Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 202

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ruth W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The lovely scenery and the excellent condition of all the bike paths.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jacky H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Sharing the beautiful scenery while biking with great friends

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michelle P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge staff, tour guides and fellow bike riders were the best part of this tour! Please know that this is definitely a bike tour. We zipped through towns at a steady pace but it wasn’t unbearable for a novice bike rider like me. However there wasn’t much time to visit any towns and do some sightseeing.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jeffrey W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the Belgian countryside

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Brugge to Amsterdam trip was a very flat, easy trip and we recommend it for beginner barge and bikers. Our main criticism was that although the guides were very nice and helpful, we would have liked more information and history on the sights along the way, and more picture stops.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Janet M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides were truly terrific.
    The routes and stopping cafes were wonderfully thought out. Bathrooms at stops were very clean. Pace of rides was perfect for a first time experience.
    The food on board was outstanding. Chef Alex was sensational!
    The lunch meat, cheeses,and bread selections were great for making our road food.
    This was our first Bike and Barge experience. It was wonderful!
    Thanks to everyone!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Maria C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the countryside trails most. The trip was really totally good. As a biker whose biking skills are a bit rusty, it was a challenge, and I am glad I could do it!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michel D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were very happy with the biking experience, the food, the scenery, our new biking friends, our wonderful guide and the rest of the employees on the boat. We were disappointed at the end of the trip when we were advised that we had possibly been exposed to bed bugs. Adding to the disappointment, ship staff blamed us for having brought the bed bugs aboard the ship.

    Other than this issue, we had a wonderful trip!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Annie & Steve F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time on our Bruges to Amsterdam bike and barge. The boat was just lovely and the cabins beautiful and crisply clean each day upon our return. The chef did outstanding food, especially the barbecue evening with a meringue cake to die for! Our guide Hugo was such fun and passionate about the land and history. Great energy! The best part were our fellow bikers that became friends by the end of the week. A great experience.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Wendy S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam! The guides were very good and ensured we were all safe and all together. The bike paths were flat, very well marked and easy to follow when we went out on our own. The guides made sure we had our maps and emergency tools and our phone numbers in case of emergency. The scenery was beautiful and we enjoyed the countryside with farm fields, flowers, horses, sheep, birds, rivers and lakes. The rooms on the barge were bigger and better than I expected. We had a cabin on the upper deck which included a large window which was nice. The food was simple, plenty and good. It was good to be prepared for all weather types when riding. Riding gloves helped with cooler days as well as preventing blisters from the bike handles.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Barbara O. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We travelled from Bruges to Amsterdam. Stunning scenery, lovely accommodations, competent staff, outstanding guide. It was an excellent way to visit major cities and sleepy villages lost in time. We were impressed with the history of the Netherlands and got to see exquisitely beautiful buildings and works of art. By the end of the week, all bikers knew each other, so the sense of camaraderie was very comfortable. Can’t wait to plan another trip.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Janet C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guides were terrific, funny and knowledgeable. The choice of our route was very interesting. Also our waiters Stephan and Naomi were delightful.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Charlotte G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was biking through the peaceful countryside, getting lost (not with the guides, but when we ventured out on our own), finding a real working windmill, and being invited inside by the owner. Lunch selections could have varied more but dinner onboard was always wonderful. Staff was also on point and always ready to help.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Barbara N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great balance of activity, wonderful scenery, and interesting towns and culture. Lovely!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Corri & Tom H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the whole trip. The pace was perfect, fast enough to be interesting, with constantly changing scenery and a mix of cities, villages, and farmland, and yet slow enough to enjoy and savor the experience. Our travel guide and the staff on the Gandalf were fantastic and looked after us almost like royalty, but still with a casual and friendly approach.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ed W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike , boat, staff and fellow travelers all great fun. Memorable trip for me and still talking about to my mates at home in Australia.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carmen P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge is beautiful & clean. The food fantastic! I totally enjoy the countryside & the cities we stopped at. I always recommend this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery. If you are an experienced cyclist, consider splitting off with a smaller group. The group was too large with varied skills, making the ride less than it could have been.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Warren S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike tour. It was a very enjoyable experience. Friendly, professional staff. Great accommodation, food and customer service by all the staff. Cycling is a great way to leisurely enjoy all that the local countryside has to offer. We’ll be back!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Mark M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide on the bike trips (Jack) was friendly, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond our expectations, even taking us on evening walks after dinner.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Laurie P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There was so much about the trip, starting with the wonderful food, great staff and our tour guide, along with the wonderful sights along the way!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Marianne B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best trip I have been on to date and we typically take three vacations per year for the last thirty years!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Debbie S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Tom was amazing, he guided during the day and walked around towns and visited places in the evening. fantastic trip, we are doing it again next May in Provence.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Freddie O. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I actually crashed my bike at the end of the first day, tried riding an ebike the next day but found it too painful. Therefore I spent the remainder of the trip on the barge, totally loved it. My suggestion for others would be to make sure to train, most of the people on our trip felt that they were being pushed and that the distance biked each day was too far. Also, for myself I felt that the bike was just too big for me and that contributed to my accident. Our guide (Fred) was delightful as were the crew of the Gandalf and the meals were fabulous. So, overall a great experience in spite of the spill.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Freddie,
      We are sorry to hear about your fall but are happy you still enjoyed the rest of your trip. We do our very best to prepare our clients for the daily biking distances by listing them on the the tour page in the "Skill Level" and "Day to Day Itinerary" sections. We also recommend taking the bike for a short ride when being fitted so that the bike hand can make adjustments if needed. A properly fitted bike is very important!
      Glad you are ok and we hope to help you plan another trip soon!

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Joanne R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through Belgium and Holland was fabulous. Looking forward to Paris to Bruges trip in future.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kim F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cannot recommend this trip highly enough. What a perfect way to discover a new place. The staff and the food were outstanding!!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Francine G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The people and the beer!!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC