie our fearless guide, the other guests and crew. Tip: Have a comprehensive wifi connection on your phone or pad.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Linda Wilson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    On the Fiep June 3 - 10, 2017. Coba, Gerard, Franco, Karen, Ilse and Laura were our crew and guides. I cannot imagine better. Our passenger group was wonderful. The best vacation ever and I am ready to go again soon.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bev V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was the camaraderie with staff and participants while riding through beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Teresa L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I loved biking through different scenery - quaint villages and towns, beautiful forests, farmland and countryside. It is the perfect way to see parts of Belgium and Holland. You can go at your own pace because the trails are so well marked. The barge is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff, they were excellent. I definitely recommend this trip and can't wait to do it again!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Arja L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II and staff were more amazing than we expected! The bike routes were absolutely beautiful with very well planned and laid out maps. Overall a very memorable experience that I am highly recommending to every one I talk to.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Cindy M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Directions were terrible for Amsterdam and the last two days there were not the number routes we needed on the intersections so was confusing. All hotels were good but one was a dive and not nice. Hotel Piccard.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Robert E. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the friendliness, patience and helpfullness of the staff!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Spencer H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge crew were exceptional. The cook treated each guest as a friend. Accommodated our request for a birthday cake. He even baked it on his own time. The scenery was exactly as anticipated.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Margeret M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I cannot say enough about the whole trip. The Barge accommodations were perfect for all my needs, the food aboard the MS Fluvius was way beyond what I expected - such a variety and the quality and quantity were superb. The staff on board could not have been more obliging - so eager to help so much fun. Our Guide was just simply the best (Jack/Jacques) knowledgeable and helpful, concerned always for our safety and our enjoyment. All our stops for coffee breaks and lunch breaks were also well planned. Would I recommend this trip to my friends? You Bet!! Look forward to going again - Thanks Tripsite

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Trudy D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike-friendly paths through magnificent landscapes in Belgium and the Netherlands was outstanding.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michele Y. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of this trip was our impromptu swim off the boat. Jumping from the top and getting 22 of us in the water including the Captain.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Maria P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a wonderful way to see the country. Wonderful fellow travelers and the crew couldn't gave been more accommodating . So much fun!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Eldon W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    LIa is the best guide we've ever worked with - well informed, good managing people, qualified in every way; and went well beyond what she had to do in her position. All the riding - even in the rain and varied road surfaces - was extremely pleasant.

    Because Lia is an exceptional guide; on this trip one guide for up to 30 cyclists worked well. In most cases, however, I think having only one guide for this large a group - especially a group with many novice riders - is bad practice. Also, a water bottle cage and a cyclometer on the bike would have been nice.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hello Eldon,
      We are glad that you had a great time and think highly of Lia! We do agree that a second guide, especially for larger groups would be preferable, however, because of the nature of the tour and the fact that many people do opt for the self-guided option, having two guide for all tours isn't always possible.

      Water bottles can be easily stowed in your handle bar bag or panniers. Cyclometers aren't provided on this tour but you are always welcome to bring your own.

      Thanks again for your feedback!

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Judee W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful staff - the entire trip was just great! Tome, our guide was exceptional.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. House 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was A-1. I was totally surprised when our tour guide Tom managed to reunite me with my lost "zebra" luggage on a cobblestone street corner 4 days into the trip! Thanks, Tom!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Barbara Kallay 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I had a great bike trip. Riding through the Belgium/Netherlands was delightful. The staff made the trip most memorable- Jacob (bike guide), Els (boat captain), Thomas (cook).

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Lior 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of my trip were the small towns and villages that we visited. These are places where tourists rarely venture. The people are friendly and open for conversations; willing to share their lives and experiences with us. And curious to know about us as well. I have so many wonderful memories.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by P. O'Hagan 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having the map to tryi to not get lost was so much fun. Thank you to all the staff for making the bike barge a great activity vacation.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by A & M Decourcy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip BUT.. We decided to cycle with 6 others because we are experienced riders. We were counting on the signage being much more complete and easier to follow. At times, there was no indication of where to go. Our path just ended! Also, the bigger group, of about 18, had some inexperienced riders and we felt that riding in this large a group could be dangerous...which proved to be the case.
    In one case, a previous rider had taken the liberty to use a marker to write our path number on a sign. Thanks to him/her we were able to continue on without taking out the GPS. Had this been done on several other signs, we would not have had to find our way ...using GPS..on many occasions. There were also 4 other Europeans, who cycled as a group, who experienced the same sense of frustration as us.
    We will forward a photo to the Tripsite website. Thanks for providing a most enjoyable and memorable trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Pincar 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would recommend it, but with reservations. I think there should have been two guides, one to take a faster group and one for a beginner group. A few people on the trip should not have been. They were not comfortable on their bikes, and were a daily danger to whomever they were near. Something should have been done about it.
    I also would have liked to ride faster, and spend more free time in the little towns.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by E. Hull-parsons 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have planned to contact you with feedback, but haven't. The staff was great except the guide. He was not friendly or helpful. We were all disappointed in his lack of leadership and "guiding". Of the three trips we have taken, this was the least appealing. The route was not attractive, and mostly industrial, urban or rural. We were near places we know were charming and interesting, but did not visit them. I'm left wondering if it is that tour company. For 35 people biking there really should have been more staff on the road with us. Still love you!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Oliver 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Magnifique II from Bruges to Amsterdam, 25 June to 1 July, under the able command of skipper Paul, and ride leader Tom Tiedom. It was a magnificent experience in every way, even though we had a few odd showers to contend with. This is virtually a brand new barge with upscale accommodations and amenities. We had one of the four top-side suites, which are indeed larger, and with view windows that open as opposed to port holes. Tom, the ride leader and guide, was an extremely charming, knowledgeable and humorous fellow. He provided daily briefings on the next day's ride, all of which included ample coffee and food stops, as well as providing historic info. Indeed, the entire crew were extremely courteous and helpful in every respect, and the food delicious.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Great, hospitable staff willing to please, answer questions, professional, share information. Boat was clean, comfortable, well equipped. Food was excellent and there was plenty to enjoy.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by M. Mathews 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Was a fantastic trip!!! Tom was a great guide and will recommend this to others.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Kister 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    When I first heard of a bike & barge trip, I thought I would be sleeping on a cot under the stars! After obtaining more info, I realized we would have a comfortable room but I was very impressed with our accommodations. It was like being on a mini cruise. Food was great, tour guide was personable and entertaining, friendly staff went out of their way to make this trip extra special. We had an arranged canal boat tour complete with champagne after arriving in Amsterdam! I would highly recommend the Magnifique and this crew, for an awesome way to experience Belgium and The Netherlands.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Messing 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Felix, was fun, knowledgeable and intuitive. His attitude and ease of being with people made even a horrible weather day endurable. The BIGGEST bonus was having Astrid along as a trainee. She added so much to every aspect of our journey and was a treasure trove of regional information.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Pope 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a fantastic time, would highly recommend it to others!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC