France Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 532

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Michelle H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The scenery & the crew from the Feniks.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Brent M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The friendly relaxed and welcoming atmosphere of the barge and staff.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Linda,
    We have followed up with this feedback and wanted to let you know the guides name was Arie and he no longer works as a guide.

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by John G. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The group was excellent. We had a great time together. Jean and I were the only Americans aboard but everyone spoke English.
    This trip, rated moderate, was the most challenging of the four tours we have booked thru Tripsite since 2012. It stretched us to the limits of our biking abilities.
    The tour was thru pleasant countryside but lacked the highlights of our previous tours- no Eiffel Tower, Venice canals or Pont du Gard.
    The barge itself was a weak point, although it was not advertised as a strength.
    Most disappointing was the food, especially the evening meals featuring mostly starches- pasta, mashed potatoes, quinoa and rice. Don't know whether this was a budget or skills problem.
    The guide was excellent, competent, friendly and caring.
    The bikes themselves were mostly good although there were some minor problems-with a tire once and an ebike battery that didn't fully charge overnight. Giro Libero bikes were in better condition than those Read more… of Hat Tours based on our two tours with each of them.
    The Loire Valley tour was enjoyable, but the weakest of the four trips we have taken.
    Our fondest memories will be those of great conversations, lots of laughs with new friends we will probably never see again and a sense of accomplishment for what was for us an arduous trek.
    As a tip for others, as I mentioned to bike and barge rookies, check out other trips as advertised in Tripsite's catalog.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Linda johnson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Would appreciate the name of your guide

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Linda johnson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Would appreciate the name of your guide

    Countries: France

  • Paris to London
    by Peter M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Scenery along the route and the knowledge and experience of our guide.

    Countries: France, England

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Excellent group that interacted very well from the onset.

    Boat: Iris

  • Around Paris
    by Robert M. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking into Paris with a very experienced and supportive guide.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Ann S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have enjoyed the Castles of the Loire bike trip in France very much. This was my first organized bike trip. The scenery was beautiful, and the architecture was stunning. The meals were delicious. I have recommended this trip to my friends. I am looking forward to my next bike trip in France.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Rodney W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The friendliness of the local villagers and our fellow travellers.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Barry B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    When a vacation is better than your expectations, as it was, it is vundarbar.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Anieta W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and the bikes were good, the food was good and sufficient, the crew was friendly and helpful. The scenery was not always beautiful, part of the tour leads through industrial area.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Barge Iris was outstanding to say the least. 24 guests were the perfect number, not too many, not too few, the crew was over and above terrific, the food was something we looked forward to each day and the whole experience was memorable.

    Boat: Iris

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gloria P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Itinerary was very well planned out and the staff were all amazing!!!! This was the perfect trip for our group!!!!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Robert W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Getting to pilot the boat for a few minutes.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Janet N. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Comfortable riding each day through lovely French countryside. A map of the day’s route for personal use would be a big help. Stefan and Florence are delightful, welcoming hosts providing excellent delicious meals. Make sure to spend a day on the barge during your trip - a definite highlight.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Richard N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the small villages from Bruges to Paris. Nina was a great guide also. I really enjoyed the night walks for a better inside view of village life... the Van Gogh experience was the highlight for me.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Alan S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    After bicycling over 300 miles it was good to relax and see Paris from the water as we cruised to our final moorage on the Seine.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Jerry K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We met a lot of really nice people. We were surprised that our guide was largely unfamiliar with the route!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jacqueline T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Get an ebike if you have any doubts about your ability to do the biking. I am not a biker but was able to do the hills around Bordeaux because of the ebike. Most memorable moments was just the ride through the vineyards themselves, past the chateauxs.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Karyn P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Everything! The other cyclists, the barge crew, the food and of course the Champagne was all amazing!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by JoAn R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Parts: Biking, local information, meals.

    Boat: Iris

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Jeffrey D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was excellent, as attested by this being our 4th one. We will definitely be booking more. The route was good, although France lacks the same quality of bicycle paths that Belgium and The Netherlands have. There was a bit of climbing and some of the women in the group were very happy to have an electric bike option for those climbs. The barge was very clean and quite nice. The staff was excellent and really made you feel as part of the family. They went over and above for most everything. The food was very good and plentiful. The highlight of the Brugge to Paris ride would have to be Chantilly and entering Paris on the barge. The sights were incredible and seeing them from the water gave a whole different experience. The guides were great and the system of having "corners" and a "sweep" meant that no-one got lost and we could still ride at different paces. I am convinced, and I tell this all the time to anyone who listens, that these bike/barge trips are the Read more… best value for your money, period. There is no better way to see a country, than by bicycle.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Tripsite Traveler: Metz to Mainz with Gina Friedlander
    by michael wasserman 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    WHERE WILL THE NEXT BIKE/BARGE TRIP BE ?

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Tripsite Traveler: Metz to Mainz with Gina Friedlander
    by michael wasserman 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    very nicely put together.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Wendy from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    This tour is a mix of days with flat/easy riding and days with occasional hills/moderate riding hence the rating easy/moderate. It is important to keep in mind that our ratings are based on riders who ride often and are accustomed to riding on varied paths and terrain. There are times that you will be on shared roads and depending on the time of day, you may encounter some traffic so we recommend a vest like our reflective one.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Wendy from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Thanks Linda and we agree! As you mention, new bikes (smaller and lighter frames in particular) will be purchased for 2018!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Wendy from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Thanks for your feedback Susan! Yes, information should definitely be shared at the beginning of the tour and typically is but we do apologize as the regular tour guide for this tour was not on board the week of your departure so there was some lack of details. St Emilion is also my favorite!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sarita L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. Just did not like the room and bathroom size.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

PWPC