France Bike Tour Reviews 331 to 360 of 564

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Liz G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations faultless. Bike company efficient and I loved my bike. Maps very inadequate, we should not have been on "on ramps" to or navigating 4 lane highways, check out the maps through Cavaillon for example. More moderate than recreational cycling especially the hills. Great on an E bike if you had one. Scenery exquisite. Weather too! Thank you to Mary for organizing or extra nights in Avignon, another great hotel.

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Harvey A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "easy to moderate" was at the outset incorrect, it was "moderate to difficult" when one considers the length and incline of the hills. Also, our group of twelve experienced 3 flat tires, the first time in many years of biking in Europe, and each was on an e-bike. The hotels, on the other hand were exquisite!

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Bob McKechnie 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Had a great time on this tour through Paris on the Clair de Lune. Marco, Thea, and Weiger were all great. A Dutch boat and crew through Paris! The daily rides were good. Anyone who has cycled around towns and flat trails could do it. Cycling into Paris city centre was a thrill. Food was very good on the boat.

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Anne S. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was biking immediately after Fountainbleu, through the park's woodlands.

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Martha Y. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was the scenery and atmosphere.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Madeline N. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two items that were not as expected.
    The literature states two guides but there was only one guide. This means there could only be one guided ride per day. So provide two guides or change the description of the trip to say only one guided ride per day.
    Our pre-trip information provided a location for the where the barge would be moored in Paris. We selected a hotel near this location and planned activities based on this location. The boat did not dock at this location. We were not told that the location was changing. The boat docked. We didn't know where we were at and our guide also didn't know where we were at. Guide was very good. This was an issue with the boat captain.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Karen A Thompson 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour should be rated moderate/difficult. There are many steep climbs. I had an E bike so not bad for me. The non E bikers had a big job. If everyone had an e bike, a very enjoyable journey. The scenery was gorgeous. The hotels were beautiful and welcoming. The maps provided by the trip organizer and rather GPS could have been more detailed.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Deborah P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Needed the second guide as group unwieldy for one. Unlike prior trips, guide gave little info on trip sites/locales, despite being quite personable.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Michael F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Captain and crew were just wonderful. While the sights were certainly great, like cheese making, Champagne tasting, visitng the ruins and the WWII cemeteries it was the warm welcome from the Captain and crew that really made this trip. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us including getting fresh baguettes every day, finding out our personal preferences for drinks after a long day in the saddle, and in general giving 110% to keep everyone happy. I strongly recommend the Captain and crew of the Zwaantje! I also must mention a big thank you to Carla and her crew at Tripsite for their assistance in getting us additional e-bikes. Without the e-bikes some of us just wouldn't have made the hills, with them we enjoyed every minute. Thank you!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gail F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ah...The trip was memorable for so many reasons, the people, the sites. Bikes were amazing to ride. Loved the infinity gears. We loved the Soleo, however it sunk due to some submerged metal. The staff did their level best to help the passengers continue vacation, get to their embassy to get new passports, medications, and put us up in hotels. The Estello was brought up to continue our trip. There were some circulation/moisture issues on the Estello so we didn't enjoy that boat as much. One suggestion would be to do a short first day clinic to ensure riders understand basic group riding etiquette. Rounding the city round about would have been better/safer had we all gathered and taken the lane to go as a group rather than single file around in such an extended line. Then resume to single file along country/city roads. The sites were amazing but there were some areas that must have required more city riding. Loved the Carmarge horses, fields of poppies, flamingos, roman stadium and Read more… aquaduct. Loved the group of people and the crew. Peter and Sheena did a great job despite their loss of the boat. Marco was awesome, he was our single contact after the barge sunk he helped organize us and processed us thru what had to be done. Arie also was a huge help during this process.. (the owner of the boat was in and out, he didn't even recognize any of the passengers try to apologize for the situation or see how we were doing.. not a fan of the owner of the boat) Oh the folks at Tripsite who I contacted did try to see what they can do. We have separate insurance as suggested but I'm not sure if Tripsite will try to make any reparations for our interrupted trip.. we missed 2 days of cycling.. I wouldn't mind a discount on a future trip.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jim S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery , chateaus and winery were beautiful.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Michele D. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was beautiful scenery, especially the magical villages we rode through in Provence.

    Countries: France

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Peter V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Route Guide that we received was in German. We called Velociped and they said that they ran out of English guide - Basically we were SOL and not getting the Route Guide in English. They knew it way before hand that they did not have any English Route Guide - they should have let you or us know and maybe sent us written instructions for the route. We had difficulty in the first 3 days of the trip. We did not even get any instructions of how the electric bikes worked or how to operate it. The first day - my wife struggled on the ebike because it was not working right- we had to call. Instructions on what to do and how to start it would have been good. Very poor customer service. In addition, we signed up for CLASS A hotels, which was supposed to be 3 or 4 stars - not one of the hotels provided was a 4 star. The scenery along the Mosel River was spectacular, the luggage transfers between hotels was great.

