France Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 564

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Gerald M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best memory of the trip was a spectacular meal at Auberge de la labourer in Chenonceaux. They were fully booked but set up a table in the bar and gave us the full restaurant menu. It’s a great restaurant and the extra work the staff put in added to the experience.

    We had two complaints. First, neither of our odometers worked so we had no way of measuring distance. This meant constantly stopping and checking to make sure we were on the right way.

    Second, the directions to get to Cour Chevigny had one massive error. When we came off the trail and onto Route 52 the directions said to turn right, go to the roundabout, and follow the sign to Route D102. There is no such sign. The only sign to Cour Chevigny is for Route 52, the road we were already on. So, thanks to some help, we turned around, followed route 52 for five kilometres and came right to our hotel. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Catherine Ann H. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through historic monuments and the Camargue wilderness was magnificent!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Prosper B. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, the fellow riders the entire experience was so rewarding.
    The boat however left a lot to be desired. The dining room windows were small and you felt confined. The food was below what i’ve experienced on my 6 other tripsite bike/barge tours.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Marion L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fabulous way to see Provence. The route selected took us through many memorable villages. Provence Bike did a great job with high quality bikes, good maps and well set up GPS systems. We particularly enjoyed seeing Roussilon; Gordes; Baix Aux Provence as well as the source of River Sourge. Our group of 4 decided on e-bikes which we did not regret because of the steep hills getting in and out of the villages. We particularly liked the idea of staying multiple nights in one location. A great trip!! A suggestion -- include a list of things "not to miss" that are less than a kilometer from the route or, in the villages we are going through. It is convenient to have a guide book but a few notes would be really helpful.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Wynn Washle 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Where to start? What an amazing adventure! Wendy at Tripsite was so gracious and easy to work with. We reserved the entire boat and she was always so responsive to our questions and needs. Pascal and her staff on the Bordeaux were first rate. Within one day, most of her staff knew everyone's first name! This was our second Tripsite bike and boat trip (Danube). The food was excellent, the bikes were newer (loved the e-bikes) and the Bordeaux region was gorgeous. We loved packing a lunch and sharing a bottle of wine in a park or overlooking a vineyard. There are some hills, so be prepared if you don't have an e-bike. GPS was also very helpful. We were never lost, but sometimes "temporarily misplaced"...but that is part of the fun of a cycling trip. Highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Suzanne F. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jennifer S. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
    The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
    It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Nancy B. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Amboise in the Loire Valley
    by Louise P. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The bikes were top quality, delivered and picked up from hotel on time. Great itineraries- we highly recommend Tripsite!

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley - Orléans to Tours
    by Timothy M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing! We've done many organized and self supported tours, but this one by far is our favorite. We combined two 4-day (of riding) tours into one, the Orleans to Tours and Tours to Angers tours, for eight days of riding and a day on each end for coming and going. We chose the lowest level of hotels and all were fine. We don't spend much time in the room anyway, we just need a comfortable bed. The itinerary was perfect, average of 50km a day and usually one chateau visit along the way so at an easy pace we had plenty of time for a morning coffee stop, a few hours at the chateau du jour and lunch, and arrived at the hotel in time to do laundry and head to dinner. The overnight stops were a good mix of big cities (Orleans, Tours) and quaint towns. We didn't take a rest day, but if you're considering it, think about Amboise, a quaint town, rather than the midpoint Tours. Amboise was our favorite town-a good selection of restaurants, a beautiful chateau Read more… reflecting on the rivers, and if you're there on a Sunday, don't miss the local market, "the best in France" according to the guy at our hotel. The route was well marked, the maps they gave us were excellent, and if you have the GPS capability, definitely ask for the GPX tracks because those came in handy more than a few times. My wife upgraded to an e-bike which was absolutely worth it. Although it's mostly a flat course, it made it much more enjoyable for her. And we bought the chateau package which was worth it. It includes the best chateaux to visit, and although it doesn't save you much money, it saves you a lot of time waiting in line to buy a ticket which at some chateaux could be lengthy.

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Linda F. 5 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    The barge itself, the chef and the captain were great. Unfortunately, the most memorable take away from this trip was the cycling itself. This was a guided tour and our guide was only familiar with the city of Paris. We were to follow the Oise and Seine rivers and seldon rode along the river paths. The first two days were the worst involving a lot of backtracking and nearly impassable trails that seriously impacted the mileage and time in the saddle. One day we arrived at the boat an hour after the scheduled dinner time. Our ride through the city of Paris was traumatizing because of the heavy traffic and crowded bike lanes. Why were we not riding along the Seine??? Perhaps the guide was not totally to blame. Hat tours could have provided him with better maps and information. Whatever the reason, the ten riders paid the price. This was not the tour we signed up for.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Cheree ONeill 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What an adventure.. I loved it. My first bike/ boat tour and I was not disappointed.
    Everything was top rate Martayn and Marjorie were excellent hosts and nothing was a bother. Marcel was a very knowledgeable guide and went that little extra to ensure we missed nothing. Frank cooked up a storm every day
    The group blended well and I was sorry the trip had to end. Im already researching my next adventure.
    The Zwaantje was great and I slept soundly every night.

    Countries: France

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Beverly C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The captain, crew, and tour guides were super people. We feel like we are all close friends. Tamarra and Janeke were the best tour guides and went out of their way to became permanent friends. The sites and routes selected were fabulous.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Beverly C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every day of cycling but was enchanted with riding through the forests around Fontainebleau chateau. My husband d and I are senior citizens (68 and 74) and the bikes were the best. Hills were no problem for us

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Beverly C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every day of cycling but was enchanted with riding through the forests around Fontainebleau chateau. My husband d and I are senior citizens (68 and 74) and the bikes were the best. Hills were no problem for us

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Jayne Allerton 5 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Avoid trips on this barge!
    Trip Name: Loire Valley rerouted to St. Mammés/Sens
    We have new two lessons learned from this experience:
    1. Never book on a boat that is not crewed by the owner; and
    2. Never book accommodations that do not show you the state and size of the washroom.
    After reading the mostly average reviews of the barge before booking, we decided to take a chance on booking the Loire Valley boat and bike itinerary on the Anna Maria IV. However, due to low water conditions on the Loire, the itinerary was changed to the Seine and the Yonne rivers. While disappointed in the change, the new route was more than fine with challenging rides and beautiful scenery.
    John, the tour guide did a great job leading us through new territory.
    The new bikes were excellent, and John was able to fix the odd flat tire along the way.
    Unfortunately, no evening city walks were provided due to the itinerary change.
    The boat captain was Read more… only on the barge for 4 days and 3 nights. While we had very little interaction with him, he was pleasant and got us from dock to dock with no problems- always a challenge with low water levels.
    The barge. Well, we knew it would be small since this is our third bike barge on the same category of ship. But this was by far the smallest and least comfortable. The sinks are in the sleeping area and take up much of the non-bed space. One’s feet were actually in the shower when using the toilet. And, there was literally no room to unpack items - the small bins under the bed didn’t stay on their racks, making them useful for only the lightest of items.
    But, the worst part of the entire week was the service provided by the crew/host. Unfortunately, there was only one crew member for 13 guests - thank goodness we were not at the 18 guest capacity.
    Our feeling is that she did not like her job and found us an inconvenience to her social life. We felt like we had to fit into her schedule rather than her recognizing we were customers! And, boy, was she not a morning person!
    While one can accept a person having a bad day or being a few minutes late once in a while, one should not have to experience the lack of organization and attention to detail that we received the entire week. If this was our first bike barge trip, I doubt we would ever do one again.
    In summary, the captain was responsible for the movement of the ship. The guide was responsible for our cycling experience. The host was responsible for our on-board experience. But with no one in charge, there was no single person responsible for our overall experience.
    While the on-board experience was extremely disappointing, the cycling was great, and the other passengers amazing. In fact, without the camaraderie of the other passengers this would have been a miserable week.

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sheila S. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Janet Zimmerman 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our week on the Quo Vadis was fantastic. The Captain,crew and cycling guides were all wonderful. The served up tasty, beautifully presented, filling and nutritious meals. Our cycling routes were interesting and fun. I’d do another trip on the Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Peter B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Champagne Tour
    by Mark H. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.
    As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average.
    Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Allen,
    Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. The bikes used on this trip are serviced every week to ensure each bike is fit for the road. Our local partner would have gladly repaired or replaced the bike for you if it was brought to their attention. I hope that despite this issue, you still had a good time.

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lou O. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were absolutely world-class in all respects: knowledgeable, safe, proactive and TOTALLY guest-oriented. Is there a description more favorable that "FANTASTIC?!"

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • London to Amsterdam
    by Cindy S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
    What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

  • London to Amsterdam
    by Ed Carroll 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

    We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

    We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read more… luggage, unpack, shower, change clothes and get ready for dinner by 8pm which usually lasted over two hours. And then we started early the next day - to get to our hotel for the next night.

    Overall it is a "forced march" from London to Amsterdam. If you want to bike 344Km then I suggest you just go and bike 344Km for the exercise on a route most convenient to you because that is what this is. Or, take the self-guided tour which is cheaper and includes maps and the App and you can sight-see and take time to enjoy the country-side you are biking through.

    The online website says "You will receive a code to download the maps, itinerary, points of interest, services and GPS position on your smartphone or GPS device. The App provides GPS tracks to be used offline. Paper copies of the route are available with supplement of €15." When I asked for the map or the App I was told they were only available to self-guided participants and that I should use GPS to figure out where we were at any given point. But that is not what the website says/said. As it is, we have no map or record of the route we biked or the towns we passed through. I would not recommend this "tour" to anyone.

    PS. Do not interpret this critique as a criticism of the people who guided this tour. The people who guided us were patient, kind, personal, friendly and professional....in my opinion they had/have no impact on how this tour is/was deigned.

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Susan 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    My husband & I are taking this tour in September . Do you have any recommendations for places to stop along the route ? Wineries !pubs! Sights !etc.
    Thanks

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Susan thomson 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    I am going on this trip in September with another couple . Do you have any recommendations for stops along the way ? Wineries ,pubs , sites not to miss etc
    Thanks

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Libby Stupak 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Cochem to Metz boat bike tour on the Quo Vadis August 3-10, 2019. The boat itself exceeded my expectation, as did the captain (owner of the boat), his family and the crew. Out bike guides, Ferry and John, were exceptional and so personal. Their knowledge of the area was great. I'm an avid biker for both recreation and commuting so the bike provided took a little getting used to. Also I'm quite short so could have used a bit smaller bike, but it worked out. Daily mileage was perfect which allowed us to see the sites and make stops. The food was fantastic, the scenery along the Mosel so beautiful. The stops we made each day were perfect and the time we were able to spend in Saarburg, Trier and Metz was great. I felt the attention paid to our having a great trip was exceptional. I booked my trip through Eurosail, and there were many blips in that process with that company, but in the end it all seemed to work out OK.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Allen A. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge and crew were amazing as were the bike guides. I would not change a thing.

    However . . . the bikes were horrid and it was a bike trip! They were dated . . . poorly maintained . . . and dangerous. I had a piece of my front fender break and get stuck between my spokes in the front tire. I could have been badly injured if not going so slow through construction. I would think a "bike" trip would offer much better bikes in the future. I would not recommend this trip to friends because of the bikes . . . everything else was top notch . . . the food, the staff, the rooms, the bar . . . too bad about the bikes not meeting expectations.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Donna Martin 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the Quo Vadis could not have been more accommodating,
    Helpful, or fun. Our two bicycling guides, Ferry and John, were excellent and went out of their way to make this trip enjoyable for all. I wholeheartedly recommend this boat
    and this trip.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Angie 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on the Quo Vadis welcomed us with open arms. The food was outstanding, gourmet at every meal. Our guides John and Ferry made the biking part magical, both were so knowledgeable about the sites we stopped to see. The scenery was just breathtaking, the castles and vineyards and cathedrals. The rooms were very comfortable, especially the beds. Great showers and air conditioning! Would do this tour on this barge again in a heartbeat!

PWPC