France Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 518

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Shanna N. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved every thing about my Bike and Barge trip. Can't wait to travel with you again!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Angela M. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We did the Bruges to Paris on the Zwaantje in September 2018. It was fantastic! The boat was great - clean and comfortable, the crew fabulous - professional and friendly and the food top class. I would definitely recommend (and I have) this trip to others.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Around Paris
    by Deidre S. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    We were in great hands with our captain, Marco, chef, Sylvia and guide, Rob, on the Clair de Lune! We truly enjoyed our week biking along the Seine and L’Oise. We highly recommend this barge and bike experience.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Paris to Reims
    by Lee N. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip was the highlight of my vacation experiences over the last 15 years. The best part of the trip was the togetherness that developed amongst all the participants over the 2 week trip. I have some true friends for life thanks to your tremendous hospitality and care each and every crew member and of course our wonderful guide showed to all of us.
    Thank you Darius

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Susan M. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable-one big friendly group. Chef and Pilot were fine; guide and barge were adequate.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Janet N. 11 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Spent one day on the barge - it was a huge highlight! Through so many locks, off for a walk along the canal, lots of beautiful scenery. Bliss.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
    by John 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    What type of bikes did you have - road or hybrid?

    Countries: France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Colleen J. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The e-bikes are essential for enjoying the beautiful, hilly terrain!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jennifer S. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip, well organized and lots of fun.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Orest M. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Champagne tour combined the pleasures of riding through vineyards, sampling champagne on both public and private tours, exploring out of the way gems that you would never find on your own, getting to know an extraordinary captain and crew of the Zwaantje, and meeting new friends, topped off with time to explore the City of Light. Although some of the daily rides were difficult, don't hesitate to join this tour because of the hills - get an e-bike and you're guaranteed the experience of a lifetime. It doesn't get any better than this!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Paris to London
    by Fulton A. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    First time doing a long "unguided" trip, and loved it. We got just the right amount of support each morning and evening. Wonderful maps and directions. Great fun.

    Countries: France, England

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol E. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam, everyone was so friendly and helpful...we have booked another trip next Sept.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Richard N. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery! The food! The guide, chef, and captain were wonderful. Eight cabins, 16 people. The perfect size group. We did the 2 week ride from Bruges to Paris. I would definitely do one of these trips again!

