Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour Reviews 151 to 180 of 214

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Barbara Kallay 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I had a great bike trip. Riding through the Belgium/Netherlands was delightful. The staff made the trip most memorable- Jacob (bike guide), Els (boat captain), Thomas (cook).

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Lior 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of my trip were the small towns and villages that we visited. These are places where tourists rarely venture. The people are friendly and open for conversations; willing to share their lives and experiences with us. And curious to know about us as well. I have so many wonderful memories.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by P. O'Hagan 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having the map to tryi to not get lost was so much fun. Thank you to all the staff for making the bike barge a great activity vacation.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by A & M Decourcy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip BUT.. We decided to cycle with 6 others because we are experienced riders. We were counting on the signage being much more complete and easier to follow. At times, there was no indication of where to go. Our path just ended! Also, the bigger group, of about 18, had some inexperienced riders and we felt that riding in this large a group could be dangerous...which proved to be the case.
    In one case, a previous rider had taken the liberty to use a marker to write our path number on a sign. Thanks to him/her we were able to continue on without taking out the GPS. Had this been done on several other signs, we would not have had to find our way ...using GPS..on many occasions. There were also 4 other Europeans, who cycled as a group, who experienced the same sense of frustration as us.
    We will forward a photo to the Tripsite website. Thanks for providing a most enjoyable and memorable trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Pincar 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would recommend it, but with reservations. I think there should have been two guides, one to take a faster group and one for a beginner group. A few people on the trip should not have been. They were not comfortable on their bikes, and were a daily danger to whomever they were near. Something should have been done about it.
    I also would have liked to ride faster, and spend more free time in the little towns.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by E. Hull-parsons 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have planned to contact you with feedback, but haven't. The staff was great except the guide. He was not friendly or helpful. We were all disappointed in his lack of leadership and "guiding". Of the three trips we have taken, this was the least appealing. The route was not attractive, and mostly industrial, urban or rural. We were near places we know were charming and interesting, but did not visit them. I'm left wondering if it is that tour company. For 35 people biking there really should have been more staff on the road with us. Still love you!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Oliver 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Magnifique II from Bruges to Amsterdam, 25 June to 1 July, under the able command of skipper Paul, and ride leader Tom Tiedom. It was a magnificent experience in every way, even though we had a few odd showers to contend with. This is virtually a brand new barge with upscale accommodations and amenities. We had one of the four top-side suites, which are indeed larger, and with view windows that open as opposed to port holes. Tom, the ride leader and guide, was an extremely charming, knowledgeable and humorous fellow. He provided daily briefings on the next day's ride, all of which included ample coffee and food stops, as well as providing historic info. Indeed, the entire crew were extremely courteous and helpful in every respect, and the food delicious.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Great, hospitable staff willing to please, answer questions, professional, share information. Boat was clean, comfortable, well equipped. Food was excellent and there was plenty to enjoy.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by M. Mathews 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Was a fantastic trip!!! Tom was a great guide and will recommend this to others.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Kister 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    When I first heard of a bike & barge trip, I thought I would be sleeping on a cot under the stars! After obtaining more info, I realized we would have a comfortable room but I was very impressed with our accommodations. It was like being on a mini cruise. Food was great, tour guide was personable and entertaining, friendly staff went out of their way to make this trip extra special. We had an arranged canal boat tour complete with champagne after arriving in Amsterdam! I would highly recommend the Magnifique and this crew, for an awesome way to experience Belgium and The Netherlands.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Messing 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Felix, was fun, knowledgeable and intuitive. His attitude and ease of being with people made even a horrible weather day endurable. The BIGGEST bonus was having Astrid along as a trainee. She added so much to every aspect of our journey and was a treasure trove of regional information.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Pope 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a fantastic time, would highly recommend it to others!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by J. Backes 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Exceptional staff, welcoming, friendly, informative, knowledgable. Perhaps on the rides having a buddy system so the guide doesn't need to count all the people to make sure everyone is present would be my only suggestion. I sometimes got the sense that people wanted to stop more often to take pictures and no one told them not to but then it can take time away from getting to visit town at the end of the day. Perhaps that needs to be discussed in more depth. Sometimes some of the breaks were longer than necessary. Again they were fine but took time from visiting a town at the end of the trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Wood 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn is a very special barge full of character and charm, beautifully appointed and owned and operated by the delightful Jantine and Henk. They along with their crew spoiled us rotten with great food and hospitality. Our bike ride was thru beautiful countryside and expertly guided and interpreted by a delightful Dutch couple, Jack and Marianne. They gave us great local insight. We thoroughly recommend the Merlijn and can't wait to return.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Fryeskul 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff at Tripsite were amazing to deal with and very helpful about everything. I would recommend this company and biking trip to anyone.
    Thank you
    S. Fryeskul
    PS: We loved the new Magnifique II !!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by W. Staab 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike leader. Have name tags for participants or for bikes to help us w names. Would like to have been brave enough to ride on my own! Some participants were not really regular cyclists. Would have been good to have a briefing re group bike rules, including spacing, passing, signaling, warnings, etc.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Ross 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved it! The crew was great, the boat was marvelously beautiful, the food was very good, and the overall atmosphere was perfectly casual and elegant at the same time. But: They should NOT charge for coffee/tea after 4pm. If the Bar Tab could be handled at the end of the trip by credit card it would be a bit more sophisticated, but not a deal breaker.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Powell 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the best trips I have ever been on. The boat was very clean, comfortable and new. The steps to the lower level kind of steep but very manageable. The staff was wonderful, especially the chef! and the bike guide! I liked the stops.The bikes were very enjoyable. I think the coffee could have been free all day instead of being charged for it after 4pm. I would love to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Yeabsley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would have liked for the table assignments to have been mixed up a little bit so we could get to know more people. I also think the sweep should have a walkie talkie so he can let the guide know when he has missed a turn. This was a fabulous trip! The guide, staff, food, tour and accommodations were perfect!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by K. Hadley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some wait staff could have been more accommodating. We seemed burdensome at times. Running out of food & then having to wait for more or not refilled at all was an annoyance.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hello K. Hadley,
      We are very sorry to hear this. We have since spoken with our partners on the Fluvius and they have taken steps with their staff to correct this problem. We work very hard with our local partners to provide the best experience for our guests. We hope to help you plan your next trip!