    Countries: Germany, France

    • Mosel Bike Tour
      by Carla 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Peter - Thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry our local partner could not provide the English route book. Fortunately, the German version has very good maps and we still always have the English route descriptions available. I do highly encourage any rider to elect the GPS tracks for this tour. These provide flawless directions. You can use them on your own GPS device or smartphone GPS application. We'd be happy to help you with this option.
      We do not provide a welcome meeting for this tour but we can try to arrange one, on request. I am sorry you could not operate the electric bicycle. With that said, I do not recommend renting an electric bicycle if you have never ridden one before. Lastly, we are happy to send a hotel list before the tour start so you can be satisfied before you leave.
      We hope you still enjoyed the tour and were able to bring home fond memories!

      Countries: Germany, France

  • Tripsite Traveler: Champagne Tour - From Épernay to Paris
    by Jeff Kroger 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fun time! Having a beer or two on the top deck of the Zwaantje each night was a great way to finish the day. The Zwaantje bar was well stocked and very reasonably priced.

    Countries: France

  • Tripsite Traveler: Champagne Tour - From Épernay to Paris
    by Paul Labbe 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fulton....thank you for capturing the essence of our trip of a lifetime in the Champagne countryside of France...not to mention the wonderful experiences along with sharing them with old friends and meeting new ones. Looking forward to our next adventure!!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Nancy P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a very enjoyable trip with beautiful scenery, good rides and pretty good weather most of the time. The Route maps and detailed instructions could be improved upon. There were several mistakes on which way to turn as well as confusing instructions. Luckily, we had GPS with us to help out in various situations.
    The food was very tasty, esp. the dinners. Great young chef.
    One thing which bothered us was that we were told not to bring any wine aboard the boat - we were to only purchase wine that was available on the boat via the token machine. Odd, since we were traveling and bicycling in Bordeaux WINE country, visiting chateaus daily!! We think that there should be another arrangement in that area. It's apparently a financial situation although it was explained that they didn't want wine spills in the cabin. A damage deposit could be arranged if that's really the issue.
    Otherwise, the staff, bikes and experience was great. This was our 3rd Read more… Bike/Barge trip with TripSite. Gladly recommend it often to others. We especially enjoyed St. Emilion (tour of monolithic church was amazing!) and riding to/from Blaye and touring the Citadel.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

    • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
      by wendy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Thanks so much for your feedback Nancy, it is so helpful to us and others interested in the tour! For the 2017 season, all routes, maps, descriptions and presentations are being redone and will be much improved! The wine policy has also been updated and clients will be able to drink wine on board in the lounge, restaurant and on deck, but not in the cabins. Clients will also, with a corkage fee, be able to drink their own wine purchased off the boat. St. Emilion and the citadel in Blaye were the highlights for me as well, so glad you enjoyed it!

      Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Janet Ashley 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We took this trip from Compiegne to Moret-sur-Loing in September. It was just perfect in every way. There were eight in our group and Marco made us feel like family. The bike ride along the Seine was just beautiful with views one would never see from a car. There is so much activity along the river and in the evening we were guided around the towns where the barge was moored for the night. The bike ride through Paris was personally terrifying for me, but was also a thrill. I would probably do it again. Our guide Yought was full of stories and also very supportive. I could not have done it without him. WE all appreciated Kim who prepared wonderful meals with great variety and was always there to welcome us back at the end of the day. This was the perfect bike/barge trip. We are now thinking about taking a trip in Holland with the Clair de Lune.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Pat R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would have liked more time biking. 2 days had less than 10 miles. We were in the guided group and were told the group would decide how much to bike on those days-we were never asked as a group-the guide decided himself we would do the shorter distance. Barge "purser"-a woman-not very friendly or helpful or available. Trip booked as a Bordeaux start and end, but the location of start and end of trip changed and we had to pay extra to get ourselves to Cadillac and back to Bordeaux from Libourne. The boat company should have provided that transfer free of charge. The 2 wine tasting charges should have been included in the trip charge. The boat charged 20 euros for a bottle of wine in the wine country of Bordeaux and we were not allowed to bring on any wine from the outside. You could buy a nice bottle of wine for less than $10.00 in town. Disappointed that we had twin beds-expected a double in the suite room.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

    • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
      by wendy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Thank you for your feedback Pat! I am sorry for any confusion regarding the stop and start locations of the tour. On the tour page, it was always listed as Libourne and Castets-en-Dorthe, the only thing that had changed was that the dock in Castets was not completed and the boat would be docking in Cadillac instead. For the majority of tours, clients are responsible for individual travel to the barge locations so the offer of the bus transfers for this tour is extremely helpful and does save clients time and money. Also, the wine policy has been updated for the 2017 season and clients will be able to enjoy their own wine on board, paying a corkage fee, which is common on many boats. Information and pictures of the cabins is always posted on the boat page which is important to check out, I am sorry for any misunderstanding you had regarding the beds.

      Countries: France

PWPC