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by George F. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed every part of the trip, but it was particularly interesting to tour Aigues Mortes and to learn how and why it came about.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Mary D. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge Elodie...was just fantastic...chef, captain, guide.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Claudia G. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Auxerre to Paris: Outstanding staff on Elodie and beautiful route through French countryside.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Lynn S. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Lovely scenery, experiences and meals at the end of the day.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Kimberly F. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bordeaux Wine Country trip was absolutely the best vacation ever! The guides were wonderful, full of interesting information and fun. Doing the guided tour allowed us to take in the scenery without having to worry about where to turn next. The scenery was so amazing. Every other word was "oh my" or "Wow"! A simple review cannot begin to convey how fantastic this trip was. We are already planning another trip with you. Thanks for the wonderful vacation.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Southern France Canal du Midi bike tour
    by Irene W. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As a group of four mature adults, we completed the Canal du Midi bike ride. It was great even with some windy and wet days. The scenery is fantastic and any little glitch was quickly forgotten when you looked out upon your surrounds. The Tripsite team were very helpful and our gear was always at the next destination by the time we got there. I had an e-bike where as the others had standard bikes. I thoroughly recommend the pedal assist e-bike as it really took the stress off when in slightly difficult terrain. Great for doing the hills in traffic as all you have to do is sit and watch the cars rather than standing up in the pedals. Definitely my kind of bike and my kind of trip. Loved the open space and rolling countryside.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Scott & Liz P. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having never done a “biking” vacation before, this was our first experience and I will say that we both felt that this would be something that we would definitely want to do again.
    The equipment was in great condition and was properly geared for the terrain that we encountered. The guide on our tour was part historian, part musician, part artist and part entertainer. He made our trip come alive with insightful facts and was always encouraging with all of the clients on the tour. We constantly felt special in the opportunities we had to gain access to sites that we toured.
    The crew on the boat was exceptional as well. We were always made to feel at home and quickly realized how much effort they all placed on us enjoying ourselves.
    The meals served on board were exceptional as well. Our chef Sara, provided seasonal, and local dishes that enhanced our journey through Provence.
    Lastly, we would have to say that biking through Provence was by far, the Read more… best was to tour Provence. We often felt more like citizens of the country than tourists. We will never forget the wonderful times we had, especially with the Dropbox videos and photos that our tour guide send us upon our return home.
    This was undoubtedly one of the best vacation experiences that we have ever had.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Marilyn P. 12 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    After having had prior positive experiences, I was very disappointed with this trip. The accommodation on the boat was almost to the point of ridiculous! The upper bunk was almost impossible to get into and getting up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night was treacherous! The staff were pleasant enough and the food was okay. Peter, our guide, was also disappointing. He really seemed to have little interest in whether we were enjoying our ride. He would often head out ahead of us and then a some point realize that we weren't all there and would stop or go back. He did not wear any kind of identifiable clothing so that we knew who or what to look for if we were further behind. Thank goodness there were enough of us with prior experience that we picked up the slack and made sure the first timers weren't left behind. I invited my sister, a first timer, to join me on this trip and found myself apologizing many times that this trip was less than enjoyable. That being Read more… said we did see some nice scenery and did come across some stores that were actually open. The general comment was "that's just the French" Another thing to note is that finding the bus that was supposed to take us from Paris to meet the boat ended up being a bit of a fiasco! We waited for an hour in the hot sun and the bus had been there the whole time. There was no identifiable sign to let us know that was our bus. Several times members of our group checked with the driver and were told that it wasn't our bus. Finally one of the members of our group who was more proficient in French appeared to ask the right question as it turned out that the bus was actually ours. Not a good omen apparently! All in all I would not recommend this trip to anyone!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Warren S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very enjoyable trip! Great accommodation, great cycling and great crew & guides.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Eric D. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    First time I've had an art historian/architecture teacher as a tour guide. Geert was wonderful and enriched every stop.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sergio G. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery and staff on board were the most memorable parts of the trip. Although the tour says easy to moderate, there are 2 to 3 days that there are a few steep hills. You need to be bike ready. Or as an alternative rent an E Bike. As long as you just want to enjoy the scenery, places, vineyards, and not in a hurry, look at the guided portion for the extra cost. The guide we had was wonderful in explaining any questions we had. There are many things said that you would not get by self guided. If you are a wine fan and history and culture, this tour is for you. Stay in the city of Bordeaux also a couple days before or after. Very vibrant city with great restaurants and things to do in the city centre. Enjoy!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Elizabeth McCarthy 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Guides had no map, and got us lost daily. They spoke no French, so could ask no one for help. Because of the getting lost daily, we didn't get to see the towns in which we were moored for the night. Kitchen ran out of bread, so I had to buy my sandwich one day. Rooms were not cleaned except for trash being removed once. Boat was moored in Paris 1/2 hour walk away from where the captain said he would be, with not notifying guests. A complete and total DISASTER!!!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Lise H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    First of all we had spectacular weather on our 8 days of riding on the Alsace Wine Route, from Strasbourg to Basel in late September. +/- 30 miles a day was perfect. It allowed us to get to our destination in the early afternoon, rest up and then go and explore the villages. The scenic beauty was off the charts. It was early fall and the grapes were still on the vine with the leaves turning an autumn yellow color. That with a backdrop of the green hills set us up for some beautiful photographs. The backroads that we took were frequented by locals out for a walk and when passing by, everyone would say bonjour to each other. We loved that! We are already looking at other trips through Tripsite. Great memories.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
    by Debbi Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved traveling through the small french villages and stopping for great places for lunch. We have so many memories but our favorite town was Sarlat. I wish we would have spent more time there. The staff at all the hotels were so nice and had a special place for us to keep our bikes. It made it so easy. We loved our trip and were a little worried about being self-guided. It worked out well and we will do it again. At the end we were not ready to say goodbye to our bikes.

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Brenda H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Staff on boat, people traveling and the scenery.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Rod C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was memorable, the other guests, crew, routes, guide, barge and food. 14 days with a break in the middle was just right for timing.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Gloria C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My trip was the Villages of Provence. A wonderful area to bike through. I would suggest that the orientation be set for a determined amount of time to allow for complete question and answer time. Also it would be helpful to go through the use of the GPS thoroughly. The bike maintenance was not done prior to our week long trip. The tail light and the computer on my bike did not function properly. All in all the hotels, service, food, and ambience were wonderful. I’d highly recommend this trip to intermediate to advanced cyclists.

    Countries: France

PWPC