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by T. Rosencrantz 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Barge trip starting May 7, 2016 on the Fluvius was fantastic from the minute we step on the barge in Bruges until the day it was over and departed the barge to take the foot ferry to Central Station in Amsterdam. Our guide Guus and the boat's crew were friendly and helpful 24/7. Loved all our fellow travelers too. The bike trips each day were through beautiful countryside and centuries old cities. The food on the boat was great. The bunks were comfy and the showers always had plenty of hot water. The bikes worked well. Our guide and our maps got us where we needed to go everyday. Even the weather was perfect! Can't wait to do another trip like this!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Fligner 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. The guide and staff were great. The biking was perfect. I would recommend highly and without reservation. Great trip. Great biking and guide and wonderful staff. The boat was very comfortable and the country was beautiful. I recommend this trip highly and without reservation.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Lynn McCormack 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thomas our guide was excellent. It is surprising that people go on a bike trip with very little biking ability and poor fitness. We would love to go on another trip with a comparable barge.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Cheryle Cassidy 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was our first barge bike trip and hope to take another soon. Had a great time.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Earl Degler 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the trip and plan on doing more in the future. The only thing that will keep me from doing more is the current unrest in the world.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Howard Shuster 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. The owners of the Merlijn were =Spectacular! We hope to find a time to travel with them again. The Barge was amazing for such a compact vessel. The rooms were surprisingly large as was the bathroom. The Barge was immaculate at all times. What a fun trip!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Dean Pond 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The above pretty well describes our satisfaction with our trip and we recommended our friends travel through your company which they did. We intend to take another barge/bicycle soon.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Philippe Tison 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I think the staff at Tripsite/Dutch Bike Tours should be obliged to do their bike routes once a year to pick up difficult signage. A ferry crossing as part of our schedule was not available on the day of the week we arrived and we had to do a long detour. The ferry never travels on that day at that time of the year and when I phoned the Dutch Tours hotline they didn't even know that. We were not impressed. Also, despite its 'star rating' the Velotel in Brugge is a very poor standard compared to the other hotels we stayed at. Terrible rooms and an awful location for seeing Brugge (but good for getting on the trail).

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Robin Bagby 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge had bugs in drains. Lots in room every night. Aldo specifically booked comfort class boat for the AC. They turned it off before 9pm every night.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC